Empire Today's reply to:

LIARS

Dear Irma,
We live by the Golden Rule, and treat all of our customers the way we would want to be treated. We take personal ownership and work with a sense of urgency to address all customer concerns.

We sincerely regret to hear that your concerns have not been addressed to your satisfaction. We’ve located your order, and will be in touch with you soon.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1769666 Review #1769666 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Customer Care
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund

I had a rep provide a whole house estimate and was REASSURED that my $300 deposit WOULD BE REFUNDED if my circumstances changed. He knew there was questionable issues happening that particular day that could potentially negatively affect my order.

When I couldnt have Empire install the order I contacted them and was rudely informed that I lost my deposit as stated in the contract! I told her the representative assured me a refund would be no problem she said it was not true and that I had no other choice but to have Empire make the installation and that I would only be given a credit! I am still receiving calls and messages attempting to complete the whole house installation irregardless of the fact that I CANCELED THE ORDER!! I WANT A REFUND!

A family emergency changed my situation and I do not need the service any more! This is nothing less than a rip-off!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Awful customer service

Dear Vanessa,

We put our customers first and make it our mission to make beautiful new floors easy.

We sincerely regret to hear that your concerns have not been addressed. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a resolution.
ID
#1768080 Review #1768080 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website.

Verified Reviewer

To say I am disappointed with the overall customer service is an understatement ! Nearly a year ago I purchased flooring and installation for 3 rooms.

One of the flooring I chose was based on the information I was given, which was that this particular flooring could be installed on the stairs at an additional cost which I agreed to pay. Two days later the floors were installed apart from the stairs as the installers advised that it was not possible to install this flooring on stairs. I called Empire immediately and for a few weeks they tried to resolve the issue, but after that I only heard from them when I reached out to them. Finally, we agreed I would get a refund for the stairs.

That was the end of October. Surprise, surprise I then heard nothing, they didn't even respond to my emails. Finally, I paid someone to come out to sort my stairs to match my floors. I reached out again to Empire and someone did contact me offering less money than originally agreed.

I explained it was less than originally agreed and far less than it had cost me to correct their incompetence.

Well guess what I am still waiting for them to get back to me !!! If you want a company that stands by what they say and have exceptional customer service DO NOT USE EMPIRE!

Empire Today's reply to:

Horrible

Dear David,

Our mission is to make beautiful new floors easy for all of our customers. With over three million satisfied customers, we’ve achieved our vision to become America’s first choice for installed flooring.

We regret to hear that your experience with us, was not what you expected. We take your concerns seriously, and will be in touch with you shortly to discuss your concerns.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1761181 Review #1761181 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$2300
Preferred solution
Full refund
Update by user Feb 14, 2020

This issue hasn't been resolved yet, who marked this resolved?

Original review posted by user Jan 14, 2020

Bad installation, lousy customer service, and they avoid your complaints. Company does not honor installation guarantee..

Empire Today's reply to:

Do NOT Deal With Empire At Any Cost

Dear Denise,
We strive to make beautiful new floors easy for all customers, from start to finish. We put our customers first and act with a sense of urgency to address every concern.
We want every customer to be satisfied, and are not happy that you've had a bad experience. We've located your account information, and we'll be contacting you shortly to discuss your concerns.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1752447 Review #1752447 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Lack of integrity
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$6

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website.

Verified Reviewer

We had our entire house, 2 floors, carpeted over a year ago.

We complained the Next Day. They have done NOTHING to correct a VERY POOR installation.

They sold us Premium padding, only to find out they installed the Least expensive/ inferior padding they offer.

Our floors creak when you walk on them, the dogs nails go straight through to the subfloor and having almost Zero padding, the floors are freezing.

They will ignore you, make appointments and never show up, and basically blow you off.

Copy and paste to your social media.

This Company is a RIP-OFF.

Empire Today's reply to:

Disappointed!!!!

Dear Latosha,

Our mission is to make beautiful new floors easy for our customers, by striving to resolve all concerns from pre to post installation.

We regret to hear about your experience, and would like to look into your concerns right away. Unfortunately, we’re unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please send us your contact information to customersupport@empire-today.com so that we can contact you ASAP.

Thank you,

-ET Customer Support
ID
#1737990 Review #1737990 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Lack of caring
  • Poor follow up on installation
  • Lack of resolution
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$5
Preferred solution
Replace my floor

Had bamboo floors installed and the sales person said how strong and tough the floor was. What a joke!

The floors are scratched and now are warping beyond belief. When you walk across the floor you walk over hills. My floors are buckling everywhere. Called customer service and they said floor is out of warranty.

When floor was sold we were told it had a lifetime warranty and would hold up to anything. I had to pay someone they referred $100.00 to come out and say we had moisture and they could do nothing. Called homeowners and paid $550.00 to a company for them to tell me there is no moisture and that these floors were not installed properly. They glued the floor down and didn't even leave 3/4 inch space under moldings for give.

I am now trying to get them to fix this to no avail. Next step is I am contacting news because no company should be able to get away with such shoddy work.

Empire Today's reply to:

Returning customer Disappointed and upset

Dear Dana,

Our mission is to make beautiful new floors easy for our customers nationwide. For the past 60 years, we’ve achieved this mission by putting our customers concerns first.

We are disappointed to hear about your mother’s experience and would like to follow up with her ASAP. Unfortunately, we’re unable to locate your mother’s account with the information provided. Please email her street address and account number to customersupport@empire-today.com. We look forward to working with you.

Thank you,
ET Customer Support
ID
#1722372 Review #1722372 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Pros
  • Easy to schedule in-home consultation
  • Price
Cons
  • No followup
  • Lack of respect
  • Customer service is non existent
Reason of review
Work Experience or Job Application
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website.

Verified Reviewer
Empire Today - Returning customer Disappointed and upset

My mom had flooring put in on 11/25.

1-There is a gap between the kitchen and living room.

2- We had to wait 12 hrs in my mom's room with no access to the bathroom. My mom had to use the restroom in a waste basket. She is 76 years old.

3- The area was left with glue on the flooring in the past the workers have cleaned the floors.

Empire Today's reply to:

TERRIBLE - INCOMPETENT

Dear Debbi,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we strive to address every customer concern from start to finish until a solution is reached.

We sincerely regret to hear that your concerns have not been addressed, and assure you that we take matters such as these very seriously. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to learn more.

Thank you,
ET Customer Support
ID
#1722122 Review #1722122 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • You name it --
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website.

Verified Reviewer

I have been trying to get 2 little parts for my vertical blinds. I am promised call backs, and I never got them.

I was told that they were opened on Thanksgiving and they weren't -- knew this, but just wanted to show them how incomptent their staff is. I told them to call me on a number in their file. At first we had two -- I told them that this number is the only number to use.

These idiots called my husband's number and said that they left a message -- not possible - because he is DEAD. I should have gone to Home Depot and did a DYI instead of dealing with this idiots -- Never, Never, Never again If I could give them no zero's - they would get it.

Empire Today's reply to:

Major disaster

Dear Glenn,

We strive to make beautiful new floors easy for all of our customers nationwide, and assure you that customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish.

We regret to hear about your experience, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We’ll be following up with you shortly to discuss a resolution.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1689883 Review #1689883 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Do not use these yahoos. Took vinyl up from kitchen and bathroom floors said bathroom had moisture needed to be fixed. Got in their truck and drove off leaving me with bare floors

Empire Today's reply to:

I have not had the best experience with Empire or on installation

Dear Phyllis, customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish.
We regret to hear your concerns, and assure you that this is not the experience that we wish for our customers. We’ll be following up with you shortly to discuss a resolution.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1664655 Review #1664655 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Pros
  • Im pissed
  • Good advertising
Cons
  • Lack of resolution
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$1400
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

The sales person would not quote me a price on the flooring itself or installation. Now that I know others who had flooring put in from someone else that cost was broken down.

There's not way I got a discount or free installation. Your advertising is so misleading.. I wish I had researched it more.

I paid about $7K for my flooring with you and now I'm having buckling issues with it and I don't think after you sold me the flooring and it was installed that you care now that you've been paid. I will not recommend Empire to anyone!

Empire Today's reply to:

Really Bad

Dear Scott,
Over the past 60 years, it has been our mission to make beautiful new floors easy from start to finish. We strive to handle issues quickly and fairly if the should arise, and assure you that we always put our customers first.
We sincerely regret to hear that you were inconvenienced by a two missed appointments. We’ve located your account, and will in touch with you shortly to make things right.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1652238 Review #1652238 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
Full refund

2 missed appointments

1 arrived and could not do the work

Scratches left on the hardwood

I’ve been called several times since 8/27 to have a rep call me back regarding missed appointments and compensation. Still waiting as of 9/12.

Phone rep admit they dropped the ball. Very disappointed and would not recommend.

Empire Today's reply to:

Vinyl flooring

Dear Sabrena,

With over three million satisfied customers, we understand the importance of superior customer service. We value our customers and live by the Golden Rule.

We sincerely regret to hear that your concerns have not beet addressed. We take matters such as these seriously, and will be in touch with you shortly to learn more.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1596474 Review #1596474 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Pros
  • Ripped me off and still lying to me
Cons
  • Ineffective customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Full refund
Update by user Jul 22, 2019

They say it's a life time warranty. Well fix my floor.

Without me calling every other day.

This is a headache. Stand behind your brand

Original review posted by user Jul 22, 2019

I had it installed in March. I started complaining about seeing a huge air bubble.

Techs came out to repair and not even a week later. I noticed the huge air bubble again along with a pile of small air bubbles. A appointment was scheduled again and if course a no call no show. Called Empire back and was promised a local supervisor would contact me, abd and here it is a week later and still no one has yet to resolve my issue.

I wouldnt recommend this company to anyone. Complete run a round.

Empire Today's reply to:

Waste of time!

Dear Tracy,

For over 60 years, we’ve been dedicated to serving our customers with superior customer service from start to finish.

We sincerely regret to hear that your installation experience did not go as planned, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ve located your order, and will be in touch with you shortly to start working on a resolution.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1586832 Review #1586832 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Pros
  • Customer service representatives are as helpful as they can be
Cons
  • Lack of communication
  • Not reliable
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL! I was supposed to have my bathroom floors replaced on Friday so we pulled out our toilets and I got a phone call Friday morning saying they'd be there in the morning.

As of 12:40pm I called because they weren't here yet and when the customer service representative called the installer they said they'd like to reschedule because they got a bigger job. I said I didn't want to reschedule because I had my toilets pulled out and had been waiting around all day. A installation manager, Shane, finally called me back at 4:45pm to apologize and reschedule. He promised we'd be 1st thing Saturday morning, which I was lead to believe was 8am.

At 9:20am when no yet to arrive at my house I called the service center and was told the installers were still loading the truck and would be there in 2 hours. So the 1st appointment is at 11am! The only consolation I was offered for all of this was $65. So 1.5 days waiting without toilets with a 2 year old and oh and yesterday was my birthday.

Thanks Empire for ruining my birthday and waisting my time. I'm sorry my job is a small job, but I'm still a customer, but you can sure believe that I won't be again!

Empire Today's reply to:

Lies, negligence, fraud, theft, destruction of personal property

Dear Mr. Leveille,

Customer service is our number one priority, and is our customer promise to handle issues quickly and fairly if they should arise. We regret to hear about your experience, and understand that we’re currently working with you towards a solution. We’ll continue to review this matter to assure that your concerns are addressed as quickly as possible.

Thank you for your patience,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1561526 Review #1561526 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Damaged personal property
Loss
$3000
Preferred solution
Monetary compensation

In 2018, we hired Empire Today to install a carpet in a large, 2-room basement area of the empty home we’d just purchased. The installers charged us $600 for new padding, but never installed the padding.

They put new carpet over the old padding and kept our money. We discovered this the following winter, when water damage forced us to pull up a small section of the new carpet.

Empire informed us that the entire carpet needed to be replaced if we wanted to keep our warranty. This was a huge problem because the basement was now fully-furnished and contained over $50,000 of fragile electronic equipment which would have to be moved. After a fight, Empire agreed to do the re-installation for free.

Since we didn’t trust a carpet crew to move the very expensive equipment while they worked, we agreed on a 2-day installation.

We would clear one room for them on day 1, then move all of the equipment to the first room, clearing the second room for them to work before they arrived on day 2. No problem.

They arrived on day 1 and completed the first room, but they didn’t leave. The carpet crew proceeded to move all of that equipment themselves and finish the second room, completing the job in 1 day for their own convenience. I discovered this only when they were nearly finished.

I yelled for them to stop but the foreman literally refused. It was very difficult to communicate with them, they spoke broken English or none at all. Frustrated, I resigned to let them finish the job.

The crew left our belongings in large, disorganized piles throughout the basement, some of which fell over and collapsed. I photographed all of it and notified the company the same day.

After several days of inventorying the mess, I discovered several thousand dollars in damages to equipment and furniture.

The job itself was notably poorer than the first installation but that’s the least of our concerns, and we’re not allowing this company back into our home for repairs.

The company was completely unresponsive to phone calls and emails for weeks at a time. It’s very important to persist throughout this period, which appears to be this company’s standard operating procedure for claims and complaints. It’s now been months and this company continues to deny any wrongdoing – but they’ve offered us a small monetary fraction of the damages “for inconveniences.”

The crew has lied about their conduct and misrepresented the condition of our home in their photographs, using “after” photos as “before” photos (yet neglecting to provide both sets for us).

We have photo proof to the contrary, of course, and this will be an easy case in court. But the negligence, fraud, theft and destruction for which Empire Today has been responsible throughout this 10-month ordeal has been tremendously frustrating for us.

Find a local crew for your flooring, stay away from Empire.

Empire Today's reply to:

Don't waste your time and money

Dear David,

We live by the golden rule, and treat our customers that way they would like to be treated. We take ownership to ensure that every customer concern is addressed.

We thank you for making us aware of you experience, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We’ve located your account, and will be further reviewing your concerns.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1540090 Review #1540090 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Ease of contacting management team
Cons
  • Salespeople that pushed their choices on me
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1821
Preferred solution
Full refund
Update by user Jun 21, 2019

UPDATE: Empire Today phoned with an apology and refunded my full deposit amount.

Original review posted by user May 22, 2019

I met with a very friendly salesperson, described what I wanted, went through 2 hours of measuring, picked a product, and put down a deposit. Although I wanted solid hardwood, I agreed to engineered hardwood. Later in reviewing the contract I realized that she had written it up for a floating floor when I had requested nail-down or glue-down. The major difficulty was finding a product that could both cover the floors and also do my stairs. When I called to bring that to her attention she stated it would add $3000 to the cost.

I then requested another salesperson to come out, this time to show me the product I had originally requested (solid hardwood.) In the meantime I pulled up the carpet on the stairs and found good quality wood that just needs staining and refinishing. The salesperson had never bothered to check.

A new salesperson came out. He only showed me one sample set. I asked about 5” width samples and he said “Oh those are exotics and cost too much.” I picked a 3 1/2” sample reluctantly while the salesperson fielded a phone call during which he said “I’ll be able to get right out of here to my next call.” He had been in my house for 15 minutes but it was clear he wasn't interested because the first salesperson was getting the commission. He said I would get a call with the estimate the next day.

I had requested not to have any further contact with the first salesperson because I feel she had pushed me into something I didn’t want and wasn’t listening to my requests. There was also an issue about wall base. I don’t want quarter-round, I want new wall base installed over the new floor. She said that their installers wouldn’t do that. The second salesperson said that they would!

The first salesperson called the next day and wanted to come to my house with the new estimate. As I said, I requested no further contact with her so this is was unacceptable situation.

It’s clear the Empire wants to get any kind of floor in my house whether I like it or not. I am beyond exasperated and finally called the management team and cancelled the whole project. Needless to say I lost an $1800 deposit.

Empire Today's reply to:

Beware the Padding Swap Scam

Dear Prudence,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish.

We regret to hear your concerns, and assure you that this is not the experience that we wish for our customers. We’ll be following up with you shortly to discuss a resolution.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1536324 Review #1536324 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Installed wrong item, poor customer service
Loss
$1400

If you order anything other than the cheap/basic/economy padding, the installers won't put it in. Instead, they put in the cheap padding.

I didn't pay attention when they installed, but had to cut back some carpet to install flooring and noted that the padding put it was NOT what I had ordered -- I had the premium spill-proof/pet-proof padding. Then the resolution is that they'll replace the padding, but YOU need to move everything out of the room for the installers to replace... or give you $100-150 refund on the "difference in price" for the padding. Which is BS.

I warned my friend about it (whom I had referred to Empire unaware I had been ripped off) and they were doing the SAME THING, except he caught it the day of the install. But the installers were like, "well, this is what the warehouse gave us. We can either install it today or reschedule." My friend was moving in in two days and needed the carpet, so he caved and let them install the crap padding and would then work out something with Corporate. THIS IS A SCAM.

Do not buy from Empire unless you only buy the cheap stuff. And stay strong with your conviction of them wronging you. They try to frustrate you until you just give up (like Comcast). Take to the review pages.

Take it to their Facebook page, bbb.org.

Keep up the good fight. Spread the word about this company!