State: New Jersey Clear all filters (51 of 873 reviews match)
filters
State:
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Dear Tracy, For over 60 years, we’ve been dedicated to serving our customers with superior customer service from start to finish. We sincerely regret to hear that your installation experience did not go as planned, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously....
View full review
Review
#1586832 Review #1586832 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Dear David, We live by the golden rule, and treat our customers that way they would like to be treated. We take ownership to ensure that every customer concern is addressed. We thank you for making us aware of you experience, and sincerely apologize for the...
View full review
Review
#1540090 Review #1540090 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Hardwood Flooring
Tags
  • Bad Salespeople
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Moorestown Township, New Jersey - Awful Experience!

Dear Lauren,
We strive to leave a positive impression during our sales appointments and regret that this was not the case. We understand that we have spoken to you in regards to your concerns. For future inquiries please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com .
Thank you.
Review
#936240 Review #936240 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Salesman
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Price reduction

My husband and I recently moved into our first home and were looking to replace the carpet in our spare bedroom. We are absolutely appalled by service that we received from the man who came into our home to give us an estimate.

Never should a customer be uncomfortable in their own home. While giving an estimate for the one bedroom, the man, who appeared to have been drinking before coming to our home, was walking into other bedrooms in our home that were not being carpeted, lounging on our bed, etc. He then proceeded to say comments to us such as "why did you wait to make an appointment so late", "I've got dinner home waiting for me", and "I've had enough fun here tonight". Additionally, my husband and I wanted to discuss our options over night and get back to the man the following day about our purchase.

That is when we were told that we were not able to call him back tomorrow and our business was not worth his $20 commission. He proceeded to tell us angrily that he only makes 4% commission. If we were interested he told us that he would not help us and that we would have to call empire and they could send someone else to our home. As he laughed and packed up his things, he angrily ripped up the tax form and threw it on my kitchen table.

Still being the people who we are, my husband asked to help him carry out his carpet samples when he was told no. He then slammed my front door, flew out of my driveway, and sped down the road. Immediately, I called the corporate office where I was told that his manager would be giving me a call. After three days of not hearing from someone, I called the office again.

I finally received a phone call five days later from his store manager.

We are very disappointed with the service that we received from Empire and can only hope that by telling other individuals, Empire will not have the opportunity to treat others the way that we were treated.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today: Dishonest, incompetent, unreliable

Dear Kristine,
We are sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one for you. Our records show that your order was cancelled per your request. For future concerns please contact customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#894074 Review #894074 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Misleading sales
  • Dishonesty
  • Lack of integrity
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$900
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Horrible Customer Satisfaction

Horrible experience!

Tried to get a new tile floor for my bathroom. Sales rep lied, said the floor would be installed Friday morning, 9 am.

No one showed. At 7 pm the work was rescheduled for Saturday at 8 am.

The installers finally showed at 2:30.

They demanded full payment up front before beginning work. This is a violation of the NJ Consumer Affairs act.

After ripping out my old floor, the installers said they could not complete the job because I needed to get additional work done by a carpenter.

I called Empire. They are holding my money for 15 days. It seems that the only way they could return my money was to deposit the checks. But, Empire's accounting office only writes checks 2 days a week.

So, I have to wait on Empire again.

So much of my time wasted.

And now I have no floor at all in my bathroom.

Dear Lauren, We regret the delays in your installation. We understand that time has past since your posting, if you continue to have questions or concerns please contact customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.
View full review
Review
#890441 Review #890441 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Dear Carol, We would like to learn more, but unfortunately are unable to verify your Empire customer information. Please contact customersupport@empiretoday.com for further assistance. Thank You.
View full review
Review
#868241 Review #868241 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Estimate Review from Newton, New Jersey

Dear Customer,
We realize that your time is valuable, and we regret that you were inconvenienced by missed appointments. We would like to help make things right for you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you.
Thank you.
Review
#842289 Review #842289 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Suck so unprofessional! Canceled in home estimate 3 times made up three diff excuses each time!

I gave up!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Howell, New Jersey - WORST EXPERIENCE

Hello,
We appreciate you letting us be aware of your experience. We are unable to locate your account. Please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com, so we can address your concerns.
Review
#823423 Review #823423 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I am writing this review at 1030 PM while my carpet is STILL being installed.

The sales pitch for this new carpet was great. The salesman was right on time and had even called to see if we would be available an hour earlier. After agreeing to purchase carpet from them we set a date and were told we would be called with a time the day before.

First issue we were told we would be givin a 2 hour time frame. They told us between 1-4 pm. The installers showed up at 4 :50 .

We do not have a garage and it was raining outside(had been all day). The installers told us there was nothing they could do because they needed a garage to cut the carpet in and we dont have one so we could not have our carpet today. That was not acceptable after waiting ALL day. Their manager told them to cut it outside in the pouring rain,which again is not acceptable. My mom started making some phone calls trying to find somewhere to let them cut the carpet and told the manager she finally got on the phone from empire she was going to end up having to pay someone to let them use a garage somewhere and that empire needs to reimburse us for this and they said it was doubtful they would do that.

She then called another supervisor while we continued to look for a place. In the meantime the installers informed us they were leaving. We had to argue with them and stop them from leaving while waiting on hold with a supervisor .

After about 40 min of back and forth trying to get the men out of their truck to come around the corner and get the carpet cut they finally did.

It is now almost 11 pm and they are not even close to being finished.

They arent very friendly men which is only slightly understandable because i am sure they arent contracted to be working this late, but they are leaving tools and making little messes all over the house and have no decency to knock on bedroom doors before needing to open them knowing there are people inside the rooms.

All this and we havent even called about being compensated for our issues and after reading some of these reviews i doubt that will go well at all!

Long story short NEVER EVER EVER order from Empire!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Andover, New Jersey - ONE MONTH AND STILL WAITING FOR RESOLUTION

Dear Josh,
After reviewing your post, our records show that we have addressed your concerns and offered an accommodation. If you continue to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#821305 Review #821305 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Enitre dealing - never again
Reason of review
ALL OF THE ABOVE
Loss
$4027
Preferred solution
Full refund

We are in NJ - Hackensack store with Robert as supposed "manager" - very similar issue - seems Empire is quite consistent with the culture of lying, cheating, poor service, poor quality, lack of follow-up, to name a few vices - doesn't seem to matter where in the US customers are located - the service is horrible. For one month my son has not been able to use his bedroom - salesman lied about pricing for floor, lied about the quality of flooring he was selling, rushed installation so it was installed before we realized the pricing scam (instead of 50% off flooring & installation we were charged 4X the actual cost vs other major flooring chains!) and to top it off - the installation is terrible.

Still no resolution - we are up to 22 calls between my son & myself. Do yourself a favor and get your flooring anywhere else!

Contact Empire Today Customer Service

Mailing Address:
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, Illinois 60164
United States
All Empire Today Contacts

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Lafayette Township, New Jersey - Thoroughly Disgusted

Dear Mary,
Your satisfaction is important to us, and we understand that we've addressed your concerns. For future questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#811794 Review #811794 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Horrible customer service
  • Way the installation went and the end product
  • Sales person tactics
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Tags
  • Buy1 Get2 Room Free

We are dealing with very similar issue. I wish I had been there when the sales (***) man arrived.

My son explained that he called about the half off on floor and installation promotion. Wanted to pay no more than $2.00 sq/ft for laminate ( figured he would get a $4.00 sq/ft product due to the promotion. While he should have paid more attention to the final number he was preoccupied with his infant son and his dog and the *** man kept telling him about the great floor he was giving him and that he would "take care if him" - he took care of him alright - nothing but a scammer. Luckily the installation was completely *** so my son contacted me after trying to get someone to help help at Empire.

Did I mention that the contract was written up without any price break down on Wednesday and first thing Thursday morning guys came to install. If anyone ever feels the need to use these liars insist on getting a complete break down of costs and compare against the same flooring at other reputable flooring companies. Don't make make the mistake of allowing them to rush you through and push low grade laminates on you - especially not at pricing for solid wood fully finished thick flooring! We are hoping to get the two small rooms of flooring removed but though promised a call back by yesterday have not yet received a call today and it is now 3:50.

They close at 5. Bottom line - there are much better places to purchase flooring.

Use your local flooring people - people that have a good reputation in your area. Not this scam outfit!