State: Georgia Product: Empire Today Carpet Installation Clear all filters (6 of 87 reviews match)
filters
State:
City:
Show
Product:
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Alpharetta, Georgia - Ongoing issues with poor installation

Dear Thomas,
We’re committed to consistently providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide. From pre to post installation we work with our customers to ensure their satisfaction.

We regret to hear that your carpet is not meeting your expectations, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ve located your order, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1413074 Review #1413074 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Work Experience or Job Application
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

We had a berber carpet installed throughout our entire downstairs a little over a year ago. Immediately following the installation, I noticed a section in the hall that looked as though the padding was missing. I also noticed that the carpet looked loose in a few different areas. I called Empire's customer service to get the matter fixed. They sent someone out and we were told that the padding folded over when installing the carpet, and that they reinstalled the missing padding.

A few months later, the loose sections of the carpet started to show signs of buckling and I called Empire again. Again, they sent someone out who had to restretch the carpet in one area of the room. In doing so, they also noticed that the original tack strips were not properly installed, and had to repair the tack strips.

After another couple of months I noticed the carpet showing signs of buckling in other parts of the room and also another section that looked like the padding had flattened out. I called and Empire then sent an inspector to my home. The inspector took pics and confirmed that the carpet was poorly installed. I called again after there was no follow up and was told that I needed to provide more specific information about the needed repairs. I noted that I thought that was the purpose of sending an inspector; to get specific information about the needed repairs. We eventually agreed to another date when someone would come to fix the carpet. I took a day off from work only to have no one show up. They did call later in the afternoon to let me know they would have to reschedule.

Long story short, the carpet was poorly installed from the very beginning and has been causing ongoing issues since. Although Empire seems willing to continue to return to "fix" the problem, the problem is ongoing and continues to cause me to take time off from work and be inconvenienced. At some point, they tried to blame it on the fact that it is a berber carpet (which was recommended by their salesperson), when, in fact, it was and continues to be the result of a very poor installation process. I continue to signs of buckling and still have no end to the fixes in sight.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Locust Grove, Georgia - UNREAL CUSTOMER SERVICE AND FALSE PROMISES JUST WANT YOUR MONEY

Dear Cindy,
We understand that you have agreed to cancel your order since this post was made. If you continue to have questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#951739 Review #951739 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Cons
  • Treatment as a consumer
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

I scheduled a estimate with Empire Today. Salesperson arrived on 11/4/16.

Very nice while here. Signed a contract for the install to happen on Tuesday 11/8/16. Gave them a $1,000.00 for the deposit Received absolutely no telephone call follow-up as to what time the installer would arrive. I started calling the corporate 1-800 customer service number.

The rudest people I have ever spoken to in my life. "sorry to hear that, understand your frustration, etc." Text my salesperson most of the day. "you are on the schedule". The straw that broke the camel's back was when she said at 6:15pm, I just am the salesperson, once I sell the job, I'm no longer in the loop.

Installer shows up at m house at 7pm. Really, measures my house again. Not enough carpet or padding, however, could use your old padding...are you kidding me. Get back on the phone with customer service, on hold for 16 minutes and 40 seconds.

Some guy name Davon gets on the line. I explained to him that I was done, I want to cancel my order and want my money back. Well if I offered you $150.00 off could we reschedule the install? No, I have a child that I need to get ready for school, the installer's have a family they won't be done until midnight.

No I'm done. My house is a mess.....I have to work tomorrow in the office. Just unreal service. I should have read the reviews beforehand, believe me they all say the same thing, customer service sucks, didn't bring enough carpet or padding.

I'm so stressed out over this that I had to take an anxiety pill. Oh, and the funds will be back in your account with 7 to 10 business day. Are you kidding me. I don't think so, I will call my bank and tell them it was a fraudlent charge.

I'm on chemo and this was not a good thing to happen to me today. I had an appointment I needed to go to in the evening which I had to cancel. And then you want me to pay the remaining balance before the job is done. That's like me asking me one of my customers to pay me $5,000.00 for a new HVAC system upfront and they don't even know if its going to work.

Absolutely flabergasted over this whole ordeal. So now, I will be looking for a new carpet company and start all over. Disappointed all around. Empire Today - DON'T CALL OR USE THEM.

NOT CUSTOMER ORIENTED AT ALL. BEWARE TO ALL WHO ARE LOOKING WHAT THEY ADVERTISE IS NOT TRUE TO THE WORD.

Empire Today's reply to:

BUY CARPET AND INSTALLATION FROM EMPIRE TODAY, GET MULTIPLE THOUSAND COCKROACH INFESTATION FARM AS BONUS

Dear Mark,
Your concerns are important to us and we regret to hear your story. Our records show that we have spoken to you in regards to this matter and consider this addressed. For future inquiries please contact customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#902724 Review #902724 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1600

Update by user Aug 23, 2016

OK...VICTIM HERE, OR BETTER...SUCKER...YOU SEE, AS A CONTRACTOR MYSELF, I DON'T THINK I WOULD HAVE THE SOLID REPUTATION THAT WE DO, IF WE DID NOT STAND BEHIND OUR PRODUCTS...OUR WORK INSTALLED...EMPIRE ON THE OTHER HAND, SUBMITS BLATHER, MEANINGLESS BLATHER THAT GIVES THE IMPRESSION THAT THEY ACTUALLY GOT IN TOUCH WITH ME WHEN I NOTIFIED THEM OF THE PROBLEM...AND THAT THERE EXISTS AN "INVESTIGATION" INTO THIS PROBLEM....FAT CHANCE OF THAT, BUT AS THE NAME OF THIS SITE SUGGESTS....I AM PISSED, AND WILL NOW HAVE TO, ON PRINCIPLE, DELIVER MY TRUTHFUL MESSAGE FAR AND WIDE...TO ANYONE...AND EVERYONE, INCLUDING LOCAL NEWS TROUBLESHOOTERS WHO DEFEND THE LITTLE GUY WHO IS SUBJECT TO BEING DAMAGED GREATLY BY THE NATIONAL COMPANY THAT WILL PERHAPS RATHER SPEND MONEY KEEPING LAWYERS ON RETAINER THAN TO JUST MAKE THE CUSTOMER WHOLE BY DOING THE RIGHT THING...BUT THEY ARE AFRAID THAT THEY WILL HAVE TO ADMIT, IF THEY WERE TO ACTUALLY COME TO MY HOUSE ...INVESTIGATE THE AREA I AM EXPERIENCING PROPERTY DAMAGE....AND INVESTIGATE EVERY OTHER INCH OF MY HOME, WHERE FOR 31 YEARS I HAVE NOT HAD MORE THAN THE OCCASIONAL BIG *** PALMETTO / WATER BUG OCCUPY MY HOUSE OR ANY PART OF IT FOR LONGER THAN IT TOOK TO QUELL THE PROBLEM

THIS IS NOTHING REMOTELY LIKE THAT, AND IF I EVER GET MY PICTURES TO DOWNLOAD FROM MY ANDROID TELEPHONE CAMERA TO MY COMPUTER WITH MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 SYSTEM, IT WILL BE QUITE CLEAR AS THE ENTIRE 450 SF CARPETED AREA IS SATURATED WITH THESE TINY COCKROACHES, THEIR CARNAGE, ETC. BUT EMPIRE IS AFRAID THAT THEY WILL HAVE TO ADMIT THEIR LIABILITY ...SO, LAST CHANCE EMPIRE...TOMORROW THE LAST DITCH EFFORT OF MINE WILL COMMENCE TO EITHER BE RID OF THIS INFESTATION OR BE RID OF THE CARPET WITH IT'S MASS OF INHABITANTS AND THE $ 900 I PAID FOR THIS *** OF TROUBLE...THAT'S 2.00 SF BTW FOR CARPET/PAD INSTALLED WITH NO FURNITURE TO HAVE TO DEAL WITH...CONSENSUS....EMPIRE SUCKS....

Update by user Aug 21, 2016

MY REPLIES TO THEIR RESPONSE BELOW

We have read your review and are disappointed to hear that you are experiencing this problem. We understand that we have been in contact with you regarding this matter and will continue to investigate further in attempt to reach a solution.

Thank you.

DISAPPOINTED, HUH?...YOU'D BE REAL DISAPPOINTED IF THIS WERE YOUR BEDROOM...

YOU HAVE BEEN IN CONTACT?...NO...NO YOU HAVEN'T ...I DID HAVE YOUR SALESMAN, DAN, LOOK AT CARPET EMPIRE INSTALLED MID JANUARY , NOW COVERED WITH THOUSANDS OF TINY,BABY COCKROACHES APPARENTLY FROM EGGS LAYING DORMANT WHEN EMPIRE FURNISHED & INSTALLED IT...DAN EXPERIENCED AN INABILITY TO SEE RIGHT THEN....SEEMS HE COULD NOT SEE THE MATTER...WHAT WAS THE MATTER

CONTINUE TO INVESTIGATE , HUH?..IF THAT WERE TRUE, YOUR EMPIRE WOULD HAVE SENT SOMEONE HERE WITH, HECK, ORDINARY VISION WOULD DO.....AND COMMON SENSE...TO "INVESTIGATE" THIS COMPLAINT BY NOW...BUT MS. NO ANSWERING THE PHONE IN "CUSTOMER SERVICE" SAID NO, EMPIRE WILL NOT SEND ANYONE TO LOOK AT THE PROBLEM JUST BLATHER THERE, I MUST SUPPOSE... DAY 4 UPDATE WITH ANTI EMPIRE BS 8/21/16..12:54 AM....ANOTHER DAY, BARELY MAKING A DENT, ORIGINAL OBSERVATIONS OF THE LARGE NUMBER OF PESTS OCCUPYING THIS CARPET WERE BASED ON MY FAMILIARITY WITH THIS KIND OF THING...LONG AGO, RENTING APARTMENTS IN OLDER BUILDINGS, THE ROACH POPULATIONS SEEMED ALWAYS CONSISTENT THAT THE PESTS WERE ALWAYS THERE, NOT HARD TO FIND.… THIS SITUATION BORDERS ON UNBELIEVABLE !...I DO NOT THINK THAT THE TAINTING OF THIS PRODUCT WAS DELIBERATE ON THE PART OF EMPIRE TODAY....BUT IT IS UNDENIABLY THEIR RESPONSIBILITY BECAUSE OF THE NUMBERS.....BECAUSE NO HABITATION/INFESTATION EXISTS ANYWHERE....ANYWHERE IN MY HOME..OTHER THAN THIS ROOM THAT EMPIRE INSTALLED THIS CARPET IN....THE MASTER BEDROOM......OF MY HOME THAT IS FOR SALE....THAT, IN MY OWN GOOD CONSCIENCE, I CANNOT EVEN HAVE IT REMAIN TO BE SHOWN; UNTIL THIS TRAVESTY IS CORRECTED..SO I SUBMIT THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO MERIT IN ANYTHING THAT EMPIRE TODAY ENTERED AS COMMENT TO MY ORIGINAL POSTING....THEY DID NOT CONTACT ME FROM CUSTOMER SERVICE OR ANYONE OTHER THAN THE AUTO-CALL TO CONFIRM SALES BOY ON HIS WAY....I CONTACTED THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE; MS. NO, WE WON'T/NO WE DON'T/THOSE ROACHES DID NOT COME WITH THEIR CARPET,...SHE KNOWS "NO" & HOW TO READ QUESTIONS FROM A SHEET...THAT'S ABOUT IT....… THEY PURPORTED THAT THEY ARE FURTHER INVESTIGATING THIS SITUATION....I SUBMIT THAT IF THEY WERE TRULY DOING SO, THE FIRST THING THAT THEY SHOULD DO IS TO COME HERE AND SEE FOR THEMSELVES...SOMETHING I ASKED FOR THEM TO DO....MS.

NO SAID NO..(FOR THEIR OWN SAKE, THEY SHOULD BE SCRAMBLING TO THE WAREHOUSE THIS CARPET AND PAD HAD BEEN STORED IN TO SEE TO IT THEY NIP IT AT THE SOURCE, LEST FOLKS LIKE MYSELF ~ PAID CUSTOMERS THAT DISCOVER THEY HAVE PAID BIG DOLLARS TO INFEST THEIR PROPERTY / DAMAGE THEIR PROPERTY~START HOLLERING AND WANTING JUSTICE)...NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO PAY THEIR HARD EARNED MONEY TO ATTEMPT TO BETTER THEIR CONDITIONS, THEN DISCOVER THEY HAVE BEEN VICTIMIZED BY THE LARGE UNCARING CORPORATION AND ONLY HARMED THEMSELVES PUTTING THEIR FAITH AND TRUST IN THE WRONG PLACE...IN THE WRONG PEOPLE. IF THEY WERE TRULY ATTEMPTING TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM, THEY WOULD HAVE ALREADY AT LEAST COME TO THEIR JOB SITE WHERE THE TAINTED PRODUCTS WERE INSTALLED (MY CONTENTION) AND SEE FOR THEMSELVES IF THERE IS MERIT TO THIS CLAIM....TO THIS COMPLAINT.....THAT WOULD BE THE BARE MINIMUM OF A FIRST STEP ONCE THEY HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE INFORMATION OF THE COMPLAINT.....DON'T YOU THINK?. I STAND BY MY CONTENTION THAT EMPIRE TODAY TRIES TO PORTRAY THEMSELVES AS SOMETHING OF A SERVICE PROVIDER WHO CARES ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS AND THEIR OWN REPUTATION.....WHEN IT IS NOT SUPPORTED BY THE FACTS OR THEIR ACTIONS.

THEY NEED TO SEE THIS CARPET BEFORE I FINALLY HAVE TO REMOVE IT .....IT WOULD BE APPROPRIATE TO INSTALL IT AT THE HOME OF THE SAD EXCUSE OF A CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER....THEIR BEDROOM PERHAPS, MAYBE THEIR CHILDS' BEDROOM. THERE WOULD PERHAPS BE A RAPID RESOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM THEN, I WOULD BET......THEN AGAIN....COME TO THINK OF IT, MAYBE NOT.

Original review posted by user Aug 18, 2016

JAN OR FEB 2016 PREPARING TO SELL MY HOME OF 31 YEARS AND REPLACED 10 YR. OLD CARPET IN BEDROOM THAT WAS ADDED 2006.MY HOME WAS PEST FREE DUE TO DILIGENCE IN WHOLE HOUSE TREATMENT FOR PEST EXTERMINATION/PREVENTION OVER ALL THESE YEARS.

I CONTRACTED WITH EMPIRE TO DO THE WORK INSTALLING NEW CARPET AND PAD...$ 900 FOR 450 SF....ALLEGEDLY 1/2 PRICE AND UNTIL LATE IN JULY, I HAD CONSIDERED THE JOB TO HAVE BEEN SATISFACTORILY INSTALLED, WHEN I DISCOVERED THAT THE ENTIRE AREA OF THE CARPET WAS/IS SATURATED WITH TINY AMERICAN ROACHES,( EXTERMINATOR IDENTIFIED PICTURES AS AMERICAN ROACHES AND IS CONSIDERED AN EXPERT )THESE ARE TINY, JUST HATCHED, MULTITUDES OF ROACHES IN QUANTITY LIKE I HAD NEVER PREVIOUSLY WITNESSED IN ONE ROOM/LOCATION IN MY ENTIRE 60 YEARS OF LIVING. TO MAKE THE SITUATION WORSE, I HAD PLACED THE HOUSE FOR SALE IN THE REAL ESTATE MARKET AND NOW IT'S CONSIDERABLE EXPENSE, LABOR AND DELAY TO SELL UNTIL I HAVE RECTIFIED THE PROBLEM....BLIND SALESMAN, DAN, ACTUALLY TOLD HIS SUPERVISOR HE CAN'T SEE ANYTHING, HEAD THEM OFF AT THE GET GO WOMAN AT OTHER END OF THE CUSTOMER (HA HA) SERVICE NUMBER TOLD ME THAT THOSE ROACHES DID NOT COME FROM THEIR CARPET...NEVER MIND SHE HAS SEEN NEITHER...ALL I CAN DO IS REMEDY MY NEW DILEMMA AND BLOG ANTI-EMPIRE TODAY NEWS POSTS AS SATISFACTION FOR THIS TIME CONSUMING, EXPENSIVE PROBLEM THAT I NOW HAVE THAT I NEVER HAD DURING PRIOR 31 YEAR RESIDENCY .....I WILL BE SEEKING A REPLACEMENT FLOOR COVERING BUT CARPET FROM EMPIRE WILL NOT BE AN OPTION, IN FACT I'LL NEVER WANT CARPET AGAIN, AS I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANYTHING LIKE THIS IN ANY CARPET I HAVE LIVED ON ...EVER...WORDS OF ADVICE....AT EMPIRE TODAY...THE TERM 1/2 PRICE IS WITHOUT NORMAL MEANING, I MEAN...HALF PRICE OF WHAT ?

2ND BIT OF ADVICE : FORGET EMPIRE TODAY...UNLESS PERHAPS YOU WANT TO CO-HABITATE WITH THOUSANDS OF *** ROACHES....COMPLIMENTS OF EMPIRE TODAY:

PERHAPS A RESULT OF STORING INVENTORY IN THE CHEAPEST MOST PEST INFESTED ENVIRONMENT THEY COULD FIND....

OH, BEFORE I FORGET....I HAVE HAD TO DEAL WITH THIS TYPE OF COMPANY BEFORE...YOU KNOW THE KIND, PUT ON A GOOD FRONT, WHILE IN CLOSED DOOR MEETINGS, THEIR PERSONNEL ARE INSTRUCTED TO ACT AS THOUGH THEY DON'T HAVE A CLUE (MAYBE IT'S NOT ACTING ?) WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT WHEN IT INVOLVES A COMPLAINT ABOUT THEM.....THEIR COMPANY.......I KNEW THAT TO CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE, THE SHIFT TO THEIR CONTROL OF WHAT CONVERSATION YOU MAY BE TRYING TO HAVE WITH THEM....ASK YOU A GAZILLION QUESTIONS, PROMISE THE IMMEDIATE PROSPECT OF BEING CONTACTED BY A PERSON TO FURTHER INVESTIGATE YOUR COMPLAINT WOULD BE PRETTY MUCH A WASTE OF MORE TIME....BUT I ACTUALLY WAS TOLD BY THE WOMAN ON THE LINE AT EMPIRE CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT THESE COCKROACHES DID NOT COME IN THEIR CARPET...THAT I WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO SEE THEM IF SO (THIS AFTER I HAD TOLD HER THAT THE EGGS APPARENTLY WERE PRESENT IN A QUASI-DORMANT STATE TO HAVE NOT HATCHED UNTIL LATE JULY ) AS IF SHE WOULD KNOW....EXACTLY WHY I HAD JUST SCHEDULED A NEXT DAY APPOINTMENT TO ATTEMPT TO SHOW THE PROBLEM TO THE SALESMAN AND CHOOSE A REPLACEMENT PRODUCT I WOULD ACCEPTED SO AS TO KEEP FORWARD W/O LOSING MORE TIME/MORE MONEY/ TO NOT HAVE TO REMOVE THE HOUSE FROM IT'S LISTING FOR SALE & TRY TO KEEP THINGS CIVIL......BUT HERE'S A TECHNIQUE I NEVER SAW COMING: WHILE IT IS APPARENT TO ME THAT ALL ACROSS THE EXPANSE OF 20 X 20 CARPETED ROOM...EVERYWHERE A GAZE COULD BE CAST REVEALING CLUSTERS OF COCKROACHES AND VARIOUS SEED SACKS, MULE CREATURES, ETC., BUT (BLIND)DAN REPLIED....NOW GET THIS...."I DON'T SEE ANYTHING "....HUH!....WTH?....YOU GOT TO BE KIDDING ME.....! PHOTOS , ETC. WILL BE ATTACHED WITH A LATER POSTING ON THIS SPECIFIC PROBLEM........I DID NOT WANT TO HAVE A CONTENTIOUS, DRAWN OUT

SCENARIO WHEREBY I AM OUT $ 900 INITIAL COST, COST OF PROFESSIONAL GRADE BAYER PESTICIDES PRODUCT "DEFENSE", BORIC ACID, NEW VACUUM CLEANER....$300 +/-....SO, NOW EVEN MORE DOUBTFUL THAT EMPIRE TODAY WOULD DO THE RIGHT THING AND MAKE ME WHOLE; INSTEAD OPTING TO KEEP THE $ 900 THEY WERE PAID FOR THE PROPERTY DAMAGING DEFECTIVE CARPET I AM FORCED TO EXTERMINATE MYSELF TO PREVENT WHOLE HOUSE INFESTATION INSTEAD OF BEING ABLE TO RETURN TO MY NEW HOME IN FLORIDA TO CONTINUE WITH MY ONGOING WORK BEING DONE THERE...WHEREBY I AM OUT $ 900 INITIAL COST, COST OF PROFESSIONAL GRADE BAYER PESTICIDES PRODUCT "DEFENSE", BORIC ACID, NEW VACUUM CLEANER....$300 +/-....SO, NOW EVEN MORE DOUBTFUL THAT EMPIRE TODAY WOULD DO THE RIGHT THING AND MAKE ME WHOLE; INSTEAD OPTING TO KEEP THE $ 900 THEY WERE PAID FOR THE PROPERTY DAMAGING DEFECTIVE CARPET I AM FORCED TO EXTERMINATE MYSELF TO PREVENT WHOLE HOUSE INFESTATION INSTEAD OF BEING ABLE TO RETURN TO MY NEW HOME IN FLORIDA TO CONTINUE WITH MY ONGOING WORK BEING DONE THERE...THANKS EMPIRE TODAY...YOU COULD NOT HAVE SCREWED ME MUCH WORSE, YET THIS OUTCOME MIGHT HAVE ME EATING THOSE WORDS…..

MARK MOTLEY…...DECATUR, GA 30030

Dear John, We are disappointed to hear that your installation was delayed due to the product not being in stock. We understand your frustration and assure you that we will do our best to help resolve this matter. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account...
View full review
Review
#898110 Review #898110 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Tags
  • Horrible Customer Satisfaction
Empire Today - Unethical Sales Practices, Poor Quality, Terrible Customer Services
Empire Today - Unethical Sales Practices, Poor Quality, Terrible Customer Services
Dear Anne, We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. It is our understanding that we have spoken to you in regards to this matter. If you continue to have questions about your experience please contact us via customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank...
View full review
Review
#848817 Review #848817 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Atlanta, Georgia

Dear Jack,
We are disappointed to know that your experience did not have a positive start, but are aware that your installation was completed since your last post. For future questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#742290 Review #742290 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Customer service SUCKS they will not follow up and do what they say i am having problems with my carpet instaltion and and they wont help and the worist is they say they will call you back to let you know and you never hear from that person agian