Product: Empire Today Vinyl Flooring Clear all filters (5 of 5 reviews match)
Filter by rating
filters
Seller:
Show
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
On 9/13/18 Jamie came to our house for a consultation on hardwood floors for our downstairs and staircase. After much discussion we landed on LVP flooring. At that time we made clear that we wanted white risers to go with our LVP flooring. He indicated that wasn't a problem. I noticed that it wasn't in the contract and when I asked he said that he needed to place a separate order for that but not to worry, he would take care of it, so we scheduled an install date on 9/19/18. The installers came and completed downstairs LVP installation but didn't have the proper materials for the stair installation. For one, they didn't have enough materials, and for two, they didn't have any record of the white risers for the steps. Downstairs flooring installation was completed on 9/20/18. Installers indicated someone would be in touch to reschedule the stair installation. On 9/24/18 I called to inquire about the stair installations since no one called me. Was informed that it was scheduled for 10/1/18. I specifically asked if the issues with the correct amount of materials and the white risers was resolved and was told that it was. On 10/1 the installers showed and again had no record of the white risers and didn't have the correct materials. No installation took place that day. I called the office back and again discussed the issue. Everyone I spoke to claims they have no record of me requesting this despite numerous conversations, but that it would be resolved. Appointment was rescheduled for 10/5/18. Installers came, still had incorrect materials but stated they would flip the risers they brought and paint them white before installing. Installation took place all day on 10/5/18. After looking at the completed job, I noticed several issues. One of the risers was installed incorrectly and left several gaps in the wood. There are other gaps present as well. Inexplicably, quarter round was installed on the landing and is longer than the step it is installed upon. Many of the treads were poorly cut and even more poorly caulked. Several of the treads are uneven where the 'nose' of the tread is higher than the back part of the tread. There is stray paint and caulking everywhere. Due to weekend and holiday, I called the office on 10/9/18 regarding these issues. I was told that they took detailed notes of everything and that I should email pictures, which I did. I also set an appointment for 10/18/18 for these items to be addressed. On 10/18/18 the installer arrived and stated he was just there to take pictures and observe the issues but wouldn't be doing any work that day. I said I already emailed pictures and he stated he never got them. After he left I called the office again and explained the issue to the same customer service rep I spoke to on 10/9. She rescheduled the install again for 10/25/18 and assured me that everything would be addressed and that the installation supervisor was now involved. On 10/23 I received a call from a different service rep asking why we had an appointment for 10/25 and if the issues were resolved on 10/18. I explained - again - what took place and told her I spoke to someone on 10/18 who assured me that this would be resolved. She again explained that she had no notes on any of this (a common excuse provided to me at this point) and confirmed my appointment for 10/25. On 10/25/18 I received a call again from the customer service rep explaining that they would not be able to make the appointment for 10/25 due to needing to bring in a painter to fix the riser. At this point I have lost all confidence as I continue to take off of work while this issue isn't resolved. I asked how painters were going to help and explained that there are several issues that need to be addressed that I've brought up on two calls, and via email with pictures. After being placed on hold I was told that she found my email and it's the first time she's seen it. After asking to speak to a supervisor I was informed (again) that there are no supervisors in that day. In a way I'm not surprised because there must be no one in charge there the way things are run... on the other hand how can there never be any supervisors present ever? I'm now rescheduled for 10/26/18. I have zero confidence that my issues will be resolved at that time. I have now had to take off of work on 9/19, 9/20, 10/1, 10/5, 10/18, 10/25 and 10/26 (and counting) for an install that I was told would take two days. I should have heeded the negative reviews of this company. They don't know how to communicate between departments and the contractors they hire for installation are shoddy at best. The take poor notes and blame the customer for anything they don't know because they can't conduct proper record keeping. For $13,000 I expected my floors to look better than something I could have done myself. I will never use Empire again and will tell everyone I know to stay away.
View full review
Review
#1388705 Review #1388705 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - POOR INSTALLATION AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

WHEN I WAS TO HAVE VINYL FLOORING INSTALLED, THE INSTALLER PULLED UP SOME ASBESTOS AND IMMEDIATLY STOPPED WHAT HE WAS DOING, TAPED THE OLD CARPETING BACK DOWN AND STATED THAT HE WAS DONE FOR THE DAY. MY SON, WHO WAS HOME AT THE TIME CALLED THE INSTALLATION MANAGER TO STATE WHAT HAPPENED AND WE GOT NOTHING BUT THE "RUNAROUND". WHEN I PURCHASED THE FLOORING, I ALSO PURCHASED CARPETING THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE INSTALLED AT A LATER DATE. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO TALK WITH LOCAL SUPERVISORS REGARDING THE ASBESTOS AND NOT GETTING ANY RESPONSE, I CANCELLED ALL MY SERVICES WITH EMPIRE. I HAD PUT DOWN THE REQUIRED DOWN PAYMENTS AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE AND NOW I WASN'T GETTING ANY SATISFACTION WITH GETTING ANY OF THAT MONEY BACK EITHER. ALL THIS WAS GOING ON AS I WAS TRYING TO MOVE INTO A NEW HOME THAT I HAD JUST PURCHASED AND TIME WAS RUNNING OUT. BEFORE I COULD GET ANYONE ELSE TO INSTALL FLOORING AND CARPETING I HAD TO PAY OUT OF MY POCKET THE PRICE OF THE ASBESTOS ABATEMENT WHICH I HAVE STILL NOT GOTTEN RE EMBERSED FOR AND PROBABLY NEVER WILL. IT WASN'T UNTIL WE CALLED THE CORPORATE OFFICE THAT WE FINALLY RECEIVED ALL OF THE MONEY BACK. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY AND I HAVE TOLD ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO LET EVERYONE THEY KNOW TO STAY AWAY.
View full review
Review
#988149 Review #988149 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Empire Today's reply to:

Dear Paul, We understand that we have addressed your concerns. If you continue to have questions please refer to customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.
View full review
Review
#845183 Review #845183 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Tags
  • Installation
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Vinyl Flooring Review from Elk Grove, California

Help me, just started Tue laminate floor today with empire. I started checking the internet because something seems off. First thing is the materials I was shown on the samples is not what came today but I wasn't given a sample to keep. Second was the amount if smoke breaks these guys took after they started the job at 1:30pm. Third there burning the laminate with a saw blade thats dull turning the edges ti sharp shards that are lifting the protective coating. There coming back in the morning, help. Need to stop this nightmare they already charged my credit card. The floor materials maybe cost 1.79 a foot there using and I paid 4.00 a foot for premium grade. Think were screwed, will update tomorrow. Oh, and who goes to a customers house and takes long *** breaks?
View full review
Review
#788534 Review #788534 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Dear Melissa, We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. It is our understanding that we have communicated to you our rules and protocols pertaining this situation. If you continue to have questions or concerns, please contact us at...
View full review
Review
#739204 Review #739204 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring

Empire Today Vinyl Flooring Top Locations