Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - GREAT experience!

Dear Diane,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made beautiful new floors easy for you. We hope to work with you on future projects!

Thank you,

-ET Customer Support
ID
#1792833 Review #1792833 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Pros
  • Were quick to install
  • Were fast
  • Easy to schedule in-home consultation
Empire Today - GREAT experience!
Empire Today - GREAT experience!

Update by user Feb 14

I had no issues at all. This company was amazing!

Original review posted by user Feb 14

These people were awesome. I had 4 bids and Empire Today was the lowest.

My salesman Robert Trevino was very professional and honest. Good communication. The installers, Gabriel and Elder, were amazing! They got the job done in 1 day.

They cleaned everything up and were respectful, polite and very professional. They did a beautiful job. I am so happy with my gorgeous new floors!!! I am so glad I went with Empire Today.

I will ask for Gabriel and Elder to do the kitchen when I'm ready. I highly recommend this company to anyone looking to have flooring done.

They are the BEST! I give them totally 5 stars!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

Dear Richard,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we strive to make beautiful new floors easy from beginning to end for all of our customers.

We’re disappointed to hear about your installation experience, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a solution.

Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1388705 Review #1388705 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Cons
  • Poor installation
  • Enitre dealing - never again
  • Poor customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$13000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

On 9/13/18 Jamie came to our house for a consultation on hardwood floors for our downstairs and staircase. After much discussion we landed on LVP flooring. At that time we made clear that we wanted white risers to go with our LVP flooring. He indicated that wasn't a problem. I noticed that it wasn't in the contract and when I asked he said that he needed to place a separate order for that but not to worry, he would take care of it, so we scheduled an install date on 9/19/18.

The installers came and completed downstairs LVP installation but didn't have the proper materials for the stair installation. For one, they didn't have enough materials, and for two, they didn't have any record of the white risers for the steps. Downstairs flooring installation was completed on 9/20/18. Installers indicated someone would be in touch to reschedule the stair installation.

On 9/24/18 I called to inquire about the stair installations since no one called me. Was informed that it was scheduled for 10/1/18. I specifically asked if the issues with the correct amount of materials and the white risers was resolved and was told that it was. On 10/1 the installers showed and again had no record of the white risers and didn't have the correct materials. No installation took place that day.

I called the office back and again discussed the issue. Everyone I spoke to claims they have no record of me requesting this despite numerous conversations, but that it would be resolved. Appointment was rescheduled for 10/5/18. Installers came, still had incorrect materials but stated they would flip the risers they brought and paint them white before installing. Installation took place all day on 10/5/18.

After looking at the completed job, I noticed several issues. One of the risers was installed incorrectly and left several gaps in the wood. There are other gaps present as well. Inexplicably, quarter round was installed on the landing and is longer than the step it is installed upon. Many of the treads were poorly cut and even more poorly caulked. Several of the treads are uneven where the 'nose' of the tread is higher than the back part of the tread. There is stray paint and caulking everywhere.

Due to weekend and holiday, I called the office on 10/9/18 regarding these issues. I was told that they took detailed notes of everything and that I should email pictures, which I did. I also set an appointment for 10/18/18 for these items to be addressed. On 10/18/18 the installer arrived and stated he was just there to take pictures and observe the issues but wouldn't be doing any work that day. I said I already emailed pictures and he stated he never got them. After he left I called the office again and explained the issue to the same customer service rep I spoke to on 10/9. She rescheduled the install again for 10/25/18 and assured me that everything would be addressed and that the installation supervisor was now involved. On 10/23 I received a call from a different service rep asking why we had an appointment for 10/25 and if the issues were resolved on 10/18. I explained - again - what took place and told her I spoke to someone on 10/18 who assured me that this would be resolved. She again explained that she had no notes on any of this (a common excuse provided to me at this point) and confirmed my appointment for 10/25.

On 10/25/18 I received a call again from the customer service rep explaining that they would not be able to make the appointment for 10/25 due to needing to bring in a painter to fix the riser. At this point I have lost all confidence as I continue to take off of work while this issue isn't resolved. I asked how painters were going to help and explained that there are several issues that need to be addressed that I've brought up on two calls, and via email with pictures. After being placed on hold I was told that she found my email and it's the first time she's seen it. After asking to speak to a supervisor I was informed (again) that there are no supervisors in that day. In a way I'm not surprised because there must be no one in charge there the way things are run... on the other hand how can there never be any supervisors present ever?

I'm now rescheduled for 10/26/18. I have zero confidence that my issues will be resolved at that time. I have now had to take off of work on 9/19, 9/20, 10/1, 10/5, 10/18, 10/25 and 10/26 (and counting) for an install that I was told would take two days.

I should have heeded the negative reviews of this company. They don't know how to communicate between departments and the contractors they hire for installation are shoddy at best. The take poor notes and blame the customer for anything they don't know because they can't conduct proper record keeping. For $13,000 I expected my floors to look better than something I could have done myself. I will never use Empire again and will tell everyone I know to stay away.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - POOR INSTALLATION AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

Dear Victoria,
We assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously, and regret to hear that your installation was delayed due to possible asbestos. We understand that you have requested to cancel your order, and are glad to hear that your refund was received. If you continue to have questions and/or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empire-today.com.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#988149 Review #988149 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Pros
  • Price
Cons
  • Poor local customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1850
Preferred solution
Full refund

WHEN I WAS TO HAVE VINYL FLOORING INSTALLED, THE INSTALLER PULLED UP SOME ASBESTOS AND IMMEDIATLY STOPPED WHAT HE WAS DOING, TAPED THE OLD CARPETING BACK DOWN AND STATED THAT HE WAS DONE FOR THE DAY. MY SON, WHO WAS HOME AT THE TIME CALLED THE INSTALLATION MANAGER TO STATE WHAT HAPPENED AND WE GOT NOTHING BUT THE "RUNAROUND".

WHEN I PURCHASED THE FLOORING, I ALSO PURCHASED CARPETING THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE INSTALLED AT A LATER DATE. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO TALK WITH LOCAL SUPERVISORS REGARDING THE ASBESTOS AND NOT GETTING ANY RESPONSE, I CANCELLED ALL MY SERVICES WITH EMPIRE. I HAD PUT DOWN THE REQUIRED DOWN PAYMENTS AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE AND NOW I WASN'T GETTING ANY SATISFACTION WITH GETTING ANY OF THAT MONEY BACK EITHER. ALL THIS WAS GOING ON AS I WAS TRYING TO MOVE INTO A NEW HOME THAT I HAD JUST PURCHASED AND TIME WAS RUNNING OUT.

BEFORE I COULD GET ANYONE ELSE TO INSTALL FLOORING AND CARPETING I HAD TO PAY OUT OF MY POCKET THE PRICE OF THE ASBESTOS ABATEMENT WHICH I HAVE STILL NOT GOTTEN RE EMBERSED FOR AND PROBABLY NEVER WILL.

IT WASN'T UNTIL WE CALLED THE CORPORATE OFFICE THAT WE FINALLY RECEIVED ALL OF THE MONEY BACK. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY AND I HAVE TOLD ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO LET EVERYONE THEY KNOW TO STAY AWAY.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - And Then They Screwed Me

Dear Paul,
We understand that we have addressed your concerns. If you continue to have questions please refer to customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#845183 Review #845183 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Cons
  • Lack monetary compensation
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
return of lost wages

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website.

Verified Reviewer

Recently, I had met with an Empire Today sales rep. He sold me carpet and vinyl flooring for my house. He also arranged to have both installed on the same day. The carpet install team showed up an hour late and the vinyl team (man and wife) shoed up later. When the vinyl installer unrolled his vinyl, it was damaged beyond use. Rather than going to get another roll he opted to blow off the day and come back the next day causing me a loss of a day's wages (slightly over $400). The next day the vinyl installer showed up an hour late again. when I stated "you're an hour late" he responded with "do you want me to *** turn around?" (my story, the company interviewed the installer and he stated something different).

When I called the company to get reimbursed for my lost wages, I was given the run around and for over 4 weeks did not receive a return call. Finally, after contacting the operations manager, a regional manager called and offered $100, 25% of my loss. I declined am am contemplating my next move.

Do I recommend Empire Today? NO!

Paul Smulian

2 comments
Anonymous
#1158443

I am having a problem with them two. Am waiting to hear or an air conditioning mechanic.

When Empire did the trim on my floor they busted a pipe and now aircon messed up. Plus, they came three times, each time didn't have enough material.

Half of it was done, then had to wait a week for order to come in. The whole deal has been a nightmare.

Kennidy
#1156902

Dear Paul,

We are extremely disappointed to hear the issues you have been experiencing and regret that your installation has not been completed as scheduled. We will follow up with you shortly to address your concerns.

Thank you.

-Empire Customer Support

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Vinyl Flooring Review from Elk Grove, California

Dear Customer,
We understand that this has been a frustrating experience for you, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We are aware that you have taken care of this matter. If you continue to have questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#788534 Review #788534 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Help me, just started Tue laminate floor today with empire. I started checking the internet because something seems off.

First thing is the materials I was shown on the samples is not what came today but I wasn't given a sample to keep. Second was the amount if smoke breaks these guys took after they started the job at 1:30pm. Third there burning the laminate with a saw blade thats dull turning the edges ti sharp shards that are lifting the protective coating. There coming back in the morning, help.

Need to stop this nightmare they already charged my credit card. The floor materials maybe cost 1.79 a foot there using and I paid 4.00 a foot for premium grade.

Think were screwed, will update tomorrow.

Oh, and who goes to a customers house and takes long *** breaks?

1 comment
Kennidy
#1110922

Thank you for bringing your concerns with the installation to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed with the work that is done in their homes, and we would like to know more about the situation.

Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please email your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can locate your account and follow up with you. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - The Worst Customer Service of My Life

Dear Melissa,
We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. It is our understanding that we have communicated to you our rules and protocols pertaining this situation. If you continue to have questions or concerns, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#739204 Review #739204 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Vinyl Flooring
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
I would like the person who referred me to get the money that she was promised. I want this company to NEVER contact me with another promotion as long as I live.

I was stood up for initial consultation, promised an installation date that was not fulfilled twice, promised a price and service that was impossible. They attempted to charge me an extra $1,000 after they ripped the middle of my kitchen floor out.

They installed the wrong pattern of tile and used the wrong color grout. They did not ever give the person that referred me her money. I have dealt with the absolute rudest customer service representatives of my life. Whoever runs this company should be ashamed of what is happening.

I have never been this dissatisfied with a purchase experience in my life.

I am absolutely disgusted with this company and would advise anyone considering using them to look elsewhere!!!

2 comments
Anonymous
#1075941

my parents are in their 90's. they had a flood in their basement which oled much ripping up and removal the carpeting.

they called Empire because of their good ads. an associate called within an hour. My folks were given an estimate of 1,500. They signed an agreement.

Then they received a call today from your attack dogs says they owed $2,700.

You can't locate my parent's account? Low blow.

Kennidy
#1068965

We’re glad that you brought these issues to our attention, and we would like to know more about the situation so that we can help make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.

View more comments (1)

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews

Product or Service Reviews
Carpet Installation  1.8 90
Flooring  2.3 118
Flooring Installation  2.1 61
Customer Care  1.5 57
Laminate Flooring  1.6 18