Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - The worst Flooring Company in Monterey/Santa Cruz County I have Encountered

Dear Paul,

We are dedicated to achieving our vision of becoming America’s first and best choice for installed flooring. This vision could not be possible without customers like you, therefore our goal is to ensure that all customer concerns get addressed.

We appreciate you making us aware of your experience, and we’ll be following up with you shortly to start working towards a resolution.
Thank you for your patience.

-ET Customer Support
ID
#1052081 Review #1052081 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager
Cons
  • Idiots
  • No corporate oversite
  • Not accountability broken promises waste my time twice
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

It would appear that the main reason Empire Today runs all of those TV and Radio commercials is to attract more customers than they scare away?? In my case I wanted to schedule an estimate.

All of the other floor companies would send a person to do the measurements, then a follow up meeting to review the different product options. I work +50 miles from my house. I have a key lock box with an alarm system that can be turned off with my cell phone. Empire would not schedule an appointment unless I was there.

So we scheduled on the weekend. The sent numerous emails and text message reminders. The day of the appointment, the sales person was a no show. I called and was told he was sick and could not make it, but no call.

The next week same thing, an appointment that they never showed up at or called. When I call, I was told that inspite of all of the emails and text messages, the "sales manager did not assign a representative to my appointment" They lied. This is actually a good sign. I would assume that if I hired them, this apparent corporate culture of wasting the time of potential customer, would only blossom if I was an actual customer??

Good thing I did not need to find out too late in the game. Consider your options......RUN AWAY!!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Manager Review from Anandnagar, Uttar Pradesh

Dear Sharath,
We appreciate your posting. Since our company does not service outside of the United States, we believe that you might be referring to a company with a similar name. We want your concerns to be heard, so please make sure you are posting to the correct company page.
Thank you.
ID
#929186 Review #929186 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Rowdy manager asar mis behaving with coustmers and spking rude irresponsible person

1 comment
Kennidy
#1221943

Dear Consumer,

We appreciate your posting. Since our company does not service outside of the United States, we believe that you might be referring to a company with a similar name. We want your concerns to be heard, so please make sure you are posting to the correct company page.

Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Manager Review from Hyderabad, Telangana

Dear Sharath,
We appreciate your posting. Since our company does not service outside of the United States, we believe that you might be referring to a company with a similar name. We want your concerns to be heard, so please make sure you are posting to the correct company page.
Thank you.
ID
#929104 Review #929104 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Asar manager of Gandhinagar empire behaving rude with coustmers ...

1 comment
Kennidy
#1221931

Dear Consumer

We appreciate your posting. Unfortunately, your concerns are unclear to us and believe that you might be referring to a company with a similar name. We want your concerns to be heard, so please make sure you are posting to the correct company page.

Thank you.

-ET Customer Support.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today sucks

Dear Customer,
We regret that your Empire experience was not a great one. We would like to follow up with you to discuss your experience in more detail and help make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you.
Thank you.
ID
#858046 Review #858046 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy

I wish I'd read these reviews a couple of weeks ago. We made an appointment for an Empire Today rep to come give us an estimate, between 1-3 pm.

At about 12:30, the sales manager called to say that because of bad weather everyone was running late but that he was helping his sales crew and would be there between 3-5 pm. I gave up at 5:15 after wasting most of my afternoon off - and he showed up at 5:30 (didn't leave til 8:30). Long story short, we decided on products we liked and set things into motion. (this was the first company we contacted).

We were approved for most of the cost to be financed for 4 years at a fairly low interest rate. After checking other places locally, we realized what a rip off this was and called the sales manager to cancel. He was in his car and couldn't take any info down, and suggested we contact the business at their toll-free number (but couldn't recall it!!) then said "don't worry, I'll take care of it for you". The next day, we received a credit card in the mail for the amount of purchase - I did NOT expect that.

So, I called Empire again to cancel. He had NOT called in to cancel, and in fact I was told that the customer is always responsible for canceling, not the salesperson/manager. Today I called to cancel the credit card and was told it had a pending balance on it of $7200... I blew a gasket.

Called Empire AGAIN. 20 min on hold and was disconnected. I finally got through to someone who reassured me the cancellation was in place, and thought the charge to the card wasn't gone because of the holiday weekend. I'll call back tomorrow to confirm.

Again...

Needless to say, we are so glad we didn't actually go through with this - but at the same time, worried that installers will show up at the door next week... Empire's "business" practices suck.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - This company is crooked

Dear Kelly,
We assure you that this is not the level of service that we expect for our customers. Although time has passed since your post, we would like to ensure that your concerns are answered. if you continue to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#742163 Review #742163 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager
Pros
  • Manager was personable
Cons
  • Manager was a sociopath
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$6000

I cannot speak to how good a service this company provides but I can tell you management is crooked. Their scam is not a common one.

I subcontracted as an electrician at their El Paso, Texas facility. They were pleased with the work I did and although they held onto their payment for a while they did eventually pay.

I contracted for more work and sank quite a bit of money into the job. The economy had just tanked and my business was extremely slow. As a result of poor cash flow I ran out of money and informed them I need some payment on my outstanding invoices in order to finish the work. I was nearly done.

Suddenly they wouldn't respond to my phone calls or faxes. This went on for weeks. I was desperate. Realizing I was never going to be paid I returned for the materials I had left at the job site and the manager wouldn't return several hundred dollars in materials saying he had already paid for them. I couldn't get past the front desk so I finally gave up.

When I was first hired I was told a strange story about the previous electrician. They had pulled all the wire out of the conduit and abandoned the job. We were hired to finish the job. This was strange behavior that made no sense to me. Now I understand the same thing happened to them and they removed the wire in order to recover some of their outlay.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Manager Review from West New York, New Jersey

Dear Seema,
We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we regret that you feel this way. We understand that time has passed since your post, but we would like to ensure that all your concerns were addressed. If you remain to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#572291 Review #572291 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager
Reason of review
Poor customer service

No show. Horrible customer service manager

1 comment
Kennidy
#919681

Hi Seema, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we regret that you were inconvenienced by your missed sales appointment.

We would like the opportunity to make things right for you, and we will be following up with you shortly. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Manager Review from Canton, Georgia

It’s disappointing that your product has not met your expectations, and we would like to know more about your concerns. We always want our customers to enjoy their experience with us, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation and work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#555019 Review #555019 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager

Same thing happen to us. The carpet we were shown in our home by the sales person is NOT the same carpet installed in our home.

This carpet feels like we r walking on the plywood floor!!! Very very cheap carpet that they obviously switched ,same style and color but NOT same quality!! What a scam, demanding a refund!! Installer was very good but product is bad!!

Called customer service and got nothing but a rude and unhelpful person. Did not want to give me any contact information or address to mail our right to cancel, just that install manager would contact me within 3 days. There is no fax number or email info on any paperwork.

No phone or contact info given for the Salesperson. Very very sketchy practices!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Installed LVT in my kitchen and a good portion of what they quoted me didn't need to be done.

Joel, we regret the delay in processing your credit, and any inconvenience that occurred as a result. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you and advised that the credit has been processed to your financing account. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x3555 or customersupport@empiretoday.com
Thank you.
Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager
ID
#463385 Review #463385 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager
Loss
$700

When the salesman quoted the job he told me they would have to rip up and replace the subfloor and charged me $700.00 for that. When the installers (who by the way were very good but subcontracted) tore up the existing floor they said the subfloor was fine and could be reused.

After the floor was installed I called my salesman who agreed that the $700.00 should and would be refunded to me however a manager would call me with the specifics and the approval. $ weeks later and 6 calls to Customer Service and the salesman and I still haven't heard from a "manager"

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Job corrupcion

We’re disappointed that you were not satisfied with your experience working as an independent contractor, as we always strive to create a positive work environment. We would be happy to discuss the concerns you have expressed here. Please contact our Human Resources department at 888-588-2315 ext. 3007.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#385735 Review #385735 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager

corrupcion por parte de los manager general y de instalacion para el cobro de dinero alos instaladores. y tambien la vinculacion de vendedores.

esto ocaciona enfrentamiento entre los instaladores que pagan y los que no, a esto hay que sumarle la oscura manipulacion de complaint para perjudicar y beneficiar segun el caso y muchas otras cosas las cuales empire talvez conozca. todos pagamos nuestro seguros permisos y taxes.no se el porque esta empresa permite estos hechos y a llegado a tanto que abusan *** practicas contra los emigrantes pues ellos conocen las devilidades en este sentido y asi presionar y perjudicar

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews

Product or Service Reviews
Carpet Installation  1.8 90
Flooring  2.3 118
Flooring Installation  2.1 61
Vinyl Flooring  2.1 6
Customer Care  1.5 57
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Mrs. Logan

Evan, we understand that we were in contact with you about these issues several months ago and offered suggestions for resolution. If you would like to discuss these matters again, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#303419 Review #303419 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager

Over the course of 6 months, we have been trying to resolve issues with Empitre Today. Unfortunaltely, their Regional Customer Service Manager, Laura Woods was unprofessional and tried to bully us on the phone regarding Empire's unfinished work & 2 items they (carpenters) broke in our house.

One was an original folkart piece and the other was glass. We even provided Empire with information to order transition pieces they cracked, all of them, in the process of installing the tile floor. We ended up filing a protest with our credit card company who forwarded the tiemized list of repairs & quotes to Empire for finsihng the work. Laura Woods claims they never received the estimates & it was our fault.

So far we are at a standstill with a small portion of the money we are holding back.

My advise is to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. May be they will lose their AAA+ rating.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Cheap Carpet that Shows Every Footprint

Patricia, it’s regrettable that you aren’t happy with your product. It’s our goal to provide outstanding customer service and work with our customers as much as possible to ensure their satisfaction. We have reviewed your situation, and we will be reaching out to you soon to work towards a resolution. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#301919 Review #301919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager
Loss
$4400

Update by user Apr 03, 2012

Customer Service resolved my complaint very quickly and efficiently, and I am very grateful for their help.

Original review posted by user Mar 03, 2012

The 18 x 24 (approx) carpet sample that I spent 30 minutes looking at, was very dense and was exactly what I wanted. When the installers showed up, I was sure they had the wrong carpet. I called Empire and was told to check the tag on the carpet -- it was the same info as the spec sheet. The cable man was here, and said that when he got carpet from the home improvement store, they told him that the carpet would look better once installed over the pad. How I wish I had just told them to leave.

Joe Salta, the salesman, was correct: I never mentioned to him that I didn't want carpet that shows every footprint, every vacuum cleaner wheel mark. I am certain that I picked out a good quality carpet that would not make an empty room look messy, as this carpet does.

Joe Salta called his manager. For T W O T H O U S A N D M O R E D O L L A R S , they can make this mess go away.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Not paying for additional work

Andrew, we apologize if you feel you are not having a positive experience working as an independent contractor. While we strive to create a positive atmosphere for all our contractors, misunderstandings can occur and we are happy to help address and resolve your concerns. We understand that we are currently working with you to resolve your concerns. Thank you.
ID
#291795 Review #291795 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager

I have been with empire for about 5 to 5&1/2 years now,I have been so proud to work for them, they ran a very honest and fair business looking out for their customers and their contractors with integrity,always offering a high quality product making my job go smoothly.they were handing out the jobs in a fair manner dividing the work evenly by financial amounts at the end of the month....this was done by Gina Halwix.a great install manager in las Vegas .then that location closed and I was able to change markets to Orlando fl. Another great install manager ...Mike Perry...

Then mike left and we got Deon, a nice guy and then a new general manager Don Kitchens...another great guy. We received great respect as installers, and professionals. Within months Don and Deon were gone and I found that some of the work I done was not processed for payment correctly.it all goes down hill from here.....we received Brian as a general manager. And Maggie as a install manager.

I gave my invoices back to Gina in Orlando who processes them for payment ,she told me about 2 months later that she has not got anywhere with them because she has been busy, so I took them back and talked to Maggie ,my install manager, I requested arbitration per my contract and she said no, let me have them, I got them back the next day, I asked for arbitration and a copy of my contract, she said she would have to find out how to get me a copy.that was about 2 months or so ago, no contract...then I talked to Brian the general manager and he said bring them to him.when I did he passed them to Nate the regional install manager who immediately passed one back to Maggie and the rest to Alfonso customer support ....on and on I still haven't been paid so I started calling empire in Chicago , and left many messages for Erica Sanchez I believe is her name in human resource...meanwhile there is still more unpaid charges happening.I finally get a call from Erica and she said she will contact me in 24 to 48 hours to let me know about the new and old unpaid invoices. Her time is up today at 2:45 eastern time.... I'm sure I will have to call her repeatedly to get a reply this time, the newest problem is that I did a large vinyl job where the salesperson sold vinyl in a large area of the home. One area was a closed in lanai that had bad concrete with ceramic tile that was breaking and was very uneven.

I called Maggie with no answer so I called Alfonso and explained it to him he got Maggie on the phone and I explained it to her and told her I would need about 1200.00 to correct the floor by removing the bad tiles and pouring self leveler and then patching with skim coat to prepare the floor.this was about 9 am...the customer called the sales person and she agreed to come and look to see what could be done.keeping in touch with Maggie I told her the sales person couldn't be there till 1 or 2 and I would wait for her before starting the job. I called Maggie to let her know the sales person arrived and was pricing other products and that money would be an issue following the sale.I was approved for the 1200.00 for the work because she couldn't afford any other floor. Maggie put it in the system and I collected the money as extra to contract.

When I turned in the bill I was told I couldn't have any of the money even though I agreed to only ask for 900 to leave empire with some.I was told that all this money for extra labor was only for empire and I'm entitled to none of it.just the original labor.....I requested arbitration to Erica Sanchez and explained that not paying me for 34 hours labor was not an option and I would lean the property if this is not addressed... Look for part 2 of this complaint titled part 2

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpet not standing behind carpet

Charlene, we're truly sorry for the issues you and your husband have experienced with your product. We want every customer to be happy with their project and we'll work with any customer that isn't satisfied. It's my understanding that an outside inspection was scheduled for your home. As soon as we obtain the results of the inspection, we'll follow back with you so we can continue working on a resolution together. However, if you have any questions or concerns before this time, please feel free to call us directly at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#256447 Review #256447 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager

Empire is not standing behind the carpeting installed in four rooms and hallway on September 8, 2010. The traffic areas in the living-room and hallway are already severely matted!

The general manager (GM) resolution (after much going back and forth)is to replace the living room and hallway carpet but not the bedrooms. The hallway butts up to two bedrooms. The carpet laid is no longer available. I want the bedroom carpeting replaced as well.

The GM feels he is performing a "Customer Courtesy" by replacing the living-room and hallway carpet.

I was going to contact local TV channel 5 before I saw this site. I want to be fair and be treated fairly!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire today price gouging

Debra, we're sorry for your experience with your in-home estimate. It is our normal practice to try and work with each individual customer's budget and needs and it's disappointing to hear you may have not received this standard of service. We've tried to reach out to you recently to address your concerns and to see if you'd allow us the opportunity to send another sales representative to your home to work with you. If you could, please call us back at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#254120 Review #254120 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager

I had a rep. come to my house and give me a price for carpet, tile and two blinds.

She measured and came up with a price. I told her I could not afford it. She asked me what my budget was. I told her the most I could spend.

Dumb on my part. She called her two Managers and of course they could meet my budget! She dropped the price by $5000.00! I wish I would have told her less.

Is this price gouging or what? I am getting my items somewhere else with honest people for less than what she quoted me.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpet, a no-show, wasted my valuable time

We realize you made arrangements for the scheduled time and we never want customers to feel like we don’t think they’re important to us or their time isn’t valuable. I apologize for any trouble your missed sales appointment caused both you and your wife. We’ve looked up your account and there was an error in the scheduling of your appointment time. From what we understand our sales manager in your local area market has reached out to you but has been unable to reach you. We’d like to offer to send another sales representative to your home. You can email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact my via phone 888-588-2315 x4195 and a member of our Customer Service Team will be in contact with you soon
ID
#225545 Review #225545 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Manager

I read the negative reviews about Empire on this site, but I had recommendations from family that were happy with a previous purchase. But that had been years ago. I thought I would give them a try...

I called and set up an appointment for most of the flooring in my house. I was told that it is very important to have anyone making the decision present at the appointment and they had an opening for tonight at 7:00. This house is about 1 hour away from where we currently live. Since we will be living in this house, my pregnant wife had to come 1 hour and wait in a house with only a couple hard kitchen table chairs for 2 hours waiting for someone who did not show up.

When we called we were told that they don't know what happened. They had the appointment scheduled, but somehow it was lost in transit and although the time was scheduled and in their computer, noone was scheduled to come out. They offered to give us $60 toward our purchase to compensate us to their error. (When we spoke to a manager this number dropped to $50.)

Let me understand this: You fail to show and waste 8 hours of our time (4 hours each, 2 hours drive time + 2 hours waiting) and you will give us $6.25/ hour if we still purchase a carpet from you?????

After speaking to a manager, and asking them to get someone out there we were called back 20 minutes later telling us if we want to wait a little over an hour more, they could have someone meet with us. Let me remind you that my wife is pregnant and not feeling well. Waiting for them would have meant we would have been home well after midnight.

Our lives may not be important to Empire, but we have very little free time and with a baby coming we need to use it wisely. That said, waiting for Empire was not the wisest thing to do on a Monday evening....

This is unacceptable especially in this economy when companies should be trying to please their customers instead of playing around with them. There are other companies out there!!!!