Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Poor response to floor problem

Dear Maureen, We've read your review, and regret that your product was not meeting your expectations. This is not what we expect for our customers, and we would like to follow up with you and make things right. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can reach out to you. Thank you.
ID
#813453 Review #813453 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Cons
  • Communication methods
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$4500
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I had a wood laminate floor installed ~ 10 months ago. There are gaps in the floor; edges are peeling up.

Called Empire: chose the option for existing customers.waited 25 min on hold on my half hour lunch break. They made an appointment to come out- never showed up.Called them again: chose the option to become a new customer: my call was answered in 2 minutes! I was transferred to existing customer line-waited again. I was told they would call me the day they were coming to my house.

Never got a phone call. I demanded to speak to a manager: you guessed it. Waited again for 20+ minutes.

Someone finally came out to the house. They repaired one area.

Guess what_ I have more areas that need repair. I am SO SORRY I had them install my floor.

I have to call them again and I dread waiting on hold to get poor service.

My advice is not to get a floor from them. It is less than a year old and it pains me to look at it

1 comment
Kennidy
#1131420

We've read your review, and we regret that the product has not been meeting your expectations and that you've had issues with service. This is not what we expect for our customers, and we would like to follow up with you and make things right.

Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can reach out to you. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Poor Service

Dear Kathy,
We understand your frustration at the delays in your initial installation. We understand that we've been in contact with you and that your job has been completed. For future questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#808229 Review #808229 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Cons
  • Multiple reschedule of installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I have used Empire for years and this time was the last. The cancelled on me twice because they overbooked/the product was out of stock and both times this was after the installations were confirmed.

Today when they cancelled they said "well you weren't home on 3/1 when we showed up". The first time I was cancelled was on 2/27. I received 2 emails on 2/29 and I had spoken to someone on 2/29 and told them I couldn't *** work the following day, and I was told to call back in a week to re-schedule the carpet install. On 3/1 I received a message that the installers were at my home!

I then received another call on 3/2 asking what happened.

I informed the person to look at my acct, and there were no notes that I had spoken to anyone on 2/29. I had to take a vacation day on 3/3 to have the laminate installed and the carpeting was to be installed today 3/12.

Then I got a call this morning that they were overbooked (again). The lack of communication is appalling and I will never use Empire Today again!

1 comment
Kennidy
#1129653

We understand your frustration at the delays in your installation. We never want our customers to be inconvenienced or disappointed in our service.

We understand that we've been in contact with you and that the installation is scheduled, and we will be following up with you until everything is completed to your satisfaction.

You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you

Featured
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Laminate Flooring Review from Little Elm, Texas

Dear Thora,
We regret to read your post and assure you that your concerns are very important to us. If you continue to have unanswered concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#799520 Review #799520 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today - Laminate Flooring Review from Little Elm, Texas
Empire Today - Laminate Flooring Review from Little Elm, Texas
Empire Today - Laminate Flooring Review from Little Elm, Texas
Empire Today - Laminate Flooring Review from Little Elm, Texas
Empire Today - Laminate Flooring Review from Little Elm, Texas
Empire Today - Laminate Flooring Review from Little Elm, Texas

SUPER LONG POST, SORRY.

Do not ever buy floors from empire today. They are scammers that will say anything to get the sale. My husband and I finally decided to get new floors. The woman talked us out of hardwood per we have dogs and children. She said the wood laminate would stand up to our daily lives. Not even 6 months and the floor looked horrible. Chips, scratches, gaps, bubbling, my baseboards were hacked. I was super paranoid about keeping our new floors nice so trust me, it was not from anything crazy. They are beyond a pain to clean because if you use anything they bubble. With two dogs that's awesome...

When I called empire today they said the would replace the damaged parts. But they said since it was more than one or two spots I would have to cover installation again. What???!!

She then said I could always walk around with a wood stain pen. Who wants to have to fill in chips when the floor wasn't even a year old?!

I finally got the BBB involved. Empire sent out two different people to "investigate". They took pictures and had agreed to give us credit for what we paid.

They came out and showed us even cheaper product that was supposed to be more durable. They informed me that it would only cost me $1600 above what we already paid for the original instal.

I asked why they were so much more expensive than everyone else? She said that if I could find less expensive that I should send her quotes.

I sent her 3 different company's quotes all on high grade hand scrapped flooring for way less than the cheap stuff they were saying was high end. She then told me it didn't matter what their price was. I asked why they had me send them and she said she had no clue?!

Since they had told the BBB that they were giving me full credit they closed the case as resolved. Since then I cannot get a call back. They are liar, scammers and now I am just out all that money and my floors look worse and worse everyday. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Btw it was almost $6000 grand I believe for a little over 600 sq. feet. It makes me so angry and upset. It has been a back and forth battle between 3-4 years..

3 comments
Anonymous
#1175222

I had Empire do a measure and co sultation. The sales rep was beyond ill prepapred.

He tried to force the sale. Thank goodness my boyfriend was there because the sales rep was getting very pushy with me.

Anonymous
#1127337

I wish we had looked up these posts - especially yours - before we ordered from Empire. What a nightmare they are - when you can actually get in touch with a person.

Guess they have a lot of "pissed off" customers.

Hope your situation gets resolved. We are requesting them to take out the flooring they installed - incorrectly - and give us a full refund so we can purchase flooring from an honest, reputable and quality driven company.

Good Luck!

Kennidy
#1119762

Hi Thora, we've read your review, and it's disappointing that your concerns have not yet been addressed. We can assure you that we never want our customers to be disappointed in our products or our service, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation and work towards a resolution.

Thank you.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Laminate Creaking, Customer Service issue

Dear Elizabeth,
We are disappointed to read your post, but understand that we have addressed your concerns and reached a solution. If you continue to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#796793 Review #796793 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Pros
  • Came to my home
Cons
  • Person handling complaint will call in 1-3 days
  • Quality of the job
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • Installation

We had new laminate flooring installed 2 days ago, and although it looks beautiful, there's creaking everywhere we walk. I figured maybe it would take a day or two to settle or something, but it's really bothering me after 2 days.

I called Customer Service and they said there's only ONE person that handles these types of calls/issues and we would be contacted within 1-3 business days.

I have a sunken feeling right now and I just pray that they will cooperate and resolve the issue quickly. Otherwise, I will ask for a full refund and they can take back all the laminate!

2 comments
Anonymous
#1119143

empire does not use rosin paper as an underlayment, which is standard (and a must) in the industry to prevent the problems you are describing. It is to reduce the cost of the installation, but is considered VERY POOR practice.

Kennidy
#1117219

Hi Elizabeth, we regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations. We would like to know more about your concerns, and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation and work towards a resolution.

You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Still no word on my laminated floor

Dear Linda,
We are disappointed to read that your initial experience did not meet your expectations. It is our understanding that we have offered a fair solution to your concerns. If you have further questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#745114 Review #745114 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Cons
  • Job quality
  • Poor follow up on installation
  • Horrible customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Update by user Jan 03, 2016

They finally called and said that I would only have to pay 50% to have all new That tells you right there they are wrong If they would have put a moisture barrio down we wouldn't have this problem so I enjoyed the holiday and now Im taking them to small claims court Three different contracted said they would sign a statement for me so let you know how it goes

Original review posted by user Dec 04, 2015

Talk to Dianna was told they were going to send a inspector out which they did but have heard nothing from them I am getting tired of the run around I want my floor fixed I have dealt with Empire for along time but never had this lousy of service When you try to call they wont give you a direct number and you are put on hold forever but if you are placing a order they are Johnny on the spot

1 comment
Kennidy
#1073925

We regret that your concerns have not yet been addressed, and we would like to know more about the issues you’ve been experiencing so that we can help make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 so that we can follow up with you.

Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Lousy work

Dear Linda,
We are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. It is our understanding that have offered a fair solution to your concerns. If you have further questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#736529 Review #736529 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Cons
  • Way the installation went and the end product
  • Follow up
  • Mr tim sherwins attitude on the phone
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Tags
  • good customer
  • carpet installer
  • Laminate

Update by user Dec 18, 2015

Well I still didn't get this resolved That said it was from moisture I spoke to three different companies about this and they said on concrete you always have to put a moisture pad down on concrete So now they said it was from water or something on the floor which I only use a certain product on my floor Then they call and say they will replace it and I will pay fifty% and They will pay fifty % This has been a night mare for me Im an older woman drawing social security and I have to watch my money This is wrong Please don't use this company also they forgot to put down pieces of the molding

or

Original review posted by user Nov 18, 2015

I have been using Empire today for close to 20 years Carpet and Laminated floors Always had good results till this time first off the salesman planning told my daughter and me the floor was water proof The installers didn't come the day they were scheduled and the day they came they were late I live alone and have never put no water on this floor just damp mop then went over with dust sheet to shine Now they say no warranty its water damage Its popped up in serveral areas and its not water damage Have had laminated floors for 15 years and never had this problem Customer service is terrible about getting back with you I feel I have been taken advange of Probably have to go to small claims court This is ***

2 comments
Dietrich
#1072757

The inspector was out last week and still have not got issue resolved I am getting a little discourage I have 5 more rooms to do and I guess they don't care

Kennidy
#1066504

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations, and we understand that we’ve spoken to you about this issue and will be having an inspection done.

We will continue to follow up with you to work towards a resolution. Thank you.

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Theft

We take allegations such as these very seriously, and we would like to follow up with you so that we can learn more about what happened. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x3555 so that we can reach out to you. Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager
ID
#676236 Review #676236 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Cons
  • Lack of caring
  • Job quality
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Tags
  • Theft From Installers

The installers stole everything that they could get their hands on including a bunch of camera equipment. Equipment that I make part of my living with.

I have complaints about the workmanship and broken plumbing that they acted as if they had nothing to do with but it pales when compared with stealing. All you can do is to have security people watching when they come into your house and then search them before they leave. I need to add thousands of dollars to the cost of the job.

In the old west stealing a mans tools was a hanging offense.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Avoid Empire-Today at all costs! Take it from a former Sales Contractor and custome.

Dear Jill,
We are disappointed to hear that your experience working with our company was not a positive one. If you remain to have concerns please contact our Human Resources derpartment at 800-588-2300.
Thank you.
ID
#674125 Review #674125 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Laminate Flooring
Cons
  • Job quality
Reason of review
Problems with payments, quality of work, damage to my propert, no shows, crazy installe, lies told by local managers, use of illegal workmen
Loss
$14900
Empire Today - Avoid Empire-Today at all costs! Take it from a former Sales Contractor and custome.
Empire Today - Avoid Empire-Today at all costs! Take it from a former Sales Contractor and custome.
Empire Today - Avoid Empire-Today at all costs! Take it from a former Sales Contractor and custome.
Empire Today - Avoid Empire-Today at all costs! Take it from a former Sales Contractor and custome.
Empire Today - Avoid Empire-Today at all costs! Take it from a former Sales Contractor and custome.
Empire Today - Avoid Empire-Today at all costs! Take it from a former Sales Contractor and custome.
Empire Today - Avoid Empire-Today at all costs! Take it from a former Sales Contractor and custome.

Avoid Empire-Today at all costs!

I come from a unique perspective in that I worked as an Independent Sales Contractor for Empire for a year and a half. Unfortunately, I cannot speak to Empires business model or practices due to a confidentiality agreement, but I can speak as a customer who used Empire 4 times, once prior to my employment. So trust me when I say avoid at all costs unless you want the risk of them having to come back a repair things, damage to your property, no shows, out of stock, charging you in full before the job starts and endless emails, phone calls and hassles!

My first install was approximately 6 years ago. I ordered laminate for 2 rooms, a hallway and stairs, got a phone call the next day saying they don't do laminate on stairs, but that they would do hardwood at no additional cost, I was assured it would match the laminate. It was not suggested that I do the entire job in hardwood, which I could have afforded. It never looked right and friends always asked, why do laminate and wood together? After the install we noticed every nail on the stairs was popping out. They never set the nails. A safety hazard. We called and it was repaired. So when I got a call, as they had seen my resume on line, to come work for them 4 years later I accepted. After all, they had fixed the stairs. I did enjoy the freedom the job gave me and working with customers, that's about all.

My next install was a little over a year ago for carpet in 4 bedrooms. Once completed I noticed a 1 inch gap from the wall in an area, a seam that was buckling and visable on one half and the other was perfect, and exposed tack strips that punctured my foot! They came back did the repairs except to the seam. I was told it's the type of carpet, but why then was one half of it perfect? I just accepted it.

The third install we were fixing the house up to sell and we did tile and carpet on the stairs and hall where they had done wood and laminate years before. They started with the tile in the kitchen. I had just had all my cabinets professionally painted. They took no precautions and covered nothing. My painter who was doing another job for me noticed they had scratched almost all of my kitchen cabinets and he was furious as was I. The contract does say baseboards can be nicked, but not cabinet doors some which were as high as a foot from the floor, I called installations to complain, they assured me the bathroom cabinets which were next would be covered. The next day they started on my bathroom and again did not cover the cabinets. I had to stop them and have them cover the cabinets. Later I came upstairs and they had gotten thin set all over the carpet I had put in 6months earlier. While I called to complain they scrubbed the dirt in with a cloth and water. Really? Now it was all ground in! I was offered to pay for the cabinets a carpet, but I did not want to make waves with the company I worked for, my husband wanted to be reimbursed, but I didn't pursue it. Once the tile was done, we noticed numerous areas were the tile was crooked and sticking up. I asked for a different crew to come make the repairs and they sent the same ones! Next the carpet? They charged me in full when the installer arrived, we get alerts on every charge, I didn't make a fuss as it was a one day job. The carpet installer said the wood stairs had to come out, I didn't want them out in case the new owners wanted them. He kept insisting. I called the install manager and he told the installer that yes we can carpet over stairs. Did they just get this installer off the street? Surprisingly, no other issues with the carpet.

We purchased a new home and needed flooring. My husband begged me to use someone else and quit Empire. I told him I'd talk to the install manager and make sure we got one of the best crews. I was assured everything would go smoothly this time....Ha! A drunk driver crashed through the living room the day of closing. I had placed the order for tile and hardwood prior to closing , but had to remove from the order the hardwood from the front room. When the room was repaired I added the wood back to the order and made one other change. For these changes I was referred to by my General Manager in an email he copied to several people in the organization as a "sales rep with half a brain". Really, for making changes to an order because a drunk driver ran into my house? This was totally out of my control yet he slandered me within the company! Anyway, the hardwood was first to go in, again I was charged in full $10,517 before the job even started and it was 2weeks later that it was completed. Against the law and breach of contract! Before they started the lead installer said Empire ran out of stock and he only had enough to do 2 bedrooms and hallway. They finished early and had done the mbr and hall and 2/3 of my daughters room. The installer said he could have finished my daughters room but that he stormed out of the warehouse in anger leaving 3 cartons behind. He said he was so pissed because Empire was "consistently running out of stock" and that "other companies he does work for are never out of stock "! His words not mine. No one could tell me when the wood would be in, so I asked the install manager to go ahead and start the tile and he said they would start Monday, this was Saturday. Monday came no one showed. I called to ask why and the assistant install mgr said "they didn't have any installers who could get through the border checkpoint in Temecula". So, they're hiring illegals? That was news to me. I decided to have a painter start since we couldn't get anyone to do tile and the wood was out of stock. I told the install manager the painter would be done in 4 days which was Friday. They got the wood in and wanted to start Wednesday and I said no Friday the painter will be finishing up. The installer came Friday morning while I went out for coffee, 15minutes. The painter said the installer took pictures of the area he was working and said "I can't work like this." And stormed out again in a rage! I called install and the general manager and got a tongue lashing as they had seen the installers pictures. I then took pictures of my daughters room and office which were nowhere near where the painter was working and the installer could have worked without even bumping into the painter. I forwarded them to install and the GM and all I got was an "oh". I also want to ad that I was accused by the GM of writing a bad yelp review which I did not. He called me a liar and said it was in front of him and he was reading it. Come to find out my husband called to complain and threatened to yelp, but never did. When I confronted the GM he said he never said he actually read the post on yelp. Now who's lying? No apologies for yelling at me or talking down to me....typical! I have since written reviews about Empire on yelp, consumer websites, etc...I asked for a different installer because of the installers anger issues. I was assured by the GM they would not be sending the same installer. The next day again they couldn't send anyone else until the following week as they couldn't get past the border checkpoint. I had to use the same installer. My daughter couldn't sleep in her room for 2 weeks as it was and it couldn't wait another week! That morning the same installer ran the security gate to out community and refused to pull over until he got to my house. He exited his truck in a rage (what's new) waving his arms and swearing at the security guard. I stepped in calmed him down and talked to the officer. The installer was lucky he did not get cited or had I not intervened arrested! The job was finished and for once done right the first time, I should say so far as I can tell. I cancelled the tile order, resigned and turned in my samples. I did get my kitchen tiled by another company and they took great care with my kitchen cabinets, I didn't even have to ask, not one nick or scratch, go figure! Bottom line read the reviews on Empire and how the majority are bad. You might get a reply saying only disgruntled people do reviews on sites like yelp. Not true, don't by the spin! Do not risk going with Empire!

1 comment
Anonymous
#1081639

your monetary loss was YOUR fault for continuing to deal with the company…seriously??? You could have gotten another job as your case was most certainly not an isolated incident and you had to know the ship shoddy work and the rip off the company is.