Product: Empire Today Flooring Installation Clear all filters (59 of 59 reviews match)
Filter by rating
filters
Seller:
Show
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Worst Company to hire

Dear Steve,
Our mission is to “Make beautiful new floors easy,” for our nationwide customers, and we’re committed to upholding our reputation and achieve our vision to become America’s first and best choice for installed flooring.

We appreciate you making us aware of this matter, and understand that we’re currently working with you towards a resolution. We’ll continue to follow up until your concerns have been fully addressed.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1113604 Review #1113604 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

On August 25 Empire sales rep John Reardon came to my house and sold me on a bunch of false promises. I ordered 905 square feet of porcelain tile to be installed throughout my house starting on September 5.

I received a phone call the Wednesday before installation to confirm my appointment and to make sure that I prepare all areas to be tiled. The next Saturday I was called back from Bill saying that they did not have the tile I ordered in stock and would not be able to do the install unless I picked different tile. I specifically said I wanted that tile and I would wait for them to call me when they had the tile in stock. The following Thursday I received a call from Empire to confirm my new appointment.

An appointment that I never made. I asked if they had the tile in stock to which they replied no and I asked how they were going to do the install with no tile. For the next three weeks I was called to confirm an appointment that was never made even though they still did not have my tile in stock. Finally, on October 5 I called Bill and he said they did get my shipment of tile in and they would be able to do the install starting on October 11.

When I spoke to Bill he had no idea that I was supposed to receive baseboards with the install. When the installers showed up they complained that the work order was all messed up and I would have to explain in detail all that was needed. Once shown what needed to be done they broke out their string to check the subfloor for level. They found several spots that were not level and started to complain that this job was going to be bigger than they anticipated.

They called their boss John who then called me and explain everything the installers had previously explained. He added that the job was bigger than they thought and didn’t want to do it because of lack of time. They were looking for an easy job. John then stated that we could go ahead with the install but it was going to be an added 3k for a few bags of concrete and some grinding.

Leveling a subfloor does not cost anywhere near that amount. He threw that price out there so I would refuse. Empire hires subcontractors to do their work. This is no surprise.

But they do not do a fair estimation for the work to be done. John Reardon only measured and gave a 6500 estimate. Once the subcontractor got there the estimate grew by 3k. This is absolutely ridiculous.

After waiting over a month for an install with my entire house packed into my living room I am still without tile and am forced to find another company that can do the job at the quoted price.

I would never recommend Empire for any services past a basic carpet install. It is probably the only thing they are capable of doing because it is “easy work” Steve

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - Return vist to fix original installation - Resolved

Dear Toni,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we work with each of our customers from start to finish until their concerns are answered.

We regret to hear that you remain unsatisfied, and assure you that we take matters such as these very seriously. We’ll further review your request, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1112105 Review #1112105 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Poor workmanship
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

I have attached a before and after of one areas that was repaired/fixed by the very unprofessional installation. Looks worse now than before the fix.

I do not want Empire Today back to replace the flooring, I want my bill reduced so I can hire professionals to paint and repair the damage caused by the installation and re-do. Now I have been receiving collection phone calls from Empire Today. This has been a nightmare. I have had several contractors from Empire Today look at the installation, I have repeatably asked that the original contractor not return.

But he returned and reluctantly replaced the shoddy work he did from the beginning. I believe it is the luck of the draw when you hire Empire Today.

If they send a good contractor you get a professional installation. I hope this is resolved soon.

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

So many contractors have been sent to fix this unprofessional installation and it is still an unprofessional installation. I have been in communication with the complaint department but this is still not resolved.

The last offer, which was very generous, wants to send another crew and install another new floor.

I have rejected this offer, I want my balance to be reduced and for them to put on strip of quarter round to cover up a very badly cut vinyl. Now I am being threatened with collections.Where do go from here?

Update by user Jan 22, 2018

Empire Today was responsive, but not quickly and I had to wait for a 4 hour window more than once. One time they did not show up at all.

It has not been completed yet but some repairs have been done by a professional. I am requesting that they balance of my bill be reduced and that one more quarter round be installed to cover up the uneven/shoddy cutting of the vinyl at installation. Empire Today offered to pay for the repair to the baseboard with 3 estimates from licensed painting contractors.

I was not able to find a contractor that would only paint small areas. My problem is that it should have been right the first time.

Original review posted by user Oct 08, 2017

After many emails and photos the original installers returned. I had requested that they not return several times.

I had said from the beginning if they thought the installation was done correctly I did not want them back. But that did not matter. The installers were argumentative and even suggested we call someone else to fix it and bill Empire Today. They reluctantly did the work they were sent out to do.

They removed some of the white caulking and replaced some of the qtr. Leaving white caulking and covering it with clear did not work and mitering should have been done at the corners. So it looks better but it is still unprofessional. They also did not take any responsibility for damage at installation.

Tiles were knocked loose and fell off later and chips in the baseboard were new. They did remove the cement from the walls and the door.

I had vinyl installed and it came in one big roll that was difficult to move around, this is why there was other damage. Here are the photos after it was fixed.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Tulsa, Oklahoma - Unhappy

Dear Dan,
Our mission is to “Make beautiful new floors easy,” for our nationwide customers, and we accomplish our mission by providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide.

We appreciate you making us aware of this matter. We’ll be following up with you soon to discuss your concerns further and start working towards a solution.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1101975 Review #1101975 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Cons
  • Work
Reason of review
Bad quality
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Empire Today - Unhappy
Empire Today - Unhappy
Empire Today - Unhappy

Terrible job , some of the mistakes are small and some are just terrible work . They were to send someone out to check work but never did , wouldn't want to use them again.

When I would ask the installer to fix something or the color didn't match , he would just say it did . Installer just showed up one morning and was knocking on my bedroom door , still don't know how he got in to my house , it was early , 7:00 AM Sunday morning , after I had been working all night .

I don't think Empire does the work , I think they sub it all out . All around , just plain terrible doing business with them .

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Ridiculous!!!!

Dear Toby and Hillary Chance,
We are committed to upholding our reputation and achieve our vision to become America’s first and best choice for installed flooring.
Your concerns are important to us, and we’ll continue to follow up with you until a resolution is reached.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1096700 Review #1096700 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
ordering - lack of competence
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I am only giving Empire Today one star because the poor contractor who has installed our flooring has gotten just as much run-around as I have and the work he has done is good. BUT.

We were supposed to have our floors installed 8/18/17. I am STILL WAITING for this job to be completed and it is because higher up’s (who orders the materials, the sales guy? He certainly ordered the wrong material from the start as far as I can tell!!!) are not competent enough to order the correct material to provide to their contracted installers. I have had the same contractors in my home many times over the last couple of weeks.

They ordered too much of one type of flooring then not enough of another; over and over! My son’s room is still not complete!! They were supposed to finish the installment (just a few feet of quarter round!!) this morning but when they got there they had the wrong color material so they will have to come back AGAIN. This is NOT the installers’ fault as far as I know.

They work for this massive company and are only supposed to install the material provided to them. How can they install the material if it is not ordered appropriately? It is September 5 now and he will have to come back AGAIN to finish! I will NEVER recommend this company.

VERY unprofessional.

The sales guy comes in and makes his sale then it all goes to ***. I am VERY disappointed.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation

Dear Toni,
Providing exceptional customer service is our number one priority, and we strive to make to make beautiful new floors easy for all of our nationwide customers.
Your concerns are important to us, and we’ll be in contact with you soon to learn more and start working towards a resolution.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1095688 Review #1095688 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Pros
  • Customer service representative
Cons
  • Solutions that did not work for me
  • Damage done at installation
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Tags
  • Poor Installation
Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation

Update by user Sep 13, 2017

My update: As of today (9/13/2017) Customer Service has told me that I had agreed to buy my own quarter round and caulking and they will install it. This is not true.

I did not agree, I was only told that they do not not have quarter round or caulking that match the my flooring. I did not even have even a sample of the flooring to buy the quarter round and caulking. I was told that the lifetime warranty would be negated if I bought my own. I was sent a small piece of the vinyl while I was on a month's vacation.

I am not going shopping for this and I expect someone to bring quarter round and caulking that are the same and match the floor and install it professionally. How hard is that? The photos show the unprofessional workmanship and white caulking. It also shows the baseboard damage at all corners.

The damage to my baseboards and door was never addressed. I did not realize that there would be so much damage to my baseboards. It would make better to put new baseboards in than doing a fix up. The glue on the wall and door shows sloppy workmanship.

Unhappy customer that will have to have another company fix the damage. Toni Burke

Original review posted by user Sep 02, 2017

Customer Service has tried to resolve my problem since the installation date. My original concern was the white caulking and quarter round on brown floor.

I thought that caulking would be used in the area of tile in the bathroom, not around every corner. Which is very sloppy. Caulking is too generously used and it is white. I had wood floor installed downstairs and it did not look like this vinyl install.

I am sorry I had this work done without getting other estimates, but I believed that Empire Today would have experience with flooring that would be professional. The salesman said that caulking would be used, he pointed to the tile, and that it would be a thin bead. There is not a thin bead anywhere. The vinyl is installed in one large sheet and cement is used to glue it down.

The cement is on the wall in some places and on the door. The baseboard shows damage or cement in different places. I do not know how this problem can be resolved without more damage to the baseboard and other areas. The tiles in the bathroom came loose and fell of when I leaned against them while the last installer was there.

The tiles were not noticed as we have been out of town. I had listed my complaints before. Mainly I had been addressing the color not the damage. I should have included that also when I first began with the concerns.

I had submitted photos before. I will submit them again. The last email conversation said that they do not have the quarter round and caulking to match my flooring and that I would have to go to the store and buy them myself. Not acceptable.

Also the same poor installers were required to come back out to fix the problems. How could that work.

If they thought they did a good job why would I want them back again? A supervisor came to inspect but did not mention the damage, which he could clearly see.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - New Customer- 4 days of issues

Dear Larry,

Providing exceptional customer service is our number one priority, and it’s our goal for our customers to have a positive experience from start to finish.

Your concerns are important to us, and we understand that there’s a repair scheduled for you on 8/28/17. We’ll continue to follow up until a solution is reached and your concerns are fully addressed.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1089402 Review #1089402 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Pros
  • Very dissappointed
Reason of review
customer service/installation manager/cancel department and Joel
Loss
$2000
Empire Today - New Customer- 4 days of issues
Empire Today - New Customer- 4 days of issues

sales person Ed G. been with company 30+ yrs.

we tried getting him to FIX this issue and do the right thing. his words "not my issue". WOW Day 1- 6/15 received call indicated cant do carpet and laminate in different days, due to a liability. will send out our best crews- me okay great!

are you sure it will be done in one day! CS Rep "yes" Day 2- 6/16- rec call at 7:30AM indicating we are 1st on route 2-3 hours before they get to our house. after a few calls this 1 installer showed up at 1:05PM with no tools to put in laminate :/ after trying to cancel. The cancellation person James, asked me not to cancel and he would make sure, someone would get tools in an hour.

THAT never happened. This installer (one) was at our house till MIDNIGHT! WE ASKED HIM TO LEAVE IT . we had furniture to move, my 9-10yr old were moving furniture on my sons BDAY!

so he can get started. my husband had to buy screws to assist so that the squeaks would be removed. as per the sales guy "that's what we do" we would get 2 sets of crews to get this done. again, only one guy showed up.

The Install manager set this employee up to fail. Day 3- 6/17 after numerous calls to managers/VP still nothing, installer at our house till 9PM and hallway and stairs still not done. He finally told us, he was having a hard time with laminate cause he didn't know how to do it. not to mention he didn't have tools to fix stairs wood.

Day 4- 6/18 after 6 calls in the AM, they sent Tito to the rescue, he finally rocked this out in 2 hours. When we started having issues from day one, they should have sent him out. Days off with no pay. Not to mention they left the old carpet on our lawn for 2 days and now the green lawn is dying.

I don't want to deal with another company again.

Now we need to see if the work was as bad as the customer services. we shall see.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review

Dear Christine,
At the core of our mission is our commitment to customer satisfaction. We aim to address every customer concern until a solution is reached, and always put our customers first.
We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously. We’ll be following up with you shortly to further discuss your concerns and start working with you towards a resolution.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1065623 Review #1065623 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

While the flooring looked great upon installation, 4 days after installation, I had water seeping between the tiles in my bathroom. I am very disturbed that Empire claims to have the capability to remove and re-install a bathroom toilet in order to install new flooring in a bathroom, when I am seeing water seeping through the tiles. I would not recommend Empire to anyone.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Seams visible and bubbles at seams

Dear Tim,
Customer satisfaction is our main priority, and we strive to leave a positive lasting impression from start to finish.
Your concerns are important to us, and we’ll be following up with you shortly to address your concerns.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1061545 Review #1061545 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Pros
  • Originally liked salesperson -
  • Were fast
Cons
  • Having an actual repair team come fix issue
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$1140
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Tags
  • Carpet Restretching

I had carpet installed on June 1st and 2nd, 2017, by two different crews. This first crew on June 1 did a bang up job (that's good).

However, the second crew didn't properly glue the seams together in order to hide them. All the carpet was the same, no differences in carpet. Also one area is showing a failure to "kick" tight the carpet in order to glue it down. Now, two weeks later, I still have not received a "repair" visit.

I called on June 2 to get a repair person to come out, minutes after the installation crew left. Wed would be the first appt. Fine, I said. Wed...

no call, no repair guy, so i called, ok, we'll do it on Friday. Friday... no call, no repair guy, so i called customer "no service" again and they told me they were escalating my request and that someone would contact me within 24 hrs. NOT.....

Finally, a lady in the Atlanta office called me to set up, yet another, appointment, today 6/15/17, between 8 - 12. Well, at 8:00 am I received the automated call, "you're not as important as you think, so we'll get out there this afternoon", message. So i called and left a message and followed up with an e-mail to the lady who assured me this would be done today. Well, now at 3:33 pm on June 15, no installer has shown up, or called.

But the lady did offer to schedule a repair team for Saturday. Saturday, if you can't get out on Wed, Fri, or Thurs, what makes you think they'll show up on a Saturday. The scheduling of the appointments is not the issue, it's the crews not showing up or calling to update you on their estimated arrival time. I've been waiting now 2 weeks to move into our new home, since i don't want to move furniture for the carpet guys, only to continue to wait and be put on a back burner.

Pissed... a bit!

Testimonial

Empire Today is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

I called several places, but Empire Today was the only one that talked to me on a Saturday afternoon and scheduled a person to come out Monday. Everybody else waited until Monday or Tuesday to even call me back. I had hardwood installed in my master bedroom. It was in...
View full review
Review
#1060349 Review #1060349 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Good quality
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Disappointed Customer

Dear Customer,

We are committed to customer satisfaction and strive to accomplish our mission of “Making beautiful new floors easy,” each and every day.

It is our goal to make sure that every concern is addressed, and we’d like the opportunity to follow up with you and learn more about your experience. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, so that we may further assist you.
We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1042753 Review #1042753 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer

My review would not allow me to post the pics. I took these pics of some of the issues with our Hardwood floors that were installed a couple months ago.

They filled gaps with putty and nailed too far away from the wall that even $300 thicker molding won't cover. Unless we purchase more expensive custom molding we will have to find a way to hide their mistakes. We have an area behind our television that is a complete mess which I did voice my concerns while the installers were here and they said all the floor would have to be ripped up and redone if they were to fix it...It truly looks hideous and has to be hidden with an additional trim piece that does not match the rest of the room. The whole purpose of having this work done was to get rid of all the carpeting hoping to improve our child's health but instead we have a feeling of disappointment.

I've included only 6 pics that shows a small amount of the issues because space was limited on here. The pic with the cable cord had to have the additional trim because the molding alone shows how bad it really is.

My son is a carpenter and could not believe that they left a 1/2" gap. Such a waste of $10,000 spent apparently we did not spend enough to be treated better :(