Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Ridiculous!!!!

Dear Toby and Hillary Chance,
We are committed to upholding our reputation and achieve our vision to become America’s first and best choice for installed flooring.
Your concerns are important to us, and we’ll continue to follow up with you until a resolution is reached.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1096700 Review #1096700 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
ordering - lack of competence
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I am only giving Empire Today one star because the poor contractor who has installed our flooring has gotten just as much run-around as I have and the work he has done is good. BUT.

We were supposed to have our floors installed 8/18/17. I am STILL WAITING for this job to be completed and it is because higher up’s (who orders the materials, the sales guy? He certainly ordered the wrong material from the start as far as I can tell!!!) are not competent enough to order the correct material to provide to their contracted installers. I have had the same contractors in my home many times over the last couple of weeks.

They ordered too much of one type of flooring then not enough of another; over and over! My son’s room is still not complete!! They were supposed to finish the installment (just a few feet of quarter round!!) this morning but when they got there they had the wrong color material so they will have to come back AGAIN. This is NOT the installers’ fault as far as I know.

They work for this massive company and are only supposed to install the material provided to them. How can they install the material if it is not ordered appropriately? It is September 5 now and he will have to come back AGAIN to finish! I will NEVER recommend this company.

VERY unprofessional.

The sales guy comes in and makes his sale then it all goes to ***. I am VERY disappointed.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation

Dear Toni,
Providing exceptional customer service is our number one priority, and we strive to make to make beautiful new floors easy for all of our nationwide customers.
Your concerns are important to us, and we’ll be in contact with you soon to learn more and start working towards a resolution.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1095688 Review #1095688 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Pros
  • Customer service representative
Cons
  • Damage done at installation
  • Solutions that did not work for me
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website.

Verified Reviewer
Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today - Unprofessional Installation

Update by user Sep 13, 2017

My update: As of today (9/13/2017) Customer Service has told me that I had agreed to buy my own quarter round and caulking and they will install it. This is not true.

I did not agree, I was only told that they do not not have quarter round or caulking that match the my flooring. I did not even have even a sample of the flooring to buy the quarter round and caulking. I was told that the lifetime warranty would be negated if I bought my own. I was sent a small piece of the vinyl while I was on a month's vacation.

I am not going shopping for this and I expect someone to bring quarter round and caulking that are the same and match the floor and install it professionally. How hard is that? The photos show the unprofessional workmanship and white caulking. It also shows the baseboard damage at all corners.

The damage to my baseboards and door was never addressed. I did not realize that there would be so much damage to my baseboards. It would make better to put new baseboards in than doing a fix up. The glue on the wall and door shows sloppy workmanship.

Unhappy customer that will have to have another company fix the damage. Toni Burke

Original review posted by user Sep 02, 2017

Customer Service has tried to resolve my problem since the installation date. My original concern was the white caulking and quarter round on brown floor.

I thought that caulking would be used in the area of tile in the bathroom, not around every corner. Which is very sloppy. Caulking is too generously used and it is white. I had wood floor installed downstairs and it did not look like this vinyl install.

I am sorry I had this work done without getting other estimates, but I believed that Empire Today would have experience with flooring that would be professional. The salesman said that caulking would be used, he pointed to the tile, and that it would be a thin bead. There is not a thin bead anywhere. The vinyl is installed in one large sheet and cement is used to glue it down.

The cement is on the wall in some places and on the door. The baseboard shows damage or cement in different places. I do not know how this problem can be resolved without more damage to the baseboard and other areas. The tiles in the bathroom came loose and fell of when I leaned against them while the last installer was there.

The tiles were not noticed as we have been out of town. I had listed my complaints before. Mainly I had been addressing the color not the damage. I should have included that also when I first began with the concerns.

I had submitted photos before. I will submit them again. The last email conversation said that they do not have the quarter round and caulking to match my flooring and that I would have to go to the store and buy them myself. Not acceptable.

Also the same poor installers were required to come back out to fix the problems. How could that work.

If they thought they did a good job why would I want them back again? A supervisor came to inspect but did not mention the damage, which he could clearly see.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - New Customer- 4 days of issues

Dear Larry,

Providing exceptional customer service is our number one priority, and it’s our goal for our customers to have a positive experience from start to finish.

Your concerns are important to us, and we understand that there’s a repair scheduled for you on 8/28/17. We’ll continue to follow up until a solution is reached and your concerns are fully addressed.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1089402 Review #1089402 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Pros
  • Very dissappointed
Reason of review
customer service/installation manager/cancel department and Joel
Loss
$2000
Empire Today - New Customer- 4 days of issues
Empire Today - New Customer- 4 days of issues

sales person Ed G. been with company 30+ yrs.

we tried getting him to FIX this issue and do the right thing. his words "not my issue". WOW Day 1- 6/15 received call indicated cant do carpet and laminate in different days, due to a liability. will send out our best crews- me okay great!

are you sure it will be done in one day! CS Rep "yes" Day 2- 6/16- rec call at 7:30AM indicating we are 1st on route 2-3 hours before they get to our house. after a few calls this 1 installer showed up at 1:05PM with no tools to put in laminate :/ after trying to cancel. The cancellation person James, asked me not to cancel and he would make sure, someone would get tools in an hour.

THAT never happened. This installer (one) was at our house till MIDNIGHT! WE ASKED HIM TO LEAVE IT . we had furniture to move, my 9-10yr old were moving furniture on my sons BDAY!

so he can get started. my husband had to buy screws to assist so that the squeaks would be removed. as per the sales guy "that's what we do" we would get 2 sets of crews to get this done. again, only one guy showed up.

The Install manager set this employee up to fail. Day 3- 6/17 after numerous calls to managers/VP still nothing, installer at our house till 9PM and hallway and stairs still not done. He finally told us, he was having a hard time with laminate cause he didn't know how to do it. not to mention he didn't have tools to fix stairs wood.

Day 4- 6/18 after 6 calls in the AM, they sent Tito to the rescue, he finally rocked this out in 2 hours. When we started having issues from day one, they should have sent him out. Days off with no pay. Not to mention they left the old carpet on our lawn for 2 days and now the green lawn is dying.

I don't want to deal with another company again.

Now we need to see if the work was as bad as the customer services. we shall see.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review

Dear Christine,
At the core of our mission is our commitment to customer satisfaction. We aim to address every customer concern until a solution is reached, and always put our customers first.
We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously. We’ll be following up with you shortly to further discuss your concerns and start working with you towards a resolution.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1065623 Review #1065623 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

While the flooring looked great upon installation, 4 days after installation, I had water seeping between the tiles in my bathroom. I am very disturbed that Empire claims to have the capability to remove and re-install a bathroom toilet in order to install new flooring in a bathroom, when I am seeing water seeping through the tiles. I would not recommend Empire to anyone.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Seams visible and bubbles at seams

Dear Tim,
Customer satisfaction is our main priority, and we strive to leave a positive lasting impression from start to finish.
Your concerns are important to us, and we’ll be following up with you shortly to address your concerns.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1061545 Review #1061545 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Pros
  • Originally liked salesperson -
  • Were fast
Cons
  • Having an actual repair team come fix issue
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$1140
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I had carpet installed on June 1st and 2nd, 2017, by two different crews. This first crew on June 1 did a bang up job (that's good).

However, the second crew didn't properly glue the seams together in order to hide them. All the carpet was the same, no differences in carpet. Also one area is showing a failure to "kick" tight the carpet in order to glue it down. Now, two weeks later, I still have not received a "repair" visit.

I called on June 2 to get a repair person to come out, minutes after the installation crew left. Wed would be the first appt. Fine, I said. Wed...

no call, no repair guy, so i called, ok, we'll do it on Friday. Friday... no call, no repair guy, so i called customer "no service" again and they told me they were escalating my request and that someone would contact me within 24 hrs. NOT.....

Finally, a lady in the Atlanta office called me to set up, yet another, appointment, today 6/15/17, between 8 - 12. Well, at 8:00 am I received the automated call, "you're not as important as you think, so we'll get out there this afternoon", message. So i called and left a message and followed up with an e-mail to the lady who assured me this would be done today. Well, now at 3:33 pm on June 15, no installer has shown up, or called.

But the lady did offer to schedule a repair team for Saturday. Saturday, if you can't get out on Wed, Fri, or Thurs, what makes you think they'll show up on a Saturday. The scheduling of the appointments is not the issue, it's the crews not showing up or calling to update you on their estimated arrival time. I've been waiting now 2 weeks to move into our new home, since i don't want to move furniture for the carpet guys, only to continue to wait and be put on a back burner.

Pissed... a bit!

Empire Today - Great Prices, Incredible Service

I called several places, but Empire Today was the only one that talked to me on a Saturday afternoon and scheduled a person to come out Monday. Everybody else waited until Monday or Tuesday to even call me back. I had hardwood installed in my master bedroom. It was in our price range and they could do it in the timeframe that we needed. The color is great and they're easy upkeep. They're better than my original hardwood in the rest of my house and they were factory finished unlike the others. The people we worked with were very professional and the guys that came in were very nice and worked on what they needed to do and got it done. It was a good experience. A lot of times when you're putting in hardwood, you have insulation under it, but our garage doesn’t have any. Naturally if you're putting in hardwood and you're putting in nails, there were splinters everywhere, and I showed that to the installer. But he said, “No problem. We can still sweep this. We'll clean it up before we leave.” And they did. Vicky Shotts
View full review
Testimonial

Empire Today is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#1060349 Review #1060349 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Good quality
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Disappointed Customer

Dear Customer,

We are committed to customer satisfaction and strive to accomplish our mission of “Making beautiful new floors easy,” each and every day.

It is our goal to make sure that every concern is addressed, and we’d like the opportunity to follow up with you and learn more about your experience. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, so that we may further assist you.
We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1042753 Review #1042753 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer
Empire Today - Disappointed Customer

My review would not allow me to post the pics. I took these pics of some of the issues with our Hardwood floors that were installed a couple months ago.

They filled gaps with putty and nailed too far away from the wall that even $300 thicker molding won't cover. Unless we purchase more expensive custom molding we will have to find a way to hide their mistakes. We have an area behind our television that is a complete mess which I did voice my concerns while the installers were here and they said all the floor would have to be ripped up and redone if they were to fix it...It truly looks hideous and has to be hidden with an additional trim piece that does not match the rest of the room. The whole purpose of having this work done was to get rid of all the carpeting hoping to improve our child's health but instead we have a feeling of disappointment.

I've included only 6 pics that shows a small amount of the issues because space was limited on here. The pic with the cable cord had to have the additional trim because the molding alone shows how bad it really is.

My son is a carpenter and could not believe that they left a 1/2" gap. Such a waste of $10,000 spent apparently we did not spend enough to be treated better :(

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review

Dear Cary,
We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet you expectations. We understand that you have agreed to cancel your order. If you continue to have questions and/or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1016946 Review #1016946 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

PUBLICpublished review 3/2/17 We met with a sales rep last month and picked out flooring for our home. To save money we decided to pull up all the carpet and old hardwoods ourselves and have all the furniture out and floors prepped before install.

Received a call asking us to move our install date from April 25 to March 2 and they would give a corporate discount of $500 off our new hardwoods. Agreed and now we really have to get moving on demo and moving furniture out. Well today is the day and they come in and tells us that they van not install our flooring because of the humidity is greater than the floors itself. This test should be completed prior to purchase.

If done so we could have picked out different flooring that accommodates. The sales representative should have tested and made us aware. I have contacted several customer service reps including the sales supervisor Kenneth Williams, that was very rude and non compliant of the issues we are having. I myself took off from work to have this installation completed and I can say was a waste of time and money on my part.

Never go with Empire. I would not recommend them to anyone and as far as their always striving for a perfect 10 they have received a 0 from this customer. They have not up held their promises for "building customers for life".

Oh and it gets worse. I will send another review or edit this one until I hear back from someone in corporate and not the Raleigh Durham location.

Highly Recommend Empire Today

I just got my new laminate flooring in and it looks wonderful! The installers were very polite and helped move everything back in, even the stuff that I had moved out on my own earlier in the day. My salesman, Cory P. was very nice and if I came in with a lower price from another company, he made sure he either matched it or lowered their price. I recommend this company to anyone who is looking for a great deal and great service! Elisa R.
View full review
Testimonial

Empire Today is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#1013203 Review #1013203 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Good quality
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review

Dear Leah,

We never want our customers to be disappointed in the work that is done in their homes, and regret to hear that your installation has not met your expectations. We will be in contact with you shortly to discuss this matter further and start working with you towards a solution.

Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#994184 Review #994184 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

Poor customer service and wrong productEmpire today installed laminate flooring on the main level of my town home. After installation we noticed that the kitchen was significantly lower than the dinning room which caused our table to sit at a noticeable slope.

8 months later we had our fridge repaired which resulted in a leak and caused damage to the floor. I contacted empire to come out and give me an estimate on a repair of the damaged boards. I also asked for them to look at the level issue. An installer came out and insisted that it was level until I showed him with a level that it was not in fact level.

I then spoke with the service manager whom quoted me $800. When I told her the issue with the level was not our fault she changed the quote to $758. Several weeks later the installer came out to replace the boards and level the floor. The installer installed boards that were the same color but a different finish.

The boards that were replaced were noticeably duller than the ones initially installed. I contacted the service manager twice before hearing back. When I spoke with the service manager I asked that the boards be replaced with the correct ones or a refund be issued. The manager told me they don't always have the same boards so they usually don't match.

The manager then stated she would not issue a refund because they did the work and were repairing something that was my fault was damaged in the first place. When discussing my concern with her response she asked that I send her some pictures of the boards so she could show the installers and ask if they saw an issue.

I did email her the pictures. However, based on her response I'm not expecting much.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review

Dear Mrs. Holifield,
We regret to read your post, but understand that we have been working with you towards a solution. We will continue to follow up and ensure that this matter gets resolved to your satisfaction.
Thank you.
ID
#977988 Review #977988 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Bought laminate floor from empire in July 2016. On installation day, installers showed up with too little material.

They claimed bad measurements by salesman. They had to go back to Ga. to get more laminate. Installers showed up two days later.

Had wrong color laminate. After 2 weeks laminate installed. One week later floor problems started. Three different empire flooring specialist have come out and all three say floor needs to be redone.

I have been waiting for three months for them to come and redo floor. Many appointsments set and all ended in no shows. Have called Empire at least 12 times. Lots of promises and still no action.

May have to get an attorney.

Beware of Empire. Go elsewhere.

3 comments
Kennidy
#1259415

Dear Customer,

We regret to hear about your experience. We take every customer concern seriously and we would like to follow up with you to learn more.

Unfortunately, we are unable to verify your customer information. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com and mention PC in the subject line, so we can further assist you.

We look forward to hearing for you.

Thank you.

Anonymous
#1270680
@Kennidy

So if you take every customer seriously, why did you not do so with this person to begin with?

Anonymous
#1270684
@PissedConsumer1270680

This response is to get the people reading to think they give a ***, smart people like you and me will think exactly what you wrote. 800-588-CornHole Today!

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review

Dear Finita,
We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. After speaking with you, we understand that the contract signed was for two rooms. We are able to add an additional room for the price discussed if you wish to continue. For further questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#972456 Review #972456 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

We had a salesperson come out measure the house- Living room hallway for hardwood and three bedrooms for carpet she gave a quote and set a date for installation, we changed the first date to later and when it came time for the installation Empire called and said they had to cancel because they did have the installation. Ok the next thing was they were only doing two bedrooms not three.

They said she only measured for two "lies" we were there we saw what was measured and now they want let us speak with the salesperson nor will she return our calls. They want us to pay more money or pick a cheaper carpet.

When it was there mistake. Can you say Layers/ Fox Five News.

2 comments
Kennidy
#1254919

Dear Finita,

We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. After speaking with you, we understand that the contract signed was for two rooms.

We are able to add an additional room for the price discussed if you wish to continue.

Thank you.

Billiejean
#1254963
@Kennidy

I'm sorry I don't feel we should have to pay anymore due to your mistakes and I think if we could all sit down wit Ashley Baca our salesperson we could get this rectified, she is the only person that knows other the us what was done on that day and for some reason she can't be found why is that?

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Beware.....Empire Today is by far the worst company I have ever dealt with!

Dear Jill,
We are happy to know that we have addressed your above concerns. If you continue to have questions please don't hesitate to contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#970424 Review #970424 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I wanted to order a rug for my staircase called Empire Today, (that was my first mistake); A salesmen came over measured thenI picked out my rug...simple enough right? Wrong!

The first time I had an appointment they cancelled due to weather. Second time it was re scheduled for latter that week. Empire showed up, however, due to the salesmen measuring blunder the carper was too small. That's two separate days of taking off from work for no reason.

I called customer service pissed off just like anyone else would after loosing two days of time from work. They assured me it would be rectified. So for the third time I make arrangements at work to be there for the carpet. I'm waiting at home I get a call from customer service cancelling the installation because the product I ordered is out of stock.

Are you for real! NOW I'm livid I call customer service they act like it's no big deal why I should be upset? really? Do these people lack apathy?

I wasn't satisfied with their answer so I decided to go right to the top and contact the CEO of Empire Today. I explained my situation to his secretary she contacted the district manager Evan. We spoke, she said it will be taken care of and the rug will be installed on the next day. Well guess what happens next?

No it didn't get installed I was cancelled on again. Called Evan again told her what happened I even explained to her I would take a shade lighter or darker if they didn't have my exact color. Then I once again called the CEO secretary and informed her on the same information I told the district manager. Today 12/9/16, I was supposed to get my carpet installed, I was told by the CEO secretary after 4pm.

The installer arrives around 7pm, ok at least he's here and my rug is going to get installed. Wait..... what's that the installer tells me.... they sent him out with the same rug that was too short!

Can you believe after going through all the channels from customer service to upper management all the way to the CEO's secretary the same problem still exists. To add insult to injury I was reading the invoice for the measurements and I read on the top "threat customer" lol...

Is that because I called customer service livid stating that I will contact every media outlet and blogger to warn people of how horrible your service is? That's not a threat it's a promise!

3 comments
Anonymous
#1256064

can you post the number for the CEO, I am dealing with the same HORRIBLE customer service, and they have cancelled twice on me this week, with none other than lame excuses, disorganization, unreliable employees, disappearing salesman, and zero apathy. Their advertising is the opposite portrayal of what they deliver!

I am still waiting for a call back after having taken 2 days off work with no carpet installed yet, and spent 75 minutes on the phone TODAY with NO INSTALLATION and now not even one scheduled!

I believe they will be redeeming their "installed by Christmas or its free" promise with me before this is over!

UNBELIEVABLE!

Kennidy
#1254236

Dear Customer,

We sincerely regret to hear about the events that occurred throughout your experience. We assure you that we never want our customers to feel this way.

We want to follow up with you to learn more, but unfortunately are unable to locate your account with the information given.

Please email your concerns to customersupport@empire-today.com and mention "PC Posting" the in subject line.

Thank you.

Billiejean
#1254840
@Kennidy

Just like everything else "Lies"

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review

Dear Sandra,
We are sincerely disappointed to hear about your experience. Your order has since been cancelled per your request. If you continue to have questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#970376 Review #970376 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

We paid to have flooring installed today and instead they didn't show and didn't call into supposably offset the inconvenience of taking an entire day off of work they offered a measly $200 discount on a product that was overpriced from the get-go terrible service contacting customer service is a joke and their floor managers have no business taking Management phone calls

1 comment
Kennidy
#1254229

Dear Customer,

We regret to hear about your experience and assure you that we want to help. Unfortunately we are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your account information to customersupport@empire-today.com and mention Pissed Consumer in the subject line, so we can further assist you.

Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Flooring Installation Review

Dear Charlotte,

We regret that your experience had a rocky start, but understand that we have since completed the installation to your satisfaction. If you continue to have concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#965665 Review #965665 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Flooring Installation
Reason of review
Order processing issue

Sales rep stated that,company would move china cabinet and put back. Did not realize he did not write in contract as we did not see contract.

Upon flooring contractors coming on 4 different days and saying they could not move cabinet and did not do the job of new hardwood floors. Called many times and got run around, no one to talk to but telepone girl. They refuse to give you a manager to talk to, just unaceptabe service. To date we have no new floor, no one will call.

Fed up with the entire company. They have charged me for floor and not done work and not been truthful.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1249200

Dear Customer,

We are disappointed to hear about your experience. We want to follow up with you to address your concerns, but unfortunately we are unable to locate your account.

Please email your concerns along with your account and contact information to customersupport@empire-today.com and mention Pissed Consumer in the subject line.

Thank you.