Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Unable to install laminate.

Dear Brenda,
We regret that your experience had a rocky start, but understand that we have completed your installation. For future questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#629664 Review #629664 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Pros
  • People were very courteous
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Hired Empire Today to install carpet and laminate flooring in hallway. Sales person measured hallway, installers did not have enough to do job based on the numbers they say was given them by sales person, sales person number is now disconnected.

The installers had to leave did not have enough material. Now I have to wait until they get this mix up cleared. Have to go to Atlanta, GA to get material. My house is torn up waiting on Empire to make a decision.

Will be contacting the Better Business Bureau for this problem.

Poor sales persons. Pissed off customer.

1 comment
Kennidy
#980190

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We realize that it is frustrating that your installation was not completed as scheduled, and we would like to follow up with you to ensure everything gets completed to your satisfaction.

We cannot locate your account with the information posted here, but if you call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com. We will follow up with you as soon as possible.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Resolved: Empire Today - Flooring Review from Leander, Texas

Dear Phillip,
Thank you for updating your review. We are thrilled to hear that your concerns were addressed in a timely manner. For future questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#598582 Review #598582 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality
Update by user Mar 30, 2015

I was contacted asap by empire today and they setup a appointment to have the tile fixed. They came out and relaid over half the floor and fixed the problem.

I could not be more happy.

This is a very honest company. Great job!

Original review posted by user Feb 21, 2015

Had a new tile floor installed in my kitchen. Chose empire because the price was right.

All went well until I noticed a few tiles not flat a level. Had to show the installer and he did cut out the old installed the new. But after he finished and left. I found many more.

Recently I had to move my fridge and he hadn't let the mortar setup and just pushed it onto unset tile. Plus grout was cracked.

1 comment
Kennidy
#949838

Hi Phillip, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed with the work that is done in their homes, and we would like to know more about the issues you’ve been experiencing.

We will be following up with you shortly, and you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - customer dis satifaction

Dear Louz,
We are disappointed to hear that you feel this way, and understand that we have discussed your options with you. For future questions, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#589379 Review #589379 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Pros
  • Came to my home
  • Initial contact and install
Cons
  • Salesman
  • Lack of caring
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$10000

2/1/15 - Empire was difficult to work with... Yes, the 1st problem was caused by a leak in our hot water pipe under the back door.

The plumber found a small leak that might have caused some damage near the door. It would NOT have caused the massive discoloration spots 12 feet away. Empire did say they would, as a courtesy, remove the old floor and install a new one at a great discount. Well, our local contractor under bid Empire by several hundred dollars.

The selection was far more vast then Empire offered. When we notified Empire that we would take their offer of removing the floor, they stated the offer was off the table, since another contractor was going to install a new floor.

My biggest lesson is to deal with a local contractor. The big nationals don't really care about customer satisfation.

1 comment
Kennidy
#939902

Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. We would like to know more about your experience and address any concerns you may have that have not yet been resolved, but we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here.

Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you as soon as possible.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Las Vegas

Dear Teresa,
We apologize for the initial experience that you received, and are happy to hear that your concerns were addressed and resolved. For future questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#575145 Review #575145 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
All of the issues we have dealt with, poor craftsmanship by the installer, hours wasted waiting for someone to show up and then refusing to work. This is not the way to treat customers. We have bent over backwards to ensure a smooth install.
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I am completely fed up with this company and the flapping of lips. We paid over $7,000 for complete home flooring and install a month ago and are still dealing with issues.

Our salesman was great! He spent time with us, being thorough and courteous. We requested two different Saturday's for installs so that we had time to move things. On November 29th we had the carpet replaced upstairs.

Everything went smooth. The installer was very nice, easy to understand, on time and completed the job in the amount of time he stated. I was extremely happy with the product and the process, which left me excited about the following weekend to do the downstairs. Well that has been a nightmare to say the least!

The people that showed up the following Saturday to do laminate and vinyl were less than professional. They were late, hard to understand, one spoke minimal English the other not at all. The one that spoke no English was left at my house alone to install the laminate, which was installed wrong and had to take it back out and put in correctly. It took 12 hours to install just the laminate in the living and dining rooms and they still are not finished.

The kitchen was another nightmare. They wanted to install the vinyl over the top of the linoleum that was 20 plus years old and kept trying to talk me into it...my husband and I spent over 4 hours helping them remove the old stuff cause we were not going to let them ruin our new flooring. They showed up the next day and needed our help to lay the new vinyl because there were only two of them. The guy kept telling us it would be about 3 hourr, but it turned into an 8 hour job.

He left seams visible and refused to do the finish work. I called empire who came out two days later to inspect who agreed that it was not acceptable work and that they would get someone out to finish the job as soon as possible...that turned out to be the following Saturday (not as soon as possible), but the seam was fixed but not the rest of the finish work. To top it off the guys from the laminate install showed up at my front door looking for payment. Another phone call and again another appointment for the finish work.

What a joke, the guy was 45 minutes late, was only informed about putting in a transition and did not have equipment to do the job. Long story short he didn't do anything, didn't bother to show up the next day, but called Saturday morning to inform me that they were set to come to my house...no your not! Another phone call to complain and another appointment set for the 27th. So here I sit waiting for the company to come out to finish the job...there are several hours of finish work to be done and I don't have much faith at the moment.

If you ask me for a reference after the carpet I would have said yes definitely, but after the last three weeks, I wouldn't give a reference to my worst enemy.

No one should have to go through what we are having to deal with...oh ya they are suppose to give us $450.00 credit but after this that is clearly not enough...we have bent over backwards, moving appliances, scraping floors, sitting and waiting several days for someone to show. The floors are beautiful, but would look way better if they were finished.

4 comments
Kennidy
#923043

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have read your review, and your installation experience is not at all what we expect for our customers.

We regret that your concerns with the installation have not yet been addressed, and we would like to know more about what happened and ensure that your installation gets completed to your satisfaction. We will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation, and you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Anonymous
#941419
@Kennidy

All issues have been resolved as of yesterday.

Anonymous
#949354
@PissedConsumer941419

How were the issues resolved...dont leave us hanging like this.

Taletha
#949368
@PissedConsumer949354

The kitchen floor was replaced by a reputable subcontractor. It looks so beautiful.

It took us over two months to get the floor in and I am so happy with it. I can't say that would jump with a recommendation for this company, but I wouldn't say stay away. Just be aware that you could have issues and if so be persistent. This was our floor that we paid for and would have to live with for many many years to come.

We could have taken a credit but we still had to look at it. Very satisfied!

View more comments (3)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Engineered hardwood is rotting after 3 years

Dear Louis,
Thank you for contacting us regarding your concerns. We regret the lack of follow up you’ve received, and although time has passed since your post, we would like to ensure that your concerns were addressed. Please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com for future inquiries.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#555362 Review #555362 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$7000

We live in a house built on a cement slab. We decided to have wood flooring installed in the dinning room, living room, and hallway.

The installator was ask if a vaper guard was needed due to having a slab. They said No. After 3 years, our floor is discindergrating and discolored. After calling Empire, an independent adjuster came to our house.

The report was submitted, then we got a call from Empire stating they would rip up the old floor and install a new one...free of charge. A salesman can to our house and said it looks like wehave a servere moisture problem, and the radiant heat must be leaking. We explaned the radiant heat was disconnected over 26 years ago. Three days later, Empire called and said the person who called us with the free replacement was misinformed.

Only the removal of the old flooring would be free.... We would have to pay for new material and new labor, at a great reduction. They said the adjusters notesindicate a 3times higher humidity then when the orginial floor was installed. We asked 3 weeks ago for a copy of the report, so far nothing...The salesman acted like he was the expert for problems and was positive it was a moisture problem!

He recommended LVT....

Still waiting... Will probably hire a lawer.

1 comment
Kennidy
#898523

Hi Louis, thank you for contacting us regarding your concerns. This sounds like a frustrating experience, and we would like to know more about the situation.

We regret the lack of follow up you’ve received, and we will be contacting you shortly to work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Dishonest, overcharge, bad installation

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. It’s disappointing that your installation did not meet your expectations, and we would like to know more about the issues you’ve been experiencing. We are committed to working with our customers if ever problems arise, and we’d like to make this a positive experience for you. We cannot locate your account with the information posted here; however, if you call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your contact info to customersupport@empiretoday.com, we will follow up with you as soon as possible. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#500037 Review #500037 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$17000

Empire Today claimed to be running a sale on flooring. Based on that claim, we asked a salesperson to visit us. They showed us attractive flooring samples but then said only two ugly types of flooring were on sale. The others, including the styles we liked, were full price. And, that full price was high. I thought that the way they presented the sale and actual cost was dishonest. However, we were in a hurry to finish the house and move in so we agreed to the price for the non-sale materials.

We chose a laminate flooring with the higher quality pad. A crew visited and quickly installed 5 rooms with the flooring, pad and baseboards. They asked us to inspect the work and approve of it. Not knowing what errors to look for we walked through the house and the floor seemed okay. Later, the many errors became clear. The laminate was not run all the way to the walls but just close so that a baseboard might hide the gap. In many places that gap is visible and obvious. Quite a few sections of laminate were not seated well against the next piece so that after a little dust got on the floor there are obvious lines. A spot at one door has discoloration that looks like water damage. The worst is the pad. I don't know what is actually under the laminate but there is a difference in elevation in the laminate from one room to the rest of the house. It looks like the pad was not installed in that one room. And in several spots through the rest of the house the floor is spongy like the pad was left out of a two foot spot. Since the elevation of our concrete-slab floor is consistent throughout the house I believe the pad was not installed in one room. And, I believe the spongy spots are gaps in pad that was installed.

In my opinion, the company tricked us with a promise of a sale to get our business. I think they grossly overcharged for the materials and installation. And I think the installation was not just poorly executed but done wrong.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - The truth from an Ex-Empire Sales Employee...

Hello,
We are disappointed to hear that you feel this way. If you continue to have questions and/or concerns about your previous role with our company please ask to speak to a human resources associate at 800-588-2300.
Thank you.
ID
#490008 Review #490008 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I used to be a sales-person for these jokers!

Expect hard sell all the way and they will try their best to convince you they are the best and most reliable, but they are most definitely not!!!!

Very limited stock, colors etc. They pretty much use the same installers that other companies use and sell the same products that others use, but will try to convince you it is superior stuff - it ain't!

Their pricing for hardwood and laminate flooring is an absolute disgrace. They use the Quick-Step brand which is an excellent quality product but available elsewhere for a fraction of the price! You will literally fall off your chair when you hear the initial price and forget about all that 60% off or two rooms free ***. Trust me, it's all just sales BS to get in the door!! It's incredible how much that cost can drop when you start to say no and show no interest and when the old "This product might be on special. Let me call my sales manager and see what we can do" games start!!!

Oh yes, and the special discount for next day install? Well sure they want that and will really push you for it as it gives you no time to change your mind or go shopping to see just how over-priced they are! Once it's installed, they've got your money right?

Take it from an ex-employee, play it safe and just go to Lowes or Home Depot. You'll be less pressured, get more choice and save yourself a whole load of heartache!

2 comments
Anonymous
#893216

your seriously sad and obviously can't sell . I been with Empire for over 5 years and very successful no one can do what we do our prices are a fraction of the competition if you shop apples to apples.

Our customer service is amazing they basically give the customer anything they want to make them happy.

I am sorry for your situation and that your not much of a salesperson but to go public and tell lies because your upset is really no excuse. Go over to speedway or CVS and see if they need stock help it sounds like your more qualified for that job.

Anonymous
#858727

Thank you for this review, I was considering since a relative now works for them! Will take my money elsewhere!!

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Horrible quality, horrible service, and satisfaction is clearly not guaranteed

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, Amanda.
We are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and it’s our understanding that we’ve been in contact with you and agreed on a solution. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#450369 Review #450369 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$5000

I had the option to use another company for the same price and I am beating myself up every day for deciding to go with Empire!

I was promised compete satisfaction when ordering my hardwood floors. I complained from day 1 of installation, and one month later the issue is still unresolved. Apparently my sub floors are not level, but the installer did not mention this nor do anything to correct them. Instead the threw the floors down and left. The supervisor did not even stay once he dropped off the supplies. There are many hollow areas and very obvious dips in each of the rooms and in some cases the furniture moves as you walk past. I have had 3 people come to look at the issue and am told the floors need to come up and be leveled and that I WILL NEED TO PAY THE FEE. Now had this been addressed during the installation, I would have understood the additional cost. But one month later, I am still living with poor quality floors and a mess of a house (knowing the floors might be taken up again) and I am expected to pay full cost.

I also was never shown a sample of the quarter round molding - which I hate! I am told Empire does not offer anything else, so take it or leave it. Anyone can notice that it does not match the rest of the molding in my house. Someone should have brought this up during installation.

To top it off, the actual installer called me yesterday. In very broken English he told me the floors should have been leveled and glued down (not floating), but that the "company" doesn't allow them to do that. Apparently Empire cares more about taking money than quality. Horrible quality, horrible service, and satisfaction is clearly not guaranteed.

My only suggestion would be for Empire to step up and correct the issue by leveling the sub floor and gluing down the boards at no cost. The estimate I received from the company I should have gone with included this. Why, oh why didn't I go with them?

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - $99 advertisement scam

It’s disappointing that our pricing did not meet your expectations. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The $99 promotion applies to the product costs only of select styles. We also offer a price match guarantee. We would be happy to speak to you about your concerns in more detail and better explain our pricing and current promotion, and we have attempted to reach you via email. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your information to customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#401036 Review #401036 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I contacted Empire because they advertised $99/room for select carpet/laminate/hardwood. Sales person came out on Saturday, April 13, 2013 and gave me a quote for over $12,000 for 4 rooms of that he said was a part of the promotion [the entire townhouse is 1,200 square fee].

The quote for 2 bedrooms; for a combination living room/dining room. I told him that I had received quotes before and that his quote was way out-of-line. He would/did not leave me a copy of the quoted price. I have watched Empire's advertisements for years.

I finally decide to try them and I find out that it is just a bait and switch game. Consumers beware.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Mislead about moisture resistance of flooring

Donna, we regret that you are not yet satisfied. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we can assure you that we are taking your concerns very seriously. We have left you a message, and we would like to discuss the situation and work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#400330 Review #400330 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$1800
Update by user Sep 12, 2013

To date, Empire has done absolutely nothing to resolve my complaint other than to send yet another installer out to assess the problem and bring me a vinyl sample book. They did offer to replace the floor with vinyl solid sheet vinyl for another $1000!!!!

I have not heard one word from anyone at Empire since late April or early May of this year.

Horrible customer service, they don't care one way or another about customers once the job is done and they have their money. I will tell everyone I know how lousy the customer service is--and I work in a home improvement store!

Update by user May 13, 2013

Empire contacted me, sent out another rep to look at the flooring. He agreed that it needed to be replaced and the materials were not installed correctly.

He also brought me a sample book of sheet vinyl to look at as the company wants to replace my floor with sheet vinyl at a cost of an additional $900!! Lucky me, huh? To date I have heard nothing further from Empire after the last installer visit.

I still feel the company lied to me from the beginning. I do not want a sheet vinyl floor regardless of their "deal" for me

Original review posted by user Apr 12, 2013

I purchased laminate to use in a kitchen--one year later it is obvious that moisture has warped some areas of tiles. I was adamant about the product being moisture resistant with the salesman and the installers.

I was assured the installers would seal the floor so it would be moisture resistant. I complained to the company, an installer came to check the floor and now Empire says they will repair the damage and charge me to do so!!!

I was mislead by the salesman so I would buy the product and lied to by the installers about sealing the floor. I will never recommend this company to anyone and will let anyone who asks know how misleading the company is and they will not honour their warranties.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Does Not Stand By "Lifetime" Warranty

Keith,

it’s our understanding that we’ve reached an agreement and have scheduled the repairs to your transitions for this week. Please contact us if you have any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#363624 Review #363624 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$100

Several years ago we had Empire Today install laminate flooring in our home. The initial installation went well and the flooring looked great.

Over the course of time, several "transition" pieces between the laminate flooring and other flooring areas have cracked/chipped. We were sold a "lifetime" warranty on the flooring, but Empire Today now states that only the "main laminate flooring" is covered in the warranty, not transition pieces, molding, and the like.

Very disappointed and absolutely will not use nor recommend Empire Today ever again. If they won't stand by their product then I will go elsewhere.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Flooring are deceptive, rude and LIARS!!

Liz,

we’re disappointed that you were inconvenienced by the issues that occurred during your installation. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about possible resolutions and that you chose to cancel the order. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#354726 Review #354726 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

Agreed to pricing on hardwood flooring. Installer came in and said floor was uneven and it would cost an extra $2000.

Sales rep said she went over it with us. NOT TRUE. The installer's contact at Empire (Roger?) told my wife I was a liar and then the next day that she was a liar. The only people lying work for Empire Flooring and their sub-contracting sales people.

After they ripped up portions of our carpet and parquette(?), they said they were leaving and Mike, the installer, who by-the-way had nothing to do with this, tried to piece it back as best he could.

Do Not Use this Company. Ever!!!!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today will cheat sales associates out of commission.

Nicole, we would like to know more about your concerns. Please contact Sandra Horsman at 888-588-2315 x3026 in our Human Resources department. Thank you.
ID
#347773 Review #347773 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$3000

I have worked doing inside sales for the Empire Team and am paid a very small hourly wage and am pressured daily to set appointments and offer re quotes to prospective clients. I work very hard to close sales and what is frustrating and down right wrong is the way that Empire Today finds ways to cheat their employees out of their due commission.

It started of by them leaving off items because they were "not installed." I would receive a list of paid items only after it was too late to dispute them for the next pay period a week away and the items that were actually included for payment were not paid correctly. If the sale was for $2,000 and the commission percentage was 3% then it would show that $40 was due to me instead of $60 and these "mathematical miscalculations" just so happened to occur on every commission statement. Is Empire Today's accounting department really that incompetent that they can not do a simple multiplication problem correctly? Or why not create a spreadsheet on Excel that would perform the calculations to ensure their accuracy?

Then to make matters worse, they only pay you for the items once the sales order is completed and installed, which is fine, but they do not give the sales associate the privileges to view the install date on their computer system, so the only way to confirm if a sales order was completed is to compile a list of "challenges" during your very small breaks in between calls and ask your manager to go thru the lists to find out when they were installed. Each sales associate has a significant number of challenges every pay period and this activity has been going on for years.

It is quite clear that they do not want to pay their employees what is due and do everything in their power to put obstacles in the way of their employees finding out what sales were not paid. It is sad and frustrating because you are doing your part daily to make them money, but yet they do not want to pay what is owed and make it extremely difficult for the employee to get the commission owed and even once the challenge is approved it is two and a half weeks later to a month and by then you are waiting on new challenges and what is so ironic is that all of my coworkers are in the same situation.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today is Horrific

Keith, we understand that we were in contact with you previously about your concerns with your carpet and padding, and we reached a resolution. We would like to speak to you if you have any concerns that have yet to be addressed, and we have been attempting to reach you to discuss the situation. Please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com so we can ensure that everything has been resolved. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#340768 Review #340768 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

The salesman for Empire sold us on the idea that the company only sold top of the line flooring and that their service was second to none. When the installers arrived, the carpet seemed much thinner than the sales sample (which it really was).

I quickly realized that the company's "top of the line" product was inferior to anything else I had ever seen. Then, when I saw the padding, I knew we were being ripped off. The padding was only 1/8" thick. My wife blew up.

After refusing to pay for the install and only then did the installers agree to pull up the carpet and put down the thicker padding. This was by far the worst flooring experience of my life. To the bitter end, the installers supervisor defended the original padding as being a premier product. We wanted quick, quality workmanship, but instead got dog house quality product.

Also, I found out afterward that the company had over 3,000 complaints with the BBB.

Apparently, being a member doesn't put any pressure on a company to do what is right. A BBB accreditation will mean nothing to me in the future.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today- No one knows anything!

Heather, we’re disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your installation. As a company dedicated to customer service, we want to work with customers to make sure they are happy with their entire experience. We understand that we’ve recently attempted to reach you to discuss your concerns and possible resolutions. We look forward to speaking with you. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#329587 Review #329587 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$2

I recently used Empire Today for my flooring. When the salesman arrived we went through the different options- without going over prices- he was naturally assuming because I'm a single female that I should look at the less expensive models and kept telling me to look at the vinyl though I much preferred the woods. When I did pick out 5 samples I liked- he went outside to "consult his boss"- he came with only the price of the vinyls- those I didn't like and thought looked cheap. I asked about the 60% off ads running on the tv- and he said that only counted towards the "product" not the labor- so I asked how much labor was- he said he didn't know- I asked how much the product was- he said he didn't know. I said that I wanted a itemized record of my invoice- and he said that it's an "all inclusive price...Does that make any sense? I asked how I knew I was getting 60% off of the product if its an all inclusive price. He also said this price included trim. But still didn't know how much anything was- he went outside 3 more times to consult his boss- I felt like I was being used by a car salesman!

Well- his incompetence further reviled itself, as he showed up at my work to sign the contract but hadn't filled anything out- and forgot what product I wanted and had to run out to his car and bring the samples into the lobby at work- I was so embarrassed, and his unpreparedness cut into my lunch break. Further more- the product wasn't even close to the quality that I expected. I priced the product at Home Depot and Lowe's and it came out to $0.89/sq ft but even at their 60% "discount" Empire Today's product came to over $4.00/ sq ft! They also forgot the trim that my salesman told me was part of my price!

When I called customer service- I got the same run around- no one could tell me how much labor or the total product is. I highly doubt their A rating with the BBB- if they can't provide itemized receipts, have a low quality product, unorganized sale people and clueless customer service!! DO NOT USE THEM- I still 3 more floors to do in my house- and next time I'm doing it myself- less hassle, cheaper, and I would know what I'm doing! Also thinking about sending this to the BBB for them to look into these horrible practices!