Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - customer dis satifaction

Dear Louz,
We are disappointed to hear that you feel this way, and understand that we have discussed your options with you. For future questions, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#589379 Review #589379 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Pros
  • Initial contact and install
  • Came to my home
Cons
  • Lack of caring
  • Salesman
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$10000

2/1/15 - Empire was difficult to work with... Yes, the 1st problem was caused by a leak in our hot water pipe under the back door.

The plumber found a small leak that might have caused some damage near the door. It would NOT have caused the massive discoloration spots 12 feet away. Empire did say they would, as a courtesy, remove the old floor and install a new one at a great discount. Well, our local contractor under bid Empire by several hundred dollars.

The selection was far more vast then Empire offered. When we notified Empire that we would take their offer of removing the floor, they stated the offer was off the table, since another contractor was going to install a new floor.

My biggest lesson is to deal with a local contractor. The big nationals don't really care about customer satisfation.

1 comment
Kennidy
#939902

Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. We would like to know more about your experience and address any concerns you may have that have not yet been resolved, but we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here.

Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you as soon as possible.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Las Vegas

Dear Teresa,
We apologize for the initial experience that you received, and are happy to hear that your concerns were addressed and resolved. For future questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#575145 Review #575145 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
All of the issues we have dealt with, poor craftsmanship by the installer, hours wasted waiting for someone to show up and then refusing to work. This is not the way to treat customers. We have bent over backwards to ensure a smooth install.
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I am completely fed up with this company and the flapping of lips. We paid over $7,000 for complete home flooring and install a month ago and are still dealing with issues.

Our salesman was great! He spent time with us, being thorough and courteous. We requested two different Saturday's for installs so that we had time to move things. On November 29th we had the carpet replaced upstairs.

Everything went smooth. The installer was very nice, easy to understand, on time and completed the job in the amount of time he stated. I was extremely happy with the product and the process, which left me excited about the following weekend to do the downstairs. Well that has been a nightmare to say the least!

The people that showed up the following Saturday to do laminate and vinyl were less than professional. They were late, hard to understand, one spoke minimal English the other not at all. The one that spoke no English was left at my house alone to install the laminate, which was installed wrong and had to take it back out and put in correctly. It took 12 hours to install just the laminate in the living and dining rooms and they still are not finished.

The kitchen was another nightmare. They wanted to install the vinyl over the top of the linoleum that was 20 plus years old and kept trying to talk me into it...my husband and I spent over 4 hours helping them remove the old stuff cause we were not going to let them ruin our new flooring. They showed up the next day and needed our help to lay the new vinyl because there were only two of them. The guy kept telling us it would be about 3 hourr, but it turned into an 8 hour job.

He left seams visible and refused to do the finish work. I called empire who came out two days later to inspect who agreed that it was not acceptable work and that they would get someone out to finish the job as soon as possible...that turned out to be the following Saturday (not as soon as possible), but the seam was fixed but not the rest of the finish work. To top it off the guys from the laminate install showed up at my front door looking for payment. Another phone call and again another appointment for the finish work.

What a joke, the guy was 45 minutes late, was only informed about putting in a transition and did not have equipment to do the job. Long story short he didn't do anything, didn't bother to show up the next day, but called Saturday morning to inform me that they were set to come to my house...no your not! Another phone call to complain and another appointment set for the 27th. So here I sit waiting for the company to come out to finish the job...there are several hours of finish work to be done and I don't have much faith at the moment.

If you ask me for a reference after the carpet I would have said yes definitely, but after the last three weeks, I wouldn't give a reference to my worst enemy.

No one should have to go through what we are having to deal with...oh ya they are suppose to give us $450.00 credit but after this that is clearly not enough...we have bent over backwards, moving appliances, scraping floors, sitting and waiting several days for someone to show. The floors are beautiful, but would look way better if they were finished.

4 comments
Kennidy
#923043

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have read your review, and your installation experience is not at all what we expect for our customers.

We regret that your concerns with the installation have not yet been addressed, and we would like to know more about what happened and ensure that your installation gets completed to your satisfaction. We will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation, and you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Anonymous
#941419
@Kennidy

All issues have been resolved as of yesterday.

Anonymous
#949354
@PissedConsumer941419

How were the issues resolved...dont leave us hanging like this.

Taletha
#949368
@PissedConsumer949354

The kitchen floor was replaced by a reputable subcontractor. It looks so beautiful.

It took us over two months to get the floor in and I am so happy with it. I can't say that would jump with a recommendation for this company, but I wouldn't say stay away. Just be aware that you could have issues and if so be persistent. This was our floor that we paid for and would have to live with for many many years to come.

We could have taken a credit but we still had to look at it. Very satisfied!

View more comments (3)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Engineered hardwood is rotting after 3 years

Dear Louis,
Thank you for contacting us regarding your concerns. We regret the lack of follow up you’ve received, and although time has passed since your post, we would like to ensure that your concerns were addressed. Please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com for future inquiries.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#555362 Review #555362 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$7000

We live in a house built on a cement slab. We decided to have wood flooring installed in the dinning room, living room, and hallway.

The installator was ask if a vaper guard was needed due to having a slab. They said No. After 3 years, our floor is discindergrating and discolored. After calling Empire, an independent adjuster came to our house.

The report was submitted, then we got a call from Empire stating they would rip up the old floor and install a new one...free of charge. A salesman can to our house and said it looks like wehave a servere moisture problem, and the radiant heat must be leaking. We explaned the radiant heat was disconnected over 26 years ago. Three days later, Empire called and said the person who called us with the free replacement was misinformed.

Only the removal of the old flooring would be free.... We would have to pay for new material and new labor, at a great reduction. They said the adjusters notesindicate a 3times higher humidity then when the orginial floor was installed. We asked 3 weeks ago for a copy of the report, so far nothing...The salesman acted like he was the expert for problems and was positive it was a moisture problem!

He recommended LVT....

Still waiting... Will probably hire a lawer.

1 comment
Kennidy
#898523

Hi Louis, thank you for contacting us regarding your concerns. This sounds like a frustrating experience, and we would like to know more about the situation.

We regret the lack of follow up you’ve received, and we will be contacting you shortly to work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Dishonest, overcharge, bad installation

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. It’s disappointing that your installation did not meet your expectations, and we would like to know more about the issues you’ve been experiencing. We are committed to working with our customers if ever problems arise, and we’d like to make this a positive experience for you. We cannot locate your account with the information posted here; however, if you call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your contact info to customersupport@empiretoday.com, we will follow up with you as soon as possible. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#500037 Review #500037 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$17000

Empire Today claimed to be running a sale on flooring. Based on that claim, we asked a salesperson to visit us. They showed us attractive flooring samples but then said only two ugly types of flooring were on sale. The others, including the styles we liked, were full price. And, that full price was high. I thought that the way they presented the sale and actual cost was dishonest. However, we were in a hurry to finish the house and move in so we agreed to the price for the non-sale materials.

We chose a laminate flooring with the higher quality pad. A crew visited and quickly installed 5 rooms with the flooring, pad and baseboards. They asked us to inspect the work and approve of it. Not knowing what errors to look for we walked through the house and the floor seemed okay. Later, the many errors became clear. The laminate was not run all the way to the walls but just close so that a baseboard might hide the gap. In many places that gap is visible and obvious. Quite a few sections of laminate were not seated well against the next piece so that after a little dust got on the floor there are obvious lines. A spot at one door has discoloration that looks like water damage. The worst is the pad. I don't know what is actually under the laminate but there is a difference in elevation in the laminate from one room to the rest of the house. It looks like the pad was not installed in that one room. And in several spots through the rest of the house the floor is spongy like the pad was left out of a two foot spot. Since the elevation of our concrete-slab floor is consistent throughout the house I believe the pad was not installed in one room. And, I believe the spongy spots are gaps in pad that was installed.

In my opinion, the company tricked us with a promise of a sale to get our business. I think they grossly overcharged for the materials and installation. And I think the installation was not just poorly executed but done wrong.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - The truth from an Ex-Empire Sales Employee...

Hello,
We are disappointed to hear that you feel this way. If you continue to have questions and/or concerns about your previous role with our company please ask to speak to a human resources associate at 800-588-2300.
Thank you.
ID
#490008 Review #490008 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I used to be a sales-person for these jokers!

Expect hard sell all the way and they will try their best to convince you they are the best and most reliable, but they are most definitely not!!!!

Very limited stock, colors etc. They pretty much use the same installers that other companies use and sell the same products that others use, but will try to convince you it is superior stuff - it ain't!

Their pricing for hardwood and laminate flooring is an absolute disgrace. They use the Quick-Step brand which is an excellent quality product but available elsewhere for a fraction of the price! You will literally fall off your chair when you hear the initial price and forget about all that 60% off or two rooms free ***. Trust me, it's all just sales BS to get in the door!! It's incredible how much that cost can drop when you start to say no and show no interest and when the old "This product might be on special. Let me call my sales manager and see what we can do" games start!!!

Oh yes, and the special discount for next day install? Well sure they want that and will really push you for it as it gives you no time to change your mind or go shopping to see just how over-priced they are! Once it's installed, they've got your money right?

Take it from an ex-employee, play it safe and just go to Lowes or Home Depot. You'll be less pressured, get more choice and save yourself a whole load of heartache!

2 comments
Anonymous
#893216

your seriously sad and obviously can't sell . I been with Empire for over 5 years and very successful no one can do what we do our prices are a fraction of the competition if you shop apples to apples.

Our customer service is amazing they basically give the customer anything they want to make them happy.

I am sorry for your situation and that your not much of a salesperson but to go public and tell lies because your upset is really no excuse. Go over to speedway or CVS and see if they need stock help it sounds like your more qualified for that job.

Anonymous
#858727

Thank you for this review, I was considering since a relative now works for them! Will take my money elsewhere!!

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Horrible quality, horrible service, and satisfaction is clearly not guaranteed

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, Amanda.
We are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and it’s our understanding that we’ve been in contact with you and agreed on a solution. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#450369 Review #450369 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$5000

I had the option to use another company for the same price and I am beating myself up every day for deciding to go with Empire!

I was promised compete satisfaction when ordering my hardwood floors. I complained from day 1 of installation, and one month later the issue is still unresolved. Apparently my sub floors are not level, but the installer did not mention this nor do anything to correct them. Instead the threw the floors down and left. The supervisor did not even stay once he dropped off the supplies. There are many hollow areas and very obvious dips in each of the rooms and in some cases the furniture moves as you walk past. I have had 3 people come to look at the issue and am told the floors need to come up and be leveled and that I WILL NEED TO PAY THE FEE. Now had this been addressed during the installation, I would have understood the additional cost. But one month later, I am still living with poor quality floors and a mess of a house (knowing the floors might be taken up again) and I am expected to pay full cost.

I also was never shown a sample of the quarter round molding - which I hate! I am told Empire does not offer anything else, so take it or leave it. Anyone can notice that it does not match the rest of the molding in my house. Someone should have brought this up during installation.

To top it off, the actual installer called me yesterday. In very broken English he told me the floors should have been leveled and glued down (not floating), but that the "company" doesn't allow them to do that. Apparently Empire cares more about taking money than quality. Horrible quality, horrible service, and satisfaction is clearly not guaranteed.

My only suggestion would be for Empire to step up and correct the issue by leveling the sub floor and gluing down the boards at no cost. The estimate I received from the company I should have gone with included this. Why, oh why didn't I go with them?

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - $99 advertisement scam

It’s disappointing that our pricing did not meet your expectations. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The $99 promotion applies to the product costs only of select styles. We also offer a price match guarantee. We would be happy to speak to you about your concerns in more detail and better explain our pricing and current promotion, and we have attempted to reach you via email. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your information to customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#401036 Review #401036 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I contacted Empire because they advertised $99/room for select carpet/laminate/hardwood. Sales person came out on Saturday, April 13, 2013 and gave me a quote for over $12,000 for 4 rooms of that he said was a part of the promotion [the entire townhouse is 1,200 square fee].

The quote for 2 bedrooms; for a combination living room/dining room. I told him that I had received quotes before and that his quote was way out-of-line. He would/did not leave me a copy of the quoted price. I have watched Empire's advertisements for years.

I finally decide to try them and I find out that it is just a bait and switch game. Consumers beware.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Mislead about moisture resistance of flooring

Donna, we regret that you are not yet satisfied. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we can assure you that we are taking your concerns very seriously. We have left you a message, and we would like to discuss the situation and work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#400330 Review #400330 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$1800

Update by user Sep 12, 2013

To date, Empire has done absolutely nothing to resolve my complaint other than to send yet another installer out to assess the problem and bring me a vinyl sample book. They did offer to replace the floor with vinyl solid sheet vinyl for another $1000!!!!

I have not heard one word from anyone at Empire since late April or early May of this year.

Horrible customer service, they don't care one way or another about customers once the job is done and they have their money. I will tell everyone I know how lousy the customer service is--and I work in a home improvement store!

Update by user May 13, 2013

Empire contacted me, sent out another rep to look at the flooring. He agreed that it needed to be replaced and the materials were not installed correctly.

He also brought me a sample book of sheet vinyl to look at as the company wants to replace my floor with sheet vinyl at a cost of an additional $900!! Lucky me, huh? To date I have heard nothing further from Empire after the last installer visit.

I still feel the company lied to me from the beginning. I do not want a sheet vinyl floor regardless of their "deal" for me

Original review posted by user Apr 12, 2013

I purchased laminate to use in a kitchen--one year later it is obvious that moisture has warped some areas of tiles. I was adamant about the product being moisture resistant with the salesman and the installers.

I was assured the installers would seal the floor so it would be moisture resistant. I complained to the company, an installer came to check the floor and now Empire says they will repair the damage and charge me to do so!!!

I was mislead by the salesman so I would buy the product and lied to by the installers about sealing the floor. I will never recommend this company to anyone and will let anyone who asks know how misleading the company is and they will not honour their warranties.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Does Not Stand By "Lifetime" Warranty

Keith,

it’s our understanding that we’ve reached an agreement and have scheduled the repairs to your transitions for this week. Please contact us if you have any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#363624 Review #363624 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$100

Several years ago we had Empire Today install laminate flooring in our home. The initial installation went well and the flooring looked great.

Over the course of time, several "transition" pieces between the laminate flooring and other flooring areas have cracked/chipped. We were sold a "lifetime" warranty on the flooring, but Empire Today now states that only the "main laminate flooring" is covered in the warranty, not transition pieces, molding, and the like.

Very disappointed and absolutely will not use nor recommend Empire Today ever again. If they won't stand by their product then I will go elsewhere.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Flooring are deceptive, rude and LIARS!!

Liz,

we’re disappointed that you were inconvenienced by the issues that occurred during your installation. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about possible resolutions and that you chose to cancel the order. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#354726 Review #354726 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

Agreed to pricing on hardwood flooring. Installer came in and said floor was uneven and it would cost an extra $2000.

Sales rep said she went over it with us. NOT TRUE. The installer's contact at Empire (Roger?) told my wife I was a liar and then the next day that she was a liar. The only people lying work for Empire Flooring and their sub-contracting sales people.

After they ripped up portions of our carpet and parquette(?), they said they were leaving and Mike, the installer, who by-the-way had nothing to do with this, tried to piece it back as best he could.

Do Not Use this Company. Ever!!!!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today will cheat sales associates out of commission.

Nicole, we would like to know more about your concerns. Please contact Sandra Horsman at 888-588-2315 x3026 in our Human Resources department. Thank you.
ID
#347773 Review #347773 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$3000

I have worked doing inside sales for the Empire Team and am paid a very small hourly wage and am pressured daily to set appointments and offer re quotes to prospective clients. I work very hard to close sales and what is frustrating and down right wrong is the way that Empire Today finds ways to cheat their employees out of their due commission.

It started of by them leaving off items because they were "not installed." I would receive a list of paid items only after it was too late to dispute them for the next pay period a week away and the items that were actually included for payment were not paid correctly. If the sale was for $2,000 and the commission percentage was 3% then it would show that $40 was due to me instead of $60 and these "mathematical miscalculations" just so happened to occur on every commission statement. Is Empire Today's accounting department really that incompetent that they can not do a simple multiplication problem correctly? Or why not create a spreadsheet on Excel that would perform the calculations to ensure their accuracy?

Then to make matters worse, they only pay you for the items once the sales order is completed and installed, which is fine, but they do not give the sales associate the privileges to view the install date on their computer system, so the only way to confirm if a sales order was completed is to compile a list of "challenges" during your very small breaks in between calls and ask your manager to go thru the lists to find out when they were installed. Each sales associate has a significant number of challenges every pay period and this activity has been going on for years.

It is quite clear that they do not want to pay their employees what is due and do everything in their power to put obstacles in the way of their employees finding out what sales were not paid. It is sad and frustrating because you are doing your part daily to make them money, but yet they do not want to pay what is owed and make it extremely difficult for the employee to get the commission owed and even once the challenge is approved it is two and a half weeks later to a month and by then you are waiting on new challenges and what is so ironic is that all of my coworkers are in the same situation.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today is Horrific

Keith, we understand that we were in contact with you previously about your concerns with your carpet and padding, and we reached a resolution. We would like to speak to you if you have any concerns that have yet to be addressed, and we have been attempting to reach you to discuss the situation. Please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com so we can ensure that everything has been resolved. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#340768 Review #340768 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

The salesman for Empire sold us on the idea that the company only sold top of the line flooring and that their service was second to none. When the installers arrived, the carpet seemed much thinner than the sales sample (which it really was).

I quickly realized that the company's "top of the line" product was inferior to anything else I had ever seen. Then, when I saw the padding, I knew we were being ripped off. The padding was only 1/8" thick. My wife blew up.

After refusing to pay for the install and only then did the installers agree to pull up the carpet and put down the thicker padding. This was by far the worst flooring experience of my life. To the bitter end, the installers supervisor defended the original padding as being a premier product. We wanted quick, quality workmanship, but instead got dog house quality product.

Also, I found out afterward that the company had over 3,000 complaints with the BBB.

Apparently, being a member doesn't put any pressure on a company to do what is right. A BBB accreditation will mean nothing to me in the future.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today- No one knows anything!

Heather, we’re disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your installation. As a company dedicated to customer service, we want to work with customers to make sure they are happy with their entire experience. We understand that we’ve recently attempted to reach you to discuss your concerns and possible resolutions. We look forward to speaking with you. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#329587 Review #329587 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$2

I recently used Empire Today for my flooring. When the salesman arrived we went through the different options- without going over prices- he was naturally assuming because I'm a single female that I should look at the less expensive models and kept telling me to look at the vinyl though I much preferred the woods. When I did pick out 5 samples I liked- he went outside to "consult his boss"- he came with only the price of the vinyls- those I didn't like and thought looked cheap. I asked about the 60% off ads running on the tv- and he said that only counted towards the "product" not the labor- so I asked how much labor was- he said he didn't know- I asked how much the product was- he said he didn't know. I said that I wanted a itemized record of my invoice- and he said that it's an "all inclusive price...Does that make any sense? I asked how I knew I was getting 60% off of the product if its an all inclusive price. He also said this price included trim. But still didn't know how much anything was- he went outside 3 more times to consult his boss- I felt like I was being used by a car salesman!

Well- his incompetence further reviled itself, as he showed up at my work to sign the contract but hadn't filled anything out- and forgot what product I wanted and had to run out to his car and bring the samples into the lobby at work- I was so embarrassed, and his unpreparedness cut into my lunch break. Further more- the product wasn't even close to the quality that I expected. I priced the product at Home Depot and Lowe's and it came out to $0.89/sq ft but even at their 60% "discount" Empire Today's product came to over $4.00/ sq ft! They also forgot the trim that my salesman told me was part of my price!

When I called customer service- I got the same run around- no one could tell me how much labor or the total product is. I highly doubt their A rating with the BBB- if they can't provide itemized receipts, have a low quality product, unorganized sale people and clueless customer service!! DO NOT USE THEM- I still 3 more floors to do in my house- and next time I'm doing it myself- less hassle, cheaper, and I would know what I'm doing! Also thinking about sending this to the BBB for them to look into these horrible practices!

Empire Today's reply to:

Incompetent and Ignorant Empire Today

Deepak, we’ve been attempting to reach out to you regarding the issues you’ve described. We’d like to speak to you and work towards a resolution, but we have not yet heard back from you. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we’ll follow back with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#314806 Review #314806 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

PO # 034FAAH894 - Official ComplaintI signed up a hardwood installation contract with sales person Cary Rizzieri of Empire Today on 12/07/2011 for $10750.00 and paid $200.00 as initial deposit. The Auburn color for room's floor and Honey Tone color for staircase were selected and signed in the contract. The entire job was promised to be completed in 2-3 days. The crew came on 12/21/11 and on 12/23/11 I was advised by installer and Rocky Murray from Empire Today over the phone that staircase hard wood Honey Tone is not available currently, it's out of stock and it would be available in 1-2 weeks. He apologized over the phone for delay and agreed to give credit for $250.00, I agreed and now I owe $10,550. I paid by my discover credit card $5,550.00 and was going to pay remainder of $5,000.00, when entire job was completed.The installer made a big discolor patch on my existing hardwood floor in foyer, and visited my house 8-10 days to fix that patch, eventually he could not fixed that patch and in order to make look better he resurfaced my foyer hardwood and which totally look ugly and I was not happy with it.When I called Empire Today and filed complaint officially on their website, I received a call from a customer service manager, he claimed that it was between customer and installer and Empire Today has no responsibility on this issue.Finally I called and set up installation for staircase hardwood, I spoke with customer service agent on 03/08/11 and confirm the order. The installer Vincent with his crew came on 03/09/12 morning and were going to start installation, when I checked the color of wood, it was totally different color and much lighter shade from Honey Tone. When I asked him, he said he was given Oak Gunstock color by Empire Today. I called again and speak with Rocky Murray same day, instead of being sorry he insisted I signed for Oak Gunstock!! ( which is total lie- I can show in wrting on contract it is Honey Tone).Installer Vincent agreed with me and said it would not look nice with two different shades of color and left my home without installation as he has no idea when the right color Honey Tone would be available.I have a contract which shows clearly the color I selected Honey Tone, I gave two opportunities to Empire Today to fulfill their order, but they failed to do so. I received an email from Rocky Murray on 04/19/12 that I owe $2178.00 to pay for rooms hardwood, I requested him to lower the amount as I need to hire some other company to install hardwood for staircase and that would cost me at least $4000.00. This was the whole job which was suppose to be completed at cost of $10,750.00, now it would cost me more than $11,928.00 ( 200+5550+2178+4000).It will also cost $1,178 extra to get staircase job done from other installer, it will take my additional time to get this job completed.To my disbelief, as per email response on 04/20/2012 from Mr. Rocky Murray satellite manager at Empire Today that he has no knowledge about left over boxes of opened and unopened hardwood boxes left at my house on 12/23/2011, what I am suppose to do with it, is there someone in Empire Today can look into this matter and advise me what's going on, and why I have to pay for the cost of left over stock which has no use for me.I have a very bad experience that no one in Empire Today, cares or look into complaint and follow up on this and investigate the entire matter. I am willing to pay what I owe and someone from Empire Today must come and pick up unopened and open boxes of hardwood sitting in my home. I hope some one knows at Empire Today how to do the job right and meaning of Karma.I am sure I would never hire or recommend anyone to get work done from Empire Today in future.I learned from this experience that how the entire Empire Today's system can be incompetent, ineffective, with lack of internal controls, and poor customer service.

Deepak K SahniCary, NC 2751804/26/2012

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today the saga continues

Yvonne, we’ve attempted to contact you so that we can discuss your concerns and the results of your inspection, but we have not yet heard back from you. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we’ll follow back with you to discuss the situation in more detail. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#313114 Review #313114 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$4600

Update by user May 21, 2012

Just wanted to update you all on the latest with all of this lest you think I had just faded into the sunset. Basically the deal is this, I have to find a certified flooring inspector and pay them out of my pocket to come in and do another inspection.

Since I believe the previous inspection was slanted toward Empire because they paid for it and it was a company they obviously do a lot of business with, this is my only option other to get them to replace THEIR bad flooring. I have called several inspectors and they all charge between $200 and $300 not the $60 that Empire said it would be. Another red flag, if that\'s all they paid then they must do volume business with these people to get that kind of price. I have also written to Wells Fargo who financed the flooring, although I have paid the larger amount of this and there is only a small balance left unpaid, I am desperately hoping they will refund me the amount paid.

I really believe the best solution is to rip this flooring up and replace it with flooring from a company OTHER than Empire. All I can say folks is please save yourself the heartache and buy from someone else.

Update by user Apr 27, 2012

Rebekah I don\'t know who you are but you really need to stop posting these canned replies that have no basis of truth to them. I have spoken to your customer service and it certainly has never been to you since I have never heard of you other that on these post.

In any case it appears I have two threads going on here which I didn\'t realize but the more people know about how bad your flooring is, the better as far as I am concerned. I think you all are a bunch of crooks, you take people\'s money, you install inferior quality flooring and then you say the problem is environmental and you\'ll work with me on the price of replacing the flooring???? Are you insane???? Why would I replace bad flooring with more bad flooring and keep giving you my money?

Why would you want to install more flooring that is only going to do the same thing, the environment hasn\'t changed, nothing has changed so the issues I have now would only come back. You get people with your ads, every two minutes there is an Empire ad on TV and you rope people in. I only hope more people find these complaints, I sure wish I had. I wouldn\'t have come anywhere near you guys and I wouldn\'t be faced with having to tear out flooring that is barely six months old.

I wouldn\'t be faced with having to spend twice the amount of money.

You should be ashamed of your business practices. Buyer beware!

Update by user Apr 20, 2012

Finally got a message today from customer service but still have no resolution to the ongoing issue. Their flooring is very poor quality, they misrepresent the quality be aware if you live in Florida DO NOT buy their laminate flooring.

They will tell you that you have too much moisture although they never tell you anything during the sales process nor do they measure you home for moisture. An up front company would come out, check the moisture content and if it is above what their manufacturer allows tell you their flooring was not right for you. Instead they took my money and now that there is a problem I am hearing moisture caused the flooring to expand. Really????

I am so frustrated with this company has anyone had a positive outcome?

They come on here and post some BS response that is meant to give you all the impression they are doing something when in fact all they are doing is giving you the run around. If anyone has suggestions please let me know.

Original review posted by user Apr 18, 2012

Just an update to this continuing saga with Empire Today and another post to make sure consumers know what they are getting into when buying flooring from these people. After speaking with their customer service supervisor it was decided that they would send an "independent" inspection company out to access the situation.

I am not sure I'm convinced how unbiased these people are but figured it was a good place to start. I have just received the report and I can't say I'm shocked to learn that the problem is all environmentally created and not installation related. According to this 'independent' inspector the problem is moisture related. So here is the question I have, if Empire flooring is so sensitive to moisture why was a moisture reading not taken prior to selling and installing their floors.

I would think if you sell floors in the state of Florida and know that moisture is an issue you would make sure the environment meets your standards. No such reading was ever taken, salesman never mentioned it either. So now what? Well we will see what BS they feed me next but be warned...if you live in the state of Florida make sure they measure your moisture before installing their flooring.

I have floors in the back part of the house for over 10 years never had a problem.

Better yet folks look elsewhere and save yourself the hassles I am going through. Home Depot and Lowe's sell good flooring that never give problems, don't buy from Empire.