Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - HORRIBLE INSTALLATION AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

Dear Rhonda,
We sense your frustration and are saddened to know that this was your experience. Although time has elapsed since your last posting, we would like to ensure that your concerns have been answered. For future questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#795361 Review #795361 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Cons
  • Poor follow up on installation
  • Horrible customer service
  • Lack of integrity
Reason of review
Bad quality
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

We purchased over $10,000 in flooring from Empire Today in late summer of 2015. We started having issues with the Ceramic tile within just a few months due to poor installation, I contacted Empire Today warranty to place a service request for the grout cracked in the master bathroom so they sent the installing company out to make the repair.

The installing company attempted to make a "cut corners" repair due to coming unprepared and used grout on our concrete slab rather than thin-set (this was of course unknown to me at the time) to reset the repaired tile however the repaired tile popped completely loose again less than 2 hours after the repairman left our house. I had to threaten to contact an attorney to get Empire Today to send someone else out to make a proper repair on the tile, which I was told by the repairman that the grout being placed on our concrete slab by the original installers has now caused damage to the the slab. Now we're having issues with the laminate flooring in the living room popping up and separating at the seams. We've attempted to get this repaired for almost 6 weeks now and have been given multiple appointments on various Saturdays however the installing company does not show up for those appointments.

I've left voice mails for the installation manager, Kevin Haynes, as well as others in management but have not received any response from anyone regarding these issues.

We've moved all furniture out of our living room so repairs could be made for two Saturdays in a row as we've had previously scheduled repairs made a week in advance however the repairmen have not showed up on either occasion then we've had to move all the furniture back again due to NO SHOW. We've now been left with no other option at this point than to hire an attorney as Empire Today is not honoring their warranty.

2 comments
Graclyn
#1123890

THE SAGA CONTINUES...the original laminate installer returned to my house on Saturday 3/5/16 and "attempted" to repair the issues with our floors however the issues are now far worse than before they attempted the repair. After the attempted repair we are now left with 2 different colors of laminate that are very noticeable and seams that stand up far more than the connecting piece of laminate.

The issues before repair were not noticeable in pictures however the issues after repair are very much noticeable. I've forwarded pictures of the "repair" to the installation manager Kevin Haynes on 3/7/16 and am waiting on a return response currently. When myself and my husband voiced our concerns to the installer about the raised portions of the flooring and the fact that our floors looked worse after the repairs he replied that he had done his best and then I was given a container of Mini-Wax wood putty and told that I would just have to purchase rugs to cover the many issue spots. We've spent this amount of money to get new floors and we are now being told that we'll have to lay rugs over the issue spots, are these people serious?!?!

My husband who is usually the one that remains calm and cool has now reached his boiling point and is livid with this ongoing matter.

Someone "HIGHER UP" than the people we've been speaking with needs to get involved in this matter before we're left with no additional options. I've spoken again with the attorney this morning to update him on how the repair went after being advised to allow them to make the repair and he has also been forwarded the pictures, now I'm waiting to determine how to proceed but this merry-go+-round is about to come to a STOP!!!

Kennidy
#1116510

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this situation.

We can assure you that we are taking this matter seriously, and we will continue to work towards a resolution with you. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Beaverton, Oregon

Dear Ronda,
Your concerns are important to us and would like to ensure that no unanswered concerns remain. If you continue to have questions or concerns regarding your experience, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#792425 Review #792425 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality

Do not buy laminate flooring from empire today! In the 9 months I have had them installed they come apart at the seams and they will not back up their warranty because I was told by the sales person that I was only to use a swifter mop!

I wasn't given any any maintenance info what's so ever! It's even coming apart in areas that have never had a swifter over that part of flooring!

I have been complaining since August 2015 just 6 months after the installation. I wish I had read these complaints before choosing empire today!

1 comment
Kennidy
#1113831

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations, and we would like to know more about the situation.

Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Whitehall, Pennsylvania

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We would like to know more about the situation and help make things right for you, but unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.
ID
#775351 Review #775351 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality

Never brought the wall base. Now told they don't have the size, 4 inches, in a wall base.

Never brought transition. Have dip in floor. Told about it midninstallation there is a dip in floor.

Asked installer if it will be an issue, he said no. Our floor moves when one walks on it.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Flushing, Michigan

Dear Customer,
We’ve read your review, and we’re disappointed in the issues that occurred during your installation. We would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience and ensure that all your concerns get addressed. However, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can locate your account and follow up with you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#751698 Review #751698 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Empire Today - Flooring Review from Flushing, Michigan
Empire Today - Flooring Review from Flushing, Michigan

We had a rep come out 3 weeks before thanksgiving. Sold us laminate flooring and booked an appoinment for us.

We were having a large job done. Ripping up old carpet and tile in a foyer, hall, kitchen and breakfast area. This was supposed to be a 2500 job. That following week, one guy (not a crew) came out, was here 1p minutes and said "i cant do this.

You need to have your tile tested for asbestos." I had taken the day off for this to get started. So i shipped off 2 samples to a area lab to be analized. After 100 dollars and another week it came back negative. So, on we go.

Took another day off for the floor to be laid and a crew arrived to start ripping up the floor. At one point, the installer tells us, "we cant lay laminate floor on this, its not flat enough." So again, they pack up and leave and have to wait for a tile salesman to arrive. So we wait, and wait, and wait....9:30 pm he shows up. We are offered a selection of tiles (mainly luxury tiles).

Let me tell you this, this is not cheap. So, with a new subfloor needed, grout, tear up....blah blah blah. Our 2500 job went up to $5400. Cha ching!

Apparently they saw deperate suckers on our face. Of course, they cant do this before Thanksgiving. Soooo, our floor was tore up when family came over. Fast forward to the following Thursday.

Old tile, subflooring coming up, tile going down. (Hubby took that day off). Friday i took off and the grout was supposed to go down. The grout i picked out was aweful so they said we'll call and have someone deliver more.

I asked what time will it be, because i had plans for my birthday with my kids. They said, couple hours maybe. That was 1:00 pm. At 6:30 pm, still no show and i had to cancel my plans.

At this point im so frustrated with this company im in tears. 7:10, the guy shows up, 2 minutes to drop the buckets, forgot to leave the metal strips for between the rooms. So, next day, guys call, say they have to pick up these strips and theyd be out. This is Saturday.

End of day...still not finished. Sunday...they dont work. Finally monday, one guy returns to finish the round molding. Packs up early and leaves.

Unbeknownst to me, he left molding undone, and forgot a strip behind my refridge. They dida good job laying it other then that. However, it seemed like they were on the phone all the time. They turned on their own music, which id been ok with if they would have asked.

I wasnnt feeling well and fighting a cold. Since that time, they have not contacted us to see how things went or followed up.

Will NOT use them again. Not because im not satisfied with the tile, but because of the ridiculous hassel we had to go through.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1079595

We’ve read your review, and we’re disappointed in the issues that occurred during your installation. We would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience and ensure that all your concerns get addressed.

However, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can locate your account and follow up with you.

Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from San Francisco, California

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We realize that it's frustrating that your installation was not completed as scheduled, and we want to help make things right. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.
ID
#737148 Review #737148 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Poor customer service

A no show for my appt. Real nice!!!!!

Will not ever do business with Empire again. 2 phone calls during appt window with neither call being returned by Debbie the rep after the office left her 2 messages to call ne.

She really makes Empire look bad and she has now held up every project in conjunction with flooring!!!!!!!! I am so very disappointed

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Resolved: Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?

Dear Gerard,
Your concerns are of important to us, and understand that we have addressed your concerns from this posting. For future questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#735890 Review #735890 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Pros
  • Response time
Cons
  • Customer service
  • Craftsmanship
Reason of review
Both poor craftsmanship and bad customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?

Contact Empire and they had a sales rep out the next day (Saturday). He arrived on time, was polite, took measurements, selected the laminate floor, and received a price quote within two hours. Received a call the following Monday from Empire asking if I wanted to go ahead and have a financing representative drop by to finalize and schedule installation. When he came, I began to get that uneasy feeling when he said he needed to take measurements, and then I could pick out the flooring. Wait! I just spent two hours on Saturday doing this part. When I voiced concern, he told me there would not be any more hiccups, and even discounted the final price a bit. Feeling a bit better. He advised that installation would begin on Thursday and last through Saturday. I let him know I had a medical appointment Friday afternoon that could not be rescheduled, and the installation crew would need to accommodate. He let me know it was not an issue, and to tell the lead on the installation crew when they arrived.

Thursday came, the crew was on-time, and things seemed to be going very well. I let the lead know that Friday I had an appointment and they would need to break off two hours early. His response to me was that he comes in from Austin, does not work on Saturday, and would like to stay and work while I was at my appointment. What? First, I was told work was Thursday through Saturday. Second, stay and work in the home without me there? Don’t think so. I let him know I would do what I could, but the appointment could not be rescheduled.

Friday came, and progress on the floor was good. Until I reminded him of the appointment. Once I did, he said he needed to get the job finished that day, and needed to stay in the home whilst I was away. I then made it clear that I was not going to allow that, and that they needed to finish on Saturday. To which he responded again that he comes in from Austin, and needed to finish today. If not, he would have to come back Monday. So, I told him, Monday it is.

During the weekend I had time to evaluate the work being done, and was beginning to find small things I was not happy about. But, I held off until the work was done on Monday came and the work was supposedly completed. During my walkthrough I found many issues. First, they had to cut the front portion of each step to make the square. They were originally rounded off, which created an issue with laying the laminate flat. Understandable… However while cutting, the workers tore into my banister with their saw, chewing up the wood. When I brought it to the leads attention, his response was, “I did my best.” What??? Next, the reduction of the stair size left *** in the wall between the stair and the molding. The lead told me he was not responsible for fixing or repairing that because it is part of the original stairs. What the…? You cut my stairs to accommodate the laminate, leaving a gaping hole!!!! The final straw was finding a two-and-a-half foot scratch deep into the laminate in the master bedroom. The lead said he had no more materials, and would fix after he ordered more at a later date.

Needless to say, I did not sign the final paperwork. I then called the main office and the lady who answered said she would contact the installation manager. I asked if she could have him call me because I had pictures and wanted to explain. To which she replied, “No. He will call the crew.” Really??? I’m the one who is having a not-so-good experience here. Not the crew. Needless to say, I have not received a call back from anyone. The lead seemed to want to appease me, but I’m not happy at all. Posting Images to show that lousy work.

2 comments
Cammi
#1065889

I have to say, the turn-around time once I posted this issue was outstanding. My hat is off to Rex and Billy for stepping in and ensuring my issues were being attended to.

The crew arrived shortly after Billy showed up, and an offer was made to make recompense for the damaged banister. I will revisit and post an update once this has been finalized.

Kennidy
#1065785

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you and that we are working to make things right.

We will continue to follow up with you until everything has been completed to your satisfaction, and please don’t hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns. Thank you.

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Beachwood, New Jersey

Dear Jenna,
We were disappointed to hear that your product was not meeting your expectations, but understand that we have since completed an inspection and discovered the root of your concerns. For future questions, you may contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#732048 Review #732048 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality

Buyer Beware don't Buy from Empire Today!

Six months ago I purchased my first home 1 month before I was due to give birth to my first child and wanted everything done before my baby arrived.

I purchased 1,200 SF of Laminate Flooring from "Empire Today" to the total of $14,000 for my new home. (I'm still trying to figure out where the 1/2 price discount was applied, at $11.66 / sf. Wow!)

My sales representative Terry in the NJ area swore to me that their laminate flooring was high quality and is treated with a protective coating to make it resistant to scratches.

Terry also made the claim,

"Its so durable you could take a screw driver to floor and it will not scratch".

Being pregnant at the time, I knew I needed something very durable to hold up kids and baby toys. Well 6 months later there are scratches everywhere.

I was very careful to install felt pads under all of my furniture so it wouldn't  scratch the floor. The reality is any thing that rests on the floor even a plastic baby walker will scratch the floor. I cant even keep a plastic kitchen trash can on the floor because it scratched the floor.

At this point I'm afraid to get a family dog because the flooring is such LOW quality that the dogs nails will scratch the floor.

After having a service rep from Empire come and inspect my flooring, Empire said there was nothing wrong with the floor and there was nothing they would do to resolve the issue.

I'm so furious "Empire Today" will not stand behind their product and is refusing to do nothing for me.

Please avoid Empire Today Flooring, don't get ripped off by this company. There is NO customer support from this Company what so ever.

If I had done my research I would have realized after reading all of the customer complaints on the Web

Empire Today is not a company I should have done business with.

Here is a sampling, just to pick a few.

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/empire-today.html

http://mythreecents.com/reviews/empire-today

http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Empire-Today/nationwide/Empire-Today-Empire-Laminate-Flooring-Estimate-Internet-Nationwide-1066930

I hope this helps the next person looking for flooring. Do not purchase from Empire Today, tomorrow or ever!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from New York, New York

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand your frustration at your installation not being completed, and we would like to help make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.
ID
#705183 Review #705183 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality

Today 9/24/15 the installers from empire came out again, once again the work could not be completed. My journey started with empire in July still three visits later still no flooring.

This is absolutely the worst company I have ever had the chance to work or not work with. I would never recommend this company to anyone.

3 comments
Anonymous
#1055058

Me either. Horrible horrible horrible I wish I would have checked complaints before getting them to do the job

Kennidy
#1055061
@PissedConsumer1055058

Its' disappointing that you haven't had a positive experience with us. We want to know more about your concerns and help make things right for you. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you.

Anonymous
#1043536

I agree with you. I had three rooms of flooring (tiles) installed by Empire.

The grout color does not look like the color that I picked nor the same as what is shown on their website. It's a nightmare trying to get a call back from Customer Service.

What a slip shod company. They should not be in business.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Poor customer service nad inferior product

Dear Nicole,
We understand that we’ve spoken with you in regards to this matter. If you continue to have questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#702012 Review #702012 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$8000
Preferred solution
The floor repaired and warranteed for at least 2 years

We moved into a new house about a year ago, the house had brand new carpet, but we prefer hard floors. No more than six months ago we had Empire come out and give us a quote as they had done our floors in our old house.

We decided on hard wood and had it installed the next day. A few weeks ago a TV tray left a small scratch that was deep enough to not be the same color as the flooring. I was surprised that the TV tray scratched the floor. Then a week ago, while closing the reclining part of the couch a very large gouge was left on the floor.

We called about it and were told that "everything scratches" "even diamonds scratch" and they were not going to warranty the floor! We paid $8,000 less than six months ago and they are telling us it is not covered? That decision solidifies my efforts to not only never use this company again, but tell everyone and anyone I know to choose a much more reputable company that values their customers and more importantly believes in their product enough to recognize this particular floor is inferior!

The last time we purcahsed a floor for our old house, they left us with some planks incase we needed them, this time they did not. I have a 3200 sq ft house, they only did the first floor, I will call someone else for the second floor.

2 comments
Anonymous
#1122826

I can't help but to comment on this. You scratched your floor, by t.v.

tray and by furniture, and you want the people that sold and installed the floor for you to fix it?

This is not the flooring retailer's problem. How do you figure that it is Empire's problem? I think that maybe I missed something. Did they tell you it was impossible to damage?

Did they make some sort of ludicrous claim like that?

Kennidy
#1036808

Hi Nicole, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret that you’ve been experiencing issues with your product, and we understand that we’ve spoken with you about this matter.

We will be following up with you again shortly to discuss the situation in more detail and work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - When Hardwood Really Isn't Hardwood

Dear Leroy,
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about this situation. If you continue to have questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
ID
#696342 Review #696342 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Replace the entire floor with the cheaper lament rather than the hardwood.

We've been trying to get Empire to replace the wood flooring job they did for us two years ago. The first year we started noticing little dimples all over the floor.

We called them within the one year service contract and they sent an independent contractor to investigate. Their findings was the dimples were caused by stelletos. This baffled my wife and I, as we are the only residents, and we wear sleppers or socks in the house. Our visitors remove their shoes at the front door.

Now, the floor looks terrible. An investment over $5000 gone up in smoke. We recently had another independent contractor, sent from Empire, revisit our plight with basically the same findings. I know we take care of our property, including flooring, which looks new.

Empire assumes we've done something to the floor accidentally and that's just wrong.

If anything, they should replace our floor, even if they replaced it with lament. What are our recourses in this matter?

1 comment
Kennidy
#1031741

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We’re disappointed that your product has not been meeting your expectations, and we understand that we’ve been in contact with you about this situation.

We can assure you that we are taking this matter seriously, and we will continue to follow up with you to work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or 888-588-2315 x3555.

Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today flooring and carpeting - horrible

Dear Francine,
We are saddened to hear about your experience, and although time has passed since your last posting we want to ensure that your concerns were addressed. If you continue to have questions, please reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#675583 Review #675583 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Pros
  • Were fast
Cons
  • Way the installation went and the end product
Reason of review
terrible installation
Loss
$16000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Various non-English speaking workers came into my house for about ten days to do the upstairs carpeting and the downstairs flooring. There was no consistency to the workers; they created and left huge messes; they broke things.

But the worst of all was the quality of the work. Sections of the carpet have already been relaid, and the entire downstairs floor needs to be replaced because the workers did not allow for the temperature of the flooring to acclimate.

Empire, after a lot of calls and visits, did agree to re-do the work.... but I am still waiting one year later for it to happen.

Empire Today's reply to:

Complaint Against Empire Today

Dear Vida,
Customer relationships are important to us, and we regret that your experience was not a positive one. We understand that we have discussed your concerns and offered an accommodation. If you continue to have questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#669040 Review #669040 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
all of the above
Loss
$15000
Preferred solution
Full refund

July of 2014, We called Empire Today. The pushy sales lady came to my house the same day. She did not leave until we signed the contract with her. The next day, i called the company and wanted to cancel because their price was very expensive, and they would not cancel. They gave me a couple of hundred dollars off the carpet and tile installation. We did not have a major problem with the tile people, but we started replacing the carpet August of 2014. The installer was at my house July 28th and inspected my furniture and my house and the flooring to make sure that they have ordered enough carpet and to see how they would move the furniture. There were supposed to install the carpet the next day which would have been Tues July 29th. Based on his suggestion he said for us to start August 1st so that he can bring more people and that they can finish the job sooner on Saturday. I said okay.

They started the replacement of my carpet August 1st 2014. Two people came and literally hostage in my house. They were using laundry room door and front door to come into my house. They put all the heavy furniture with no coverage on my front entry, which is marble which was in perfect condition before they started working. They moved the rest of my other furniture in my kitchen and in my breakfast area and we were held hostage because we couldn't use our kitchen and refrigerator and front entry. So, we were literally living on the front yard or backyard. We were not able to get into the house to see what was going on, or in some case use the restroom. At 7:30pm on Friday, we were informed that they would be back Saturday and he would bring 4-6 people to finish the job. They put some furniture back and some furniture on my front entry. Saturday Morning they came back around 11am and there were about 4-6 people working. We stayed outside again, and blocked out again hoping that they would finish the job today. Around 2:30 when my husband left the house to get something to eat, the installer came to me to tell me bad news, that they cannot finish the job today. This was because the carpet he had was different than the carpet he had yesterday. The color is the same, but the lot # is different. He wouldn't be able to match the seam and that I would be unhappy. All my upstairs furniture, they shoved it in the balconies of my master room and my daughters balcony, and he said that he feels really bad for us because he has to bring back the furtnaure to the room, but can't put the furniture back because he will be coming back on Monday to fix the problem. He brought everything from the balcony and shoved them more into the bathrooms and we were all blocked out of our closets and showers, and restrooms and changing clothes. Everything was shoved in a small place. The only place we were able to use was the downstairs powder room, which has no shower. And we were able to only use the kitchen and family room. He said he feels really bad, but Empire would take care of you and give me some kind of credit, which they did not do that yet.

He came back on Monday August 4th, and he said that he will fix the problem for me. He has the right carpet he said and he left Monday around 8pm and he wanted a signature from my husband, and checked marked for where we would survey him. I told him I am not happy with the carpet change, and furnature was very much damaged and the seam of the carpet all over the house was very much visible. He told me the carpet is not thick enough for my home, and will shed. So basically, Empire needs to re install the carpet again, and he would come do the change

Knowing that he knew from the beginning that the carpet is not thick enough, and knowing that the carpet they gave him was not the right carpet, and also knowing that he would have to come back and re install new carpet because of this. Saturday August 2nd, 5 people had to sleep in the family room on the floor with no pillow and blanket since we had no access to anything in our house and everything was locked out. We didn't have access to tooth paste and toothbrush and had to go out and buy them since the no access. We had to use the powder room downstairs to brush our teeth. Based on his suggestion we had to call Empire today and tell them what was going on immediately. And since August 5th 2014, we are calling Empire and letting them know what happened and whats going on and little by little that 4 door stopper were missing in my house, the base board was brother, doors were not closing. Baseboard and walls and paint have been damages, and also couches. Also formal living room couches, and glass dining table has been chipped at so many places. The house was painted In Nov of 2013, and most of my pain upstairs have been damages, including the kids bedrooms, master bedrooms, etc. All paint is damaged, and all bedroom sets also have been damaged. The installer did not put all the screws on the bed, and the bed was loosened. The formal dining room and buffet which has been covered with sheets since we moved in have also been damaged with scratches and dents. The chairs and coffee table and side table have scratches and also book case and office and room desks have been broken. Also master place fire place marble have been damaged, and also the casing around the patio door because of the moving of the furniture. He broke the casing of the patio door in front of my husband, and told him he would come back and fix it but never did. All my marble have been scratched and chipped where the carpet meets the marble.

There have been so many damages on the marble that I cannot describe anything. The staircase has been deeply scratched and it is so excessive that I do not know what to do about it. Small picture frames in the hallway fell and damaged the frame and also the wall. And bigger tapestry pictures have been broken due to being fallen.

We have been following all the installers instruction to put things in box, and put the small items away, and I have 3 or 4 days to put things away. He never told us to remove any picture frames. Empire changed my flooring of my 5 bathrooms with the tile, and he also damaged the tile which was connected from my daughters room to the bathroom. There are so many chips in my kitchen flooring, and breakfast area. Pieces of the tile are gone, and he came back and shaved some of the pieces of the tile in my kitchen and laundry room to make the pieces straight. He did the same to my daughters bathroom, and for it to not be noticeable. But, I have more carpet there, more than tile, which you are supposed to have more tile than carpet. Due to the rolling in of the heavy carpet, my washer and dryer have been scratched and paint has been damaged. We have sent pictures to Empire, they have sent supervisors to my house to look at the damages, and each time they tell me they are going to fix the damages of my kitchen flooring and marble. They said they are going to order marble to replace your chipped marble, and someone is going to come and paint where has been damaged and change the flooring for kitchen and laundry room with the same tile of the bathroom. When the painter came to look at the damages, he said he has to paint the whole house to make it all even. For the stair case, even with sanding and staining, it will never go back to when it was normal in the beginning, so little by little they changed their mind, after all the promises Howie (installation supervisor), me to directly and Janet (Cus. Serve. Rep), to fix everything, they have only decided to give me 10% of the purchase price, which is about $830 dollars, and I rejected the offer.

They reported this to installer insurance company, and they came over and looked at everything, and rejected the damages due to previous existing damages. What I want to ask them, is if the damages are pre existent, the first of installer should have told me and had me sign some sort of paperwork. The first installer came to inspect my house on July 28th, and if there were any pre existing damages, he should have taken a picture, and sign something like two other installers that came and changed the carpet again. Most of my furniture were new, and were kept really well since they were covered until the first installment. This tells any logical person, that there were no pre existing damages, and no furniture damaged. If so, he should have said something about it. After the second installer came to inspect the house, and when he was changing the carpet, while he was dissembling my bedroom set, purposely put the foot board and head board in the wrong place for me not to see the damages on my cherry wood furniture. I have trusted Empire due to the false advertisement on TV due to what they have promised.

For the second time the carpet has been changed for the second time in Nov. 12th of 2014, the second carpenter took an hour to look at the furniture and the damages, and let me know the damages have been done previously to show me that they are previous damages, and he would not be held responsible. He did a terrible job of carpet installation. The cuts were horrible and easily seen and it took him 3 days to finish the job. He left the Friday at 4pm and said that this was the best he can do. Meanwhile we are paying for the carpet every month through Wells Fargo. We asked Wells Fargo to help us to get our money back through them, and Wells Fargo is not helping us and we are disappointed with Wells Fargo because they are telling me to deal with Empire and not them. Wells Fargo is a credit card company, and I don't know why they want us to deal with Empire, and Not wells fargo to get my money back for an unfinished job.

Anyhow, now the carpet has been changed for the 3rd time. The supervisors name is Juan, and he came over. He said that everything is wrong with the carpet and it has to be changed for the third time. On June 10th, the carpet was finished. I called the next day. We still have a problem with the stairs, with the size of the nails, and the carpet is pushing out on both sides. I hope to never do business with Empire again. My life has been changed since August of 2014. I am still dealing with them and getting no where. I am calling them daily. It is frustrating not to get a response from them. I am only getting an email once in a while, and keep getting promises made but not getting any of them.

Featured
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Grand Rapids, Michigan

Dear Dewan,
We never want our customers to be disappointed in the work that’s done in their homes, and we regret the issues you’ve experienced. We understand that we’ve disucssed repair options with you. If you continue to have questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
ID
#644644 Review #644644 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today - Flooring Review from Grand Rapids, Michigan

Empire did my house and it's turn into a night mare and thousands of dollars lost .

616 915 2975

1 comment
Kennidy
#991225

Hi Dewan, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in the work that’s done in their homes, and we regret the issues you’ve experienced. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about repairs, and we will be following up with you again shortly.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Unable to install laminate.

Dear Brenda,
We regret that your experience had a rocky start, but understand that we have completed your installation. For future questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#629664 Review #629664 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Pros
  • People were very courteous
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Hired Empire Today to install carpet and laminate flooring in hallway. Sales person measured hallway, installers did not have enough to do job based on the numbers they say was given them by sales person, sales person number is now disconnected.

The installers had to leave did not have enough material. Now I have to wait until they get this mix up cleared. Have to go to Atlanta, GA to get material. My house is torn up waiting on Empire to make a decision.

Will be contacting the Better Business Bureau for this problem.

Poor sales persons. Pissed off customer.

1 comment
Kennidy
#980190

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We realize that it is frustrating that your installation was not completed as scheduled, and we would like to follow up with you to ensure everything gets completed to your satisfaction.

We cannot locate your account with the information posted here, but if you call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com. We will follow up with you as soon as possible.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Resolved: Empire Today - Flooring Review from Leander, Texas

Dear Phillip,
Thank you for updating your review. We are thrilled to hear that your concerns were addressed in a timely manner. For future questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#598582 Review #598582 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Reason of review
Bad quality

Update by user Mar 30, 2015

I was contacted asap by empire today and they setup a appointment to have the tile fixed. They came out and relaid over half the floor and fixed the problem.

I could not be more happy.

This is a very honest company. Great job!

Original review posted by user Feb 21, 2015

Had a new tile floor installed in my kitchen. Chose empire because the price was right.

All went well until I noticed a few tiles not flat a level. Had to show the installer and he did cut out the old installed the new. But after he finished and left. I found many more.

Recently I had to move my fridge and he hadn't let the mortar setup and just pushed it onto unset tile. Plus grout was cracked.

1 comment
Kennidy
#949838

Hi Phillip, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed with the work that is done in their homes, and we would like to know more about the issues you’ve been experiencing.

We will be following up with you shortly, and you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager