Empire Today's reply to:

Salesmen lie, Empire Today seems OK with that

Steve, I've read the information that you posted about your experience with us and also received your letter. The information that you've provided has been sent to the teams within our organization to review and discuss with the appropriate individuals. I can say that as a member of our management team, we do focus on customer satisfaction from the initial call through the post installation - it is very important to us. The quote you had referenced in the post is very true, we stand behind our products and services, customers are very important to us - our mission focuses on building customers for life. Unfortunately, with the information that you have provided us, we didn't meet those expectations in a variety of places. I do apologize for that on behalf of the organization; I'm hoping that we will be able to work towards a mutual resolution. I've met with our Director of National Customer Service and it is my understanding that she has reached out to you since we've received the information. We do want to ensure that we are able to resolve your situation very efficiently. I'm also including her email address, tbinette@empire-today.com, in the event that you would like to respond via email versus calling her. Once again, I do apologize that our service didn't meet the levels that you were expecting and I hope that we can work on finalizing the resolution. Bridget Moscatello, Vice President of Customer Care.
ID
#193411 Review #193411 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$3

1.) The sales representative would not disclose his figures or method of calculation of his estimate.

2.) The sales representative refused to provide us with an itemized list of material and labor costs.

3.) My wife and I were deliberately deceived regarding the nature and extent of coverage offered by the 30-year warranty, at the time of sale, in order to make the sale.

4.) Prior to signing, I was strongly discouraged from reading the legal documentation, by the sales representative at the time of sale.

5.) I was pressured into "˜hurrying up' and signing the paperwork by the sales representative; who had a prior commitment that he was late for (to go fishing)

6.) I was told by the sales representative that Empire Today did not subcontract out installation. However, two very young men wearing concert T-shirts arrived at our house to install our floor. There was no indication on their pick-up truck or on their clothing, that they represented "˜Empire Today'. In retrospect, I don't know who those people were and it is a little unsettling that they were in my house.

7.) Empire Today accepts no responsibility for the actions of its employees and refuses to even acknowledge, much less attempt to reasonably and amicably resolve this situation.

What happened:

On December 22, 2009, an Empire Today sales representative came to our house to give us a free estimate on laminate flooring to replace the rugs that were damaged by a toilet overflow. Prior to his arrival, we did some comparative pricing from several local venders offering the same products and services, to establish a price range for the job, since our budget was very tight. After measuring the areas we were planning to replace, he produced an estimate that was nearly twice the amount quoted by their competitors. When I asked for a breakdown of labor and materials, the sales representative refused to divulge his figures or methods of calculation; just the total. This left me feeling very uncomfortable.

When my wife and I asked why there was such a dramatic difference in price between Empire Today and it's competitors, the sales representative told us that Empire Today's product came with an amazing 30-year warranty. He went on to claim that it covered complete replacement (materials and labor) for any damage, so long as it was not caused by a "˜natural flood'. Having two toddlers (1 and 3 years old), the thought of that kind of protection started to make that price seem more attractive. He inquired as to why our rugs had been removed. When I explained that we had a toilet overflow, he immediately pointed out that had we already installed Empire Today's product, "Empire Today would have replaced everything, free of charge." The thought of having a product installed in our house that would be replaced completely, if it ever happened again, was too attractive for us to pass up on. Having two children and wanting that level of security, the 30-year warranty, under those parameters, seemed to be a worthwhile investment. Clearly, we would not have purchased our flooring from Empire Today, paying double the price, without the warranty described by the sales representative.

Before I signed the paperwork to authorize the job to begin, I was attempting to read the legal language of the documents when the sales representative strongly dissuaded me from trying to understand the language of the document, indicating to me that "You don't really need to look at that" and that it (the document) "was a standard loan-shark contract". 'That uncomfortable feeling was returning. Additionally, just prior to the final signing, I waivered as I took a long look at the very expensive investment I thought I was about to make. At this point, the sales representative began pressuring me to hurry and sign, since he was planning to meet with a friend to go fishing after he had completed his work with us. My discomfort with the deal was increasing.

Despite this, my wife and I agreed that it was an expensive but necessary investment, based solely on the warranty, so we signed the paperwork. The sales representative was in such a hurry to leave our house; he left his coat on a chair in our living room. I had to run out to his car to give it to him before he sped away. I believe it is important to point out that we were not given a written copy of the warranty at the time of sale or installation. As a result, we had no reason to believe the salesperson had lied to us.

In April of 2010, our washing machine overflowed, pouring water all over part of our new laminate flooring and destroying a rug in one bedroom. Fearing the possibility of mold damage under the floor and the health risks associated with it, we called Empire Today immediately to have them replace the flooring in that area. At that time, a phone representative from Empire Today informed us that appliance failure was not covered in the warranty. When I indicated that our sales representative told us otherwise, the phone representative merely replied that they "˜weren't there' (at the time of sale) and therefore could not be held responsible for what the salesman had said. I told them that this response was unacceptable and asked for a supervisor. Each representative I spoke to that day said the same thing: "˜I wasn't there'.

Finally, I spoke to Tim Sherwin, a senior regional manager at the company, who maintained the same "˜I wasn't there' mantra. However, when I asked him point blank "˜Do you not feel any responsibility for what your trained sales staff is telling your customers in an effort to make a sale?' and "˜Do you support that kind of approach and behavior?' He fell back on the standard response "I wasn't there". I thought that is was interesting that he never disputed the fact that I may or may not have been lied to. He merely pointed out that if it wasn't in writing, Empire Today could not be held accountable for the actions of an unscrupulous sales representative and his blatant deception of a customer.

We have made repeated attempts to resolve this situation amicably. I have called Empire Today and written several letters, one sent directly to the CEO of the company. In each one, we have offered fair and reasonable solutions. Either charge us the average price quoted by your competitors for the same job (since there is no all-encompassing warranty to distinguish Empire Today as a superior product) or take back your product for a full refund, since it is not as it was represented at the time of sale. These attempts have all been completely disregarded. I have also attempted to dispute this charge though the company that holds the loan we signed with for the flooring. We even set a lengthy letter, detailing our ordeal to the Better Business Bureau in an effort to receive some measure of justice. All of our efforts, thus far, have been in vain.

In summation, I would not only never recommend the use of any of Empire Today's products or services to anyone, I would also encourage anyone and everyone to actively spread the word regarding their deceptive and unethical practices as well as their utter disregard for the consumer. It is difficult to imagine that the CEO of Empire Today who has been quoted in a press release (dated June 26th 2008) claiming that "˜Our employees are truly passionate about building customers for life' and that "˜We strive to provide world-class customer service throughout the organization, and this award [a business ethics in the marketplace award, bestowed upon Empire Today by the Better Business Bureau] just reinforces our commitment to achieving excellence in customer satisfaction. Our company is truly honored to receive this award because stellar customer services is our top priority'. Based on our experience thus far, it would seem that these words no longer hold any value to Empire Today, its representatives or its employees.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today sells ***

I understand that you have an inspection scheduled for your laminate flooring. We are always available to help. If possible, would you be able to contact me at your earliest convenience, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager All our products are installed by professionals backed by manufacturer product and installation warranties. If there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or service of the installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution. If there are concerns that are brought to our attention, we sometimes provide an outside certified inspection company in to review the area(s) in question. Once the inspection and results are completed and depending on the outcome of the results, we can determine if it was a service or product related issue. If this is identified, Empire will address and fix the concern. Sometimes, however, issues arise that are not related to our product or installation. If that occurs, we will review the information with the customers and sometimes discuss options for assisting in fixing the problem.
ID
#191488 Review #191488 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I had laminate flooring and carpeting installed in July 2008, two years later the carpet looks like it is 20 yrs old and the flooring is coming up at the edges and empire will do nothing about it. The warranty is junk that they give you and they want $75.00 to come out and inspect the damage.

I have been waiting for two weeks for someone to call for inspection.

Turned them in to the BBB, buyer beware, they lie about their products, send illegal Mexicans to do install and their warranty is junk. I am raging over this.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Do not trust them

We apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory. Customer service is a top priority at Empire and we want to talk with you to work toward a resolution. During the In-Home Estimate, our Sales Representatives work with each customer to select the right product to fit their needs. Empire provides a fully installed price estimate during the time of the appointment, and depending on the products selected, the room's square footage, and other items needed for the projects, pricing can vary. We also offer a Low Price Guarantee in which we'll beat any competitive offer on a comparable product and installation. We stand behind our service and products, however, if a customer finds a better quote and has met the criteria for our Low Price Guarantee Program, we will honor the quote. Our customers also have a three-day recession right to cancel their purchase. If the order is cancelled within the recession period, Empire will also refund the deposit. We would really like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your appointment and review the estimate that you were presented. We want to discuss your experience and work toward a resolution. Since we do not have your contact information from your posting, we are not able to locate your order in our system. Please contact a member of our Customer Service Management Team at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195 so we can help you resolve your situation. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#190376 Review #190376 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

Empire Today is a total rip off and has slimy business practices! They basically sell you flooring at the highest price they can squeeze out of you.

One of the first things the sales associate asked was how much I was willing to spend on flooring. I slipped and mentioned I received the $8,000 first time home buyer's tax credit. Guess how much our total estimate came out to for laminate and carpet in the whole house? $8,000!

What a coincidence! Originally she said $12,000, but then added on all those "special" little discounts she wasn't allowed to give us. She also called her "boss" to authorize another discount (fakest phone call ever). We were never told the cost per square foot or anything like that, it was whatever they thought we were willing to pay.

The sales associate appeared sincere, but underneath was just sneaky and sleezy. This was the first place I received an estimate and I had no idea how much flooring costs. So like an ***, I was talked into purchasing, thinking this was a normal price (other places later quoted me at about $4,000 less). I came to my senses later that night and called the sales associate the following day to cancel my order.

She said she hadn't even submitted the paperwork yet, since it was on a Sunday. The next day someone from their office calls to ask about my cancellation. Suddenly the floor we wanted was overstocked, and they offered me an "absurd discount." I said no and confirmed my cancellation for a 2nd time. The following day I also mailed my notice of cancellation along with a letter explaining my cancellation.

A week goes by and somebody else calls to confirm my order set for installation in a few days! I was furious! Three times I canceled and three times I said I wanted my down payment back, and yet they were planning on still sending out the installers! They tried to bribe me again with another discount.

Also, I thought the sales associate hadn't even submitted the paperwork when I told her I wanted to cancel. I sure hope I get my $500 down payment back this time, or they're going to court.

I don't understand how they get an A+ on Better Business Bureau when all I've seen is negative complaints. I think it may be because their installers and sales associates are contracted, so any complaints with them goes to the contractors and not Empire Today.

Empire Today's reply to:

WOW Another Bad Empire Today Email :S

Empire reviews each and every concern that is brought to our attention, and we take the feedback from our customers very seriously. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we do our best to provide a resolution to customers that experience problems. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. This grade represents the BBB's degree of confidence that the business is operating in a trustworthy manner and making good faith efforts to resolve customer concerns. Empire offers Next-Day Installation on many of its in-stock products. Our professional installers must pass a rigorous standards and skills screening tests to become an Empire Today installer. At any stage of the installation process, we are available to help and answer any questions a customer may have. Empire works with leading manufacturers and carries a wide assortment of products and styles to meet the needs of our customers’ lifestyles. We work with each customer during their in-home appointment to select the right products to meet their needs. All of our products are backed by manufacturer and installation warranties. If there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or service of the installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution. If there are concerns that are brought to our attention, we sometimes provide an outside certified inspection company in to review the area(s) in question. Once the inspection and results are completed and depending on the outcome of the results, we can determine if it was a service or product related issue. If this is identified, Empire will address and fix the concern. Sometimes, however, issues arise that are not related to our product or installation. If that occurs, we will review the information with the customers and sometimes discuss options for assisting in fixing the problem. As a member of our Sales Management Team, I would like to discuss your concerns with our company. I can be reached at pressrelations@empiretoday.com or via phone at 847-583-5248. Rick Boysen, Director of Sales
ID
#183668 Review #183668 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

Hello consumers its Truthaboutempire; I recieved this email yet again from a diferent consumer I believe. The email stated thank you for your help with empire today and letting me know about this company.

The consumer inclosed one of my post form a consumer back in 2006 on this site. Yes 4 going on 5 years of complaints about Empire Todays service.. If you havent takin the time to read my pst please do so before calling Empire Today. [The last paragraph is from a customer of Empire Today back in 2007 I wonder If Empire Today even resolved this issue :S]

"The problem with this company is that they are so dishonest and have shielded themselves from unhappy customers by giving them the runaround.

If you try to take them to small claims court, you have to make sure you have the exact name and address of the company you are trying to sue. But Empire Today has so many addresses, it's impossible to know which one is the correct one to use and if you had the wrong one, the case would be thrown out. There are so many complaints into so many BBB offices all across the country, but they close the cases as if they're settled when the consumer doesn't accept their offer. It's because, like Tom, they offer to replace the product at an additional cost to the consumer, (they want us to give them MORE money for another bad product and bad service) when it should be replaced under a warranty or because of poor installation or quality.

So when the customer doesn't accept the offer (since no one wants to throw more good money after bad) the BBB closes the case saying Empire made an offer but the customer didn't accept it. They put bad quality products into your home, don't stand behind their products, don't return calls, don't have good installation teams, don't have good service, don't have next day installation....I don't know how they get away with advertising 'next day' when they never show up the next day, but make people wait 12 hrs. Attorney generals of the states Empire Today does business in, should look into the fraudulent sales practices of this company. I don't know when someone will shut them down.

Maybe someone needs to notify the media and shine the light on this dishonest company."

"I was making enough noise about my *** carpet that finally "Helen" from Empire Corporate Office contacted me. I remember reading the name "Helen" in several other complaints about Empire. They probably have a room full of "Helens" sitting on their 800 number that say they work for Corporate Office. I did what she said I had to and allowed a third-party (at Empire's choosing) to come and inspect my carpet.

Three weeks later, after my phone calls to Empire, Helen called me back today and read me the report. The inspector supposedly said that the carpet is wearing normally -- I told her that it is not normal for a 15 month old carpet to have dark trails where you walk -- and the inspector had agreed with me while he was here. I told her I knew the dude was an employee of Empire Today -- she says he is not. If he isn't, he must be paid by Empire Today to say one thing to me and put another thing in their reports.

Empire sells such *** that he probably makes a very good living inspecting their lousy products. I am really po'd -- Empire has not heard the last from me."

8 comments
Anonymous
#169492

I will do everything in my power to destroy this company and put them out of business including legal action, they messed with the wrong person this time and my Law firm is already in the process of starting action for litigation.

Anonymous
#169489

HEY PATHETICLOSERS: You apparently don't have *** carpet in your house that you paid $4,000.00 for that looks twenty yrs old when it's only two that buckles and bunches and all of it's fibers end up in your vacuum. And you have the nerve to say that Empire sells quality carpet, you are the one that is clueless.

Anonymous
#169485

I so agree with your post and I'm just now starting the run around process with Empire. Less then two years ago they installed carpet in three bedrooms and laminate flooring in the other parts of the house.

I had them out on a complaint about the fibers clogging up my vacuum and their suggestion was to put the setting at a higher level, to this day the vacuum sits in the garage packed with carpet fibers ruined. I now have laminate flooring buckling at the edges in my formal dining room that is rarely used, their answer is that some how I caused this to happen. When their inspector came out I asked what I should use to clean the laminate, he told me windex and a towel, now the supervisor tellS me that this is to harsh for my bullet proof no stain, no scratch floor that the sales man told me I have. This business needs to be shut down for fraud.

Luckily for me I did all my correspondence via emails and have written documentation from the sales rep that tells me my laminate flooring is indestructible, he no longer works for Empire and is willing to lend a hand with information to go after them legally. ANYONE THAT USES THIS COMPANY IS JUST ASKING FOR TROUBLE An by the way their warranty is junk, not worth the paper it is written on, Empire charges $75.00 to visit your home for inspection after the *** flooring has been down for a year.

Anonymous
#161970

I tried to deal with them a few years ago. I wouldnt use them if they gave me the flooring for free.

Poor customer service, high prices and big liars.

Never showed up for two days. Run people dont use Empire.

Anonymous
#149145

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience, and our customer service team would like to work with you to explore a resolution. Please contact us at 800-588-2300 so we can assist you.

Anonymous
#148548

Some of you are ridiculous and need to be educated. Empire sells carpet made by Mohawk & Shaw, the two best carpet makers in the business!

So to sit here and cry about the carpets they sale being inferior just shows your stupidity. Get a life *** and quit trying to ruin the reputation of a good company!

Anonymous
#147726

ROFL hey Jan im sorry dont mean to laugh but its funny I jus posted this and got a response: yes plz do try to give back the carpet and get a refund lol, this company is so bad. Hey if you have time check out my other post. Peace & GL to ya.

Anonymous
#147724

Re: Empire Today OMG I thought I was the only fool out there. Horrible quality & installation.

they have placed a judgement against me for non payment. After all of the interest & fees, they want double the $ amount of what the original cost was. They are not getting another cent.

They are welcome to take back their carpet, but even they don't want it. :cry

View more comments (7)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Gave me inaccurate information about carpet/hardwood

Kay - Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, as a member of the Empire Customer Service Management Team, I truly apologize that we were unable to service you with the level of service that you were expecting. It is my understanding that we have discussed and finalized a resolution with you.Our Sales Representatives will work with each customer on understanding their needs and ensuring they are provided the right products at the right price. We understand that this wasn't the situation and will be following back with the Sales Team directly. As part of our service, Empire offers a wide selection of products and styles to meet our consumers needs - we purchase quality brands from leading manufacturers in the industry. All our products come with manufacturer and installation warranties.
ID
#182069 Review #182069 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

First of all, out of 4 estimates, Empire Today's was the highest initially, even with a promotional offer and other discounts. When I told the sales rep that, suddenly he was able to knock off about 1/4 of the cost...like magic.

There were also several things we discussed for which he gave me inaccurate/incomplete information. When I told him I wanted nylon, not PET (polyester), he said nylon was not a soft material. In fact, he had one set of nylon samples that he showed which were not very soft and friendly to the touch. He led me to believe that was the way all nylon was which I later discovered was erroneous...in fact, I have since selected a nylon carpet that is very soft made of Anso nylon.

On the hardwood selection, he tried to steer my toward engineered hardwood. I was skeptical of that because the flooring I have now is that and I have been told that it cannot be screened again to refinish it. When I asked him about that, he told me that the engineered flooring could be screened just like the regular hardwood flooring. I researched that and found that is not true.

It can be screened only 1-3 times in its lifetime... which was not what I wanted. Besides that, it was as expensive, if not more, than the oak flooring, according to his estimate. Finally, he told me that I would never be able to match the hardwood to some I already have in the house.

That is not true either. The company I selected has guaranteed a perfect match to the existing hardwood. Finally, when I decided not to go with Empire Today, they offered me another $600 off the already "knocked down" estimate he had given me or the possibility of special ordering the nylon carpet I wanted in the first place. The sales rep.

never offered me that option during the appointment. They also asked if I would like the salesperson to contact me to discuss that further and I said I would entertain that but he never did contact me.

I guess he decided that I was too difficult of a customer and he wasn't going to get a big enough commission off my transaction since the price was going to have to come down too much to get my business. Never mind that he was way too high to begin with for the product he was trying to sign me up for.

3 comments
Anonymous
#147721

Hey Kay Im not surprised to hear Empire Today scrwed someone over again smh.. If you guys have a chance take a look at my other post I use to work for the company I put alot of there business practices on blast.

This company truely is a scam and a rip off. Ty for your time; Peace & GL.

Anonymous
#144242

Thank you for bringing your sales experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience, and our customer service team would like to work with you to explore a resolution. Please contact us at 800-588-2300 so we can assist you.

Pawel
#143606

"engineered flooring could be screened just like the regular hardwood flooring"

It can't be screened like real hardwood...anyone in the flooring business should know that....im surprised they lie so much

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - The old bait and switch

Susan, thanks for posting the information on your experience with us, I’m sorry that we were unable to service you with our products and that there was a delay in the refund processing. I was able to have our Customer Service Team review the details on your account. We will be following back with the Local Market Sales Team on your experience and concerns that were expressed. Customer satisfaction is very important to us; we review every concern and if the customer is willing, work on a mutual resolution. I wanted to give you additional information regarding our promotions. Empire offers a variety of promotions and online specials, our Buy One Room get Two Rooms Free offer during the time you had your visit was on select styles of our Carpet and Flooring products and only covers the cost of the product, however with this promotions and also our other promotions and offers, certain conditions must be met to eligible for the receiving the offer. Once again, I do apologize for the service that you received and wish that we had the opportunity to service you for your flooring needs. If you have any questions, I would like to recommend that you contact, our National Customer Manager, Rebekah Clerk, at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. Bridget Moscatello, Vice President of Customer Care.
ID
#173131 Review #173131 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I had Empire Today come out under their Buy 1 get 2 free campaigns. While the selection was good and I did find carpet and wood laminate flooring, the bait and switch occurred after I placed the order.

First, the laminate was not covered under the campaign. However, I was "given" a 67% discount, which was supposed to make up for not being included. Then the quotes were given with no breakout for materials, labor, etc. I was given a "30 day" price and a "Install Tomorrow" price, with the "30 day" price being $350 more. I placed the order for "Install Tomorrow", but the more I thought about it, the more disturbed I got and wound up canceling the order the next day (2-20). After I cancelled the order, the salesman called back, stating that he had calculated that I needed 18 boxes of laminate, when in fact, I only needed 10. I wonder if that mistake would have been found out by the time I had to pay. However, I found out that Empire did not cancel the order until today (3-1), meaning that they will wind up keeping my deposit for an extra week.

Empire did not provide detailed quotes in terms of room dimensions, cost of materials, labor, etc. Without details, it is impossible to do any kind of price comparisons. They also schedule the installation before the consumer deadline of 72 hours. I guess the expression "Buyer beware" applies to Empire. By "discounting" the install next day price, people do not have time to think or comparison shop and wind up thinking they got a good deal.

1 comment
Anonymous
#120629

Thank you for bringing your sales experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience, and our customer service team would like to work with you to explore a resolution. Please contact us at 800-588-2300 so we can assist you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Please read before buying from Empire Carpet

I've read your comments and recent post; I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your experience with the performance of the laminate flooring. As a member of the Customer Service Management Team, it is important for me to assist in understanding your concerns and but also work with you on a resolution. Empire works with leading manufacturers and carries a wide assortment of products and styles to meet the needs of our customers' lifestyles. We will work with each customer during their in-home appointment to select the right products to meet their needs. All our products are backed by manufacturer product and installation warranties. If there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or service of the installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution and potentially hire an outside company to perform an inspection of the flooring. If possible, would you be able to contact me at your earliest convenience, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#171202 Review #171202 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$6

My husband and I have been misled by Empire in every aspect of the way. We were given three different prices for the cost of wood laminate flooring for our kitchen, family room, laundry room and powder room.

The cost started out as 8,000.00, went down to 5,500.00 and then another jump up to 6,000.00. Salesmen never told my husband and me that water could never be used to clean the floor, but gave us a huge sales pitch on how the flooring was tested in laboratories and could have water sitting in one area for five days before any signs of visible damage. It was only after our floor was installed and the installers were leaving, that I was told that under no circumstances was I to use water on this floor. Then why the huge sales pitch on the flooring being able to withstand water?!?!

Not to mention the installers left with ten boxes of flooring that we are most certainly sure we paid for. When questioned by my husband, they said that they carry extra with them. However, the story told by Customer Service when my husband called was not the same. He was told they had another job.

After two months time, the floor has started to bubble and peel.

We noticed it in front of the sliding doors, in front of the sink and dishwasher, and in front of the refrigerator where areas get splashed with water. We were told that these floor boards have a wax coating to protect them from water damage, but when checked by someone we know who sales floors, we were told that there is no wax on the edges of the flooring.

We have phoned the Empire headquarters several times to get some kind of resolution; they have been terrible in returning calls and now are not returning any of our calls. The last time we spoke, they wanted to charge us eight thousand dollars to come out and replace the flooring with tile.

13 comments
Anonymous
#151967

Empire Today has the worst Customer Service I have ever seen and they have NO INFORMATION! They are pretty much call takers with no information!!!

Anonymous
#149573

Thank you everyone who has posted comments and shared your situation with Empire. I was looking into getting carpet in two rooms and hardwood floor in the rest of my home by Empire.

Hearing your comments really made me change my mind about this company.

Good thing the sales rep couldn't find parking in my neck of the woods. :)

Anonymous
#125093

I just had awesome carpet installed from Empire. Honestly this was the fastest service I have ever had.

The represenative was very nice and the buy one room and get two free? Well that was a good deal where I was. I had my whole house 1500sqft redone for under 3K with the higher end fris carpet. And next day removed all the old carpet replaced it within 3 hours.

moved all my stuff without any issues. And everyone should know wood warps/swells when water sits to long on it. Their website has very handy information about HOW TO TAKE CARE OF YOUR FLOORS. Read before you complain of your stupidity.

Also one more note to let you know how fast they took care of a mistake, next day, 10 minutes done. This company installed gold strips instead of nickle. I called and they were out the next day to change it out. No hassel no questions.

I would recommend Empire to anyone. And of course everyone should shop around.

I did and Empire saved me time and money. 8)

Anonymous
#121998

My husband and I spoke with Customer Service and worked our way up to the highter end of your business. You can sugar coat it with kind words as though you are willing to help us out to make youself look good to the public eye, but you were not willing to help in any aspect.

Our $6,000.00 wood laminate floor is of very cheap quality. You said it could withstand every day use and in every area that is exposed to water including the sink, refrigerator, dishwasher, powder room sink and toilet, the floor is swelling. You focused the blame back on us, the consumer, as if it were our fault, because you said, "the swelling is due to site related issues". Well, is it our fault that you would sell a product that is intolerant to water in a kitchen, laundry room and powder room?

How do you figure that those areas mentioned are not going to receive some exposure to water? You also told us that the floor could stand up to our two greyhound dogs, and we have several claw marks on our floor.

The floor chips easliy and there is cracking near our sliding glass doors off from the kitchen where we and and dogs come in and out of the snow. If you are truly willing to resolve this issue, please refund us our money!!!!

Anonymous
#121928

Thank you for bringing your carpet experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience, and our customer service team would like to work with you to explore a resolution. Please contact us at 800-588-2300 so we can assist you

Anonymous
#119118

DO NOT BUY FROM EMPIRE!! They will rip you off.

Ive seen it first hand... There sales that they run on advertisements mean *** (ex.60% OFF, buy 1 get 2 free...) if you are wise you will get several quotes. Most likely you will find a great carpet for a great price through your local mom and pop shop. EMPIRE products are *** and they have a poor selection.

GO TO A SHOW ROOM FOR FLOORs at a mom and pop shop. Much better selection...

-AND DO NOT WORK FOR THEM!! BE prepared to be on call every day from 9am to 9pm. working strange hours.Having a car PACKED with flooring samples all the time.

You have to sell every deal the first time you are in the home otherwise its a 90% chance they wont go with empire because there so expensive. they are very cut throat too and will burn a contractor/sales rep if they have too. for example... If you sell a floor and its for 5k.

and your customer can only come up with 2k to give to empire... They come after YOU(the salesman/contractor) for the remaining balance due. And expect you to keep working for them. did i mention its commission only?

if you don't sell you make nothing. that's right, NOTHING! No benefits. Its only a good job if you are a good lire and have that used car salesmen act going on.

Im honest and that's why I could not stay with the company and decided to tell the truth to YOU the consumer.SPEAK OUT FOR WHAT IS RITE!

I hope you have read this and please write what you think or ask questions if you are even considering working for them. Thanks

Anonymous
#119076

can empire e-mail me wiyh different types of wood &tile flooring available&cost per sq footage ,warraanties &product color &quality&no cheap compressed recycled product ,i want &need the real wood ,hand sraped ,french provintional &strong durable,even teak or cherry wood ,no garbage,please dont forget warranty info And, update remember it is a tough economy,&lumber liquidators is still in buisness,so lets be honest fare truthful god is watching &money is evil sodont let the devil get in the way of us developing a buisness relationship ,the b.b.b.&consumers affairs &chambers of commerce does excist !so lets try to negotiate&meet my needs !thanks in advance! p.s. my e-mail is donnaastone@optonline.net

Anonymous
#118751

Yes we contacted Empires customer service department all the way to the main office in Chicago. They will not back the product they sell or the warranty.

They claim the water on the floor was abnormal. We have six kids and two dogs; the floor is going to get wet!

We were also told that they are not responsible for what their sales representatives tell customers.

The BBB and the Attorney Generals offices have been contacted.

Anonymous
#118562

first of all....why would you believe a sales pitch like that? what other stuff do you believe?

if he told you that floor would sustain a meteorite would you believe it?

probably!....anyways its most likely you bought laminate floor...you do have a 25 yr warranty BUT you also have a 1 yr warranty with Empire Today. Soooooo with that in mind...i would suggest calling the 1-800-588-2300 and request to speak to a supervisor regarding your flooring issue and then when the supervisor gets on the line, tell him/her that you will be contacting the BBB due to the fact they are not complying with their service guarantee, they will then leave a voicemail for the Office of the President and will tell you they will contact you within 24 hours....when they do....tell them you havent gone to the BBB but if they dont comply that you will asap....then and ONLY then will Empire's knees buckle.....hope this helped!

Anonymous
#118228

They have this promotion going on now that you buy flooring for 1 room get 2 free. What a joke.

I am so tired of these companies taking advantage of consumers. I would not give up on your concern. These companies always get away with this kind of bull. You should send a copy to the Consumer Affairs Program.

I did for one of my situations and it was completely taken care of for free. You need to send this to their Corporate Headquarters and on your email CC Consumer Affairs.

They respond in fact they published my complaint on their web site. Good luck.

View more comments (12)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Please read before buying from Empire Carpet

I have reviewed your post and want to talk with you about your experience. As a member of our National Customer Service Team, I apologize for the lack of response you have received. I assure you that we take customer satisfaction very seriously and want to work with you to help you reach a resolution. Empire provides quality, name-brand products to our customers and we stand by our products and installation. We would like to assess the issues you are experiencing with your flooring to determine how to best resolve you concerns. All of our products are backed by manufacturer warranties plus Empire guarantees the workmanship on all of its installations for one year. Please contact me directly so I can help you. I can be reached at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#171193 Review #171193 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

My husband and I have been misled by Empire in every aspect of the way. We were given three different prices for the cost of wood laminate flooring for our kitchen, family room, laundry room and powder room.

The cost started out as 8,000.00, went down to 5,500.00 and then another jump up to 6,000.00. Salesmen never told my husband and me that water could never be used to clean the floor, but gave us a huge sales pitch on how the flooring was tested in laboratories and could have water sitting in one area for five days before any signs of visible damage. It was only after our floor was installed and the installers were leaving, that I was told that under no circumstances was I to use water on this floor. Then why the huge sales pitch on the flooring being able to withstand water?!?!

Not to mention the installers left with ten boxes of flooring that we are most certainly sure we paid for. When questioned by my husband, they said that they carry extra with them. However, the story told by Customer Service when my husband called was not the same. He was told they had another job.

After two months time, the floor has started to bubble and peel.

We noticed it in front of the sliding doors, in front of the sink and dishwasher, and in front of the refrigerator where areas get splashed with water. We were told that these floor boards have a wax coating to protect them from water damage, but when checked by someone we know who sales floors, we were told that there is no wax on the edges of the flooring.

We have phoned the Empire headquarters several times to get some kind of resolution; they have been terrible in returning calls and now are not returning any of our calls. The last time we spoke, they wanted to charge us eight thousand dollars to come out and replace the flooring with tile.

1 comment
Anonymous
#117878

Thank you for bringing your laminate experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience, and our customer service team would like to work with you to explore a resolution. Please contact us at 800-588-2300 so we can assist you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire installed defective laminate flooring which they refuse to make right.

Ms. Parker, I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your experience with the performance of the laminate flooring. As a member of the Customer Service Management Team, I want to be sure that we can work with you on a resolution. I understand that we have already offered to repair your flooring. If there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or service of the installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution and potentially hire an outside company to perform an inspection of the flooring. Empire works with leading manufacturers and carries a wide assortment of products and styles to meet the needs of our customers’ lifestyles. All our products are backed by manufacturer product and installation warranties. It is important to following the product care information provided at the time of your installation for laminate flooring in order to properly maintain the floors. It is recommended that you use any reputable laminate floor cleaner, following the manufacturer’s recommended guidelines, and please avoid the use of water. Be sure to remove any wet spills immediately to avoid liquid penetration into the seams of your flooring. If possible, would you be able to contact me at your earliest convenience, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315, ext. 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#170202 Review #170202 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

We purchased laminate flooring in September 2008. The salesman, Alan Peele, knew that it would be installed in our kitchen and den. He assured us that it was even more user friendly for our purposes than hardwoods would be. $2,451.00 later, we had our new floor. We liked its appearance, though the boards were not laid exactly as had been described. What we did not like was that a year later, the laminate was "bubbly" in places. My first contact (Nov 2009) was Rhonda Coleman, who was slow to return my calls. She did send two people who I thought were to repair the affected boards. It seems they were there to assess the damage and report to Empire, who might or might not pay for this. They were unable to answer any of my questions. As they were leaving, I pointed out that they had further damaged the floor and it looked even worse; they put some blue duct tape along the more noticeable places. After repeated calls to Rhonda, she said it was our fault the floor was bad and that Empire wasn't responsible for moisture damage. When I became upset, another assessor came to view our floor. Eventually Rhonda told me Empire would not stand by the promises made by the salesman.

She referred me to Renatta Odum, who essentially said "tough luck." Ms. Odum said we could pay for another opinion ourselves. She too had no explanation for why Empire would install a kitchen floor that couldn't be damp mopped. She was curt, but I did get the name of the next higher up, Tim Sherwin.

My husband and I both explained we weren't out to profit from this; all we wanted was a simple repair. Tim Sherwin too essentially said "tough", although he did say the floor we had was supposed to be durable and highly resistant to moisture. My husband pointed out that the worst damage was not even in an area exposed to any wetness. He also asked how one can clean a floor or even walk on it without some contact with moisture. He told Mr. Sherwin that we had been very careful and had not abused the floor at all. He asked about the assurances we got before we paid for this fiasco. We got no answer for this and no apology. Mr. Sherwin did send us their report; we have given it to our attorney.

My advice is to avoid Empire at all costs. Whatever you're walking on is better than the poor service we've experienced.

Salesman Alan Peele:314 374 3299

Rhonda Coleman: 770 441 8077

Corporate Renatta Odum (?) 847 583 3000

Regional Tim Sherwin 888 588 2315 ext 7813

7 comments
Anonymous
#164855

What was the result after going to your attorny...funny enough I am going through the exact same problem and talking to the exact same people. The only difference is that I started having the problem the day after they installed it.

Every one of them has been rude, one even hung up the phone on me after I got upset for him giving me an attitude.

I am going to the BBB to file a report. I was also considering going to a small claims court.

Anonymous
#131181

I have a consultation with them tonight regarding flooring but after what I read, I am going to cancel. Home Depot or ABC Flooring here comes my business.

Anonymous
#128868

I just wanted to thank you for this board i just called empire to schedule a in home consultation i was looking to install about 3400sf of hardwood floors and i would have probably hired them if it wasnt for your comments so i thank you in advance you just saved me a $15,000 mistake.

Anonymous
#124914

The same problem here. i spent four grand. I cant even get a call back!!!

Anonymous
#115807

We are currently researching your concerns. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction. A representative from our customer service team will continue to be in contact with you to assist with all your concerns.

Anonymous
#114462

The sad thing is, your right Bill. Empire is a big ripoff and people are starting to notice. Hello come to this site before you purchase it's: www.pissedconsumers.com!

Wish we could make a blog and record the positive and the negative. What do you think the results will read 0.o?

Stay clear of empire today, the people within this company are shady which will only lead to a nightmare. Peace & GL all!

Oh and for those who just read this one post, check out my other post and how much negative feedback empire today recieves on a daily basis.

Anonymous
#113476

I did a search to try and find some good about empire today. I did find some things that were said good about empire today but they look more like they were posted by empire today.

I find more bad things said than I do good. I am sorry for for bashing empire today.But when you find more bad things than you do good , well it has turned me away from using them.

View more comments (6)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Carpet

Since we don't have any retail stores, our in-home appointments are the only way for us to show consumers our product lines and world-class service. Unfortunately, based on the information provided, I'm not able to locate any information in our system. I apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you; the situation you described isn't how we handle our scheduled appointments. We know our customers are very busy and we take the appointments very seriously. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you so we can follow back and correct the situation with the market and the sales representative. You can reach me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195 - Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
ID
#169896 Review #169896 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

Empire Carpet is horrible. I was scheduled for someone to come out to do a quote on my flooring on Saturday 1/30/10.

Well do to the weather they could not come. This was understandble however, they scheduled another day 2/1/10, and they were a ns, then I was scheduled for yesterday 2/2/10 and this time they ncns. This is very bad business and I will not use them nor recommend them to anyone that I know.

If someone thinks about using them I will quickly change their mind. I am pissed to say the least.

1 comment
Anonymous
#119623

Thank you for bringing your sales experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience, and our customer service team would like to work with you to explore a resolution. Please contact us at 800-588-2300 so we can assist you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Lies and defective flooring from Empire Today

Ms. Bruckner: I was able to locate your account information in our system and understand that we have reached a resolution with you regarding your flooring. If you have additional questions about your flooring, please feel free to contact us. Empire provides access to detailed product care and maintenance information for all of its products, as well as links to manufacturer and installation warranties. These recommendations can help you maximize the life of your purchase. Please contact me directly if you have any questions about the information provided on maintenance of your flooring or any other product concerns. I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team
ID
#169412 Review #169412 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$5900

Bob Bein, the salesman for Empire Today LLC, made several claims regarding the performance of their laminate flooring. We told him we had dogs; in fact, the dogs were under food. We shared with him our concern about 2 dog-related issues: 1) scratches from the dogs nails, and 2) moisture (if you catch my drift). Bob said that the laminate flooring was very resistant to scratches and dents. He said the floor would not dent even if we dropped a pot on it. He also said that the boards were tested under water and did not de-laminate. We asked him what we should use to clean the floor and he said that we should go on to Empire's website.

Bob, also told us the boards were random length and that each board was unique (a different pattern from all the others).

The floor was laid the next day. As the floor was being laid we noticed an oily film on the floor. We asked the installers about this and they said that the film should come up after cleaning. I asked them what we should use to clean the floor and they said just water. The boards were not random length. There were only 5 different boards. The installers laid them so that identical boards were laid next to each other with 8 inch offsets. This gave the floor a bizarre diagonal pattern.

The day after the floor was laid I set out to clean the oil film off the floor, because it looked terrible and left footprints everywhere you walked. I went on Empire's website to look for cleaning instructions. On the webpage titled "Laminate Flooring – Subhead Maintenance" it advises me to vacuum frequently or to use a dust mop. On the webpage titled "Cleaning" there are no recommendations. Well, I know that vacuuming or dustmoping will not remove an oily film, so I used water. I put tap water in a spray bottle and moped with a microfiber dust mop putting only a minimal amount of water on the floor. It didn't do any good. The floor still looked terrible and where ever you stepped you left a footprint in the oily film.

In the next few days I tried various things to clean. I thought that maybe the fact that our tap water has both chlorine and fluoride in it might have something to do with it, So I cleaned the floor again with filtered water (no chlorine, no fluoride). It still didn't look any better. So I went online and Googled ways to clean laminate flooring. Several people recommended 1 cup of vinegar in a gallon of water, so I tried that. That didn't work. Other people recommended equal parts of water, alcohol and vinegar, so I tried that. That didn't work. To this day I have found nothing that will clean the only film off the floor.

Exactly 5 days and 1 hour after the floor was installed we notice that several boards were starting to bubble up on the edges. The lamination was coming apart. By this time we were quite frustrated with this floor and decided we just didn't want it.

I called Empire. After a lot of trouble (customer service offers no customer service), I was finally able to speak with Rebecca Clark, the National Customer Service Manager. I told her my complaints and she said she would send out an independent flooring inspector.

Between that telephone call and the inspection we noticed more boards becoming de-laminated in addition to several dents (we have not dropped anything on the floor). In fact, every week that goes by we find more boards coming delaminated.

The inspector came and did his thing. I asked him how to clean the floor and he said to use a half cup of ammonia to 2 gallons of water. So after he left I tried that solution, but that was the worst of all!

Empire has offered to replace the damaged boards but has offered no assistance or advice on how to clean the oily film off the floor. More boards are becoming delaminated every week. We can not live with a floor that is constantly needing to have boards replaced or a floor that looks terrible because it can't be cleaned. We believe the floor is doubly defective.

We have filed a complaint with the Illinois Attorney General and have file a civil law suit (small claims) against Empire for the cost of the floor ($5900).

People who were NOT helpful:

Bob Bein (Salesman)

Rebecca Clark (National Customer Service Manager) 888-588-2315

Steve Silvers (CEO) 847-583-3000

3 comments
truthaboutempire
#114466

Hey Rayellis you know whats so funny is that before while and after I worked for empire today I have seen the same names your posting. I have seen probably over 300 or 400 bad complaints about empire and every single consumer smentioned the same names.

Why arent these people fired? They do nothing but give the consumers headaches and lies? Why empire today? Why?

Why must you be so shady, and not tell the truth? Why must you rip off older folks who dont have alot of money?

Hey heres a secret: When you die you cant none of it with you! Wake up!

Anonymous
#109523

to get the film off your floor use bona hardsurface floor cleaner you can find it at lowes it is the best

Anonymous
#109502

Dear Reyellis,

We are currently researching your concerns. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction. A representative from our customer service team will contact you soon.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Do Not Buy American Dream Laminate Flooring From Empire, LLC

As a member of the Customer Service Management Team, it is important for me to understand your concerns and also work with you on a resolution. I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your concerns with the laminate flooring. Empire works with leading manufacturers and carries a wide assortment of products and styles to meet the needs of our customers' lifestyles. Our sales representatives work with each customer during their in-home appointment to select the right product to meet their needs. All of our products are backed by manufacturer and installation warranties. If there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or the installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution. If there are concerns that are brought to our attention, we sometimes provide an outside certified inspection company in to review the area(s) in question. Once the inspection and results are completed and depending on the outcome of the results, we can determine if it was a service or product related issue. If this is identified, Empire will address and fix the concern. Sometimes, however, issues arise that are not related to our product or installation. If that occurs, we will review the information with the customers and sometimes discuss options for assisting in fixing the problem. If possible, would you be able to contact me at your earliest convenience, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#164457 Review #164457 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$8100

This is an inferior floor that will get damage with regular cleaning and then Empire will blame the consumer. Not to mention the damage done when liquid is spilled, even when cleaned up right away. If the liquid gets between the joints the floor will get damaged. Don't believe the claim that the floor is scratch resistant either. If you are looking at this type of flooring, please read my story below:

We had Empire install American Dream, Cherry Double Plank by QuickStep on 7/31/08. Our salesman, Jim, said he also had the same floor (but different color) and even though he had dogs and kids that the floor looked the same as it did the day it was installed. I had ruined the existing laminate flooring in the house by using the steam cleaner on it. It never warped but dulled the finish. The previous owners had 3 dogs and the floors didn't show any scratching. We replaced the flooring in the sunroom, kitchen, dining room, laundry room and half bath. Jim said the American Dream is scratch resistant but this floor is not scratch resistant and not water resistant as he also claimed. Each location shows scratching and warping. We originally called this company out because I wanted wood flooring to replace the already existing laminate flooring. Jim said the American Dream brand was soaked in water for at least 5 days and showed no signs of warping or any other damage. Liquid gets in between crevices and product warps right after any liquid is cleaned up right away! He also stated he has this brand in his own home and has big dogs, claiming the floor stands up to dog nails. Not only does it not stand up to dog nails, but it can't even stand up to dust under such things as laundry baskets and garbage cans.

In February the local Empire branch had their inspector come out and the result was a report of "normal wear and tear." A man named Virgil called and we were told that we could have a discount to replace the laundry room floor, which at the time had the worst scratching from laundry baskets. We did not take the offer. Since then the floor in the laundry room has also warped due to moisture from the dryer. The flooring doesn't even stand up to moisture from household humidity. We decided to initially do nothing and accept that we had bought a substandard product.

However, by August 2009 we had changed our mind about doing nothing. More scratching and more swelling had occurred and we have never seen such "wear and tear" on a flooring product. Calling the company didn't produce anything. On two seperate occasions they said they would send an independent inspector out but no one ever came out.

We filed a BBB complaint and came to no resolution. Through this process we did get an independent inspector to come out on December 3rd and we had over 40 spots on the floor marked where the swelling has occurred. We question the independent title since Empire contacted them and they even submitted the report through Empire. The inspector came to the conclusion that the "joint swelling results from topical moisture penetration of the joint causing the core to swell." According to a letter we received two days ago from Empire the local cause is due to "over wetting during cleaning" and they consider our complaint closed.

According to another consumer complaint Empire came back out and installed a floor that would "resist topical moisture". According to that consumer it was not QuickStep. They also sealed the "underneath flooring so there would be no more damage to the joints from moisture."

Not only are they not acknowledging a similar complaint, they are blaming us for the damage to their inferior floor that cannot even withstand cleaning, much less normal household use by a family of four!!! We were told by the salesman how to clean the laminate and not to use the steamer. He told us he cleans his American Dream floor with a mixture of water and vinegar and a flat cloth mop. Now I am being told that the swelling is caused by how I clean this floor. Again, the salesman also told us that the American Dream was soaked in water for 5 days and there was no damage to the flooring. I find damage occurs to this floor when my child spills milk at dinner and it is cleaned up immediately. This company has lied to us and now is blaming us for damage to this floor. Their independent inspector has shown that this floor cannot even withstand cleaning. This is unacceptable. I will be filing a dispute report with GE Money on the balance of this laminate floor.

The next step with BBB is arbitration. My husband and I are afraid that the arbitrator will also be in Empire's back pocket. But this will have to be a risk we need to take.

1 comment
Anonymous
#146238

I agree totally...do not purchase "American Dream" laminate flooring and do not purchase from Empire! It is a nightmare.

Everything stated here is exactly what I have been through and been told. You look at the floor and it swells!

They placed it in a Kitchen and Bath and it cannot withstand even dripping water...floor surface looks terrible and it started within weeks. My flooring is now not quite two years old and it is an embarrassment!I think we should get everyone together and file a class action suit!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Is The Worst

As a member of our Customer Service Management Team, I apologize for your dissatisfaction with your purchase. It is our goal to ensure that customers are satisfied with every step of the Empire process. We know that making improvements to your home is an important and big decision. Our sales representatives will work with each customer to understand their needs and ensure they are provided the right products at the right price. As part of our commitment to customer service, Empire offers a wide selection of products and styles to meet the diverse needs of our customers and we purchase quality brands from leading manufacturers in the industry. All of our products come with manufacturer and installation warranties. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your concerns with your carpet. As a member of Empire and the Customer Service Team I truly want to ensure you are satisfied with your products and installation. Since I don't have contact information to reach you, if you are interested in discussing your concerns, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#160184 Review #160184 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

15 months ago I needed carpet in a hurry and called Empire today. Their salesman ran right out and sold me on $1800 worth of *** carpet (for one room and a hallway -- not a cheap price) and installed the next day.

After a month, I noticed the carpet was showing darker areas. I was told by Empire it was normal wear for a new carpet -- a load of ***.

Within the past two weeks, I've had two carpet cleaning companies out (one steam clean and one chem-dry clean) and they tell me there is nothing to be done to make the carpet look better. The carpet isn't dirty -- it is totally worn in all the traffic areas. My 15 month old carpet looks like it is 15 years old.

I've been trying to contact Empire and keep getting told that their "local office" will be in contact with me. They won't call and I'm getting nowhere with e-mails.

Please don't waste your money on Empire Today flooring -- they are very expensive and their product is substandard. I don't know how they can advertise that they have a number 1 rating with the Better Business Bureau.

I bought $1800 worth of ***.

1 comment
Anonymous
#82701

I wouldnt go by the A rate from the BBB . All businesses get an A,,,you can get A Plus simply by joining the BBB UNREAL AND UNRELIABLE

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today "inside scoop"

As the Vice President of Customer Operations, I would like if you could contact me regarding your recent posts. Our call center team is comprised of professional customer service representatives. We work to train and monitor each and every employee to ensure they serve our customers with the highest level of service and integrity. Our team is managed by qualified and experienced professionals who strive to make sure each customer is given special care and attention to meet their needs. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to Empire and we work with every customer to provide them the right products to fit their need at the right price. Empire works with leading manufacturers and carries a wide assortment of products and styles to meet the needs of our customers’ lifestyles. Our professional sales representatives help each customer during their in-home appointment to select the right products to meet their needs. Plus, we offer our customers a Low Price Guarantee. If they find a lower price on a comparable product and installation, Empire will beat that price if certain conditions are met. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. This grade represents the BBB's degree of confidence that the business is operating in a trustworthy manner and making good faith efforts to resolve customer concerns. Empire is no satisfied until our customers’ are satisfied. Our goal is not only to meet but beat their expectations through our quality products that we offer and the service that we provide. As a leading provider of installed home improvement and home furnishings, we hold high standards for our service and products. Customers are the cornerstone of our business, our focus is to ensure they are satisfied with their experience and their decision to purchase from us. We truly do want to build customers for life. The expectations we hold for our suppliers, manufacturers and employees are extremely high. We live our company mission on a daily basis – customers are and always will be very important. I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or 888-588-2315 x 4195 if you would like to discuss your comments about our company. I am happy to answer any questions you may have about our customer service team or the Empire process. Bridget Moscatello, Vice President - Customer Operations
ID
#159686 Review #159686 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$2000

Here's the inside scoop on "Empire Today". When you call into the 1800 number you reach some hispanic person getting paid $8.50 just to take sit there and take your call; the vast majority of these people know nothing about there products, *** the maj of them dont know how to transfer a call lol! Anyway once you set up a "Free" appt the market manager of your market will assign you a sales rep to meet with you. While waiting dont expect empire or the sales rep to call you prior to your appt. Once the sales rep comes to your house he probably already has a figure in his mind he's gonna charge you!* (These people are employeed by empire but they have nobody to report to but the Market manager so basically if they spit on you and curse you out chances are they will still work for empire (they get paid 4% of the sale price too).

And the price is probably gonna be 20% higher than your other quotes! Dont buy into them giving you discounts, because they can only reach a maximum of $350 & thats on bath liners lol. If you do place a order plz cxnl it in 3 days if not you are stuck lol. Oh and definitly find out if the product is gonna be a special order; if so if you dont cxnl in 3days you will lose your deposit another way Empire gets peoples money; not letting customers know there ordering a special order product. Now from my experiences with Empire if I were in the market for carpet knowing what they do, I would never ever buy or recommend empire today. I want to touch base on the callcenter you call into; the maj of these people are getting paid $8.50 to anywhere to $13.00 a hour to sit in the call center and do anything and everything for a customer to get there business or in empire's most cases try to earn back a angry cust's business. I have worked with a lot of empire's customers and when I speak to them I would say 60-65% of them have a problem or issue with the product they purchased. I recently talked to a guy who had a "nice" sales rep come to his home, he bought the flooring and the install was great! Well he said the same rep called him back and offered to finish the cust's undone rooms for $1, 000! The cust accepted and gave the rep the money & to this day he has never heard back from the guy. The installers are not goin to speak english nor do they care how the job looks at the end ( *** there not like the sales rep's there private contractors, empire finds the cheapest install crew and sends them to your house so when they break your vase or kick your cat they can say or we will take care of it & nothing happens becuase jose doesnt speak english! Now if still do purchase from this beast expect phone calls all year long they will cb 6 months prob 9 months, 12 months, and then 16 months after you purchase to "try" to give you $100 of your next purchase which will be $3, 000 lol. If I were you I would go to a local company, hey it may take longer but its well worth the wait. This company simply does not care for its employees only its customers which they will do anything and everything to keep your business that even means losing money just so you dont bad mout them! Stear cleer I am tired of innocent people getting ripped of by the people! Plz dont spend your hard earned money with scammers!

Oh and and another IMPORTANT piece of advice: If you read this and still choose to get a quote DO NOT! I REPEAT DO NOT TAKE THERE OFFERS! KNOW WHY? Because empire will call you back to see how everything went and when they call you back they do have leway with there pricing DO NOT BUDGE ASK FOR THE LOWEST PRICE POSSIBLE. (IF YOU WERE WONDERING ABOUT THIS AGENT THERE GETTING PAID $10.00 A HOUR TO FOLLOW UP ON APPTS AND THEY GET PAID A % OF YOUR QUOTE SO MAKE THEM GIVE YOU THE LOWEST PRICE POSSIBLE!

TY FOR TAKING YOUR TIME TO READ THE TRUTH HOPE THIS HELPS EVERYBODY!

6 comments
Anonymous
#92850

Oh and who ever took the time to comment on my post if you want me to put your personnal business out there I can with no remorse.. ;)

Anonymous
#92848

All Consumer's On This Site Plz Take A Look At The Comment Under This One: Empire today employees have time to bash me and the truth yet they wont return your calls, follow up with you on quotes etc build a list..

Anonymous
#91901

sounds like you are just bitter that you got FIRED>>>

truthaboutempire
#89731

no problem im happy i was able to help ya out.. gl

Anonymous
#87564

I cannot believe the stuff coming from their mouths. When I said I had a comparable quote they said sorry we cannot compare our quote against cheap ***.

It was a mid grade shaw product from the manufacturer - no interest in you unless you throw money at them.

Thanks I am so relieved I walked on empire today. My cheap *** looks great and their empty wallets look better.

truthaboutempire
#84472

I forgot to mention I am a former employee and everything stated in the paragraph's above are all based upon the things that I have seen, heard or done at empire today..

View more comments (5)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Strike Back on Empire (corrupt)

I've read your comments and recent post; I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your concerns with the laminate. As a member of the Customer Service Management Team, it is important for me to assist in understanding your concerns and but also work with you on a resolution. If there are concerns that are brought to our attention, we sometimes will bring an outside certified inspection company in to review the area (s) in question. Once that visit and results are completed and depending on the outcome of the results, we can determine if it was a service or product related incident. If this is identified, Empire will address and fix the concern. Sometimes, however, issues arise that aren't related to our product or service. If that occurs, we will review the information with the customers and sometimes discuss options for assisting in fixing the concern. If possible, would you be able to contact me at your earliest convenience, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
ID
#156980 Review #156980 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

In May 2008 we purchased laminate flooring from Empire. Initially, they quoted over $6600 (soemthing like $130+ a case)for about 700 sq ft.

We told them no. We got a quote from HomeDepot that was half that. When Empire called back we told them that we had found a better price. They came down to less than half.

Well *** us when ahead and had the floors in the dining, kitchen hall and living room done. It looked horrible. There was a transition board (sameIf y flooring) from kitchen to living room and dining room. I called Empire and told them I could not live with it.

ou have the same flooring, you want it to flow together and not be pieced together, it looked tacky. They said it was because, they do nor remove the exisiting flooring in the kitchen, so the floor is higher, hence the transtition boards. I insisted it did not look right and wanted another type of flooring. I told them I wanted to tile type flooring in the kitchen, so if there must be a transition board, to would not look as bad.

Well, the woman who scheduled the servicees said that they would do it, but they would not lifetime warranty the new flooring. I agreed. Not a problem. The new crew (subcontractors) was excellent, they took up the old flooring to the point that everything was even.

It looked great. Now a year later, we began to notice separation in the seams in the dining room, rised areas at the edges of seams in various places, in doorways, in front of the fireplace, etc. We call (on this lifetime warranty) they send out an "independent contractor" as he explained. He when throughout the house taking pictures and writing.

We get the report by email about two weeks later. It said the boards need to be replaced, at the customer's expense. He stated damange such as raises on both sides of the boards is due to having too much mositure on the floor, possibily by placing water glasses on the floor or letting water stand while mopping the floor. None of the boards are damaged on both sides, it's only on one side of many.

Neither do we use our floor as a table, nor do we use a sopping wet mop to clean the floors. What casued the boards to separate? That was not addressed. We use the recommended cleaning products.

This is there way of not adhearing to the lifetime warranty.

Never, would I recommend Empire to anyone. I will discourage them instead.

1 comment
Anonymous
#154316

To this day we have not had a resolution. We were contacted by the what I assume is the home office.

We were instructed to contact the local office that did the work. Well we did and were told that we would have to pay an engineer or someone who works for the manufacturer to look at the floors. The floors are not the quality that they are suppose to be, this is why so much is happening to them. It the old bait and switch.

Empire is a sorry excuse for a business. Please did not purchase anything from them...