Empire Today's reply to:

Incompetent and Ignorant Empire Today

Deepak, we’ve been attempting to reach out to you regarding the issues you’ve described. We’d like to speak to you and work towards a resolution, but we have not yet heard back from you. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we’ll follow back with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#314806 Review #314806 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

PO # 034FAAH894 - Official ComplaintI signed up a hardwood installation contract with sales person Cary Rizzieri of Empire Today on 12/07/2011 for $10750.00 and paid $200.00 as initial deposit. The Auburn color for room's floor and Honey Tone color for staircase were selected and signed in the contract. The entire job was promised to be completed in 2-3 days. The crew came on 12/21/11 and on 12/23/11 I was advised by installer and Rocky Murray from Empire Today over the phone that staircase hard wood Honey Tone is not available currently, it's out of stock and it would be available in 1-2 weeks. He apologized over the phone for delay and agreed to give credit for $250.00, I agreed and now I owe $10,550. I paid by my discover credit card $5,550.00 and was going to pay remainder of $5,000.00, when entire job was completed.The installer made a big discolor patch on my existing hardwood floor in foyer, and visited my house 8-10 days to fix that patch, eventually he could not fixed that patch and in order to make look better he resurfaced my foyer hardwood and which totally look ugly and I was not happy with it.When I called Empire Today and filed complaint officially on their website, I received a call from a customer service manager, he claimed that it was between customer and installer and Empire Today has no responsibility on this issue.Finally I called and set up installation for staircase hardwood, I spoke with customer service agent on 03/08/11 and confirm the order. The installer Vincent with his crew came on 03/09/12 morning and were going to start installation, when I checked the color of wood, it was totally different color and much lighter shade from Honey Tone. When I asked him, he said he was given Oak Gunstock color by Empire Today. I called again and speak with Rocky Murray same day, instead of being sorry he insisted I signed for Oak Gunstock!! ( which is total lie- I can show in wrting on contract it is Honey Tone).Installer Vincent agreed with me and said it would not look nice with two different shades of color and left my home without installation as he has no idea when the right color Honey Tone would be available.I have a contract which shows clearly the color I selected Honey Tone, I gave two opportunities to Empire Today to fulfill their order, but they failed to do so. I received an email from Rocky Murray on 04/19/12 that I owe $2178.00 to pay for rooms hardwood, I requested him to lower the amount as I need to hire some other company to install hardwood for staircase and that would cost me at least $4000.00. This was the whole job which was suppose to be completed at cost of $10,750.00, now it would cost me more than $11,928.00 ( 200+5550+2178+4000).It will also cost $1,178 extra to get staircase job done from other installer, it will take my additional time to get this job completed.To my disbelief, as per email response on 04/20/2012 from Mr. Rocky Murray satellite manager at Empire Today that he has no knowledge about left over boxes of opened and unopened hardwood boxes left at my house on 12/23/2011, what I am suppose to do with it, is there someone in Empire Today can look into this matter and advise me what's going on, and why I have to pay for the cost of left over stock which has no use for me.I have a very bad experience that no one in Empire Today, cares or look into complaint and follow up on this and investigate the entire matter. I am willing to pay what I owe and someone from Empire Today must come and pick up unopened and open boxes of hardwood sitting in my home. I hope some one knows at Empire Today how to do the job right and meaning of Karma.I am sure I would never hire or recommend anyone to get work done from Empire Today in future.I learned from this experience that how the entire Empire Today's system can be incompetent, ineffective, with lack of internal controls, and poor customer service.

Deepak K SahniCary, NC 2751804/26/2012

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today the saga continues

Yvonne, we’ve attempted to contact you so that we can discuss your concerns and the results of your inspection, but we have not yet heard back from you. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we’ll follow back with you to discuss the situation in more detail. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#313114 Review #313114 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$4600
Update by user May 21, 2012

Just wanted to update you all on the latest with all of this lest you think I had just faded into the sunset. Basically the deal is this, I have to find a certified flooring inspector and pay them out of my pocket to come in and do another inspection.

Since I believe the previous inspection was slanted toward Empire because they paid for it and it was a company they obviously do a lot of business with, this is my only option other to get them to replace THEIR bad flooring. I have called several inspectors and they all charge between $200 and $300 not the $60 that Empire said it would be. Another red flag, if that\'s all they paid then they must do volume business with these people to get that kind of price. I have also written to Wells Fargo who financed the flooring, although I have paid the larger amount of this and there is only a small balance left unpaid, I am desperately hoping they will refund me the amount paid.

I really believe the best solution is to rip this flooring up and replace it with flooring from a company OTHER than Empire. All I can say folks is please save yourself the heartache and buy from someone else.

Update by user Apr 27, 2012

Rebekah I don\'t know who you are but you really need to stop posting these canned replies that have no basis of truth to them. I have spoken to your customer service and it certainly has never been to you since I have never heard of you other that on these post.

In any case it appears I have two threads going on here which I didn\'t realize but the more people know about how bad your flooring is, the better as far as I am concerned. I think you all are a bunch of crooks, you take people\'s money, you install inferior quality flooring and then you say the problem is environmental and you\'ll work with me on the price of replacing the flooring???? Are you insane???? Why would I replace bad flooring with more bad flooring and keep giving you my money?

Why would you want to install more flooring that is only going to do the same thing, the environment hasn\'t changed, nothing has changed so the issues I have now would only come back. You get people with your ads, every two minutes there is an Empire ad on TV and you rope people in. I only hope more people find these complaints, I sure wish I had. I wouldn\'t have come anywhere near you guys and I wouldn\'t be faced with having to tear out flooring that is barely six months old.

I wouldn\'t be faced with having to spend twice the amount of money.

You should be ashamed of your business practices. Buyer beware!

Update by user Apr 20, 2012

Finally got a message today from customer service but still have no resolution to the ongoing issue. Their flooring is very poor quality, they misrepresent the quality be aware if you live in Florida DO NOT buy their laminate flooring.

They will tell you that you have too much moisture although they never tell you anything during the sales process nor do they measure you home for moisture. An up front company would come out, check the moisture content and if it is above what their manufacturer allows tell you their flooring was not right for you. Instead they took my money and now that there is a problem I am hearing moisture caused the flooring to expand. Really????

I am so frustrated with this company has anyone had a positive outcome?

They come on here and post some BS response that is meant to give you all the impression they are doing something when in fact all they are doing is giving you the run around. If anyone has suggestions please let me know.

Original review posted by user Apr 18, 2012

Just an update to this continuing saga with Empire Today and another post to make sure consumers know what they are getting into when buying flooring from these people. After speaking with their customer service supervisor it was decided that they would send an "independent" inspection company out to access the situation.

I am not sure I'm convinced how unbiased these people are but figured it was a good place to start. I have just received the report and I can't say I'm shocked to learn that the problem is all environmentally created and not installation related. According to this 'independent' inspector the problem is moisture related. So here is the question I have, if Empire flooring is so sensitive to moisture why was a moisture reading not taken prior to selling and installing their floors.

I would think if you sell floors in the state of Florida and know that moisture is an issue you would make sure the environment meets your standards. No such reading was ever taken, salesman never mentioned it either. So now what? Well we will see what BS they feed me next but be warned...if you live in the state of Florida make sure they measure your moisture before installing their flooring.

I have floors in the back part of the house for over 10 years never had a problem.

Better yet folks look elsewhere and save yourself the hassles I am going through. Home Depot and Lowe's sell good flooring that never give problems, don't buy from Empire.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Flooring A Rip Off!

Yvonne, thank you for bringing your concerns with your product to our attention, we always want to work with our customers so that they are satisfied with their entire experience. We’ve spoken to you in more detail about the issues you’ve been experiencing and have agreed to schedule an inspection. If you have any questions about this process, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#308062 Review #308062 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Update by user Apr 27, 2012

Hey Rebekah whoever you are I have never gotten a message from you so I don\'t know who you\'ve been contacting. Folks here is the update with this.

I didn\'t realize I could keep this thread going and I posted another one with the continuing saga. To make a very long story short and to keep my blood pressure at minimum here is the deal; Empire says they are willing to work with me on the price should I want to replace my flooring...HAHA! Are you kidding me???? Why on Earth would I keep throwing good money after bad and replace their poor quality flooring with more of it.

Further more if the problem is all environmental (which is what they claim) then why would they want to replace the flooring with more of the same? Since it is all environmental wouldn\'t it just happen all over again?

My question is this, why, if their flooring has a ceiling for the amount of moisture or humidity it can handle was a moisture test never done prior to install? My regret is not finding these post before I spent all that money that I am now from the looks of things have to spend all over again to rip their *** out and replace it.

Original review posted by user Mar 27, 2012

I had new laminate flooring installed by Empire Today late last year, since then the floor has started to show evidence of buckling in many places, in particular the moldings by all the entrances into the room. You can feel the floor moving under your feet as you step into the room from each entrance.

I contacted the company and they sent their Installation Manager out to check for "moisture", this of course being the loop hole they use to get out of replacing materials that are apparently of poor construction. I have laminate flooring that I purchased from Home Depot over 10 years ago in the other half of the house, I have never had an issue.

First the installation manager tried to tell me it was a floating floor and it was meant to feel that way. Then she said, she didn't see anything, she didn't feel anything. Then it was oh, the floors don't hold up well to humidity, do you run your air?

They sell flooring in the state of Florida where we have 110% humidity, are you kidding me? Of course all these excuses were never mentioned during the sales process. Finally when none of her excuses would fly she said, you must have a moisture problem. Out comes the instrument which she proceeded to place against the walls of the house, she searched and she searched until she found one small area under the window in the living room that gave an inconsistent reading.

When she could find the highest reading she proceeded to take pictures.

She left telling me they would come back and replace all the moldings and threshold pieces.

They are due tomorrow and tonight she calls to tell me that the only way they will replace everything at no charge is if I sign a release. DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY, they product is no good and their service is worse!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Never showed up

Barb, thank you for making us aware of your concerns, we regret the miscommunication that occurred regarding your installation. We understand that we have spoken to you about this issue and that your installation has been rescheduled for this Saturday. If you have any questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#305785 Review #305785 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$500

I should have listened. DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY.

Installation was set to be done in 4 days. I called and let them no my land line was not working. They had both our cells on file. When we did not get a call the day of installation we called them.

They said the could not confirm the day before. Because the could not reach us. However they new both our cell numbers. There was no call or messages from them.We were informed that there would be no installation getting done.

Now hold on . The advertize next day delivery, thats false advertizing. We gave them 4 days and no product. Now they want us to stay home on a work day and maybe they will show between 8 am and 6pm three days from now.

If they don't show this time I will waste a day from work. Then they tell us how about next Saturday( how about not wasting an other saturday). Do they think we have nothing better to do than stay out of work,or waste our weekend and get a no show.

So now we sit with not flooring and plywood floor till who knows when. NEVER AGAIN

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Rip off salesman for Wood Laminate Flooring

Ray, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, we’re disappointed that you were not happy with your sales appointment, as we always want our customers to be completely satisfied. We’d like to discuss our pricing with you and hope that you’ll reconsider using us for your home improvement needs. We’ve attempted to reach out to you, but we have yet to hear back. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
ID
#304210 Review #304210 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I had an empire salesperson over for an estimate recently. Empire was doing a Buy one room get 2 Free for flooring. We were going to install Wood Laminate flooring in our family room by ourselves. We figured we had two bedrooms that needed carpeting we might as well take advantage of the deal and have them do the family room install. Wood Laminate is relatively cheap but very durable and perfect for our family room and how often it gets used. The most any DIY center sells it for is $4/sq ft, and typically not more than $3 for the nicer product. We figured it wouldn't cost much more for installation. We were wrong.

The salesman seemed nice. He showed us a few samples and we picked a color of the only HW Laminate they offer (didn't give us a price per sq ft). He said it is made by Armstrong specifically for Empire. Armstrong is an OK brand and at most goes for $3.50 a square foot so I figured this will be relatively inexpensive. He measured the 2 bedrooms, we picked out cheap carpeting. He sat down for 5 minutes with his calculator. Keep in mind our Family room is 350 Sq Feet. He came up with a cost of $4200 for just the Family Room! That is $12 per Sq Ft for just the wood laminate! There is no possible way that the flooring was more than $4/sq ft, and two installers aren't getting paid $3000 for a 6 hour job.

I simply asked him to leave our house. He then asked me to give him my budget (Which was $3,000 for al three rooms) He then said "If I can do all three rooms for $3,000, can I get the sale today?" I said maybe. He then magically did some calculations and said he can do the Family Room for $3045. He gave me a Full $1155 off because I asked? Right there is the sign of a shady salesman. $3045 for 3 rooms wasn't bad. But of course the catch is the special sale didn't include the padding, molding, or the installation for the "free rooms". So the Three rooms (buy one get two) came to $4500. We had him leave, and told him there was no way we could do it for that price. He said he can try to get it cheaper but I'd have to promise to make the sale today. We didn't and just had him leave.

If anyone from Empire Today reads this I would like you to respond and tell me that this was a rogue salesman, and that not every salesman you send into a home is a thief. I understand that your prices are "all inclusive" But $4200 for a Simple 350 Sq Ft room removing carpet and installing simple wood laminate is ridiculous. And anyone who ever installed wood laminate can verify how easy it is to install, and how inexpensive even the best product is.

Thank you for reading this, and I hope to hear back from an Empire Today representative soon.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today

Patrick, we regret that you were not satisfied with your sales appointment and our pricing. As we are a full service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product cost, installation labor and any other services requested. We understand that we’ve spoken to you about your concerns, and we hope that you’ll reconsider using us for your home improvement needs. Please feel free to contact us with any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#301057 Review #301057 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I saw an ad Buy 1 room and get 2 rooms FREE. So I called for a price as I wanted to have hardwood floor installed in 3 rooms.

The girl said she could not give a price but Empire would send someone right over to give an estimate? I called at 1:00pm and she was going to have someone come between 3 and 5. I should have known right there that something was up. So I said lets do it in the morning, she set it up for between 9 and 11am the next day?

The guy was on time, nice guy Tim. I said first thing that I could get this offer - buy 1 room and get 2 free but he said it's true so I let him do his estimate. Well the number he came up with was $11221.00 for one product and $13860.00 for another product and that was with 67% off retail, WTF! I am a smart shopper and have done this type of work before and I already got priceing from Big Box stores.

This place was about $6000.00 more than them and they were charging for all 3 rooms? So I asked where is the FREE rooms, now I knew I had to pay for the installation on all 3 rooms but come on this is crazy. The sales man said let me call my manager (Frank) he was on the phone and told Frank the number I received from the BB Stores and I heard him say "he's out of his mind" So Tim asked Frank if he would like to talk to me. I was on the phone with Frank and he said the best he could do is $10500.00 for all 3 rooms and when I asked where is the FREE rooms he just said that is the price and that Empire Todsy is not for everyone and it would cost me $15.00sf for the job take it or leave it.

So I did the math and divided the $10500.00 by the 650sf and came up with $16.15sf so I think Frank needs to go back to school! First thing Frank said to me is what kind of warranty would I get from th BB store, and the truth is they both offer the same warranty and it is through the manufactor of the flooring not the BB store or Empire Today. Tim told me that if there is any problem with the product to call him and he would get in touch with the manufactor and set up a service call, the sales man at the BB store told me the same thing. Bottom line people - you never get anything for FREE- they are just a bait and switch scam company!!

This place is only looking to rip people off who are in a pinch or can't afford to buy the flooring outright so the set up a payment plan. STAY AWAY, DON'T DO IT, STAY AWAY, BAD COMPANY!!!!!

1 comment
The J
#439790

You said it right. You really don't get anything for free, you just get the old bait and switch! :?

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY

Kimberly, it’s disappointing that you weren’t satisfied with your choice of product. We understand that we have spoken to you about your concerns and that we’ve agreed to a resolution. If you have any questions about this, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#300614 Review #300614 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

Google the "VP of Customer Service", DOZENS of complaints! Have a customer sat issue they are not willing to budge on.

Extremely disappointing. I relied on #1sales rep's vision to select the right color flooring. I'm stuck with $7K bill, no one at Empire cares. The "VP of Customer Service" Linked In profile: Sr.

Regional CS Manager. "Regional" is not all encompassing, nor is it a Vice President.

I spoke with the BBB today: I relied on their professional experience to make my decision, I have a reasonable complaint to file with them. I'm doing so now.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - They lied , wont honor warranty with out a black mail letter

Paul, we regret the issues that you’ve experienced with your product post-installation. We have offered to work with you towards a resolution but have been unable to gain your agreement on our offer. We hope you will reconsider. If you would like to discuss further please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
ID
#298602 Review #298602 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$2000

On 12/5/11 we called Karen to make a complaint about our laminate buckeling . No reply. on 12/7/11 we then called Corp . due to no response talked to Ivan tald him we could not get a hold of karen to make a complaint m he then tried to call Karen him self , but got no response either , he left a message. He told us we would hear from some one in 1 to 3 days. On 12/10/11 Called back talked to Jamie from corp explained problem and no call back in time frame , she said Karen to handle our problem she also called Karen no answer. On 12/12/11 Called Karen could only leave message. On 12/12/11 Dave called us said Rich would come on the 14th or 15th to take care of problem.

On 12/14/11 Rich came to look at the floor , said the metal strips the carpet people laided down were the problem , they should of never put them over the laminate , it causes floor not to float. He went backed talked to Karen , he suggestion a different type flooring . Karen called that same day said they will replace the floor , that some times this happens when carpeting is replaced and they use metal strips instead of transitions. We told her the metal strips were orginal from install.

On 12/19/11 Rich comes to replace floor with laminate ,all material is in his trailer . He comes in looks at problems with the floor , he starts to pull up carpeting at metal strip to see how far the strip was nailed down. Wife starts to ask questions , remark from him was you keep asking me a 100 questions , I can either do this or leave. Then he made a statemen he could leveling out slight hump he said was due to metal strips binding up the floor . Then he turns around and says I can put this floor in but in 6 months it could do it again. Wife stated why would you do that if you have to keep coming out thats money out of the companies pocket and time out of our lives again. He then said he did not want to be responsable for it doing it again. He then called Karen , then Karen called us .Karen said she would contact corp about different type flooring lvt flooring . We would hear in 2 days. Rich said they would approve it.

Two days went by went by we heard nothing , we then called her left a message asked why we heard nothing. On 12/21/11 We called Corp talked to Clarissa due to not hearing from Karen . I asked why we dont get call backs like we`re told. She checked into the computer found nothing in there from Karen to corp about different flooring or problem. In the meantime the floor kept getting worse. I got cut from the transtion peice being cracked , i hit my head from the transition being loose , I pinched my finger from the floor coming out from under the molding. ( wife ) That was all in the hallway. ( Husband ) Hurt his foot from seperation of floor in kitchen , toe hurt from sparp edge in foyer . Helen called said she would get on the case with us . I sent in the mean time emails to crop.

12/22/11 I got a call saying a man named Bob would come to look at the problems , never told where he would be coming from . He shows up , he looks around he said he did not see any danger problems , and said right off the bat it was a joist probkem , We had another work crew here that heard it all and seen what all he did abd didnt do. He was rude , didnt want to listen to us , all he did was out a level on floor , and took about 6 pics. He also stated Rich did not say it was metal strips that caused the problems. I was explaing the kitchen problems he walked out and said corp would get a hold of us in a week or so. I sent more emails.

12/23/11 Roger called to say he was sending someone out Tuesday to oull up floor to check out laminate. He also said he looked at 17 pictures.

12/27/11 Installer called at 9 am , his name was Tom. Showed up at 1030 am he looked at the floor and all the problems there was took about two hours. The gaps , waves,spongyness , chips, uneven sides, moldings in all rooms , tacks sticking up by all transitions,. This guy took the time to listen to us . When he walked in we ask where he was from , meaning what city or office , he stated Belville , we then in the same sentace asked where Bob was from , since we were not told. Tom said this type of floor was not for this type of job abd asked if we considered lvt . We said yes , we were promised that from Karen and Rich , it never happened , he said he would go back and do his best. He never attempted to take up floor. He said he would hopfully be back in 2 hours o show us samples. He gave us his number, we never heard back. Three days later we tried to call him , no answer. Emails were sent to corp again. He also said the different flooring would not give the typ of problems the laninate is. Hed also signed a letter we wrote with all the problems and we signed to give to the Belville office.

12/28/11 Called Corp and talked to David , told himj of the problems and wanted to talke to some one hig up in the company . He gave us the Belville office instead and was Roger. Roger started to yell and was rude , accused us us of obstructing their job from finding out what the problem is with the laminate. He also said Tom told him we were not expecting him. Both are not senile yet! He said he would call back cause he was hearing one side and tghen another side . I told him I had a tape recording , so no lies on our part. He then got more irrate over that. He never ccalled back. More emails to corp. Laura Woods then called said they wanted to resloved the problems. I told her both installers said a different flooring is best then a floating floor. She too said it was a joist problem and would call back the nest day. I reminded her we had people look for a joist probkem we dont have one .

12/29/11 Laura called said they were sending indepdent insection company out to check floor asap.

12/30/11 Got call from Inspect souluations . 1/2 12 he came out to inspect. Rich showed up to check it out , he asked of everything that was wrong incuding if they left it here for two days before install , we said no . It was left in truck while install in June in heat. He said he should hear from Empire in one to two weeks . And if we requested a copy of the report we were intitiled to it. We asked Empire told us no. They gave to different excuses.

1/9/12 Got a call from Laura she said they could come and install laminate on 1/10/12 . I told her we were suppose to get different type flooring installed that was stated by the belville office. The two installers and he inspector that was here. She said ok to lvt material. She said she would have some one call to set up for sales to come to house. She did said we would have to sign off saying if we have a joist probkem they are not resposable and we would have to get it fixed. We have no joist problem , I have no idea what the report says since they refuse to gve it to us. She said everything will be replaced per her in the home. We called compinies about about the problems on the flooring material .

1/10/12 saleserson came out we picked our flooring , we have never heard anything back , no install date , nothing. Floor is worse , we are still dealing with it. They have done nothing to resolve our floor thus far. But words , lies, blackmail.

We are entiled to the report , we should not have have to wait almost two months , the report we have gotten on our own on a joist problem and their install and material tells us other wise. What its coming down to is bad material , bad install . Read manufacturs install of all material they did not follow that , its buckeling due to all that not a joist problem. I have to contiue to worry eveyr day on getting hurt one way or another. I refuse to email corp any more. Two months is long enough. A joist will not crwon in one spot , it will do it from one end to the other. This has been nothing but put blame where blame is due on their oart. There is way more to this but typing all is is hard , explations are tough on emails.

I just recieved a second blackmail letter saying we can not talk bad about them ever not even to my neighbors or we ger sued. They will replace the new floor but will not honor a waranty . We have to sign saying we will not sue to to injuries , well there no docotor i went to or hospital so that is null and void. When Tom was here he got hurt , did he have to sign any thing ? I bet not . Thats on tape to. Your indepant report says bad material and bad install . Take resposablity. You never should of put this type of flooring in a mobile home . Never should of left the material in the heat for 6 to 8 hours in June . Look on any site even the makers of the material leave in home for 2 to 3 days before install. And since when does a installer answer a complaint , cause Karen is to lazy ?

1 comment
Julie
#433968

We were contacted today by Tina which she stated this contacted of not talking bad about Empire , and that we cant sue for injuries and they will not take respoibilty because they think it is a joist problem is a standard contact for any one who gets a upgrade over 500.00. Last night I stayed up to 5 am going over complaints tons of them all over the net.

I got so far three replys of people who got upgrades and they did not have a contract to sign like this. They keep saying we have a joist problem , yet the floor is now level , its been level for awhile. Its buckling now in the kitchen.hmmmmmm wonder if we have a joist problem there too ? A joist does not auto fix its self.

So we had Steve come over who works on mobile homes and manufactured homes to look at the floor again. Which we pay for each time. The floor is level, he said I tried to tell you no joist problem it was the laminate buckling. But of course your indepenat report says bad material and bad install.

I also talked to the company that sells laminate , LVT and lunoium typo all compinies say to leave the material in home for two to three days , not leave it in the van for 6 to 7 or 8 hours in june in heat. Your material came from China and the box left here says the material was two years old when installed yes it has the date on the box.It also had a code , of which we took to a store to find out what it meant . Hmmmmmmmmmm. You also can not pre aclumate , your warehouse is not the same temp as some ones home or humity .

The material has to get used to the home . Getting harrased is bad enough , getting lied to is worse , not asking to listen to the tapes or the taking to the wittness that were here or watching the viedo , or taking to the people that were here to look at the joist or the laminate problem yes we had out own reports. We sent now over 800.00 of our own money. To do this to disabled seniors is horrible.

Infact its crule. Empire should be ashmaed they do bussiness like this. But looking at all the complaints one the same as ours , they were rude .

I contacted that one case I wanted to know who it was that was rude. Seems to be a pattern.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Lied , Screamed and yelled at us , talked down to us on the phoned

Paul, it’s disappointing to hear of the problems that you have experienced post-installation. We have attempted to come to a resolution with you, but you have not agreed to our offer. We hope that you will reconsider working with us to resolve your concerns. Please contact us if you would like to discuss this further at 888-588-2315x4195 or customersupport@emprietoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#298598 Review #298598 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$2000

On 12/5/11 we called Karen to make a complaint about our laminate buckeling . No reply. on 12/7/11 we then called Corp . due to no response talked to Ivan told him we could not get a hold of karen to make a complaint he then tried to call Karen him self , but got no response either , he left a message. He told us we would hear from some one in 1 to 3 days. On 12/10/11 Called back talked to Jamie from corp explained problem and no call back in time frame , she said Karen to handle our problem she also called Karen no answer. On 12/12/11 Called Karen could only leave message. On 12/12/11 Dave called us said Rich would come on the 14th or 15th to take care of problem. Since when do Installers take care of complaits ?

On 12/14/11 Rich came to look at the floor , said the metal strips the carpet people laided down were the problem , they should of never put them over the laminate , it causes floor not to float. He went backed talked to Karen , he suggestion a different type flooring . Karen called that same day said they will replace the floor , that some times this happens when carpeting is replaced and they use metal strips instead of transitions. We told her the metal strips were orginal from install.

On 12/19/11 Rich comes to replace floor with laminate ,all material is in his trailer . He comes in looks at problems with the floor , he starts to pull up carpeting starts to cut up the carpet , so not its shreeding , at metal strip to see how far the strip was nailed down. Wife starts to ask questions , remark from him was you keep asking me a 100 questions , I can either do this or leave. Then he made a statemen he could leveling out slight hump he said was due to metal strips binding up the floor . Then he turns around and says I can put this floor in but in 6 months it could do it again. Wife stated why would you do that if you have to keep coming out thats money out of the companies pocket and time out of our lives again. He then said he did not want to be responsable for it doing it again. He then called Karen , then Karen called us .Karen said she would contact corp about different type flooring lvt flooring . We would hear in 2 days. Rich said they would approve it.

12/27/11 Installer called at 9 am , his name was Tom. Showed up at 1030 am he looked at the floor and all the problems there was took about two hours. The gaps , waves,spongyness , chips, uneven sides, moldings in all rooms , tacks sticking up by all transitions,. This guy took the time to listen to us . When he walked in we ask where he was from , meaning what city or office , he stated Belville , we then in the same sentace asked where Bob was from , since we were not told. Tom said this type of floor was not for this type of job and asked if we considered lvt . We said yes , we were promised that from Karen and Rich , it never happened , he said he would go back and do his best. He never attempted to take up floor. He said he would hopfully be back in 2 hours to show us samples. He gave us his number, we never heard back. Three days later we tried to call him , no answer. Emails were sent to corp again. He also said the different flooring would not give the type of problems the laninate is. Hed also signed a letter we wrote with all the problems and we signed to give to the Belville office.Tom also got hurt while he was here , thats on tape.

12/29/11 Laura called said they were sending indepdent insection company out to check floor asap.

12/30/11 Got call from Inspect souluations . 1/2 12 he came out to inspect. Rich showed up to check it out , he asked of everything that was wrong incuding if they left it here for two days before install , we said no . It was left in truck while install in June in heat. He said he should hear from Empire in one to two weeks . And if we requested a copy of the report we were intitiled to it. We asked Empire told us no. Gave us two different reasons why we could not get the report.

1/9/12 Got a call from Laura she said they could come and install laminate on 1/10/12 . I told her we were suppose to get different type flooring installed that was stated by the belville office. The two installers and he inspector that was here. She said ok to lvt material. She said she would have some one call to set up for sales to come to house. She did said we would have to sign off saying if we have a joist probkem they are not resposable and we would have to get it fixed. We have no joist problem , I have no idea what the report says since they refuse to gve it to us. She said everything will be replaced per her in the home. We called compinies about about the problems on the flooring material .

1/10/12 saleserson came out we picked our flooring , we have never heard anything back , no install date , nothing. Floor is worse , we are still dealing with it. They have done nothing to resolve our floor thus far. But words , lies, blackmail.

We are entiled to the report , we should not have have to wait almost two months , the report we have gotten on our own on a joist problem and their install and material tells us other wise. What its coming down to is bad material , bad install . Read manufacturs install of all material they did not follow that , its buckeling due to all that not a joist problem. Now they have changed their mind and said no joist problem , the indepnat report says bad material and bad install. Now they want us to sign they we will not talk bad about them ever again or we get sued. We cant even talk to our neighbors. And we will get no warranty with the new install. They will not be reliable after install. They will also not take responsablityfor bad install or bad material. They are doing tis to two senior citizens who are disabled . Blackmailing us. We had no problem when they to reinstall the carpet , but now the flooring is a huge issue . Bellville caused the problem , take resposablity. Listen to the tape , take to the wittness . Quit re selling material when you take it out of peoples home , trade commission will love to hear you to that.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - very misleading sales people, installed very poor quality floor

Thanai, it’s our goal for our customers to be completely satisfied with their purchases, so we were disappointed to hear this wasn’t the case. We understand that we’ve spoken to you about your concerns with your product and have suggested a resolution. Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#298459 Review #298459 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

After saving for a few years to replace the carpet in my foyer and hallway with engineered wood, I decided to go with Empire and scheduled an appt. in late December 2011. I thought that I was hiring a company with an excellent reputation and that I would be purchasing a high quality floor which would look great and be a good investment. I was given a high-pressure sales pitch by their rep, who told me that to lock in a low rate, I would need to have the floor installed before the end of the year. I agreed to the install after choosing what looked like a good quality floor (and also looked similar to floors I had been pricing at Home Depot and Lowe's - although it was a small piece mounted to a board). The install was scheduled for late December, and when the installers came to my home (several men, not 2 or so like I had expected!) , they showed me 2 boards and asked if this was the product I had asked for. It didn't - it looked like unfinished plywood with a very busy, loud grain pattern. They then took out a few more boards which looked more like what I had requested, saying that the prior two boards were just 'bad' and weren't what my floor would actually look like when installed and that it would look 'great' when it was done. I trusted them, and let them go ahead with the install while I dealt with my dogs and grumpy 11 year old (who was less than thrilled with waiting around all day). There were so many installers, that it was very chaotic and I just tried to get out of the way and let them do their job. They left saw dust piles, cigarette butts on my balcony, and bits of baseboard for me to clean up. We left for vacation 2 days later.

When we returned, I had a chance to better inspect the floor, and was very disappointed in the 'cheap' (for lack of a better word) appearance of the floor. Additionally, the installers had cracked the molding around my closet doors. There appeared to be uneven spacing of the boards, with spaces so big between some that I could put my fingernail into them. Also, the baseboard they had installed (which was supposed to be white) was a strange bluish-white, which didn't match my molding at all (I have now found out that this is not paintable material!).

I found a product info sheet in the partial box of flooring the installers had left behind, and did some research . I found, to my disgust, that this particular floor is the cheapest, lowest-end product made by the manufacturer. I took a piece of the floor to Home Depot to compare with other engineered wood products, and it became glaringly apparent that the Empire floor was of MUCH poorer quality (and just uglier in general) than floors that would have cost me just as much to install if I had chosen Home Depot. The sales people laughed when they saw my sample, saying that they don't carry anything that cheap due to quality issues.

I am disgusted with the floor that I am now stuck with, and have even gotten estimates on what it would cost to tear the *** out (difficult and pricey, now, because they glued the stuff down).

I am sickened by this whole experience. I saved for years for this.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Could NOT have been HAPPIER !

It’s wonderful to hear that you were satisfied with your entire experience. Providing our customers with world-class service is our top priority, so it’s great to know that this was the case. Thank you for the review, and enjoy your newly renovated home! Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#294201 Review #294201 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

You have to realize this site is for COMPLAINERS! We had NO problems from first phone call until follow-up.

Each and every person we dealt with in person, or on the phone, were extremely professional and knowledgeable about their end, of the carpet we had purchased. NICE, too! You don't find that anywhere, these days. They are trained so well and know the answers to ANY question you might throw out there.

Polite workers who install. Very smart salesmen.

And you WILL get next day service, if that is what you want! I would highly recommend, over and over.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire today

It’s wonderful to hear that your entire experience with us went so well. It’s our goal to provide world-class service to all of our customers, and we love hearing back from them. Enjoy your newly renovated home! Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#293737 Review #293737 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

Welll I called empire for a free Estament and when stu the sales man came I fell in love with a sample of floor so we agreed on a price and proceeded to order the floor. That night I went on this sight and saw all the complaints and I really freaked out .

So I called stu and was ready to cancelle. First because of the reviews and second because I second guess the floor I picked. Well he was great he took the time and was very patient and came back so I could look at the floor again he eVen brought more of the same floor so I could get a better idea of what it would look like.at that point I decided to go with it well I am so glad I did the installers came when they said they would right on time they were fast and extremely neet they did 1400 feet of flooring in two and a half days and left my house sparkling clean. They moved all my furniture and moved it back in place they were very pleasant and I give them all a 5 star.

Karen the installation manager was also involved throughout and made sure all went well. I want to thank you empire you all were great.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today, terrible Ceramic floor job

Matt, we apologize for the issues that you’ve been experiencing with your product post-installation. It’s disappointing that your experience has not been in line with our high standards of customer service. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about this issue and that we’ve come to an agreeable resolution. Please contact us if you have any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#292813 Review #292813 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I had Empire install ceramic floors in both bathrooms. The salesmen said that i needed subfloors and checked the box for them. The installer, a man from Equador ddint' put in subfloors. As a result, the floors won't last now for they flex and bend. Installer didnt' even install a substrate under the tile. I complained to NO avail. Empire finally contacted me when i disputed the Charge with WElls' Fargo bank.

A man from Empire (MIKE in CT ) was terrible and said that the installer put a substrate. I can prove that he didn't. I asked for my money back O R just come back and do it right (rip out floor, haul away, and install correctly). corporate has yet to answer back. its been a total nightmare.

Also, to add insult to injury, the installer said that Empire charged me too much and agreed to do the kitchen the next day for cash.. I had him install that also. ITs again, like the bathroom, with no proper subfloor. I asked Mike from Empire to give me his home constr. license number but he refused. ITs been over a few months and NOTHING.

I called a reporter at the news channel and thats so far, my only prospect to make the state of CT aware of their practices.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Got my house raided by 8 cops for drugs they brought to my home

This matter is currently in litigation. As such, Empire Today, LLC’s practice and policy is that it will not comment on ongoing litigation, other than to state that Empire Today vigorously denies any allegations of wrongdoing and believes that all allegations of wrongdoing against Empire Today have no merit.
ID
#286048 Review #286048 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring
Loss
$45000

I hired empire to install vinyl floor and carpet in my home the first day one crew did not want to work and the second crew started the carpet which look good at first my home is very dark at night it told a different story deficts in carpet show with lights on carpet with rips in it and not going all the way to the wall. Then second day came the crew was here an hour removing old tile and left to get a roller and when they return my house was surrond by cops 8 of them and they found cocaine and marijuana on them and then the cops allow them to come in my home by theirselves and they kick a big hole in my new chandlier light stole myapple ipod and my sunglasses my extention cord and the company sent some one out to talk and assure me the rest of the job would go good and they since the people that did the carpet and they did not want to do the vinyl they had already told me and then when i let them know about deflicts in carpet they had even more attitude they chisel tile up next to all of my new furniture ruining all of it they used my tea pitcher for mixing their mud and ruin that they left my furniture out in the rain along with my desk and bathroom dooor they ruin my front door with in 1 week i had holes all in the vinyl and holes in the deflicted carpet so i had no good floor all my brand furniture was destroyed my 5 year old furniture was left out in the rain and now ruin and they broke my refrigator if it could break they broke i have never had such a bad experience like this before i am still paying to repair and fix things that they mess up like holes in my wall broke outlets my doors and window sills my desk left in the rain is got chunks of wood out of it so please beware before hiring Empire flooring to do your floors it will cost you more than money i now have police coming down my street and slowing down atleast 3 times a day I have been pull over twice and search like a crimnal after they where here and got busted with drugs i do not have piece of mind in my own home everyday i wondered what esle they stole or what i will find destroyed i have cleaned for 10 months and unable to get stains out they left all the dust that they cause because they did not cover everything up i look over any contractor with a fine comb before letting them in to do the work they ruin my pool deck by pouring there chemicals on my deck and turning it green tile chips where all in the pool and ruin the vacuum all exterior doors where gauge or bent out of shape i could go on i have over 500 pics of all the things that where wrong if interested in seeing some feel free to email at shadow1transport@live.com

3 comments
Dolores K
#414461

Do not let them get away with it. Contact the BBB, the bonding company for Empire, and the state contractors licensing board, and maybe an attorney. The media does not hurt either.

Anonymous
#412955

clearly someone trying to get something for free,. and someone trying to get you to click on that link at the end to be hacked

Anonymous
#411175

This has got to be the best review I have read in a long time. How could this much happen to one person?

This whole paragraph is just one sentence with no punctuation! I am still going to call Empire.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - REALLY?!

We can assure you that we’ve had many satisfied customers that have experienced our world-class service. If you have questions about our services or products, please don’t hesitate to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Thank you.
ID
#284723 Review #284723 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I joined this site so I could read all the reviews on Empire Today.

We are in the process of getting carpet for two rooms and are looking for a company with a good product and GREAT customer service. Not to make light of others' suffering, but I really can't believe that this company is still doing business with this many unhappy customers. I'd pay more for the same (and may lesser) quality product for GREAT customer service. REALLY, I would. I really don't understand how so many companies think that squeezing a little more out of each sale can't make them that much richer. If I treated people like this I'd rot from the inside out.

Thank you everyone who posted their experience with Empire Today here. Although you have suffered it has not been in vain. I hope all of you find some satisfaction knowing that your experience has turned me away from having ANYTHING to do with Empire Today.

Bless you all!