Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Horrible

Dear Gregory,

We live by the Golden Rule, and treat our customers the way we want to be treated. We strive to provide the best quality service possible.

We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and apologize for the miscommunication that you’ve received. We’ll review your concerns, and will be in touch with you shortly to discuss your experience.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1254801 Review #1254801 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$3200
Preferred solution
The pubic to they are crooks

My family and I called for a free estimate back in February , we where told that ALL NEW customers would get $500.00 off their orders if they never order from Empire before. We had a very nice salesman named Tony come to our house and he gave us a price for the flooring.

I called back and was told that NO ONE AT EMPIRE ever heard of this offer and spoke to a supervisor named Jennifer and I felt like I was speaking to a stonewall and she promise to investigate this matter and get back to me and I never heard back..... I wrote to to the CEO Mr. Weinberger and my letter was thrown in the garbage. I must have spoken to about 10 lost souls at this lying company.

I spoke from executives down and never heard back. My advice to the public is stay away from this company of lairs and a company who will not back up their claims or products. Go to Home Depot or Lowe's you will have a company that will support their customers and will you never be treated like garbage.

My friends advised me to report this matter to the Attorney General's office of New York and the BBB and Consumers Affairs dept. Empire Carpets are crooks...Shocked

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Nightmare

Dear Ashok,
We view every customer purchase as the start of an ongoing relationship, and strive to leave a positive lasting impression during our sale appointments.
We regret to hear about your experience, and assure you that your concerns are important to us. We’ll review this matter further, and we’ll be in contact with you shortly.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1058486 Review #1058486 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Their ad of 50/50-50 over the Memorial Day was a sham. The first salesperson measured the first floor for wood flooring and left without measuring the second floor.

He claimed that his back was hurting and left. He refused to tell the measurement in terms of sq footage. He stated his estimate was around 9000 + and we could double it for the whole house. Got a follow up call and scheduled the appointment for 6/8/17.

The first question of the salesperson was when do you want it installed and were we ready to sign the deal on that day. Went old him to do the measurements and show us the samples. He showed us the samples and told him If our preference. He refused the share the measurements.

It took more than 20 minutes and quoted the double the estimate of another reputable company. He did not acknowledge the ad of 50-50-50. He upped his estimate by an additional $5600 to remove the wood from the foyer and reinstall it. We questioned the exorbitant quote and he got upset and left by stating that we were not interested in getting the job done.

He refused to give written estimate.

Plan tomfilevwritten complaint with the county and the MD state. A sheer waste of more than 4 hours.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Awful Experience!

Dear Lauren,
We strive to leave a positive impression during our sales appointments and regret that this was not the case. We understand that we have spoken to you in regards to your concerns. For future inquiries please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com .
Thank you.
ID
#936240 Review #936240 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Cons
  • Salesman
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Price reduction

My husband and I recently moved into our first home and were looking to replace the carpet in our spare bedroom. We are absolutely appalled by service that we received from the man who came into our home to give us an estimate.

Never should a customer be uncomfortable in their own home. While giving an estimate for the one bedroom, the man, who appeared to have been drinking before coming to our home, was walking into other bedrooms in our home that were not being carpeted, lounging on our bed, etc. He then proceeded to say comments to us such as "why did you wait to make an appointment so late", "I've got dinner home waiting for me", and "I've had enough fun here tonight". Additionally, my husband and I wanted to discuss our options over night and get back to the man the following day about our purchase.

That is when we were told that we were not able to call him back tomorrow and our business was not worth his $20 commission. He proceeded to tell us angrily that he only makes 4% commission. If we were interested he told us that he would not help us and that we would have to call empire and they could send someone else to our home. As he laughed and packed up his things, he angrily ripped up the tax form and threw it on my kitchen table.

Still being the people who we are, my husband asked to help him carry out his carpet samples when he was told no. He then slammed my front door, flew out of my driveway, and sped down the road. Immediately, I called the corporate office where I was told that his manager would be giving me a call. After three days of not hearing from someone, I called the office again.

I finally received a phone call five days later from his store manager.

We are very disappointed with the service that we received from Empire and can only hope that by telling other individuals, Empire will not have the opportunity to treat others the way that we were treated.

2 comments
Anonymous
#1233805

Thank you for warning me off of Empire Flooring. I can't thank you enough.

Kennidy
#1226882

Dear Lauren,

We have read your review and are disappointed to hear that this was your experience. We never want our customer's to feel this way, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously.

We will be in contact with you soon to discuss this further.

Thank you.

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Estimate Review from Saint Louis, Missouri

Dear Christiana,
We regret to hear about your dissatisfaction. Although time has passed since your post, we would like to address any unresolved concerns. You may mail your concerns and account information to customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#866719 Review #866719 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Reason of review
Bad quality

I can't believe that I have to find myself in this situation about writing a negative review. But I really have to do this because I don't want someone else experience what I experienced from empire carpet.

I would have seen it coming. It started from getting a free in-home estimate. I waited for the rep to come to my house as scheduled but I didn't see anyone or even get a Courtesy call that no one was coming. When I called to find out what happened, I was told that they came but it was an empty house that no one was living in.

After that huddle I later got someone came in for estimate. I was scheduled for installment and was told that I have to make at least 10% of the total pay upfront. I did as requested. The installment day, I cancelled my son's therapy appointment, had to stay up after working night shift just waiting for the installment guys.

At the end, I received call that Empire doesn't have enough staff to install my carpet. I rescheduled again the same story. I rescheduled for the third time. This time I kept calling and begging them to not cancel on me.

Upon till the morning of the service. I was told that they were loading the truck and will call to let me know the time they were coming. I didn't hear from them and I called back to find out what time they were coming to my house. The next thing I heard was the same old story.

That they don't have enough staff go come to my house for installment. Now I ask them to cancel the service and refund my money. I was told that it's going to take 10 business days. Where in the world do you treat someone like that.

You don't provide service and you don't refunds money. I demanded to talk to the supervisor and was told that there was no one available for me to talk to. This is the highest glorified scheme I have ever seen. Please this is real.

Not made up. I can't believe this is happening to me.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1174109

Hello,

We are disappointed to hear about your dissatisfaction with Empire. We would like to learn more, but unfortunately we are unable to verify your Empire customer information.

Please contact customersupport@empiretoday.com for further assistance.

Thank you

-Empire Customer Support

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Estimate Review from Colorado Springs, Colorado

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are disappointed to hear about your dissatisfaction with Empire. We would like to learn more, but unfortunately we are unable to verify your Empire customer information. Please contact customersupport@empiretoday.com with your account info for further assistance.
-Empire Customer Support
ID
#853694 Review #853694 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Reason of review
Poor customer service

We called to get and estimate and they gave us a day with a 2 hour window which I thought was ridiculous. They never showed.

We called again and schedule against our better judgement. Agai. Was given a 2 hr window. An 1 1/2 into it my husband called them and husband called to see what was up and they said they couldn't make it!

Would I like to reschedule???? NO WAY!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Estimate Review from Newton, New Jersey

Dear Customer,
We realize that your time is valuable, and we regret that you were inconvenienced by missed appointments. We would like to help make things right for you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you.
Thank you.
ID
#842289 Review #842289 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Suck so unprofessional! Canceled in home estimate 3 times made up three diff excuses each time!

I gave up!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - No show

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we regret that you were inconvenienced by the missed appointment. We know that your time is valuable, and we would like to help make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.
ID
#733401 Review #733401 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Cons
  • No show
Reason of review
No show, not even a call.
Loss
$80

I took half day off work for rep to come out to give estimate. Scheduled for Wed.

between 1 and 3 p.m. It is now 3:35 and no one showed up or called. After reading the reviews, I think I'm going to pass on this company.

At least 100 words, at least 100 words, at least 100 words, at least 100 words, at least 100 words, at least 1000 words, at least 100 words, at least 100 words, at least 100 words. at least words at least words at least words at least words this is absolutely ridiculous if I can say it in fewer, why?

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Flooring Helen in cooperate Owner Dont Care

Dear Caesar,
We understand that this was a frustrating experience for you, and are aware that we have discussed your concerns. Please direct any remaining questions or concerns to customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#630797 Review #630797 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Cons
  • Customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$814
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Update by user May 04, 2015

Empire Today Put The Floor in in 1982

Original review posted by user May 04, 2015

They Pulled Up with A piece of Junk Ford VanSpoke with Helen in cooperate meaning owner of Empire Flooring

1. Had a sales person over and I had an estimate for tile in a small kitchen for $814.00 automatically she said can’t meet or beat the price and went with down to a vinyl one piece tile. I saw one that was nice I made the deal because of the lifetime warranty well sorry I did more. 2. False Advertising Watch their Commercials.3. They called and made an appointment with me for Saturday 2 2015 between 10:00 and 11:00 I told them I could not make it before then and to call me when they were on the way I told them I run a small Business in New York and want to be there well here is where it starts. Well they call at 8:45 and say there on their way to the house and spoke to my wife. Were there at 9:00.I was not their made it clear to them that I was to be there.4. My wife called me unhappy and surprised at what they did and how the installers acted and spoke. Well the installers for Empire Today Flooring (Could not speak English) Making believe They Laughing and giggling in a different language as they tore up two arias of floor my wife said It looked like they were playing like kids they took pictures and sent them to someone and they got up and told my wife no good my wife said what do you mean no good tile was his response Laughing and giggling on the way out she said my husband will be here in a couple minutes.5. The installers for Empire Today Flooring New York kept going and left my wife called me and said they left I said what she told me they left a mess. Il be rite home got there and they did6. I called to find Customer service they did not care about the mess they cared about a 9x9 tile because of asbestos I could appreciate that but I have ( NY RISING CHECKED MY HOUSE FOR ANY KIND OF CONTANINENT AND ASBESTOS WAS ONE OF THEM) I’ve got the paperwork they did not care about customer nor customers home. There installers are not friendly and they don’t speak English.7. A contractor came and looked at the tiles and said they were mad of fiber they don’t know what there looking at

Supper Storm Sandy Victims

1 comment
Kennidy
#981087

Hi Caesar, we share your disappointment that the installation could not be completed as scheduled. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about this situation and explained our protocol that we must follow when asbestos is suspected to be present.

If you would like to discuss the situation further, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Awful sales person. Rude dumb whispering calling me nervous.

Hi Shelly, we were disappointed to read about your sales appointment, as this is not the experience we expect for our customers. We never want our customers to feel uncomfortable, and we would like the opportunity to make things right for you. We understand that we’ve scheduled a new appointment for you, and please don’t hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns. You can reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#546842 Review #546842 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I ordered an estimate from empire today. A sales rep came. He worked in Orlando and his name was Paul j. Older male shorter. From the beginning he was just strange rude and weird. He gave no sales presentation. He kept telling me I seemed nervous which was *** and made no sense. He kept asking me are you nervous?! U seem nervous. I continued saying no and what? He gave no sales presentation at all and whispered the entire time. Oh yes he was mumbling and whispering. When he got on the phone I heard him talk loud but then he whispered again. A sales rep whispering? I work in sales and u better believe I talk loud and concisely with energy and enthusiasm and I don't accuse people of being nervous.

He continued telling me I was nervous and I ignored him. I was calculating prices on my phone and he said rudely who are you talking to?!! Again huh? wtf is he talking about. He said are u talking to your parents. Again why the heck is he even asking this and is it any of his business?! I said im calculating something. He was rude weird *** strange. As he was mumbling he said oops I'm mumbling again. Again wtf?! Just so crazy. Then as he was leaving again he accused me of being nervous. Usually when someone does that they're projecting how they feel onto the other person. I said well ur the one who seemed nervous. Then he said he was only nervous because I was. Again a big huh?! Then he said rudely. Look at the distance between us as if my standing a few feet behind him was abnormal and indicated nervousness. His behavior was ludicrous and bizarre. Definitely not one of a normal person or sales rep. He wasn't trying to sell me anything just basically put me down and be rude and weird any chance he could. Just a bad weird experience. Empire was nice and rescheduled but really wtf was that about.

1 comment
Anonymous
#885209

But really stay away from this retard and don't let him in your home he has some major issues

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Never showed up for estimate

James,

we regret that you were inconvenienced by your missed appointment. We understand your frustration, as we know that your time is valuable and never want our customers to be disappointed in our service. We would like the opportunity to make things right for you, and we have been attempting to reach you to discuss the situation. Please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#417292 Review #417292 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate

I thought I'd at least give them a shot at giving an estimate for the job I want done. Made appointment and then received several email confirmations and even a follow up phone call.

I told them I would be here waiting for their rep. The rep never showed up, never called, nothing! I called their toll free number, gave them my info and was put on hold for over 10 minutes. Rep back on phone making excuses for their estimator and she talked so much I couldn't even get a word in edgewise.

I had to shout at her to LISTEN to me, but to no avail! Finally I told her to shut the *** and learn how to handle a customer and that I would never consider using Empire. I followed up with an email to some clown who sent me one of the "estimate appointment confirmation" emails and I wrote that I would be writing on Pissed Consumer to warn others.

BEWARE of this bunch! I'm going to find a local installer.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today too expensive was it really a sale!

While it’s great to know that you’re pleased with the finished product and the work that was done in your home, we always want our customers to be satisfied with their entire experience. We’d like to speak to you in more detail about your concerns with our pricing. We’ve attempted to contact you via email and have not yet heard back. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you to discuss this in more detail. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#351332 Review #351332 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Loss
$4000

I still not sure which sale is the best price the installation sale, the warehouse sale or the whole house sale??? Since even with 60% off the cost of materials I think the price was too expensive.

I should have waited for another estimate before getting the tile floors for the kitchen and bathrooms. But the contractors that came out to do the instillation were very professional.

Their work was excellent and everyone who has seen the floors have been very complimentary of their work. I'll never use Empire again or recommend them however the tile contractors were great.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today--RIP OFF!!!!

Danyal, we regret the delay in your refund, and any inconvenience that may have occurred as a result. We understand that we have been in contact with you about this issue, and your refund has been processed. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#338957 Review #338957 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Loss
$50

Empire Today is a complete and total rip-off!!! We had a salesman named Ron from central PA come to our home to give us a "FREE" estimate, he requested a $50 deposit to "lock in" the price of the flooring, and reassured us they WOULD NOT cash the check until we were approved from finance.

Well GUESS WHAT??? Finance never did call us! AND they cashed the check!!! My husband called Empire requested to speak to a manager and they assured us that the manager would call back AND our money would be refunded.

NEVER RECEIVED EITHER!!! DO NOT CONSIDER THIS COMPANY!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Rip Off for estimates Empire Direct

Thank you for making us aware of your concerns, Lois. It is never our intention to make our customers feel pressured, and we regret that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. We’d like the opportunity to speak to you in more detail about your concerns and better explain our all inclusive pricing. We’ve been attempting to contact you and will be following up again soon. If you have any questions, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#331844 Review #331844 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate

I asked for an estimate since I was shopping around. They came in 1000.00 over my first estimate and then decided they could match it if I gave them a 50.00 deposit today.

I explained that I had 2 others coming out for estimates this week and would not leave a deposit. Since I would not give them a deposit they raised the estimate to 300 dollars more then my other estimate. There response was if they leave the home people usually do not call them back. They lost my business forever and I will tell all that will listen.

I am a consumer who is looking to get quality services and will shop around. If you could do it at a cheaper price means you have every intention on ripping me off and other consumers who are shopping around. Very Sad!

Poor way to do business. BBB here I come to let them know how it really is!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpet Is A SCAM!

Frank, we’re disappointed to hear about any confusion or miscommunication that occurred during your sales appointment. We’d like to speak to you about your concerns and work towards a resolution. We’ve been in contact with you, and we look forward to hearing back from you so that we can discuss this matter in more detail. If you have any questions, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#311716 Review #311716 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Loss
$5000

Empire Carpet showed up for a free estimate and never offered the buy 1 room get 2 free special, When we brought it up to the rep he said his offer was much better but the estimate was no different to the other companies we contacted. i asked about financing and after that we where basically ignored and the only reason that I called them was that they advertised next day installation which is a joke! the rep never called back he drove over from the fresno area his number is (559)433-5582 this guy promised that the company was good and here we sit waiting for another company noe and having to stay at our daughters because os this inconvenience in short do not trust Empir Carpet!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Never showed up or called

Patti, we truly apologize for your missed appointment. We understand your time is valuable and are disappointed to hear that this happened as this isn’t in line with our normal standard of service. We’ve attempted to reach out to you recently to address the situation and to see if you’d reconsider giving us another chance. If you’d be willing to speak with us, please call us back at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#272592 Review #272592 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate

I called Sunday, 10/30/11 after seeing an advertisement on TV for Empire Today. I was greeted very professionally by an operator and was able to get a next day appointment for an estimate for my home. I was given a window between 1pm and 3pm. This was great since I had the day off for Halloween. I had my phone with me at all times and was doing yard work in the front to be sure not to miss them.

At 3:05pm I called because no one ever showed. I was greeted again very pleasantly and placed on hold while they investigated what was going on. I was told their was an emergency and the person wasn't able to complete her appointments. Now, don't get me wrong, I understand that stuff happens but since they employ a service to schedule their calls can they not have them call the folks who are waiting for them to let them know!?!?!

I wanted to voice my dissatisfaction with the company and requested a call back from a manager. I gave all my information and it's been 3 days now - no call back.

I am actually pleased that this happened before I committed myself to have any services provided by them and moved furniture around or took time off of work, etc. I don't expect a callback from them and I will notify the BBB since what sealed the deal for my initial call was that they advertised an A+ rating with them...