Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - When a price is not a price

Dear Chris,
We are saddened to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. If you continue to have unanswered concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#798283 Review #798283 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Cons
  • Misleading
Reason of review
Dishonest Price Practice
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Had a quote from EmpireToday this week, the Rep seemed okay, insisted on showing me the retail price of the carpets, did all the measurements and then we got to the price - List price was $3113 for 700 sqft fitted, but today he could offer me a price of $1800 (not the 50% off as advertised) but didn't seem too bad, even though he pushed I said I would sleep on it, the next day the corporate office called and saad they can offer me a price of $2100, I told them the Rep has already said $1800, they said "Oh" and then said they can do better than that $1800 and offered a price of $1577, I said I would think about it, today I met the Rep to sign the deal, the Rep said Corporate had made a mistake, they didn't include the stairs in their number and the price was now $1700, naturally I told the Rep to take a hike. How can a company attempt to do business this way. Simply unacceptable

If you wait long enough the phone will ring and they will give you a lower price, better still work with a local company that you can trust, not these guys, AVOID EmpireToday

2 comments
Kennidy
#1118438

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret that our pricing did not meet your expectations, as well as any confusion that occurred regarding the quoted amount.

We would like to follow up with you to discuss your concerns in more detail and help make things right, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please email your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.

Anonymous
#1119254
@Kennidy

It's not your pricing that's the issue, its the dishonest bait and switch tactics of the Rep, who lied about the price quote. He told me your office had adjusted my quote and removed the stairs from the estimate that why the price was different. A complete lie

I sent all my details to you (email address and phone number) with details of the issue, you have failed to contact me.

Just avoid this company.

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Kalamazoo Township, Michigan

We regret that your installation was not completed as scheduled, and we understand your frustration. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this situation and that we are working to make sure everything gets completed to your satisfaction. Please don't hesitate to contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com with any additional questions or concerns. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#794389 Review #794389 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Empire has been one of the worst companies I have ever tried to work with. We scheduled a day for our carpet to get installed 2 months in advance and when it came down to the day of installation we never got a call in the morning to confirm installation for that day.

We had to call customer service just for them to tell us that they can not get ahold of the installer. 11am rolls around and after we called Customer service again we got a time frame between 1:00pm-2:00pm(they never showed). We got a call around 3:00pm from the installer to tell us that they would be to our home at 5:00pm. Well to our surprise 5:00pm rolls around and the installers still did not show.

We waited till 6:00pm to call Customer service again to get no help. Around 7:00pm we finally got a call from the installer just to tell us they would not make it out to install our carpet today, and that the installer manager would be contacting us tonight. And of course still no call from the manager. We have our house torn apart, bedrooms furniture in the dinning room and have been waiting around all day and do not have our carpet installed on the day we paid a hold to have it installed.

VERY VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. And recommend that you look else where for service.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Vancouver, Washington

We regret the delays in completing your installation, and we understand your frustration. We would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.
ID
#789913 Review #789913 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

We have had THE WORST experience with Empire! They are horrid!

Took 9 months of going back and forth with them to get them to actually finish an install that they had done completely incorrectly. They used the wrong material, they didn't bring enough material, they left mid job because it was time for the crew to get off...then they never came back; left the lobby of my business torn up, next crew that was supposed to fix it never showed up....followed by the next 3 crews. Finally got someone out, they didn't bring anything to fix the problem so they left and said proper materials would be ordered...they never were. This "material is being ordered" *** lasted for months.

9 months and dozens of phone calls later someone FINALLY finished the project.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Rockaway Township, New Jersey

Dear Customer,
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in the work that is done in their homes, and we would like to know more about the issues that occurred with your installation. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you and work towards a resolution.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#781818 Review #781818 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Empire Today = rude installation manger+ bad quality carpet+ unprofessional customer service . It is a rip off .

I wouldn't recommend this company to my enemy . Worst experience ever

1 comment
Kennidy
#1104985

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in the work that is done in their homes, and we would like to know more about the issues that occurred with your installation.

Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you and work towards a resolution.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Yonkers, New York

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We would like to know more about the issues that occurred with your installation and help make things right, but unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.
ID
#781297 Review #781297 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

This is the worst company ever! Do not use!

They should be put out of business!

They did nothing they said they would!

Didn't have enough carpet and not even the right carpet. Put stop on the cheek so I would sill have my $5000.00 the SOB'S turn it over to collection.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Ephrata, Pennsylvania

Dear Christy,
We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and understand that we have completed a carpet re-stretch for you. For future concerns regarding your installation please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#774245 Review #774245 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Ephrata, Pennsylvania

Had carpet installed 6/2014. First showed up with wrong carpet.

Then damaged a door (did get a discount for the door). Carpet wrinkled so they came back out to fix it. Now 1.5 years later it's wrinkled again. Said its out of warranty.

Talked to manager and they waived the fee. The contract worker who came to do it was great. There was SO much excess carpet. The pad in the walk in closet was never changed during the original install.

He said the other 2 rooms need to be done because there is excess carpet. Said they would do it free of charge but will do nothing about the laziness in not replacing the pad during the install.

Their customer service is horrible. Don't act like you're doing me a favor when it should have been done correctly in the first place.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1097965

We've read your review, and we would like to know more about your concerns with the installation. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you and ensure that all your concerns get addressed. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Bolingbrook, Illinois

Dear Brian,
Thank you for your post. We are happy to hear that your experience had a positive turn around, and that your concerns were answered at a timely manner.
Thanks for sharing!
ID
#772766 Review #772766 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Epic Empire Carpet Install Fail

Salesman came out ontime, the only thing that happened ontime.

After putting down a cash deposit, install appointment was made for Jan14 PM (after 12). A message was left on voice mail, saying the install crew was on way and would be there around 9.30am. I called and said that wouldn't work. As I explained to the salesman at time of sale, I can not be here before 12. The office said they couldn't change the time but could cancel the install and reschedule for another date. I asked how its possible to contact the installer to cancel but you can't to change the install time to what i requested. They put me on hold and came back saying they reached the installers and they will arive after 12. Awesome one hurdle accomplished, just wish i knew the drama that was to unfold a few hours later.

Installers showed about 12. Said there scheduler talked to me before hand and that I said AM install was ok, that was a lie. The installers questioned it because paperwork clearly stated a PM install. They showed me the carpet in van to be installed, before removing it. The carpet was not even close to what was chosen with the salesman at time of purchase. They said they would go back to warehouse and return. I was fine with that, explained that it wasnt a problem, as long as you come back today, anytime i dont really care, as long as it's today. They said no problem, then by 6pm never came back. Called salesman (which is a stretch referring to him in that manner). I requested order to be canceled. Salesman said he would knock money off order an said he would request they do the install on Jan15 by 9.30am. I finally agreed and said if they are not here by 10am, I can't wait and will not be here had to go to work. The installers didn't show. I left and called the salesman, explained that i had to leave. He informed me that i should cancel the order then. He said its not in his purview. Last i checked from the beginning to the end of a sale is in the complete purview of a true salesman. My son was home, so i figured id let things roll and see if they show up later, they did. Just as i was going to leave work to come home and wait, my son calls to inform me the installers are here. Great wonderful, well no not really, because apparently they brought the EXACT wrong carpet as the day before.

Called office and said they need to check the salesman board against their inventory because something is truely wrong. Who sends out the wrong carpet twice in concecutive days, Empire does that's who. After a few calls and having to wait. Epire claims the salesman sample board was incorrect and that I would have to schedule another get together the following week. I explained that I didn't understand why someone couldn't come to me today or even i could meet someone where ever they wanted. I had 2 rooms of stuff packed into 2 other rooms and the hand rail on 2nd floor removed, ahead of the imstall. I needed the carpet installed, i had expected it to have been installed. I did everything i could, Empire did everything to not install it.

I canceled the order and requested my money to be returned. They attempted to offer a further reduction in price, that i did not accept. It's not about money at this point, it's about getting product, it's about service, it's about wanting to deal with people who believe their purview goes beyond holding your hand out and accepting cash, before your run away and hide.

I would not recommend Empire for anything, unless it's nothing you are looking for. They have an endless supply of that.

3 comments
Fleming
#1100577

From my experience Empire does actually read these reviews. Your experience may be different, like anything it really depends on who you are communicating with at Empire.

The 1st people were a nitemare. The 2nd set, from the sales rep to customer service, is what you would expect from a company wanting you to be there customer.

Empire sent a different Rep to our home on 1/19, who was night and day better then the 1st Rep. Another type carpet/color was chosen. A schedule was set for 1/22 for the install.

The installers arrived exactly in the time frame quoted, the carpet was exactly what was ordered. They did a great job installing. The stairs and hallway offered up some challenges to their install and they handled it well.

The experience the 2nd time around dealing with Empire, the efficiency and quality of the install, the completed look to the room was excellent. I have a couple other rooms that will need new carpet in the future and will be working with Empire for those rooms also.

I would think after the way things turned out, the 1st time was a fluke and the second would be more representative of what to expect.

Best advice I can give is, if a rep comes out and you feel the setting is going more in the direction, it's about them and not about you. Stop it and ask them to leave. Call empire and ask for someone else to come out. Empire can and does do a good job for the price/quality/service they offer.

You have to be working with the ones you are comfortable with from the start.

I had cancelled the order and they still reached out to me after reading my original post. I gave another chance and working with different people from Empire and am glad I did.

Kennidy
#1096719

Hi Brian, we understand your frustration at the delays in the installation, and we never want our customers to be inconvenienced. We want to make things right for you, and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation.

You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.

Anonymous
#1096813
@Kennidy

Is "contacting you shortly" something you actually do or is it just an automated response? I haven't herd anything from anyone yet.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Woodbury, New Jersey

Dear Sanjay,
Your satisfaction is important to us, and understand that we have addressed your concerns. For future questions and inquires please contact us customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#764107 Review #764107 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

Bait and switch experts!!

Beware of sales scam. They installed a lower grade carpet pad but charged price for heavier duty in sales order. After numerous attempts to resolve through customer support I finally had to dispute via my credit card, which resulted in a favorable outcome for me once their investigations were completed. NOW EMPIRE WANTS TO COLLECT FROM ME EVEN AFTER THE CREDIT CARD COMPANY TELLS ME THEY HAVE NO BASIS TO HARASS ME AFTER THEY RULED IN MY FAVOUR.

They need a consumer class action to put them in their place and end such bait and switch tactics once and for all!!

1 comment
Kennidy
#1089278

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about this issue, and we will be following up with you again shortly to discuss the situation.

You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Akron, Ohio

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We would like to know more about your experience and help make things right for you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#754806 Review #754806 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

Had an installation today. The guys were on time and they even made it around the time that was good for me.

Brought th carpet but was not what i felt when the guy came to my house to show us. It was flat and thin. The carpet i felt was thick and plush. Then they rolled it out and i could tell right off the bat it wasnt right.

They measured again and they were 6 feet short! Told them to pack it up and get it out of here.

Wasnt paying for something that i did not order. Pissed me off!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Cancelled literally at the last minute

Dear LaShanda,
Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. We understand that we have addressed your concerns. If you continue to have questions, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#747572 Review #747572 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Cons
  • No show
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$178

I took the day off (no pay)on a Tuesday for the carpet installation for which I received 3 confirmations for. Their arrival time was to be between the hours of 8a-9a.

So 8:30 rolls around then 8:45 and in my head I'm thinking it would be typical for them to show up when they HAD to be here. My husband calls me at 8:58a and tells me that they called to cancel and wanted to reschedule for Thursday. First of all why do you think that people sit at home eating bon bons all day and it is ok for you to just change my days. I have checked the reviews and apparently it is common practice for them to cancel on customers like this.

I called to speak to the manager but got a woman named Wendy. She goes on to say that the installer was sick. Were all of them sick? Was 1 person going to install 1800sq ft?

No excuse- then she went on to say that the reps overbook appts sometimes...IS THAT MY PROBLEM???

sounds like some unprofessionalism to me. Now I have lost money and time do to your lack of customer service.

I wanted my install before Christmas and now that is up in the air. They pride themselves on being in business since 1959, obviously there business savvy is stuck in that era.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1076250

We understand your frustration that the installation was not completed as scheduled, and we would like to help make things right for you. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you.

Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Atlanta, Georgia

Dear Jack,
We are disappointed to know that your experience did not have a positive start, but are aware that your installation was completed since your last post. For future questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#742290 Review #742290 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Customer service SUCKS they will not follow up and do what they say i am having problems with my carpet instaltion and and they wont help and the worist is they say they will call you back to let you know and you never hear from that person agian

1 comment
Kennidy
#1072129

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in the work that's done in their homes, and we regret that you've been having difficulty in getting these issues addressed.

We would like to know more about the situation and help make things right for you, but we are unable to locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Not ethical business practices

Dear Thomas,
We understand that your time is valuable and although time has passed since your posting, we want to ensure that your concerns were heard. For future questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#738035 Review #738035 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Cons
  • No show installation
  • Odd pricing model
  • Poor follow up on installation
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

My wife called Empire for replacement carpet in our family room, stairs and upstairs landing/hallway area. At least the salesman arrived on time for his appointment.

After she agreed to a $3300.00 with a change order to bring the price to $1900.00, odd but that is how they do discounting? Appointment for installation was set before the salesman left with her $200.00 deposit, for the following Tuesday before noon...Well that did not happen, installer called and said was the last job of the day and would be there between 3-4 pm, At 4:45pm I called the installer on his cell phone, he said they had a tough install and would call after 5pm. I then called the installation department, and they told me that there was no way that my install will take place as it was too late to start another one, hence the installer lied to me, as he knew he would not be coming to do the install. Called the install department back, they arranged to do the install the following Friday, and agreed to be the first install of the day.

On Thursday, i get a call from the install department saying that they don't have enough installers for Friday, and could they reschedule for 1st thing Saturday morning. I agreed to this to get it done, but when I had no call no show on Saturday, I again called the install department to inquire as to when or if an install would happen. When i asked what percentage chance there was of an install happening today (Saturday) the install manager said zero percent. I am so done with this company.

I gave one star since there is no way to give less! Do yourself a favor and never fall for this company's BS.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1068539

We regret that your installation was not completed as scheduled, and we understand that the delays are frustrating. We would like to help make things right for you, but we are unable to locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - No Call/No Show

Dear Ben, We understand that time has passed since your posting and want to ensure that your concerns were heard. For future questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#736730 Review #736730 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

I had scheduled to have my carpet replaced. I signed a contract on 11/09/2015 to be installed on 11/18/2015.

I was told that i would get a call the day of to confirm, but never got a call. I took off from work and no one showed up. I called Empire, and i was told they have me scheduled for 11/25 by one of their rep. I was then told it was actually scheduled for 11/18, but they don't know what happened.

I then got a call from their district manager who was rude and very unprofessional. He told me to go ahead and cancel if i want to.

I will never do business with this company again.

2 comments
Kennidy
#1066516

We regret that your installation was not completed as scheduled, and we understand that this is a frustrating situation. We would like to follow up with you and make things right, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can reach out to you.

Thank you.

Anonymous
#1066394

That's funny, they just did the same thing to me. They were to install my carpet on 11-18-15 an I waited all day no one showed, I called and they told me they did not have enough crews to cover for this day so they would reschedule me for nov.

30th. I told them the only reason I signed the contract was because my salesman, kevin Finn, said they could install before thanksgiving. He even called to make sure. After loud complaining on my part they said they would send out a crew today.

Well ,the new crew just came, a mexican woman and a young kid. They did not speak english and insisted they could not start on the job until I paid them first. I have never paid for a job until it's finished and to my satisfaction. So they had to call their supervisor.

We waited for a good 45 minutes. No one answered the phone, so I kicked them out and called and cancelled my order.

That was the only pleasurable moment of this whole experience. I would never recommend this company to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Beware of Empire Today

Dear Tina,
We are disappointed that your initial experience was not a positive one, and understand that your order was cancelled per your request. If you continue to have questions or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#693178 Review #693178 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Carpet Installation
Cons
  • That they did not come the day they were supposed to
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$2600
Preferred solution
Full refund

I was supposed to have carpet installed today (9/2/15) and spent 2 hours tearing my house apart to get ready for the installers. Instead of calling me first thing, they waited until 9:30 to call to say they needed to reschedule.

I have cancer and am recovering from a broken back, so getting ready for them was not easy.

I called them back and asked to talk to a manager (who from the first call was supposed to call me back and didn't). So I told the young man who put me on hold 3 times to try to get someone that if they didn't come today, I wanted to cancel the whole thing. I have read other reviews and most everyone was unhappy with having to pay in full, up front, before installation. I knew this was the case but was willing to do it.

So now I am am still waiting to hear from them and if they do not call in the next 15 minutes I will call back and cancel the whole order.

Very unprofessional and it's funny that they called twice and sent multiple e-mails to be sure they could come on 9/2/15 and now they are not coming. I will be calling a local company to get new carpet as Empire does not deserve my business.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1029101

Hi Tina, we regret that you were inconvenienced by your missed appointment. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we understand your frustration.

We understand that we've been in contact with you and that you decided to cancel your order. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to discuss this matter further, or if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Thank you.