Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
"Empire Today Flooring" Does more damage than good!
"Empire Today Flooring" Does more damage than good!
Dear Prudence, Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish. We regret to hear your concerns, and assure you that this is not the experience that we wish for...
View full review
Review
#1453672 Review #1453672 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Terrible Customer service

Empire Today - Terrible Customer service
The salesman came out and did a great job "selling" To bad he was full of it! First part was the financing, he quoted me $27000, to which I agreed. I then filled out the finance application which was only approved to 19k. That's when he told me that 19k was the most the finance company would lend and the rest would have to be cash or have my wife apply separately. SHOULD HAVE TOLD ME THAT IN ADVANCE. Long story short, the price miraculously dropped $1500...Moving on, he drew up the contract that stated that ALL of the old flooring would be removed and disposed of, the installation would start the following day at 9 and would be finished by mid day on Sunday. At 11:30 on Saturday the installers showed up and told my wife they would not finish Sunday as they do not work Sundays. Ok, strike two on the salesman but let's keep going. I was going out of town on a business trip and left with confidence in the installer (who were great guys). The project was completed on Tuesday and I got home that evening. The old floors were not removed, the new floors were simply installed right over the top. The installers told my wife that it was better that way and that it would be a benefit if we ever sold our house?! I called Empire to find out what the deal is and why I was being charged for removal and disposal if it didnt occur. Michelle in customer service stated that they would come back out and remove the old flooring, but could not remove the tile floor in the bathrooms or laundry room (even though the contract clearly stated they would). I was then told they would actually remove it but then I would have to hire a separate contractor to come out to prep and level those portions of the floor. I let her know that would not happen and if I had been told that in the beginning I would have never agreed. I then told her that I would be utilizing the cancellation agreement portion of the contract, as I was within the time frame (November 14th was the cancel by date) and they could come get their material. The agreement states you can cancel within 3 business days "without penalty or obligation". Michelle stated that I could cancel but Empire was entitled to come retrieve all of their material. I agreed with her, stated she could come get it, but Empire would need to put my house back to the condition it was in, including repairing the 16 entryway door frames and custom molding surrounds that were cut in order to fit the new floors (I guess they were cut because they wouldn't fit since the old floors weren't removed as required). Michelle said she didnt agree to that. She ended up offering me a reduction of around 7K, said she would talk to her manager and would be calling me back. NOT TRUSTING A WORD THESE PEOPLE SAY, I went ahead and processed the cancellation agreement, sent a copy to their legal department as required (FedEx with signature required), I also emailed a copy to the salesman and called and verbally notified a customer service rep. As expected I never heard another word from Michelle, I have called multiple times with no success. The last 4 calls I have been told that they were unable to reach Michelle or her manager Paul, but a message was left and one of them would call me back the next day... You guessed it.. NOONE has ever called me back. However, they have processed the financing portion to the tune of 19k, which is not an ammount referenced anywhere in the contract or any other paperwork.. now I have a new floor, that you can still see the old floor underneath in one part.. I have a new floor that has assumed all of the issues of the old floor (warps, creaking, cracking) a new floor that I have to keep hammering down with a rubber mallet because portions keep popping up, and a new floor that makes popping noises when you walk over the transitions from wood to tile!!
View full review
Review
#1414293 Review #1414293 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Ongoing issues with poor installation

We had a berber carpet installed throughout our entire downstairs a little over a year ago. Immediately following the installation, I noticed a section in the hall that looked as though the padding was missing. I also noticed that the carpet looked loose in a few different areas. I called Empire's customer service to get the matter fixed. They sent someone out and we were told that the padding folded over when installing the carpet, and that they reinstalled the missing padding. A few months later, the loose sections of the carpet started to show signs of buckling and I called Empire again. Again, they sent someone out who had to restretch the carpet in one area of the room. In doing so, they also noticed that the original tack strips were not properly installed, and had to repair the tack strips. After another couple of months I noticed the carpet showing signs of buckling in other parts of the room and also another section that looked like the padding had flattened out. I called and Empire then sent an inspector to my home. The inspector took pics and confirmed that the carpet was poorly installed. I called again after there was no follow up and was told that I needed to provide more specific information about the needed repairs. I noted that I thought that was the purpose of sending an inspector; to get specific information about the needed repairs. We eventually agreed to another date when someone would come to fix the carpet. I took a day off from work only to have no one show up. They did call later in the afternoon to let me know they would have to reschedule. Long story short, the carpet was poorly installed from the very beginning and has been causing ongoing issues since. Although Empire seems willing to continue to return to "fix" the problem, the problem is ongoing and continues to cause me to take time off from work and be inconvenienced. At some point, they tried to blame it on the fact that it is a berber carpet (which was recommended by their salesperson), when, in fact, it was and continues to be the result of a very poor installation process. I continue to signs of buckling and still have no end to the fixes in sight.
View full review
Review
#1413074 Review #1413074 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
On 9/13/18 Jamie came to our house for a consultation on hardwood floors for our downstairs and staircase. After much discussion we landed on LVP flooring. At that time we made clear that we wanted white risers to go with our LVP flooring. He indicated that wasn't a problem. I noticed that it wasn't in the contract and when I asked he said that he needed to place a separate order for that but not to worry, he would take care of it, so we scheduled an install date on 9/19/18. The installers came and completed downstairs LVP installation but didn't have the proper materials for the stair installation. For one, they didn't have enough materials, and for two, they didn't have any record of the white risers for the steps. Downstairs flooring installation was completed on 9/20/18. Installers indicated someone would be in touch to reschedule the stair installation. On 9/24/18 I called to inquire about the stair installations since no one called me. Was informed that it was scheduled for 10/1/18. I specifically asked if the issues with the correct amount of materials and the white risers was resolved and was told that it was. On 10/1 the installers showed and again had no record of the white risers and didn't have the correct materials. No installation took place that day. I called the office back and again discussed the issue. Everyone I spoke to claims they have no record of me requesting this despite numerous conversations, but that it would be resolved. Appointment was rescheduled for 10/5/18. Installers came, still had incorrect materials but stated they would flip the risers they brought and paint them white before installing. Installation took place all day on 10/5/18. After looking at the completed job, I noticed several issues. One of the risers was installed incorrectly and left several gaps in the wood. There are other gaps present as well. Inexplicably, quarter round was installed on the landing and is longer than the step it is installed upon. Many of the treads were poorly cut and even more poorly caulked. Several of the treads are uneven where the 'nose' of the tread is higher than the back part of the tread. There is stray paint and caulking everywhere. Due to weekend and holiday, I called the office on 10/9/18 regarding these issues. I was told that they took detailed notes of everything and that I should email pictures, which I did. I also set an appointment for 10/18/18 for these items to be addressed. On 10/18/18 the installer arrived and stated he was just there to take pictures and observe the issues but wouldn't be doing any work that day. I said I already emailed pictures and he stated he never got them. After he left I called the office again and explained the issue to the same customer service rep I spoke to on 10/9. She rescheduled the install again for 10/25/18 and assured me that everything would be addressed and that the installation supervisor was now involved. On 10/23 I received a call from a different service rep asking why we had an appointment for 10/25 and if the issues were resolved on 10/18. I explained - again - what took place and told her I spoke to someone on 10/18 who assured me that this would be resolved. She again explained that she had no notes on any of this (a common excuse provided to me at this point) and confirmed my appointment for 10/25. On 10/25/18 I received a call again from the customer service rep explaining that they would not be able to make the appointment for 10/25 due to needing to bring in a painter to fix the riser. At this point I have lost all confidence as I continue to take off of work while this issue isn't resolved. I asked how painters were going to help and explained that there are several issues that need to be addressed that I've brought up on two calls, and via email with pictures. After being placed on hold I was told that she found my email and it's the first time she's seen it. After asking to speak to a supervisor I was informed (again) that there are no supervisors in that day. In a way I'm not surprised because there must be no one in charge there the way things are run... on the other hand how can there never be any supervisors present ever? I'm now rescheduled for 10/26/18. I have zero confidence that my issues will be resolved at that time. I have now had to take off of work on 9/19, 9/20, 10/1, 10/5, 10/18, 10/25 and 10/26 (and counting) for an install that I was told would take two days. I should have heeded the negative reviews of this company. They don't know how to communicate between departments and the contractors they hire for installation are shoddy at best. The take poor notes and blame the customer for anything they don't know because they can't conduct proper record keeping. For $13,000 I expected my floors to look better than something I could have done myself. I will never use Empire again and will tell everyone I know to stay away.
View full review
Review
#1388705 Review #1388705 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Not happy

I am not going to elaborate very much. The floor looks nice and we are happy with the hard floor and the carpet. Extremely disappointed with the scheduling, timeliness, and speed of the crews. I moved most of the furniture myself after being told the crews would do it. I injure my back and was told they would get back with me on that. On a $13,000.00 project we received a $200.00 rebate for delays. It took an extra eight days before it was totally done. Even the sal s rep said that was totally unacceptable. Of course he said a lot of other things too. LOL! Bottom line I would advise a lot more looking around and comparing than we did and I would not recommend empire flooring to anyone i considered a friend.
View full review
Review
#1347554 Review #1347554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Very upset and dissatisfied.

I ordered laminate flooring and linoleum was installed. I was told by the men who installed the flooring that it was laminate. The job took a lot longer because they said they did not order enough. Had to weight 2 more days plus weekend. The installers did not come back and put the wall boards in so I have the materials but they have not been installed. I would never recommend to my enemies this company. I am very disappointed in the workmanship and the job not being finished. Also that I did not receive the laminate that I ordered and paid for.
View full review
Review
#1343626 Review #1343626 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Horrible!

For past week I have reached out to customer service! I would like to speak to a Vice President of this company!! So very pissed told them I do t want those guys back out they left in such a hurry they didnt even help to put the furniture back in place. And still know one has come to do the carpet. I called and they said was they would credit us back $200 for them not moving the furniture back yes but what about my wasted time off work man these people are freaking stupid.
View full review
Review
#1340919 Review #1340919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Unhappy paid customer

Initially, I was somewhat pleased with my experience. I’d replaced the carpet in my entire house and had wood floor laminates installed. No issue with initial scheduling. Paid for my pending service upfront, as well as, took a day off work for them to complete a two-day project. When my laminate floors were installed, they did not bring enough materials to complete the job. The installer was very apologetic and guaranteed I would be first to complete the job the next Saturday. As a result, I’d scheduled some appointments for the afternoon to allow them time to complete the job that morning. I’d received a call around 8:00 AM that they were on the way and would arrive within two hours – between 8:30 AM and 10:30 AM. Well after me making four calls, finally on the fourth call now 1:50 PM, I’d learned that the installers who were to complete a paid job decided not to come to me first to complete an installation that should have been completed last week. They did not call to notify me of a change in my appointment nor apparently, did they care that I had other commitments for the afternoon. Also, tried to email my salesman Howard Naylor but to no avail. This is totally unacceptable!!! Very, very poor customer service!!! I guess they have my money, so customer service goes out the window. A very unhappy North Carolina customer!!!!
View full review
Review
#1338658 Review #1338658 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Customer Service? What a joke?

We had carpet, hardwood and PVC installed about two weeks ago and the carpet installers covered a floor outlet (mind you they took off the cover to the outlet and left it for me) but nonetheless covered it up. Who does that? Then the hardwood floor installers stole decor kitchen towels when they knocked over a vase in the kitchen (where the flooring was not being redone so it never should have happened) and I'm assuming used the towels to clean up the spilt water but then never put the towels back. A section of the hardwood has a crack in it that we discovered while moving furniture back into the living room. In the basement (where I offered to move furniture but was told they would do it they lost one of my car key fobs. On top of all of this when you contact customer service they transfer you to a voicemail of management and left voicemail 4 times in the past week and still have not had a call back. We are laying out over $8000 for the work we've had done and the lack of customer service is outright ridiculous. I'm honestly considering stopping payment on this until I get a response from a supervisor. I definitely wouldn't recommend Empire to anyone in the future. Angry
View full review
Review
#1314632 Review #1314632 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Review in Household Services category

Well let’s see the installers Ana & Daniel are so beyond unprofessional. They showed up at my house at 1pm on Tuesday. Took a lunch break at 4pm returned at 545pm. Said they had came back at about 5 but no one was home which was bs. Cause my son and girlfriend were here and they left their tool and rolls of padding at my front door holding it open. Anyways took them until 4am to not finish the *** job they did. They ran out of carpet and have to return to finish one room. She told me they will be here today which is Thursday between 11-12pm to finish job. And it’s now 6:36pm and surprise surprise they ain’t here. I called her 2xs and they say they are close by and nope no show. They left their piles of trash on my front yard and didn’t clean up after themselves on Tuesday. I was stuck vacuuming & sweeping up their disaster. And she said she didn’t know they had to move furniture so they used my son brother myself and son girlfriend to help move furniture!!! WTH! I am in the middle of selling my home I have an open house schedule for Saturday & Sunday and my house isn’t presentable. They didn’t finish carpet up to the walls there is a gap where u can see the uncarpeted flooring and the base boarders anywhere it transitions into another room the Carpet is lifted. A refund will be expected and ch 4 news has been notified and I am contacting better business Bureau.
View full review
Review
#1296610 Review #1296610 is a subjective opinion of poster.