Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Really Bad

Dear Scott,
Over the past 60 years, it has been our mission to make beautiful new floors easy from start to finish. We strive to handle issues quickly and fairly if the should arise, and assure you that we always put our customers first.
We sincerely regret to hear that you were inconvenienced by a two missed appointments. We’ve located your account, and will in touch with you shortly to make things right.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1652238 Review #1652238 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
Full refund

2 missed appointments

1 arrived and could not do the work

Scratches left on the hardwood

I’ve been called several times since 8/27 to have a rep call me back regarding missed appointments and compensation. Still waiting as of 9/12.

Phone rep admit they dropped the ball. Very disappointed and would not recommend.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Vinyl flooring

Dear Sabrena,

With over three million satisfied customers, we understand the importance of superior customer service. We value our customers and live by the Golden Rule.

We sincerely regret to hear that your concerns have not beet addressed. We take matters such as these seriously, and will be in touch with you shortly to learn more.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1596474 Review #1596474 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Ripped me off and still lying to me
Cons
  • Ineffective customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Update by user Jul 22, 2019

They say it's a life time warranty. Well fix my floor.

Without me calling every other day.

This is a headache. Stand behind your brand

Original review posted by user Jul 22, 2019

I had it installed in March. I started complaining about seeing a huge air bubble.

Techs came out to repair and not even a week later. I noticed the huge air bubble again along with a pile of small air bubbles. A appointment was scheduled again and if course a no call no show. Called Empire back and was promised a local supervisor would contact me, abd and here it is a week later and still no one has yet to resolve my issue.

I wouldnt recommend this company to anyone. Complete run a round.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Waste of time!

Dear Tracy,

For over 60 years, we’ve been dedicated to serving our customers with superior customer service from start to finish.

We sincerely regret to hear that your installation experience did not go as planned, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ve located your order, and will be in touch with you shortly to start working on a resolution.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1586832 Review #1586832 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Customer service representatives are as helpful as they can be
Cons
  • Lack of communication
  • Not reliable
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

ABSOLUTELY AWFUL! I was supposed to have my bathroom floors replaced on Friday so we pulled out our toilets and I got a phone call Friday morning saying they'd be there in the morning.

As of 12:40pm I called because they weren't here yet and when the customer service representative called the installer they said they'd like to reschedule because they got a bigger job. I said I didn't want to reschedule because I had my toilets pulled out and had been waiting around all day. A installation manager, Shane, finally called me back at 4:45pm to apologize and reschedule. He promised we'd be 1st thing Saturday morning, which I was lead to believe was 8am.

At 9:20am when no yet to arrive at my house I called the service center and was told the installers were still loading the truck and would be there in 2 hours. So the 1st appointment is at 11am! The only consolation I was offered for all of this was $65. So 1.5 days waiting without toilets with a 2 year old and oh and yesterday was my birthday.

Thanks Empire for ruining my birthday and waisting my time. I'm sorry my job is a small job, but I'm still a customer, but you can sure believe that I won't be again!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Lies, negligence, fraud, theft, destruction of personal property

Dear Mr. Leveille,

Customer service is our number one priority, and is our customer promise to handle issues quickly and fairly if they should arise. We regret to hear about your experience, and understand that we’re currently working with you towards a solution. We’ll continue to review this matter to assure that your concerns are addressed as quickly as possible.

Thank you for your patience,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1561526 Review #1561526 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Damaged personal property
Loss
$3000
Preferred solution
Monetary compensation

In 2018, we hired Empire Today to install a carpet in a large, 2-room basement area of the empty home we’d just purchased. The installers charged us $600 for new padding, but never installed the padding.

They put new carpet over the old padding and kept our money. We discovered this the following winter, when water damage forced us to pull up a small section of the new carpet.

Empire informed us that the entire carpet needed to be replaced if we wanted to keep our warranty. This was a huge problem because the basement was now fully-furnished and contained over $50,000 of fragile electronic equipment which would have to be moved. After a fight, Empire agreed to do the re-installation for free.

Since we didn’t trust a carpet crew to move the very expensive equipment while they worked, we agreed on a 2-day installation.

We would clear one room for them on day 1, then move all of the equipment to the first room, clearing the second room for them to work before they arrived on day 2. No problem.

They arrived on day 1 and completed the first room, but they didn’t leave. The carpet crew proceeded to move all of that equipment themselves and finish the second room, completing the job in 1 day for their own convenience. I discovered this only when they were nearly finished.

I yelled for them to stop but the foreman literally refused. It was very difficult to communicate with them, they spoke broken English or none at all. Frustrated, I resigned to let them finish the job.

The crew left our belongings in large, disorganized piles throughout the basement, some of which fell over and collapsed. I photographed all of it and notified the company the same day.

After several days of inventorying the mess, I discovered several thousand dollars in damages to equipment and furniture.

The job itself was notably poorer than the first installation but that’s the least of our concerns, and we’re not allowing this company back into our home for repairs.

The company was completely unresponsive to phone calls and emails for weeks at a time. It’s very important to persist throughout this period, which appears to be this company’s standard operating procedure for claims and complaints. It’s now been months and this company continues to deny any wrongdoing – but they’ve offered us a small monetary fraction of the damages “for inconveniences.”

The crew has lied about their conduct and misrepresented the condition of our home in their photographs, using “after” photos as “before” photos (yet neglecting to provide both sets for us).

We have photo proof to the contrary, of course, and this will be an easy case in court. But the negligence, fraud, theft and destruction for which Empire Today has been responsible throughout this 10-month ordeal has been tremendously frustrating for us.

Find a local crew for your flooring, stay away from Empire.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Don't waste your time and money

Dear David,

We live by the golden rule, and treat our customers that way they would like to be treated. We take ownership to ensure that every customer concern is addressed.

We thank you for making us aware of you experience, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We’ve located your account, and will be further reviewing your concerns.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1540090 Review #1540090 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Ease of contacting management team
Cons
  • Salespeople that pushed their choices on me
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1821
Preferred solution
Full refund

Update by user Jun 21, 2019

UPDATE: Empire Today phoned with an apology and refunded my full deposit amount.

Original review posted by user May 22, 2019

I met with a very friendly salesperson, described what I wanted, went through 2 hours of measuring, picked a product, and put down a deposit. Although I wanted solid hardwood, I agreed to engineered hardwood. Later in reviewing the contract I realized that she had written it up for a floating floor when I had requested nail-down or glue-down. The major difficulty was finding a product that could both cover the floors and also do my stairs. When I called to bring that to her attention she stated it would add $3000 to the cost.

I then requested another salesperson to come out, this time to show me the product I had originally requested (solid hardwood.) In the meantime I pulled up the carpet on the stairs and found good quality wood that just needs staining and refinishing. The salesperson had never bothered to check.

A new salesperson came out. He only showed me one sample set. I asked about 5” width samples and he said “Oh those are exotics and cost too much.” I picked a 3 1/2” sample reluctantly while the salesperson fielded a phone call during which he said “I’ll be able to get right out of here to my next call.” He had been in my house for 15 minutes but it was clear he wasn't interested because the first salesperson was getting the commission. He said I would get a call with the estimate the next day.

I had requested not to have any further contact with the first salesperson because I feel she had pushed me into something I didn’t want and wasn’t listening to my requests. There was also an issue about wall base. I don’t want quarter-round, I want new wall base installed over the new floor. She said that their installers wouldn’t do that. The second salesperson said that they would!

The first salesperson called the next day and wanted to come to my house with the new estimate. As I said, I requested no further contact with her so this is was unacceptable situation.

It’s clear the Empire wants to get any kind of floor in my house whether I like it or not. I am beyond exasperated and finally called the management team and cancelled the whole project. Needless to say I lost an $1800 deposit.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Beware the Padding Swap Scam

Dear Prudence,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish.

We regret to hear your concerns, and assure you that this is not the experience that we wish for our customers. We’ll be following up with you shortly to discuss a resolution.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1536324 Review #1536324 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Installed wrong item, poor customer service
Loss
$1400

If you order anything other than the cheap/basic/economy padding, the installers won't put it in. Instead, they put in the cheap padding.

I didn't pay attention when they installed, but had to cut back some carpet to install flooring and noted that the padding put it was NOT what I had ordered -- I had the premium spill-proof/pet-proof padding. Then the resolution is that they'll replace the padding, but YOU need to move everything out of the room for the installers to replace... or give you $100-150 refund on the "difference in price" for the padding. Which is BS.

I warned my friend about it (whom I had referred to Empire unaware I had been ripped off) and they were doing the SAME THING, except he caught it the day of the install. But the installers were like, "well, this is what the warehouse gave us. We can either install it today or reschedule." My friend was moving in in two days and needed the carpet, so he caved and let them install the crap padding and would then work out something with Corporate. THIS IS A SCAM.

Do not buy from Empire unless you only buy the cheap stuff. And stay strong with your conviction of them wronging you. They try to frustrate you until you just give up (like Comcast). Take to the review pages.

Take it to their Facebook page, bbb.org.

Keep up the good fight. Spread the word about this company!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - No show for estimate and cancelled the next appointment

Dear Susan,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish.

We regret to hear that we kept you waiting, and assure you that this is not the experience that we wish for our customers. We’ll be following up with you shortly to discuss a resolution.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1533636 Review #1533636 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • No show
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I scheduled an appointment for carpet installation estimate for May 11 between 1 pm -- 3 pm. I left a family event to wait for Empire.

No one showed up. I called and was told there was a "scheduling conflict". I asked why I wasn't called and was told "I don't know" I was offered to reschedule for Monday May 13th between 5 pm -- 7 pm. I reluctantly scheduled.

I left work a bit early to make sure I was home.

I received a phone about 4:30 and was told, "The installer called off and would have to reschedule". At that point I stated, no this is bad customer service and will not contact Empire for any carpet needs in the future.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpet: Poor Installation Service

Dear Bill,
Our mission is to make beautiful new floors easy for all of our customers. We put our customers first and act with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish.
We regret to hear about the miscommunication that you received, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ll be following up with you shortly to discuss your experience and start working on a solution.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support.
ID
#1517594 Review #1517594 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
refund part of my price

Empire Carpet installation is not a good experience.

The Empire Carpet salesman assured us that as long as all furniture drawers were empty, the installers would disassemble and more the furniture as needed, all part of the price.

As it turned out, Empire Carpet installation personnel will disassemble and more furniture.

Empire Carpet installation personnel WILL NOT re-assemble and return the furniture to its original place.

After 2 repeat calls to Empire Carpet installation hotline, who re-scheduled 2 new appointments to reassemble and move the furniture back to their original places, Noone Showed Up.

This very important insight will be most useful to the elderly and handicapped.

Keep this in mind if Empire Carpet personnel tell you moving and returning furniture to its original place is part of the cost. My experience shows this is simply not true.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Waited 3 week before installation asked for additional money wrong measurement

Dear Rena,
Our mission is to make beautiful new floors easy for our customers, by striving to resolve all concerns from pre to post installation.
We regret to hear about your experience, and understand that we’ve spoken to you in regards to your concerns. We’ll continue to follow up with you until a solution is reached.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1497817 Review #1497817 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Dishonesty
Reason of review
Order processing issue
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Empire Today salesperson came to our home twice to sell us flooring. We paid $4000 in full.

After a few weeks later Empire salesperson called and demanded $2000 more dollars because he made an error in his measurements. He refused to give us a refund and offered to send two boxes of Linoleum for me to have someone to install at our expense. I was devastated because my husband a disabled veteran who is wheelchair bound and blind. Money was tight already and I trusted this company with our last and they robbed us of $4000.

I am so stressed and can't stop crying. Please recommended a attorney to help us.

This is not fair for a large company to go door to door to deceive our most vulnerable citizens. My email address is dhall1235@bellsouth.net

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Last effort before I initiate arbitration

Dear Walter,

From pre to post installation, we’re committed to consistently providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide, and strive to leave a positive impression from start to finish.

We’re disappointed to hear about your installation experience, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a solution.

Thank you.
-ET Customer Support.
ID
#1488744 Review #1488744 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Almost my entire experience
Reason of review
Multiple issues
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Empire Today - Last effort before I initiate arbitration

False statements made by salesman. Charged for work that was not completed.

Shoddy workmanship. Failed to follow installation best practices. Argumentative installation manager. Unhelpful - dishonest area manager.

Complete lack of response from corporate. Multiple emails sent with no response.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Awful carpet and even worse customer service

Dear Dave,
Our customers are our number one priority, and we’re consistently committed to providing the best quality service nationwide.

We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We’ve located your order, and will be following up with you shortly to discuss your experience. Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1485875 Review #1485875 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service
  • Product quality
Reason of review
bad quality, poor customer service, unresponsive service manager--Stephanie Brown
Loss
$2350
Preferred solution
please contact us to discuss compensation

Awful carpet and even worse customer service. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!

Worst quality carpet I have ever experienced and I have had carpet in my home for over 40 years. Customer service manager does not return calls and unwilling to take calls when made.

PRICES ARE CHEAPER FOR A REASON-- ZERO STAR RATING. STAY AWAY!!

Empire Today's reply to:

"Empire Today Flooring" Does more damage than good!

Dear Prudence,
Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish.
We regret to hear your concerns, and assure you that this is not the experience that we wish for our customers. We’ll be following up with you shortly to discuss a resolution.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1453672 Review #1453672 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$4
Preferred solution
Full refund
"Empire Today Flooring" Does more damage than good!
"Empire Today Flooring" Does more damage than good!

My dispute is with Empire today flooring! I've been a loyal customer for over 20 yrs they've probably laid like 7 floors through the years for me but no more!!

In Sept I had my kitchen and living rm done they damaged over $2000 to my cabinets , damaged molding changed the layout without asking me. It's been a nightmare I have before pictures taken 2 days before (someone told me to take pictures of my wood floor underneath if every I was to sell my house I'm very grateful to her). I've disputed with Chase( and got nowhere) and they also sold me not what I asked for. I have pictures witnesses etc..

I can't believe how I've been treated. My husband works 6 days a week we have also recently found out we were very overcharged. We are good people my husband an ex volunteer fire chief / first responder / Sgt. in the Marine core!!

We NEED someone to help us . I called BBB they said they have over 2,600 complaints but with such a huge company I'm just a bleep! Please make this nightmare ( there's so much more to this story) prevent this from happening to someone else!! Please help us.

Thank you! There are more pictures!

2 comments
Anonymous
#1634559

Hard to belive they are still in business. And there commericals are really getting old 588-2300 EMPIRE! I can remember that all the way back when I was Junior High School.

Anonymous
#1633708

BBB is not what the general public seems to think. It is a no-power do-nothing gripe board who charges businesses for membership and a door sticker.

They are not the Protector of the People or The Commerce Police and have no representative or remunerative authority.

An "urban legend" best describes them. Thousands of complaints to someone with real teeth in their mouth would be headline news.

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Terrible Customer service

Dear Jason,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we strive to make beautiful new floors easy for all of our customers from their initial sales appointment process until post installation.

We regret to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we’d like to further discuss your concerns. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a resolution.

Thank you.
ID
#1414293 Review #1414293 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Empire Today - Terrible Customer service

The salesman came out and did a great job "selling" To bad he was full of it! First part was the financing, he quoted me $27000, to which I agreed.

I then filled out the finance application which was only approved to 19k. That's when he told me that 19k was the most the finance company would lend and the rest would have to be cash or have my wife apply separately. SHOULD HAVE TOLD ME THAT IN ADVANCE. Long story short, the price miraculously dropped $1500...Moving on, he drew up the contract that stated that ALL of the old flooring would be removed and disposed of, the installation would start the following day at 9 and would be finished by mid day on Sunday.

At 11:30 on Saturday the installers showed up and told my wife they would not finish Sunday as they do not work Sundays. Ok, strike two on the salesman but let's keep going. I was going out of town on a business trip and left with confidence in the installer (who were great guys). The project was completed on Tuesday and I got home that evening.

The old floors were not removed, the new floors were simply installed right over the top. The installers told my wife that it was better that way and that it would be a benefit if we ever sold our house?! I called Empire to find out what the deal is and why I was being charged for removal and disposal if it didnt occur. Michelle in customer service stated that they would come back out and remove the old flooring, but could not remove the tile floor in the bathrooms or laundry room (even though the contract clearly stated they would).

I was then told they would actually remove it but then I would have to hire a separate contractor to come out to prep and level those portions of the floor. I let her know that would not happen and if I had been told that in the beginning I would have never agreed. I then told her that I would be utilizing the cancellation agreement portion of the contract, as I was within the time frame (November 14th was the cancel by date) and they could come get their material. The agreement states you can cancel within 3 business days "without penalty or obligation".

Michelle stated that I could cancel but Empire was entitled to come retrieve all of their material. I agreed with her, stated she could come get it, but Empire would need to put my house back to the condition it was in, including repairing the 16 entryway door frames and custom molding surrounds that were cut in order to fit the new floors (I guess they were cut because they wouldn't fit since the old floors weren't removed as required). Michelle said she didnt agree to that. She ended up offering me a reduction of around 7K, said she would talk to her manager and would be calling me back.

NOT TRUSTING A WORD THESE PEOPLE SAY, I went ahead and processed the cancellation agreement, sent a copy to their legal department as required (FedEx with signature required), I also emailed a copy to the salesman and called and verbally notified a customer service rep. As expected I never heard another word from Michelle, I have called multiple times with no success. The last 4 calls I have been told that they were unable to reach Michelle or her manager Paul, but a message was left and one of them would call me back the next day... You guessed it..

NOONE has ever called me back. However, they have processed the financing portion to the tune of 19k, which is not an ammount referenced anywhere in the contract or any other paperwork..

now I have a new floor, that you can still see the old floor underneath in one part.. I have a new floor that has assumed all of the issues of the old floor (warps, creaking, cracking) a new floor that I have to keep hammering down with a rubber mallet because portions keep popping up, and a new floor that makes popping noises when you walk over the transitions from wood to tile!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Ongoing issues with poor installation

Dear Thomas,
We’re committed to consistently providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide. From pre to post installation we work with our customers to ensure their satisfaction.

We regret to hear that your carpet is not meeting your expectations, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ve located your order, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1413074 Review #1413074 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Work Experience or Job Application
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

We had a berber carpet installed throughout our entire downstairs a little over a year ago. Immediately following the installation, I noticed a section in the hall that looked as though the padding was missing. I also noticed that the carpet looked loose in a few different areas. I called Empire's customer service to get the matter fixed. They sent someone out and we were told that the padding folded over when installing the carpet, and that they reinstalled the missing padding.

A few months later, the loose sections of the carpet started to show signs of buckling and I called Empire again. Again, they sent someone out who had to restretch the carpet in one area of the room. In doing so, they also noticed that the original tack strips were not properly installed, and had to repair the tack strips.

After another couple of months I noticed the carpet showing signs of buckling in other parts of the room and also another section that looked like the padding had flattened out. I called and Empire then sent an inspector to my home. The inspector took pics and confirmed that the carpet was poorly installed. I called again after there was no follow up and was told that I needed to provide more specific information about the needed repairs. I noted that I thought that was the purpose of sending an inspector; to get specific information about the needed repairs. We eventually agreed to another date when someone would come to fix the carpet. I took a day off from work only to have no one show up. They did call later in the afternoon to let me know they would have to reschedule.

Long story short, the carpet was poorly installed from the very beginning and has been causing ongoing issues since. Although Empire seems willing to continue to return to "fix" the problem, the problem is ongoing and continues to cause me to take time off from work and be inconvenienced. At some point, they tried to blame it on the fact that it is a berber carpet (which was recommended by their salesperson), when, in fact, it was and continues to be the result of a very poor installation process. I continue to signs of buckling and still have no end to the fixes in sight.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

Dear Richard,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we strive to make beautiful new floors easy from beginning to end for all of our customers.

We’re disappointed to hear about your installation experience, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a solution.

Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#1388705 Review #1388705 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Enitre dealing - never again
  • Poor installation
  • Poor customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$13000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

On 9/13/18 Jamie came to our house for a consultation on hardwood floors for our downstairs and staircase. After much discussion we landed on LVP flooring. At that time we made clear that we wanted white risers to go with our LVP flooring. He indicated that wasn't a problem. I noticed that it wasn't in the contract and when I asked he said that he needed to place a separate order for that but not to worry, he would take care of it, so we scheduled an install date on 9/19/18.

The installers came and completed downstairs LVP installation but didn't have the proper materials for the stair installation. For one, they didn't have enough materials, and for two, they didn't have any record of the white risers for the steps. Downstairs flooring installation was completed on 9/20/18. Installers indicated someone would be in touch to reschedule the stair installation.

On 9/24/18 I called to inquire about the stair installations since no one called me. Was informed that it was scheduled for 10/1/18. I specifically asked if the issues with the correct amount of materials and the white risers was resolved and was told that it was. On 10/1 the installers showed and again had no record of the white risers and didn't have the correct materials. No installation took place that day.

I called the office back and again discussed the issue. Everyone I spoke to claims they have no record of me requesting this despite numerous conversations, but that it would be resolved. Appointment was rescheduled for 10/5/18. Installers came, still had incorrect materials but stated they would flip the risers they brought and paint them white before installing. Installation took place all day on 10/5/18.

After looking at the completed job, I noticed several issues. One of the risers was installed incorrectly and left several gaps in the wood. There are other gaps present as well. Inexplicably, quarter round was installed on the landing and is longer than the step it is installed upon. Many of the treads were poorly cut and even more poorly caulked. Several of the treads are uneven where the 'nose' of the tread is higher than the back part of the tread. There is stray paint and caulking everywhere.

Due to weekend and holiday, I called the office on 10/9/18 regarding these issues. I was told that they took detailed notes of everything and that I should email pictures, which I did. I also set an appointment for 10/18/18 for these items to be addressed. On 10/18/18 the installer arrived and stated he was just there to take pictures and observe the issues but wouldn't be doing any work that day. I said I already emailed pictures and he stated he never got them. After he left I called the office again and explained the issue to the same customer service rep I spoke to on 10/9. She rescheduled the install again for 10/25/18 and assured me that everything would be addressed and that the installation supervisor was now involved. On 10/23 I received a call from a different service rep asking why we had an appointment for 10/25 and if the issues were resolved on 10/18. I explained - again - what took place and told her I spoke to someone on 10/18 who assured me that this would be resolved. She again explained that she had no notes on any of this (a common excuse provided to me at this point) and confirmed my appointment for 10/25.

On 10/25/18 I received a call again from the customer service rep explaining that they would not be able to make the appointment for 10/25 due to needing to bring in a painter to fix the riser. At this point I have lost all confidence as I continue to take off of work while this issue isn't resolved. I asked how painters were going to help and explained that there are several issues that need to be addressed that I've brought up on two calls, and via email with pictures. After being placed on hold I was told that she found my email and it's the first time she's seen it. After asking to speak to a supervisor I was informed (again) that there are no supervisors in that day. In a way I'm not surprised because there must be no one in charge there the way things are run... on the other hand how can there never be any supervisors present ever?

I'm now rescheduled for 10/26/18. I have zero confidence that my issues will be resolved at that time. I have now had to take off of work on 9/19, 9/20, 10/1, 10/5, 10/18, 10/25 and 10/26 (and counting) for an install that I was told would take two days.

I should have heeded the negative reviews of this company. They don't know how to communicate between departments and the contractors they hire for installation are shoddy at best. The take poor notes and blame the customer for anything they don't know because they can't conduct proper record keeping. For $13,000 I expected my floors to look better than something I could have done myself. I will never use Empire again and will tell everyone I know to stay away.