State: California City: Los Angeles Clear all filters (18 of 874 reviews match)
filters
State:
City:
Product:
Show
Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - Return vist to fix original installation - Resolved

Dear Toni,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we work with each of our customers from start to finish until their concerns are answered.

We regret to hear that you remain unsatisfied, and assure you that we take matters such as these very seriously. We’ll further review your request, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1112105 Review #1112105 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor workmanship
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

I have attached a before and after of one areas that was repaired/fixed by the very unprofessional installation. Looks worse now than before the fix.

I do not want Empire Today back to replace the flooring, I want my bill reduced so I can hire professionals to paint and repair the damage caused by the installation and re-do. Now I have been receiving collection phone calls from Empire Today. This has been a nightmare. I have had several contractors from Empire Today look at the installation, I have repeatably asked that the original contractor not return.

But he returned and reluctantly replaced the shoddy work he did from the beginning. I believe it is the luck of the draw when you hire Empire Today.

If they send a good contractor you get a professional installation. I hope this is resolved soon.

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

So many contractors have been sent to fix this unprofessional installation and it is still an unprofessional installation. I have been in communication with the complaint department but this is still not resolved.

The last offer, which was very generous, wants to send another crew and install another new floor.

I have rejected this offer, I want my balance to be reduced and for them to put on strip of quarter round to cover up a very badly cut vinyl. Now I am being threatened with collections.Where do go from here?

Update by user Jan 22, 2018

Empire Today was responsive, but not quickly and I had to wait for a 4 hour window more than once. One time they did not show up at all.

It has not been completed yet but some repairs have been done by a professional. I am requesting that they balance of my bill be reduced and that one more quarter round be installed to cover up the uneven/shoddy cutting of the vinyl at installation. Empire Today offered to pay for the repair to the baseboard with 3 estimates from licensed painting contractors.

I was not able to find a contractor that would only paint small areas. My problem is that it should have been right the first time.

Original review posted by user Oct 08, 2017

After many emails and photos the original installers returned. I had requested that they not return several times.

I had said from the beginning if they thought the installation was done correctly I did not want them back. But that did not matter. The installers were argumentative and even suggested we call someone else to fix it and bill Empire Today. They reluctantly did the work they were sent out to do.

They removed some of the white caulking and replaced some of the qtr. Leaving white caulking and covering it with clear did not work and mitering should have been done at the corners. So it looks better but it is still unprofessional. They also did not take any responsibility for damage at installation.

Tiles were knocked loose and fell off later and chips in the baseboard were new. They did remove the cement from the walls and the door.

I had vinyl installed and it came in one big roll that was difficult to move around, this is why there was other damage. Here are the photos after it was fixed.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - Lazy and Incompetent

Anthony, we’ve attempted to reach out to you to discuss your missed sales appointment, but we have not yet been able to contact you. We regret that you were inconvenienced and did not experience our world-class service. It is our top priority for every customer to be satisfied, and we’d like to make things right with you. If you’d be willing to discuss your experience with us, please email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195, and we’ll follow back with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#305550 Review #305550 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We reside in Los Angeles, Ca and had scheduled an appointment for 10 AM to get a quote for our new home. The rep called to tell use he couldn't make it because of the weather......it was raining.

And what's more funny is that a representative from Home Depot had arrived to give us a quote on something else 15 minutes prior. He even laughed after we explained what just happened with Empire. We called to complain as we do not yet reside in the home and schedule a baby sitter (who also showed up despite the rain). Unfortunately, they indicated that there was only one rep in our area of Granada Hills, CA. We refused to reschedule and decided to go with someone else.

This is true reflection of Empire's work ethic. EXTREMELY LAZY and incompetent. To cancel an appointment due to rain is pathetic. I can't even imagine the quality of the work. This rep should be terminated.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today installers stole my wedding ring

Georgina, thank you for making us aware of your concerns, we understand that we were in contact with you about this issue previously. We have attempted to contact you to discuss your concerns, but we have been unable to reach you. If you have any questions or would like to discuss this issue further, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#303892 Review #303892 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Apr 14, 2012

Have not had any attempts to reach me. Why would I call you? I already got the slap in the face with the \"too bad.\"

Original review posted by user Mar 11, 2012

I had my master bath tiled by Empire Today. I was home during the entire time & would periodically check on them.

There were at least 6 workers. After they left, I noticed my jewelry box drawer askew slightly. I opened it to check & could not find my wedding ring anywhere. I had put it in there in the morning as I don't wear it when I am home & cleaning.

I turned my house upside down looking for it. I called Empire & was told to notify the police. I had an officer come & take a report. I called Empire again & was told that I had no proof their employees took it (it was there in the morning & gone when they left).

They said too bad, they were not going to do anything about it.

So much for "licensed & bonded." I had to use my homeowner's insurance to replace it. I will never use Empire Today & continue to tell everyone I know to stay away.

Empire Today's reply to:

Conplaint against Empire Today sibstandard shower stall installation

Yolande, although it has been a few years since your installation, we do apologize for the problems you’ve had with your bathroom. It’s our understanding that we’re agreed on a resolution. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#272807 Review #272807 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$5

Complaint about Empire Today

Following a leak into my downstairs neighbors' unit, it was determined (by 2 plumbers) that the shower they installed 4 and a half years ago was installed very poorly, and the shower pan was sinking around the drain, breaking the seal and thus causing the leak. The pan needs to be re-installed, or another pan installed.

My insurance company talked to them. I put in a service request on 10/26/11, and was told someone would contact me within 1-3 business days. Noone did. I called again on Oct. 31, and the earliest day a plumber would come, their employee said, was Friday, Nov. 3. The appointment was made for 2 PM.

Today, Nov. 3, their plumber called before 8 am to tell me the person who was supposed to come "had a family emergency" and could only come Sat., nov. 4 in the morning. I refused; I received another call again a few minutes later, just before 8 AM, and was told that someone was on his way and would arrive at 9 am... 20 mins later, their plumber called again, saying the #5 Freeway was very slow, and he would be late. When I told him he messed up my day, he told me I "messed up his day too". 1) How professional is that? 2) It is now 10:20 AM, and noone has showed up. Somehow, I very much doubt that I will see today a plumber from Empire Today.

It is obvious that Empire Today is are failing to fulfill their responsibilities, that the shower stall was not installed according to professional standards, and that I incurred a major prejudice, through their fault. My shower has been non-operational for several weeks.

Empire Today seems incapable of sending me a COMPETENT PERSON, WHO COMES AT THE STATED TIME, so that my shower pan can be replaced properly and professionally. I will need to have the work done by a licensed plumber of my choice and have them pay the bill. Since I have the feeling that I would have difficulty recovering that money, I am filing a complaint with the BBB, and/or filing a legal procedure against Empire Today; I will also request that their license be revoked. I will not only claim financial damages, but personal and emotional prejudice. All the more since I already had a leak problem right after they installed the shower in May 2007.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - Warranty not upheld and high pressure sales

Sarah, I’m very sorry to hear about the issues you’ve had with your product. We always want our customers to be happy with their finished homes and want to work with you towards a solution. Although we do offer a manufacturer and one year installation warranty on all of our products, some conditions do apply. I understand that an inspector did come out last week and that we’ve spoken to you and offered a repair. If you’re interested, please call us back at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empirtoday.com. We look forward to finding a satisfying resolution together.
Review
#252140 Review #252140 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Sales man Corey Price came to our house to do an estimate for laminate flooring. We told him our concern was that we had carpet in the dining room and if our dogs had an accident on the floor it was difficult to get all the way up.

Corey said he too had dogs and recommended we get wood laminate because it is great for pets. He said there is no issue with clean up and the flooring even had a 25 year warranty against moisture. He then talked us into looking into doing our whole downstairs because of the fact that this flooring was so great for people with pets. We decided to see how much it was, he quoted us $11,000!

This was way out of our budget and way more than our neighbors had paid for their floors. So Corey kept going down and down on the price. Finally my husband and I decided that even though the most recent price was still about $1500 more than what our neighbors paid we decided to go ahead and get it done because we figured that part of what we were paying for was the great warranty and the fact that it was a larger company we figured that they stood behind their warranty. It has now been about 3.5 months since the product was installed and we are getting bubbling in some areas and also where the edges meet each other the flooring is lifting.

I called Empire and they came out and did an inspection. They said that the bubbling was from the pets and they said they couldn't see where I was having the lifting. He said that the bubbling was not covered under the warranty and that if we wanted it fix we would have to pay to have it done. He didn't care that the sales man had sold us on the fact that the flooring was great for pets, not only sold us on it but also convinced us to do our living room in the flooring too, when we would rather have carpet if our pets will damage either one.

Aside from that their are areas that I know for sure where not caused by my dogs in the kitchen but the inspector wouldn't acknowledge that. Also when I kept reminding him that we were having lifting too he said that he did not see what I saw. So I guess their warranty tactic is find and way out, deny, deny, deny or just change the subject. I am very disappointed with the service and sales tactics.

We were flat out lied to and now we are being to asked to pay additional money for flooring we haven't even had for half a year.

Buyers beware, they sub out all the work and the only way anyone in that company makes any money is if they pull one over on you. Then when a problem comes a long they point fingers and the consumer is the one that pays the price!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - Lies and Deceit

Russ, we’re sorry our pricing didn’t meet your expectations. Keep in mind, our pricing not only includes the product cost but also includes measuring, installation, labor and any other services you’ve requested. We also offer to match any competitor’s pricing as long as certain conditions are met. We’d like to speak with you to address your concerns and see if you’d reconsider using us for your home improvements. I understand we did try to reach out to you yesterday. Could you please call us back at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com so we may follow back with you? Thank you. I look forward to speaking with you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#251517 Review #251517 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Very disappointed with Empire Today. They stated they were having a sale of 75% off flooring. The quote for my 1,000 sq. foot condo was $21,000. What a Rip Off! After complaining to customer service, nothing was mentioned to reduce the price. The next quote from a reputable contractor was $7,000. BIG DIFFERENCE.

I am surprised Empire is still in business with all their lies and deceit.

Now I have to add 25 words for this information is submitted. They must want more negative attention and unsatisfied customers. This is ridiculously ***. Please stay away from them.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Ripoff

Mary, I have read your post and apologize for your experience with our sales representative and installation team. After reviewing your history in our system, it is my understanding that our local manager contacted you regarding your concerns. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we want to work towards a resolution. We are always available to to answer any questions you have regarding your order or Empire. We would like to follow back with you to review your order and the amount of product that was installed. If you could contact me at your earliest convenience, then we can better continue working on a resolution together. You can email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#207502 Review #207502 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I fell for the 'Empire Today' advertised promotion ("buy 1 rm, get 2 free"). Of course, when the salesman showed up, he explained that this applied to a lower grade of product than we had desired.

But, that was not the major issue. After selecting carpet for 4 rooms, the unscrupulous salesman came up with a $ amount that sounded semi-reasonable to us (of course, we hadn't shopped around), though the paperwork he provided us did not specify sq. footage. Well, bottom line is, he ordered so much extra carpet for us that there was enough left over to carpet another room!

The installers were willing to install it for us at the cost of extra padding. We agreed, but asked them to come back in 2 weeks to install. 2 weeks went by and the installer called to say his partner actually installed the extra carpet in his own home!

I didn't even know how to go about complaining to Empire Today and figured they'd only give me the runaround. So instead, I am warning everyone I can to stay far, far away from this ripoff company.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today faux wood blinds - overpriced and poor quality

Ms. Kim, I have read your post regarding your faux wood blinds. I was able to locate your account information in our system and understand that we have followed back with you and reached a mutually agreed upon resolution. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to Empire, and I am happy that we were able to address your concerns. If you need additional assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk – National Customer Service Manager
Review
#203684 Review #203684 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I should have done my research here before scheduling an in-home estimate with Empire Today. We needed wood blinds and I figured they were a huge company who seemed to pride themselves on Customer Service.

We needed blinds in our dining room, kitchen and 2 bedrooms. The windows in the bedrooms are split vertically (one window on top of another small window, with a gap of wall in between). Technically 6 windows total, 2 of the (lower) windows being VERY small (approx 50" wide by 24"). The other windows are also fairly small (approx 50" wide x 40")

The estimate for wood blinds was $2500!! We had no choice but to downgrade to faux wood, which still came in at a whopping $1700.

After the installer came, I was shocked at the quality and style of the valances, and upset that the Salesperson did not one mention or show us how they looked. If I had know I would NOT have placed the order. They were large and stuck out of the wall, were crooked and were hanging on plastic hinges.

The worst part is that they are easily removed and/or pulled off of the two lower windows in my children's bedrooms. My 3 year old son already pulled his off so we had to remove them which exposes the ugly brown metal top of the blind.

I called to complain and was promptly called back. The customer service agent, Daisy, seemed to be concerned and helpful. She said she would call the installer and see if there was anything they could do about the valances. Sadly, I never heard from here again.

I wish I could return these blinds or at least be offered a partial refund for the poor quality of valances. These are a very important aspect to the design and look of the blinds.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today sells ***

I understand that you have an inspection scheduled for your laminate flooring. We are always available to help. If possible, would you be able to contact me at your earliest convenience, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager All our products are installed by professionals backed by manufacturer product and installation warranties. If there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or service of the installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution. If there are concerns that are brought to our attention, we sometimes provide an outside certified inspection company in to review the area(s) in question. Once the inspection and results are completed and depending on the outcome of the results, we can determine if it was a service or product related issue. If this is identified, Empire will address and fix the concern. Sometimes, however, issues arise that are not related to our product or installation. If that occurs, we will review the information with the customers and sometimes discuss options for assisting in fixing the problem.
Review
#191488 Review #191488 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I had laminate flooring and carpeting installed in July 2008, two years later the carpet looks like it is 20 yrs old and the flooring is coming up at the edges and empire will do nothing about it. The warranty is junk that they give you and they want $75.00 to come out and inspect the damage.

I have been waiting for two weeks for someone to call for inspection.

Turned them in to the BBB, buyer beware, they lie about their products, send illegal Mexicans to do install and their warranty is junk. I am raging over this.

Contact Empire Today Customer Service

Mailing Address:
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, Illinois 60164
United States
All Empire Today Contacts

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - The worst service and the worst product

We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you. The situation you described is not how we handle our scheduled appointments or customer service. As a member of the Customer Service Management Team for Empire, I am sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and I would like the opportunity to speak with you. Empire products come with installation and manufacturer warranties. Should a problem arise with the quality of the installation or product, we will work with you to address the concern and assist in providing a resolution. Since we do not have your contact information, would you please contact me so we can work with you to make things right? Please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me directly at 888-588-2315 x 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#179141 Review #179141 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1500

I purchased window blinds from your company (first mistake) I had to have them repaired the very next month. Since then they have been out 2 times.

Now I made an appt for them to come back and fix them, never showed up, made another appt and they never showed up. I live in LA and my condo is in Palm Springs, I had to drive down there to wait for them and they never showed. Cost me gas, time off from work to sit there and wait for nothing. I called again today and wanted to make another appt, she then informs me that it would be a 75$ service charge...so what about my time and money that I spent waiting for them to show up.

I will never use your company again, and will make sure that my frinds and family dont either.. Empire Carpet Suckes!!!