State: California Clear all filters (76 of 874 reviews match)
filters
State:
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in San Francisco, California - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

Dear Richard,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we strive to make beautiful new floors easy from beginning to end for all of our customers.

We’re disappointed to hear about your installation experience, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a solution.

Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1388705 Review #1388705 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor installation
  • Enitre dealing - never again
  • Poor customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$13000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

On 9/13/18 Jamie came to our house for a consultation on hardwood floors for our downstairs and staircase. After much discussion we landed on LVP flooring. At that time we made clear that we wanted white risers to go with our LVP flooring. He indicated that wasn't a problem. I noticed that it wasn't in the contract and when I asked he said that he needed to place a separate order for that but not to worry, he would take care of it, so we scheduled an install date on 9/19/18.

The installers came and completed downstairs LVP installation but didn't have the proper materials for the stair installation. For one, they didn't have enough materials, and for two, they didn't have any record of the white risers for the steps. Downstairs flooring installation was completed on 9/20/18. Installers indicated someone would be in touch to reschedule the stair installation.

On 9/24/18 I called to inquire about the stair installations since no one called me. Was informed that it was scheduled for 10/1/18. I specifically asked if the issues with the correct amount of materials and the white risers was resolved and was told that it was. On 10/1 the installers showed and again had no record of the white risers and didn't have the correct materials. No installation took place that day.

I called the office back and again discussed the issue. Everyone I spoke to claims they have no record of me requesting this despite numerous conversations, but that it would be resolved. Appointment was rescheduled for 10/5/18. Installers came, still had incorrect materials but stated they would flip the risers they brought and paint them white before installing. Installation took place all day on 10/5/18.

After looking at the completed job, I noticed several issues. One of the risers was installed incorrectly and left several gaps in the wood. There are other gaps present as well. Inexplicably, quarter round was installed on the landing and is longer than the step it is installed upon. Many of the treads were poorly cut and even more poorly caulked. Several of the treads are uneven where the 'nose' of the tread is higher than the back part of the tread. There is stray paint and caulking everywhere.

Due to weekend and holiday, I called the office on 10/9/18 regarding these issues. I was told that they took detailed notes of everything and that I should email pictures, which I did. I also set an appointment for 10/18/18 for these items to be addressed. On 10/18/18 the installer arrived and stated he was just there to take pictures and observe the issues but wouldn't be doing any work that day. I said I already emailed pictures and he stated he never got them. After he left I called the office again and explained the issue to the same customer service rep I spoke to on 10/9. She rescheduled the install again for 10/25/18 and assured me that everything would be addressed and that the installation supervisor was now involved. On 10/23 I received a call from a different service rep asking why we had an appointment for 10/25 and if the issues were resolved on 10/18. I explained - again - what took place and told her I spoke to someone on 10/18 who assured me that this would be resolved. She again explained that she had no notes on any of this (a common excuse provided to me at this point) and confirmed my appointment for 10/25.

On 10/25/18 I received a call again from the customer service rep explaining that they would not be able to make the appointment for 10/25 due to needing to bring in a painter to fix the riser. At this point I have lost all confidence as I continue to take off of work while this issue isn't resolved. I asked how painters were going to help and explained that there are several issues that need to be addressed that I've brought up on two calls, and via email with pictures. After being placed on hold I was told that she found my email and it's the first time she's seen it. After asking to speak to a supervisor I was informed (again) that there are no supervisors in that day. In a way I'm not surprised because there must be no one in charge there the way things are run... on the other hand how can there never be any supervisors present ever?

I'm now rescheduled for 10/26/18. I have zero confidence that my issues will be resolved at that time. I have now had to take off of work on 9/19, 9/20, 10/1, 10/5, 10/18, 10/25 and 10/26 (and counting) for an install that I was told would take two days.

I should have heeded the negative reviews of this company. They don't know how to communicate between departments and the contractors they hire for installation are shoddy at best. The take poor notes and blame the customer for anything they don't know because they can't conduct proper record keeping. For $13,000 I expected my floors to look better than something I could have done myself. I will never use Empire again and will tell everyone I know to stay away.

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - Return vist to fix original installation - Resolved

Dear Toni,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we work with each of our customers from start to finish until their concerns are answered.

We regret to hear that you remain unsatisfied, and assure you that we take matters such as these very seriously. We’ll further review your request, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1112105 Review #1112105 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor workmanship
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

I have attached a before and after of one areas that was repaired/fixed by the very unprofessional installation. Looks worse now than before the fix.

I do not want Empire Today back to replace the flooring, I want my bill reduced so I can hire professionals to paint and repair the damage caused by the installation and re-do. Now I have been receiving collection phone calls from Empire Today. This has been a nightmare. I have had several contractors from Empire Today look at the installation, I have repeatably asked that the original contractor not return.

But he returned and reluctantly replaced the shoddy work he did from the beginning. I believe it is the luck of the draw when you hire Empire Today.

If they send a good contractor you get a professional installation. I hope this is resolved soon.

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

So many contractors have been sent to fix this unprofessional installation and it is still an unprofessional installation. I have been in communication with the complaint department but this is still not resolved.

The last offer, which was very generous, wants to send another crew and install another new floor.

I have rejected this offer, I want my balance to be reduced and for them to put on strip of quarter round to cover up a very badly cut vinyl. Now I am being threatened with collections.Where do go from here?

Update by user Jan 22, 2018

Empire Today was responsive, but not quickly and I had to wait for a 4 hour window more than once. One time they did not show up at all.

It has not been completed yet but some repairs have been done by a professional. I am requesting that they balance of my bill be reduced and that one more quarter round be installed to cover up the uneven/shoddy cutting of the vinyl at installation. Empire Today offered to pay for the repair to the baseboard with 3 estimates from licensed painting contractors.

I was not able to find a contractor that would only paint small areas. My problem is that it should have been right the first time.

Original review posted by user Oct 08, 2017

After many emails and photos the original installers returned. I had requested that they not return several times.

I had said from the beginning if they thought the installation was done correctly I did not want them back. But that did not matter. The installers were argumentative and even suggested we call someone else to fix it and bill Empire Today. They reluctantly did the work they were sent out to do.

They removed some of the white caulking and replaced some of the qtr. Leaving white caulking and covering it with clear did not work and mitering should have been done at the corners. So it looks better but it is still unprofessional. They also did not take any responsibility for damage at installation.

Tiles were knocked loose and fell off later and chips in the baseboard were new. They did remove the cement from the walls and the door.

I had vinyl installed and it came in one big roll that was difficult to move around, this is why there was other damage. Here are the photos after it was fixed.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Palo Alto, California - The worst Flooring Company in Monterey/Santa Cruz County I have Encountered

Dear Paul,

We are dedicated to achieving our vision of becoming America’s first and best choice for installed flooring. This vision could not be possible without customers like you, therefore our goal is to ensure that all customer concerns get addressed.

We appreciate you making us aware of your experience, and we’ll be following up with you shortly to start working towards a resolution.
Thank you for your patience.

-ET Customer Support
Review
#1052081 Review #1052081 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • No corporate oversite
  • Not accountability broken promises waste my time twice
  • Idiots
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

It would appear that the main reason Empire Today runs all of those TV and Radio commercials is to attract more customers than they scare away?? In my case I wanted to schedule an estimate.

All of the other floor companies would send a person to do the measurements, then a follow up meeting to review the different product options. I work +50 miles from my house. I have a key lock box with an alarm system that can be turned off with my cell phone. Empire would not schedule an appointment unless I was there.

So we scheduled on the weekend. The sent numerous emails and text message reminders. The day of the appointment, the sales person was a no show. I called and was told he was sick and could not make it, but no call.

The next week same thing, an appointment that they never showed up at or called. When I call, I was told that inspite of all of the emails and text messages, the "sales manager did not assign a representative to my appointment" They lied. This is actually a good sign. I would assume that if I hired them, this apparent corporate culture of wasting the time of potential customer, would only blossom if I was an actual customer??

Good thing I did not need to find out too late in the game. Consider your options......RUN AWAY!!!!!

Dear Darlene, We are disappointed to hear that your most recent experience has not been a positive one. We will be following up with you soon to learn more. Thank you for your patience.
View full review
Review
#955831 Review #955831 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from San Clemente, California

Dear Customer,
We have read your review and we'd like to address your concerns. Unfortunately, we've been unsuccessful in locating your account with the information in your post. Please email your contact and account information to customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we'll be happy to reach out to you. Please mention PC in the subject line.
Thank you.
Review
#951866 Review #951866 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

Had laminate flooring installed in three areas.Now it is curling and buckling in numerous areas.Called and complained.They are sending crew out to make repairs.Hope they get it right,or will get refund for flooring.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Apple Valley, California - Worst Flooring Company EVER!!!

Dear Dawn,
We are disappointed to hear that your product did not meet your expectations. Our records show that we have been in contact with you since your last posting. If you continue to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#938786 Review #938786 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Quickness of install
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$3000
Preferred solution
Full refund

I have used Empire twice (because I believe everyone deserves a second chance) but both times my install jobs were a nightmare! The first time a couple of guys who spoke no English showed up in a beater truck with Washington plates at 9 AM--and at 9 PM they were still trying to figure out how to lay the tile!When the job was finished the tiles didn't match up and they had glued cheap plastic edging over my existing baseboards with a reddish adhesive smeared everywhere--it looks a mess.

Years later I thought I'd try them again for carpet--after all--how hard could that be?

The first day they showed up and tore out all my old carpet only to discover they didn't have enough new carpet to do the job! The second day they showed up, threw the stuff down and took off in a rush--with a half-*** install job which is now lumping and sliding down the stairs!

I called customer service and they sent someone out who told me it had been installed incorrectly over the wrong padding and the whole job would need to be redone. Three weeks later--no word from anyone.

I call again and I am told by some snippy little customer service girl that the notes say the problem was caused by "pet damage" and they aren't going to do anything about it!!! I asked her if anyone bothered to look at the pictures and maybe notice the problem has nothing to do with "pet damage" and she says she will call me back the same day--a week later still not a word! I am now going to report this to the BBB because Empire's customer service is the worst and I am stuck making monthly payments on carpet that looks terrible!

STAY AWAY FROM EMPIRE TODAY! That's the jingle their commercials should use!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from Carmichael, California

Dear Erin,
We sincerely regret that your installation had a rocky start. We are aware that we have addressed your concerns. Feel free to contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com if you continue to have questions regarding your experience.
Thank you.
Review
#926791 Review #926791 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy

I was first helped by an amazing sales representative, Vicki, who dig a great job helping me choose flooring for my whole house. I was getting 2 rooms and my hallway done with hardwood and 4 bedrooms with new carpet.

The installation date was for the following Wednesday and Thursday for the hardwood and the following week on Wednesday for the carpet. On the morning of the first Wednesday I got a call an hour into the appointment window telling me they did not get the shipment in and they were cancelling the appointment. Irritated, I spoke to the manager, Matthew. He apologized and gave me a $200 credit, about 2% of the total cost, and promised my house would be complete by the 1st of October.

I moved all the small things out of the 6 rooms only to hear back that the shipment still did not come in add promised.

When I called back and spoke to Matthew for the second time, he told me to choose a different flooring. I can now not get ahold of anyone from Empire to help me.

I am very dissatisfied with the service. I'm currently looking for a full refund and I'll choose another company to help with my house.

Dear Rick, We regret your experience, but understand that we have spoken to you in regards to your product concerns. For future questions or inquires please contact customersupport@empiretoday.com with your concerns and account information. Thank you.
View full review
Review
#918805 Review #918805 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Chula Vista, California - Awful customer service

Dear Customer,
We regret to hear that you feel this way and assure you that we want to help. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account with the information given. Please email your concerns to customersupport@empiretoday.com for further assistance.
Thank you.
Review
#914805 Review #914805 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Tags
  • Flooring Installation

You will probably find the initial contact to be extremely positive, polite and cordial but after installation and overcharging you, you will never hear from them.

Forget claims o credits!!

This is a company so far away from following up with their promises. Save yourself all the painful dealings with a bureaucratic, awful company. The fact that the company doesn't have an office or place were you can walk in and complaint, makes them feel empowered. Customer service never answers, and when they do, they have the worst attitude. They won't put you through any managers, they will leave you on hold until you hang up.

Your salesperson sho claims to be a sales manager at the sales appointment, will never call you back.

I believe the company has no clue how to run a true customer service oriented business. You will hear about their customer service comparison to apple......do not believe that. The customer service resembles a Wal-Mart. Truly disappointed.

Stay away!!!

Contact Empire Today Customer Service

Mailing Address:
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, Illinois 60164
United States
All Empire Today Contacts

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from Rancho Cordova, California

Dear Customer,
We are disappointed to hear that your product did not meet your expectations. We understand that you have requested to cancel your order. If you continue to have questions or concerns about your experience, please contact us at customersupport@empire-today.com.
Thank you.
Review
#912579 Review #912579 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from Rancho Cordova, California
Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from Rancho Cordova, California
Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from Rancho Cordova, California
Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from Rancho Cordova, California
Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from Rancho Cordova, California
Empire Today - Flooring Installation Review from Rancho Cordova, California

That installments the worst job I've ever seen pictures will speak for themselves. We decided to cancel the contract after the work we seen after they flooded our kitchen counter have an a person here that didn't work for the company we have more pictures you can feel were they did fill in the floor bad job for $1615 not even cuts