Rating: 2 Stars Clear all filters (70 of 872 reviews match)
Filter by rating
filters
Product:
Show
Rating:
Dear David, We live by the golden rule, and treat our customers that way they would like to be treated. We take ownership to ensure that every customer concern is addressed. We thank you for making us aware of you experience, and sincerely apologize for the...
View full review
Review
#1540090 Review #1540090 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Hardwood Flooring
Tags
  • Bad Salespeople
Empire Today - Last effort before I initiate arbitration
Dear Walter, From pre to post installation, we’re committed to consistently providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide, and strive to leave a positive impression from start to finish. We’re disappointed to hear about your installation experience,...
View full review
Review
#1488744 Review #1488744 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Stone Mountain, Georgia - Terrible Customer service

Dear Jason,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we strive to make beautiful new floors easy for all of our customers from their initial sales appointment process until post installation.

We regret to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we’d like to further discuss your concerns. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a resolution.

Thank you.
Review
#1414293 Review #1414293 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Empire Today - Terrible Customer service

The salesman came out and did a great job "selling" To bad he was full of it! First part was the financing, he quoted me $27000, to which I agreed.

I then filled out the finance application which was only approved to 19k. That's when he told me that 19k was the most the finance company would lend and the rest would have to be cash or have my wife apply separately. SHOULD HAVE TOLD ME THAT IN ADVANCE. Long story short, the price miraculously dropped $1500...Moving on, he drew up the contract that stated that ALL of the old flooring would be removed and disposed of, the installation would start the following day at 9 and would be finished by mid day on Sunday.

At 11:30 on Saturday the installers showed up and told my wife they would not finish Sunday as they do not work Sundays. Ok, strike two on the salesman but let's keep going. I was going out of town on a business trip and left with confidence in the installer (who were great guys). The project was completed on Tuesday and I got home that evening.

The old floors were not removed, the new floors were simply installed right over the top. The installers told my wife that it was better that way and that it would be a benefit if we ever sold our house?! I called Empire to find out what the deal is and why I was being charged for removal and disposal if it didnt occur. Michelle in customer service stated that they would come back out and remove the old flooring, but could not remove the tile floor in the bathrooms or laundry room (even though the contract clearly stated they would).

I was then told they would actually remove it but then I would have to hire a separate contractor to come out to prep and level those portions of the floor. I let her know that would not happen and if I had been told that in the beginning I would have never agreed. I then told her that I would be utilizing the cancellation agreement portion of the contract, as I was within the time frame (November 14th was the cancel by date) and they could come get their material. The agreement states you can cancel within 3 business days "without penalty or obligation".

Michelle stated that I could cancel but Empire was entitled to come retrieve all of their material. I agreed with her, stated she could come get it, but Empire would need to put my house back to the condition it was in, including repairing the 16 entryway door frames and custom molding surrounds that were cut in order to fit the new floors (I guess they were cut because they wouldn't fit since the old floors weren't removed as required). Michelle said she didnt agree to that. She ended up offering me a reduction of around 7K, said she would talk to her manager and would be calling me back.

NOT TRUSTING A WORD THESE PEOPLE SAY, I went ahead and processed the cancellation agreement, sent a copy to their legal department as required (FedEx with signature required), I also emailed a copy to the salesman and called and verbally notified a customer service rep. As expected I never heard another word from Michelle, I have called multiple times with no success. The last 4 calls I have been told that they were unable to reach Michelle or her manager Paul, but a message was left and one of them would call me back the next day... You guessed it..

NOONE has ever called me back. However, they have processed the financing portion to the tune of 19k, which is not an ammount referenced anywhere in the contract or any other paperwork..

now I have a new floor, that you can still see the old floor underneath in one part.. I have a new floor that has assumed all of the issues of the old floor (warps, creaking, cracking) a new floor that I have to keep hammering down with a rubber mallet because portions keep popping up, and a new floor that makes popping noises when you walk over the transitions from wood to tile!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in San Francisco, California - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

Dear Richard,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we strive to make beautiful new floors easy from beginning to end for all of our customers.

We’re disappointed to hear about your installation experience, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a solution.

Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1388705 Review #1388705 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor installation
  • Poor customer service
  • Enitre dealing - never again
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$13000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

On 9/13/18 Jamie came to our house for a consultation on hardwood floors for our downstairs and staircase. After much discussion we landed on LVP flooring. At that time we made clear that we wanted white risers to go with our LVP flooring. He indicated that wasn't a problem. I noticed that it wasn't in the contract and when I asked he said that he needed to place a separate order for that but not to worry, he would take care of it, so we scheduled an install date on 9/19/18.

The installers came and completed downstairs LVP installation but didn't have the proper materials for the stair installation. For one, they didn't have enough materials, and for two, they didn't have any record of the white risers for the steps. Downstairs flooring installation was completed on 9/20/18. Installers indicated someone would be in touch to reschedule the stair installation.

On 9/24/18 I called to inquire about the stair installations since no one called me. Was informed that it was scheduled for 10/1/18. I specifically asked if the issues with the correct amount of materials and the white risers was resolved and was told that it was. On 10/1 the installers showed and again had no record of the white risers and didn't have the correct materials. No installation took place that day.

I called the office back and again discussed the issue. Everyone I spoke to claims they have no record of me requesting this despite numerous conversations, but that it would be resolved. Appointment was rescheduled for 10/5/18. Installers came, still had incorrect materials but stated they would flip the risers they brought and paint them white before installing. Installation took place all day on 10/5/18.

After looking at the completed job, I noticed several issues. One of the risers was installed incorrectly and left several gaps in the wood. There are other gaps present as well. Inexplicably, quarter round was installed on the landing and is longer than the step it is installed upon. Many of the treads were poorly cut and even more poorly caulked. Several of the treads are uneven where the 'nose' of the tread is higher than the back part of the tread. There is stray paint and caulking everywhere.

Due to weekend and holiday, I called the office on 10/9/18 regarding these issues. I was told that they took detailed notes of everything and that I should email pictures, which I did. I also set an appointment for 10/18/18 for these items to be addressed. On 10/18/18 the installer arrived and stated he was just there to take pictures and observe the issues but wouldn't be doing any work that day. I said I already emailed pictures and he stated he never got them. After he left I called the office again and explained the issue to the same customer service rep I spoke to on 10/9. She rescheduled the install again for 10/25/18 and assured me that everything would be addressed and that the installation supervisor was now involved. On 10/23 I received a call from a different service rep asking why we had an appointment for 10/25 and if the issues were resolved on 10/18. I explained - again - what took place and told her I spoke to someone on 10/18 who assured me that this would be resolved. She again explained that she had no notes on any of this (a common excuse provided to me at this point) and confirmed my appointment for 10/25.

On 10/25/18 I received a call again from the customer service rep explaining that they would not be able to make the appointment for 10/25 due to needing to bring in a painter to fix the riser. At this point I have lost all confidence as I continue to take off of work while this issue isn't resolved. I asked how painters were going to help and explained that there are several issues that need to be addressed that I've brought up on two calls, and via email with pictures. After being placed on hold I was told that she found my email and it's the first time she's seen it. After asking to speak to a supervisor I was informed (again) that there are no supervisors in that day. In a way I'm not surprised because there must be no one in charge there the way things are run... on the other hand how can there never be any supervisors present ever?

I'm now rescheduled for 10/26/18. I have zero confidence that my issues will be resolved at that time. I have now had to take off of work on 9/19, 9/20, 10/1, 10/5, 10/18, 10/25 and 10/26 (and counting) for an install that I was told would take two days.

I should have heeded the negative reviews of this company. They don't know how to communicate between departments and the contractors they hire for installation are shoddy at best. The take poor notes and blame the customer for anything they don't know because they can't conduct proper record keeping. For $13,000 I expected my floors to look better than something I could have done myself. I will never use Empire again and will tell everyone I know to stay away.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Overall negative

Dear Lisa,

Our goal is to provide each customer with the best quality service. We work with our customers from start to finish to ensure that our mission of making beautiful new floors easy is achieved.

We sincerely regret to hear about your experience. We appreciate your feedback, and we’ll be reviewing your concerns.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1295473 Review #1295473 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Had carpet installed prior to listing our house for sale. The installers did not meet the original appointment time and when they showed up they didn’t have the proper materials and had to reschedule.

During the install furniture was damaged but no one took responsibility although the contractor offered to pay for the repair. They did not vacuum, there were staples left every where and left garbage all over our yard. We had to hire someone to come back and do a second cleaning before we could list the house.

No one from empire ever followed up to see how things went. I am now ready to replace the floors in our new house but don’t am very hesitant of getting a quote from them again.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Cleveland, Ohio - Disappointing Experience

Dear Jessica,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. From pre to post installation, we strive to make our customer’s experience as easy as can be.

We apologize for your installation delay, and understand that your job has been completed to your satisfaction. If you continue to have questions and/or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empire-today.com.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1290728 Review #1290728 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Ineffective customer service
  • Extremely unprofessional
  • Unable to reschedule
Reason of review
Poor customer service, problem with delivery
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Tags
  • Delays

Had to take the day off of work yesterday for our appointment with empire to carpet our bedroom, waited all day for them to come. First they tried to cancel because they had overbooked, but then they offered to do the appointment if we were able to stay all night for them to complete the job.

They finally showed up after 5pm and then promptly left, because they had not already cut the carpet with our measurements, refused to do it in our large finished basement, and it had rained earlier in the day so they could not do it outside. They gave us the number to their home office to reschedule, but they were already closed for the day. Called customer service and they had absolutely no ability to help. All they were able to do is attempt to reschedule for a few weeks away.

We have had to delay finishing our hardwood floors now for days until this gets figured out. This whole experience has been completely off putting and unprofessional.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - DISGUSTED

Dear Kathleen,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we assure you that we work with our customers from start to finish until their concerns are addressed.

We regret to hear that you remain unsatisfied, and are aware that we’re currently working with you to find the most adequate solution. We’ll continue to review your concerns, and will be in touch with you shortly.

Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1219610 Review #1219610 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Ripped me off and still lying to me
  • Fast scheduling
Cons
  • Intentional electronic transactions so you get no paperwork
  • False advertising
  • Never use them again
Reason of review
switched product and didn't show me brfore installing
Loss
$4600
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Project manager (who had my flooring) was 2 hours later than installers and started the installation without showing me the product. Flooring was red, not brown and almost completely installed before I saw him or the flooring.

I am so disgusted. I've been trying to finish this project for 2 months now and to have this happen now after painting my whole condo, and with so much stuff in my living room for this long is just ridiculous. Looks like they switched the product. The name of the product was Newport, but they brought Bruce to my home.

I, in good faith paid cash for this project... Won't do that again! Waiting to see how long this will take and how they will handle this.

I want my floors replaced or to be reimbursed minus the installation so I can get this project done... I will try to update soon...

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Very disappointed

Dear Cindy,
For over 55 years we’ve been committed to providing outstanding customer service from start to finish. Our mission is to make beautiful new floors easy for all of customers and we accomplish this by putting our customers first.
We’re disappointed to hear about the delay in your installation, and regret to hear that you’ve decided to cancel your order. This is not the experience we wish for our customers, and we’ll be further investigating your concerns.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1121808 Review #1121808 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We met with Dinah to review samples and schedule our installation. Due to the challenges with the layout in our home we scheduled the installation over 2 days and included the installers to move the furniture.

I spoke with an Empire represenative 2 days before the install to confirm the plan. On the first day off the install we had prepared 2 bedrooms with only bed frames and matresses to be moved out. The installers arrived and I showed them the areas to do that day. They told me that they were only there for one day and that because the third bedroom was not ready they would not be doing the work.

I suggested they do the first bedroom and when working on the second room and stairs we would shift the furniture over so the last room would be available to carpet. Neither worker spoke very good English and refused to talk with me about completing the work. I had a call from Empire who explained that this was only to be a one day job, that Dinah was incorrect to schedule it as she had and that we'd need to reschedule. She also was unwilling to work with me.

The workers proceeded to leave the job.

Not only had this been a horrible experience but I'm out 2 days of work, I don't have my new carpets and my life has been unnecessarily disrupted by tearing apart my rooms. I've cancelled my order and will purchse my flooring elsewhere.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Worst Company to hire

Dear Steve,
Our mission is to “Make beautiful new floors easy,” for our nationwide customers, and we’re committed to upholding our reputation and achieve our vision to become America’s first and best choice for installed flooring.

We appreciate you making us aware of this matter, and understand that we’re currently working with you towards a resolution. We’ll continue to follow up until your concerns have been fully addressed.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1113604 Review #1113604 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

On August 25 Empire sales rep John Reardon came to my house and sold me on a bunch of false promises. I ordered 905 square feet of porcelain tile to be installed throughout my house starting on September 5.

I received a phone call the Wednesday before installation to confirm my appointment and to make sure that I prepare all areas to be tiled. The next Saturday I was called back from Bill saying that they did not have the tile I ordered in stock and would not be able to do the install unless I picked different tile. I specifically said I wanted that tile and I would wait for them to call me when they had the tile in stock. The following Thursday I received a call from Empire to confirm my new appointment.

An appointment that I never made. I asked if they had the tile in stock to which they replied no and I asked how they were going to do the install with no tile. For the next three weeks I was called to confirm an appointment that was never made even though they still did not have my tile in stock. Finally, on October 5 I called Bill and he said they did get my shipment of tile in and they would be able to do the install starting on October 11.

When I spoke to Bill he had no idea that I was supposed to receive baseboards with the install. When the installers showed up they complained that the work order was all messed up and I would have to explain in detail all that was needed. Once shown what needed to be done they broke out their string to check the subfloor for level. They found several spots that were not level and started to complain that this job was going to be bigger than they anticipated.

They called their boss John who then called me and explain everything the installers had previously explained. He added that the job was bigger than they thought and didn’t want to do it because of lack of time. They were looking for an easy job. John then stated that we could go ahead with the install but it was going to be an added 3k for a few bags of concrete and some grinding.

Leveling a subfloor does not cost anywhere near that amount. He threw that price out there so I would refuse. Empire hires subcontractors to do their work. This is no surprise.

But they do not do a fair estimation for the work to be done. John Reardon only measured and gave a 6500 estimate. Once the subcontractor got there the estimate grew by 3k. This is absolutely ridiculous.

After waiting over a month for an install with my entire house packed into my living room I am still without tile and am forced to find another company that can do the job at the quoted price.

I would never recommend Empire for any services past a basic carpet install. It is probably the only thing they are capable of doing because it is “easy work” Steve

Contact Empire Today Customer Service

Mailing Address:
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, Illinois 60164
United States
All Empire Today Contacts

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - So Very Unhappy

Dear Karen,
Customer satisfaction is our number priority, and we’re committed to consistently providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide.
We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously. We’ll be in contact with you shortly to discuss your repair options.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1110298 Review #1110298 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Enitre dealing - never again
  • Poor installation
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
get the damn laminate replaced!
Tags
  • floor installation

We got our floors about a month ago and I am so disgusted. I don't normally post too many negative reviews, but we have been getting the runaround with this company for as long as we have had the floors.

We had two segments done. Laminate throughout the house and tile in the bathroom. It took almost a month to get the crew out here to do the tile, but in the end it looks awesome. The problem is with the laminate.

The crew took a four day job and turned it into a 2 1/2 week job. They were so far behind schedule that they slammed the last part of the floor in and now the strip are all rising at the seams. We understand the idea of a floating floor, but the floor is so bad that when you walk on it EVERY step is a horrible squeaking noise and pinches the bottom of your feet. The raised spots are so obvious that people have commented upon entering our house for the first time.

We called Empire and asked for a different person to come out and check it and they sent the guy who did it. Of course he said there was nothing wrong, but it was our fault. We have spoken to so many reps at Empire and they just keep saying someone will call in 24 hours, but no one calls. We spent $12000+ on our new floors and they are terrible and Empire doesn't seem to give a crap.

On the plus side, our salesman, Brandon, was awesome.

He answered all our questions and made us believe we had made the right decision. Too bad Empire doesn't respect or stand behind their sales team.