filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - No resolution, yet - Resolved

Dear Toni,

Your concerns are important to us, and we assure you that we work with our customers day in and day out until their concerns are fully addressed.

We understand that this has been a frustrating matter for you, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution. We thank you for your patience.

-ET Customer Support
Review
#1202493 Review #1202493 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today - No resolution, yet
Empire Today - No resolution, yet
Empire Today - No resolution, yet
Empire Today - No resolution, yet

Update by user Sep 03, 2018

It was resolved to my satisfaction. I hired someone else.

Update by user Apr 03, 2018

I am still working on the best solution for me. But getting much closer to a resolution with Empire Today.

Update by user Mar 16, 2018

I guess I am repeating myself but I still do not have closure. I feel that my flooring installation is a hostage. I do not want Empire Today to come back to my home and I want the balance removed from my account so I can hire a professional.

Update by user Mar 16, 2018

4 crews have been sent to fix the unprofessional installation along with 2 different supervisors and now Empire Today wants to install new flooring. I cannot accept their unprofessional installation as I had given them many chances.

I have been disappointed every time they left, it does not look better. Because I will not accept a new flooring by another unprofessional Empire Today flooring contractor or a reduction in the balance I will be sent to collections. I have emailed a estimate from a licensed flooring contractor that will put in new flooring and new baseboard for more than I paid for Empire Today. The contractor removed the quarter round and saw the uneven cut that has been covered up by quarter round.

He feels it cannot be fixed and I have been saying that all along. The vinyl that was installed was cut uneven and the vinyl installation should have been done in a professional manner. For example the closet runners should have been removed and the vinyl should have been put under the closet strip. I had hoped to get an estimate on new baseboards but the vinyl is cut so poorly it could not be covered up to baseboard is whide enough.

Empire Today will not replace baseboards, or fix the wall damage. Or other damage done by the installation. I am requesting that my balance be removed so I can have a professional install new flooring. If I accept a lower balance from Empire I have to sign a waiver stating that I cannot say anything negative about Empire Today and waive any rights to the flooring warranty.

Not worth it by the way it looks today. The caulking around the toilets is also sloppy and unprofessional and usually not done when installing hard surfaces. Does Better Business Bureau Care?

Should I try them next? Just wondering.

Update by user Mar 13, 2018

After 4 crews from Empire Today and 2 inspection supervisors could not fix the damage I am requesting that I will no longer be held responsible for the unprofessional installation balance. New floor has to be installed.

I have received estimates from licensed contractors that are professional flooring installers. I had hoped to have new baseboards installed to cover up the damaged baseboards and large quarter round used by Empire Today. But the flooring cannot be fixed because the vinyl was cut incorrectly. New baseboard would not cover up the unprofessional installation and unevenly cut vinyl.

Even around the toilets there was a lot of caulking to cover up the vinyl that was cut incorrectly. I have given Empire Today many chances to fix the damage and do not want them to return to my home again.

I have been disappointed too many times and do no feel there are professional flooring installers that work for Empire Today that work in my area. This is still not resolved!!!

Update by user Mar 07, 2018

I have been in contract with customer relations but after 4 crews that have come to repair it is still as the photos attached, very unprofessional. I have been offered another crew to put in a new floor but I don't bevel the damaged baseboards or wall will be repaired.

I am now being sent to collection for the balance. As I said before I have been intimated and called a liar by the original installers. I have waited several times for crews in the 4 hour windows for them to show up sometimes not at all. The 15 page contract that I signed (on a ipad) notes only arbitration and I have not had that yet.

I have offered to pay $500.00 to finish is account, I have already paid $155 for the deposit. This is my Empire Today Experience Toni Burke

Original review posted by user Mar 04, 2018

I have been speaking with customer relations for many months since the day it was installed. I did not like the installation from the beginning and wanted them to stop. The installers said they had to do the job and that we could complain later. (I should have sent them home without finishing).

Customer Relations have been helpful in trying to resolve my installation problem. It is very difficult to remove quarter round and caulking that was installed unprofessional and sloppy the first time.

Empire Today has sent crews out 4 times to try and fix the initial installation plus 2 supervisors. The original crew, that I requested not to return, came back to remove all of the white caulking and white quarter round. They also left marks from the old quarter round and left over white caulking in different areas. I felt intimated by this original crew when they returned. They really did not want to remove all of white caulking that was applied everywhere. See the photos. I was told by the salesman a small bead would be used by the bathtub areas, that was not the case. Caulking was everywhere.

In the original 15 page contract, I requested two bathrooms done with vinyl, which seemed like a good product. But a large roll is hard to manage by one person. The product is good but the installation was done unprofessionally. Glue and cement was applied to the walls and doors that should have been on the floor.

Right now I am negotiating a large reduction in the installation cost due to the many times I had to wait for a 4 hour window and it still needs a lot of work. My baseboards have been damaged from the previous white quarter round. The paint the last crew used was white and my baseboards are a beige color.

The old caulking is still showing in different places and by removing the caulking more damage was done to the baseboard and flooring. Empire Today wants to re-install the flooring with a good crew. I am done, and I do no have the time to spend the day or 2 with any more Empire Today crews.

I will have my local flooring expert put new baseboards in and do a professional job at a great expense to me.

Hope these details are clear to anyone following this installation problem.

This is how it looks today.

Toni Burke

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - Return vist to fix original installation - Resolved

Dear Toni,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we work with each of our customers from start to finish until their concerns are answered.

We regret to hear that you remain unsatisfied, and assure you that we take matters such as these very seriously. We’ll further review your request, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1112105 Review #1112105 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor workmanship
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

I have attached a before and after of one areas that was repaired/fixed by the very unprofessional installation. Looks worse now than before the fix.

I do not want Empire Today back to replace the flooring, I want my bill reduced so I can hire professionals to paint and repair the damage caused by the installation and re-do. Now I have been receiving collection phone calls from Empire Today. This has been a nightmare. I have had several contractors from Empire Today look at the installation, I have repeatably asked that the original contractor not return.

But he returned and reluctantly replaced the shoddy work he did from the beginning. I believe it is the luck of the draw when you hire Empire Today.

If they send a good contractor you get a professional installation. I hope this is resolved soon.

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

So many contractors have been sent to fix this unprofessional installation and it is still an unprofessional installation. I have been in communication with the complaint department but this is still not resolved.

The last offer, which was very generous, wants to send another crew and install another new floor.

I have rejected this offer, I want my balance to be reduced and for them to put on strip of quarter round to cover up a very badly cut vinyl. Now I am being threatened with collections.Where do go from here?

Update by user Jan 22, 2018

Empire Today was responsive, but not quickly and I had to wait for a 4 hour window more than once. One time they did not show up at all.

It has not been completed yet but some repairs have been done by a professional. I am requesting that they balance of my bill be reduced and that one more quarter round be installed to cover up the uneven/shoddy cutting of the vinyl at installation. Empire Today offered to pay for the repair to the baseboard with 3 estimates from licensed painting contractors.

I was not able to find a contractor that would only paint small areas. My problem is that it should have been right the first time.

Original review posted by user Oct 08, 2017

After many emails and photos the original installers returned. I had requested that they not return several times.

I had said from the beginning if they thought the installation was done correctly I did not want them back. But that did not matter. The installers were argumentative and even suggested we call someone else to fix it and bill Empire Today. They reluctantly did the work they were sent out to do.

They removed some of the white caulking and replaced some of the qtr. Leaving white caulking and covering it with clear did not work and mitering should have been done at the corners. So it looks better but it is still unprofessional. They also did not take any responsibility for damage at installation.

Tiles were knocked loose and fell off later and chips in the baseboard were new. They did remove the cement from the walls and the door.

I had vinyl installed and it came in one big roll that was difficult to move around, this is why there was other damage. Here are the photos after it was fixed.

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Sucks Break My Doors During Carpet Installation - Resolved

Dear Sandeep,
Customer care and complete satisfaction is our highest mission, and we accomplish this by providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide.

We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously. We’ll be in contact with you soon to start working with you towards a solution.
Thank you for your patience.
Review
#1076226 Review #1076226 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Not trust worthy
  • Sales person lie to me
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Tags
  • Bad dealer service
  • Empier Today Sucks
  • Carpet Bad

DO NOT INSTALL ANYTHING FROM EMPIRE ( THEY WILL SPOIL EVERYTHING ) I Had carpet Installation from Empire today. Sales Rep.

Visited and Quote me price everything was okay. He told me carpet installation & if they break anything fixed by empire. so we had installation so during installation they take our my all door & before pay i called customer service they told me pay amount we will send someone to fix door ( because its doors *** by empire we will fix ) i waited for 15 days ( i called 20 times ) after 20 days they told me we are not coming and you install your own doors. i asked you *** door you need to install they said we don't know u install your door and 3 times customer service hangup on me.

even i am asking for contract they are not giving me contract & no explanation. DO NOT work with Empire today they just break things not FIX.

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review - Resolved

Dear Chris,
Your satisfaction is important to us, and we’re disappointed to hear about the delays in your installation. We’ll be in contact with you shortly to learn more and start working towards a solution.
Thank you for your patience,
-ET Customer Support
Review
#990135 Review #990135 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Pricing issue

The poorest service I ever encountered. It took almost a week for my installation to be done because Empire Today didnt have the carpet on my scheduled date Tuesday.

Pushed the date two days out Thursday and no carpet. Pushed another two days Saturday and finally got carpet installed. I called empire before my installion to work out a discount and was told to call after the installation was completed to take care of it. After the installation, I proceeded to call and spoke to the installers mgr.

and agreed to pay half the amount of the original quote for services and installation. Now I'm getting notices for the balance owed or will go to collections.

For the 3 days I missed from work is far more than the $200 discount which empire is offering. UNACCEPTABLE!

Resolved
Dear Ventrice, Our records show that we have since processed your refund. For any future questions and/or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.
View full review
Review
#851291 Review #851291 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Resolved
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Empire Today - Customer Support and Craftsmanship?
Dear Gerard, Your concerns are of important to us, and understand that we have addressed your concerns from this posting. For future questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.
View full review
Review
#735890 Review #735890 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • Laminate
  • Instalation
  • Craftsmanship
Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Leander, Texas - Resolved

Dear Phillip,
Thank you for updating your review. We are thrilled to hear that your concerns were addressed in a timely manner. For future questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#598582 Review #598582 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

Update by user Mar 30, 2015

I was contacted asap by empire today and they setup a appointment to have the tile fixed. They came out and relaid over half the floor and fixed the problem.

I could not be more happy.

This is a very honest company. Great job!

Original review posted by user Feb 21, 2015

Had a new tile floor installed in my kitchen. Chose empire because the price was right.

All went well until I noticed a few tiles not flat a level. Had to show the installer and he did cut out the old installed the new. But after he finished and left. I found many more.

Recently I had to move my fridge and he hadn't let the mortar setup and just pushed it onto unset tile. Plus grout was cracked.

Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpet (Chicago) Issue after Issue - Resolved

Lee, we've read and responded to your previous online post. I understand we're working with you to resolve your concerns regarding your experience and installation, but if you have any further questions or concerns you can email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#230178 Review #230178 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$10000

Scheduling an In Home Estimate only took a few minutes, The time it took to fix all of the errors, and chaos caused by Empire Carpet took up time myself, and my wife, and my father took off from work. Every room in my home was taken apart and left in pieces for four days.

The Bottom Line:

During the sales inquiry, I was judged by my age/and appearance whether I would be able to be approved for a loan for flooring in the home that I own. Turns out I was approved for the full amount.

During the sales inquiry, I asked if the "uneven" flooring needed to be removed. The Empire Representative said, "No". On the 2nd day of installation I was informed my floors were uneven and empire raised my prices even though the original salesman.

During the sales inquiry, our Empire Representative scheduled our Hardwood Flooring and Ceramic Tiling on the following day (wednesday). The following day Empire had the Ceramic and Hardwood flooring contractors re-routed throughout the day. We never had our installation completed on that day (Wednesday).

After never showing up to our home during my usual work day; Empire refuses to reimburse me for any of my lost time. Even though they scheduled an appointment with me and never showed up.

On Thursday, My pregnant wife and I were in the hospital for a baby delivery..

On Friday, the Ceramic Tiling contractor came and finished his job. But the Hardwood Flooring installers informed me that the documented job Empire told them, was not right. Empire is now requesting that I pay more money for the miscommunication with the contractors and the Empire Representative. After a 2 hour phone conversation with the stubborn Empire customer service I saved myself from these overcharges.

On Friday, the Carpet installers came to our home and said it was impossible to do there job since Empire over booked our installation days. They left and we had to reschedule once again for the following day

I know that some of my accusations against Empire are minor but every single irritating moment plays an effect on my views of Empire Carpet. During this process I have learned that Empire hires outside contractors to complete the In Home installation. In the future I plan to eliminate the middle man and work with the contractors directly rather than Empire Carpet.

Contact Empire Today Customer Service

Mailing Address:
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, Illinois 60164
United States
All Empire Today Contacts

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews