filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in San Francisco, California - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

Dear Richard,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we strive to make beautiful new floors easy from beginning to end for all of our customers.

We’re disappointed to hear about your installation experience, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We’ll be in touch with you shortly to start working on a solution.

Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1388705 Review #1388705 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor installation
  • Poor customer service
  • Enitre dealing - never again
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$13000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service
Empire Today - Great Promises, Terrible Execution and Customer Service

On 9/13/18 Jamie came to our house for a consultation on hardwood floors for our downstairs and staircase. After much discussion we landed on LVP flooring. At that time we made clear that we wanted white risers to go with our LVP flooring. He indicated that wasn't a problem. I noticed that it wasn't in the contract and when I asked he said that he needed to place a separate order for that but not to worry, he would take care of it, so we scheduled an install date on 9/19/18.

The installers came and completed downstairs LVP installation but didn't have the proper materials for the stair installation. For one, they didn't have enough materials, and for two, they didn't have any record of the white risers for the steps. Downstairs flooring installation was completed on 9/20/18. Installers indicated someone would be in touch to reschedule the stair installation.

On 9/24/18 I called to inquire about the stair installations since no one called me. Was informed that it was scheduled for 10/1/18. I specifically asked if the issues with the correct amount of materials and the white risers was resolved and was told that it was. On 10/1 the installers showed and again had no record of the white risers and didn't have the correct materials. No installation took place that day.

I called the office back and again discussed the issue. Everyone I spoke to claims they have no record of me requesting this despite numerous conversations, but that it would be resolved. Appointment was rescheduled for 10/5/18. Installers came, still had incorrect materials but stated they would flip the risers they brought and paint them white before installing. Installation took place all day on 10/5/18.

After looking at the completed job, I noticed several issues. One of the risers was installed incorrectly and left several gaps in the wood. There are other gaps present as well. Inexplicably, quarter round was installed on the landing and is longer than the step it is installed upon. Many of the treads were poorly cut and even more poorly caulked. Several of the treads are uneven where the 'nose' of the tread is higher than the back part of the tread. There is stray paint and caulking everywhere.

Due to weekend and holiday, I called the office on 10/9/18 regarding these issues. I was told that they took detailed notes of everything and that I should email pictures, which I did. I also set an appointment for 10/18/18 for these items to be addressed. On 10/18/18 the installer arrived and stated he was just there to take pictures and observe the issues but wouldn't be doing any work that day. I said I already emailed pictures and he stated he never got them. After he left I called the office again and explained the issue to the same customer service rep I spoke to on 10/9. She rescheduled the install again for 10/25/18 and assured me that everything would be addressed and that the installation supervisor was now involved. On 10/23 I received a call from a different service rep asking why we had an appointment for 10/25 and if the issues were resolved on 10/18. I explained - again - what took place and told her I spoke to someone on 10/18 who assured me that this would be resolved. She again explained that she had no notes on any of this (a common excuse provided to me at this point) and confirmed my appointment for 10/25.

On 10/25/18 I received a call again from the customer service rep explaining that they would not be able to make the appointment for 10/25 due to needing to bring in a painter to fix the riser. At this point I have lost all confidence as I continue to take off of work while this issue isn't resolved. I asked how painters were going to help and explained that there are several issues that need to be addressed that I've brought up on two calls, and via email with pictures. After being placed on hold I was told that she found my email and it's the first time she's seen it. After asking to speak to a supervisor I was informed (again) that there are no supervisors in that day. In a way I'm not surprised because there must be no one in charge there the way things are run... on the other hand how can there never be any supervisors present ever?

I'm now rescheduled for 10/26/18. I have zero confidence that my issues will be resolved at that time. I have now had to take off of work on 9/19, 9/20, 10/1, 10/5, 10/18, 10/25 and 10/26 (and counting) for an install that I was told would take two days.

I should have heeded the negative reviews of this company. They don't know how to communicate between departments and the contractors they hire for installation are shoddy at best. The take poor notes and blame the customer for anything they don't know because they can't conduct proper record keeping. For $13,000 I expected my floors to look better than something I could have done myself. I will never use Empire again and will tell everyone I know to stay away.

Testimonial

Empire Today is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

Empire Today - Shopping at Home was so Easy!

I like the fact that Empire Today came into house, brought the samples and discussed everything while they were here. I didn’t have to go get the samples and bring them home and I didn’t have to pay to have them come. I had the multi-color carpets installed in the stairways and the upstairs bedroom. It looks clean and neat. Also, I was extremely pleased with the service when I was buying the carpeting and with the men who came to install the carpeting. Maryann Gordisch
View full review
Review
#1060348 Review #1060348 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Fast order processing
Testimonial

Empire Today is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

I called several places, but Empire Today was the only one that talked to me on a Saturday afternoon and scheduled a person to come out Monday. Everybody else waited until Monday or Tuesday to even call me back. I had hardwood installed in my master bedroom. It was in...
View full review
Review
#1060349 Review #1060349 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality
Testimonial

Empire Today is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

Highly Recommend Empire Today

I had Empire Today install rugs for our master bedroom and the hallway and steps. My sister recommended them and they had the best price. The rugs are exactly what we wanted. It was perfect. The guys from Empire Today did a great job. I'll definitely use them again. Richard Marshall
View full review
Review
#1060351 Review #1060351 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good quality
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - I have not had the best experience with Empire or on installation

Dear Phyllis, customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish.
We regret to hear your concerns, and assure you that this is not the experience that we wish for our customers. We’ll be following up with you shortly to discuss a resolution.
Thank you,
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1664655 Review #1664655 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Im pissed
  • Good advertising
Cons
  • Lack of resolution
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$1400
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Tags
  • Hardware Flooring
  • Poor Installation

The sales person would not quote me a price on the flooring itself or installation. Now that I know others who had flooring put in from someone else that cost was broken down.

There's not way I got a discount or free installation. Your advertising is so misleading.. I wish I had researched it more.

I paid about $7K for my flooring with you and now I'm having buckling issues with it and I don't think after you sold me the flooring and it was installed that you care now that you've been paid. I will not recommend Empire to anyone!

"Empire Today Flooring" Does more damage than good!
"Empire Today Flooring" Does more damage than good!
Dear Prudence, Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We put our customers first and work with a sense of urgency to address their concerns from start to finish. We regret to hear your concerns, and assure you that this is not the experience that we wish for...
View full review
Review
#1453672 Review #1453672 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Dear Mr. Leveille, Customer service is our number one priority, and is our customer promise to handle issues quickly and fairly if they should arise. We regret to hear about your experience, and understand that we’re currently working with you towards a solution. We’ll...
View full review
Review
#1561526 Review #1561526 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Dear Tracy, For over 60 years, we’ve been dedicated to serving our customers with superior customer service from start to finish. We sincerely regret to hear that your installation experience did not go as planned, and assure you that we take your concerns seriously....
View full review
Review
#1586832 Review #1586832 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Los Angeles, California - Return vist to fix original installation - Resolved

Dear Toni,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we work with each of our customers from start to finish until their concerns are answered.

We regret to hear that you remain unsatisfied, and assure you that we take matters such as these very seriously. We’ll further review your request, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#1112105 Review #1112105 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor workmanship
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today - Return vist to fix original installation

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

I have attached a before and after of one areas that was repaired/fixed by the very unprofessional installation. Looks worse now than before the fix.

I do not want Empire Today back to replace the flooring, I want my bill reduced so I can hire professionals to paint and repair the damage caused by the installation and re-do. Now I have been receiving collection phone calls from Empire Today. This has been a nightmare. I have had several contractors from Empire Today look at the installation, I have repeatably asked that the original contractor not return.

But he returned and reluctantly replaced the shoddy work he did from the beginning. I believe it is the luck of the draw when you hire Empire Today.

If they send a good contractor you get a professional installation. I hope this is resolved soon.

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

So many contractors have been sent to fix this unprofessional installation and it is still an unprofessional installation. I have been in communication with the complaint department but this is still not resolved.

The last offer, which was very generous, wants to send another crew and install another new floor.

I have rejected this offer, I want my balance to be reduced and for them to put on strip of quarter round to cover up a very badly cut vinyl. Now I am being threatened with collections.Where do go from here?

Update by user Jan 22, 2018

Empire Today was responsive, but not quickly and I had to wait for a 4 hour window more than once. One time they did not show up at all.

It has not been completed yet but some repairs have been done by a professional. I am requesting that they balance of my bill be reduced and that one more quarter round be installed to cover up the uneven/shoddy cutting of the vinyl at installation. Empire Today offered to pay for the repair to the baseboard with 3 estimates from licensed painting contractors.

I was not able to find a contractor that would only paint small areas. My problem is that it should have been right the first time.

Original review posted by user Oct 08, 2017

After many emails and photos the original installers returned. I had requested that they not return several times.

I had said from the beginning if they thought the installation was done correctly I did not want them back. But that did not matter. The installers were argumentative and even suggested we call someone else to fix it and bill Empire Today. They reluctantly did the work they were sent out to do.

They removed some of the white caulking and replaced some of the qtr. Leaving white caulking and covering it with clear did not work and mitering should have been done at the corners. So it looks better but it is still unprofessional. They also did not take any responsibility for damage at installation.

Tiles were knocked loose and fell off later and chips in the baseboard were new. They did remove the cement from the walls and the door.

I had vinyl installed and it came in one big roll that was difficult to move around, this is why there was other damage. Here are the photos after it was fixed.

Contact Empire Today Customer Service

Mailing Address:
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, Illinois 60164
United States
All Empire Today Contacts

Empire Today Products and Services Reviews

Dear Sabrena, With over three million satisfied customers, we understand the importance of superior customer service. We value our customers and live by the Golden Rule. We sincerely regret to hear that your concerns have not beet addressed. We take matters such as...
View full review
Review
#1596474 Review #1596474 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • Horrible Customer Satisfaction