Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Madison, Tennessee - Strike Back on Empire (corrupt)

I've read your comments and recent post; I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your concerns with the laminate. As a member of the Customer Service Management Team, it is important for me to assist in understanding your concerns and but also work with you on a resolution. If there are concerns that are brought to our attention, we sometimes will bring an outside certified inspection company in to review the area (s) in question. Once that visit and results are completed and depending on the outcome of the results, we can determine if it was a service or product related incident. If this is identified, Empire will address and fix the concern. Sometimes, however, issues arise that aren't related to our product or service. If that occurs, we will review the information with the customers and sometimes discuss options for assisting in fixing the concern. If possible, would you be able to contact me at your earliest convenience, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
Review
#156980 Review #156980 is a subjective opinion of poster.

In May 2008 we purchased laminate flooring from Empire. Initially, they quoted over $6600 (soemthing like $130+ a case)for about 700 sq ft.

We told them no. We got a quote from HomeDepot that was half that. When Empire called back we told them that we had found a better price. They came down to less than half.

Well *** us when ahead and had the floors in the dining, kitchen hall and living room done. It looked horrible. There was a transition board (sameIf y flooring) from kitchen to living room and dining room. I called Empire and told them I could not live with it.

ou have the same flooring, you want it to flow together and not be pieced together, it looked tacky. They said it was because, they do nor remove the exisiting flooring in the kitchen, so the floor is higher, hence the transtition boards. I insisted it did not look right and wanted another type of flooring. I told them I wanted to tile type flooring in the kitchen, so if there must be a transition board, to would not look as bad.

Well, the woman who scheduled the servicees said that they would do it, but they would not lifetime warranty the new flooring. I agreed. Not a problem. The new crew (subcontractors) was excellent, they took up the old flooring to the point that everything was even.

It looked great. Now a year later, we began to notice separation in the seams in the dining room, rised areas at the edges of seams in various places, in doorways, in front of the fireplace, etc. We call (on this lifetime warranty) they send out an "independent contractor" as he explained. He when throughout the house taking pictures and writing.

We get the report by email about two weeks later. It said the boards need to be replaced, at the customer's expense. He stated damange such as raises on both sides of the boards is due to having too much mositure on the floor, possibily by placing water glasses on the floor or letting water stand while mopping the floor. None of the boards are damaged on both sides, it's only on one side of many.

Neither do we use our floor as a table, nor do we use a sopping wet mop to clean the floors. What casued the boards to separate? That was not addressed. We use the recommended cleaning products.

This is there way of not adhearing to the lifetime warranty.

Never, would I recommend Empire to anyone. I will discourage them instead.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire today/the truth

Thank you for your post and your experience as an Empire Sales Representative. Empire’s focus on offering outstanding level of service is a daily focus not only for our employees but also for our independent Sales Representatives and Installers. Since we don’t have retail stores, our shop-at-home service is a very important – this is the only way customers get to see our products and learn about the benefits of using Empire. Not only do we offer the same brands you find in retail stores, all our products come with manufacturer warranties plus we back our service with a service installation warranty. In addition, we offer a low price guarantee, if certain criteria are met; Empire will beat any competitive offer. Feedback is extremely important for us, after reading your post; I’ve sent a copy to our National Sales Management Team for review. If you have any questions or would like to discuss the information that you’ve mentioned with our Director of National Sales, please feel free to send me an email mmichalek@empiretoday.com. Marlo M. Michalek, Vice President of Marketing Communications.
Review
#156594 Review #156594 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I worked as a sales rep for about 9 months and here is the truth about them. first realize ALL companies get complaints..no matter how good they are.

In 9 months I sold approx 320 flooring jobs and I had to my knowledge 4 un happy customers...that is about 1.5 percent...not too bad by any standards now is it. Do you think that when a grown man gets in his car and drives 45 mins on a friday night and then lugs samples into your house spends 90 mins measuring and answering questions that he wants to get back in his car and drive away with no sale? They work on 100% commission...no gas allowance..nothing unless they sell and the average commission is 4%...so a 1500.00 carpet yields the rep $60...yep thats it. Do you also think that an in home shopping experience should be cheaper than going down to a big box store and waiting to get someone to help you and then having to set up an appointment to have someone come out to measure?

Once the measure is done you will get a price in 48 hours then another week or two for an install...yes Empire might be slightly higher than the big box...but not much. Empire will also handle the financing with you in your home...all in about 60-90 mins...yea it might be 75.00 more than the big box...ya think???

Here is the down side to Empire....once the rep sells the job and gets his whopping commission we get call backs because the customer wants to rethink the color and we need to go back...or they found a lowe price and we need to match it or lose the sale..over $50..or if something does go wrong..and by wrong I mean even the slightest thing such as the installers being late or whatever... corporate issues you a discount so you dont cancel and the discount means the reps big commission turns into NO commission...yea so when you call to complain we dont get paid in many cases..not all. Out of my 320 or so jobs I have to say empire went out of their way in some cases to make people happy and provided them with superior customer service...I hated the pay structure and for the reps its a horrible job but for the customers they are great.

When I was hired I was led to believe I would be making twice what I made...and I was a top performer. facts based on 320 jobs...of course as soon as you read a bad review here its easy to assume that most of our jobs go bad but in truth its only a very very small percent...they sell thousands of jobs per week across the country expect to hear about the bad ones.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Norfolk, Virginia - Empire Flooring Free Home Estimate--Worst experience I have ever had.

I truly apologize for your experience with our sales representative. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. As a member of the Customer Service Management Team for Empire, I wanted to let you know that we review each and every concern that is brought to our attention. The experience you described is not how our sales representatives are instructed to handle appointments. We do provide one fully-installed price, which includes many items such as product cost, installation, padding, moving of furniture, removal of old product, etc. We really would like to follow up with you and discuss this with the sales representative and his manager. We believe that our customers are the cornerstone of our business and want to ensure you receive world-class service. I cannot locate your account from the information in your post, so could you please contact me so we can discuss your experience? If you can, please contact me directly at customersupport@empiretoday.com or 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#155883 Review #155883 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I HAD AN EMPIRE CARPET REPRESENTATIVE COME TO MY HOME TO DO AN ESTIMATE ON WOOD FLOORING AND NEVER HAVE I BEEN MORE DISRESPECTED IN MY LIFE ONLY TO NOT EVEN RECIEVE AN ESTIMATE ON THE COSTS OF DOING MY HOME. I AM A YOUNG HOMEOWNER WHO WAS REPEATEDLY ASKED WHERE THE OWNER OF MY HOME WAS, HE REFERED TO ME AS PRETTY LADY AND TOLD ME WHAT WE WOULD BE DOING IF I WAS IN NEW ORLEANS WITH HIM, HE WASHED HIS FACE IN MY KITCHEN SINK AND USED MY BATHROOM, HE TOLD ME THAT I SHOULDN'T GET WOOD FLOORING THAT IT WAS *** BECAUSE I SHOULDNT PUT ANYMORE MONEY INTO MY HOUSE BECAUSE I COULD NEVER CONVINCE HIM TO BUY IT OR ANYONE ELSE.

I SHOULD HAVE KICKED HIM OUT OF MY HOUSE LONG BEFORE BUT AFTER 2 HOURS OF THIS I JUST WANTED TO GET MY QUOTE. HE CONTINUED TO HAGGLE ME ABOUT MAKING A DECISION "TODAY" RATHER THAN DISCUSSING THEIR FLOORING,WARRANTIES AND FINANCING, ETC. WHEN I TOLD HIM THAT I WAS NOT RUSHING INTO A DECISION TODAY HE GAVE ME A BOGUS QUOTE AND WOULD NO LONGER SPEAK WITH ME. HE TOLD ME FOR MY CONDO THAT IT WOULD BE $6,000 WHEN I ASKED HIM FOR 3 DIFFERENT QUOTES 2 BEING LAMINATE THE 3RD BEING HARDWOOD (BUT FOR SOME REASON IT WAS THE SAME PRICE FOR ALL 3).

HE THEN WALKED OUT OF MY HOUSE DIDN'T ANSWER MY QUESTIONS WHICH I WAS ASKING HIM AS HE WAS WALKING OUT OF MY HOUSE.

I DON'T KNOW IF HE THOUGHT HE WAS WASTING HIS TIME OR IF HE WAS UPSET ABOUT THE FACT THAT I, A YOUNG FEMALE, AM SUCCESSFUL BUT HE IS AN *** BECAUSE I AM GETTING WOOD FLOORING DONE IN MY HOME, NOT TO MENTION I WORK IN THE REAL ESTATE INDUSTRY AND COULD HAVE REFERRED EMPIRE OUT BUT IN NO WAY WILL I EVER REFER THEM TO ANY OF MY FRIENDS OR FAMILY. I CANNOT IMAGINE WHY ANYONE WOULD HIRE THIS MAN TO WORK AS A REPRESENTATIVE FOR THEIR COMPANY.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today is overpriced

Our in-home appointments are very important to us – it is the only way our customers can see our products and gain a better understanding of what we offer. If a customer decides to purchase or if they decide to go elsewhere, satisfaction is extremely important to us. I apologize that our Sales Representative didn’t meet your expectations and for any inconveniences that we may have caused. Feedback is extremely important for us, after reading your post; I’ve sent a copy to our National Sales Management Team for review. If you have any questions or would like to discuss the information that you’ve mentioned please feel free to send me an email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Rebekah Clerk – National Customer Service Manager.
Review
#155535 Review #155535 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I scheduled an appointment with Empire Today and I found that they are *** expensive. Their original price to install laminate floors on 680 square feet, was $10,000. With their "generous" 60% off sale, the price was knocked down to $7,500...but still, 7,500? calculating 10% waste, that's $10 per square foot! I could get marble installed for that price. I felt this was outrageous, I talked the salesman down to 5k, but that was as low as he would go. I thought about it for a while and agreed, based on the fact that the quality of the flooring seemed to be good and they gave a 30 year warranty. Then the salesperson encouraged me to lie about my income so that I would be eliigable for enough credit to cover the cost of the job. After that, the salesman really was rushing me to schedule the installation.

I live in an apartment and I can't make modifications to my home unless I have approval from the condominium association and I explained this to the salespreson several times, but he was insistant that I schedule the installation right then and there and did not really seem to care about this. Once the salesman left, things just did not feel right.

Thankfully, as a purchaser, you have three days to exercise your right to cancel the job. I thought about all of the red flags that seemed to pop up during this process and talked it over with my wife and we felt like the whole operation was very shady and over priced and we canceled. After reading the other comments on this thread, I am very glad that I did not go with Empire Today and will go with a local contractor.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Edison, New Jersey - Warning: Empire Carpeting

As a member of our Customer Service Management Team, I apologize that you were dissatisfied with our professional installation and your Empire Carpet purchase. This is not how we usually handle our Empire carpet installations or customer service. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we do our best to provide a resolution to customers that experience problems. It is not uncommon for new carpet to shed for up to 120 days. The main reason for carpet shedding is due to loose fiber left from the milling process. However, if there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or the installation, we will work to provide a resolution. If possible, contact me directly at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#155522 Review #155522 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Installers did not live up to promises made by salesman to do one room at a time. Tore apart my home,damaged walls & baseboard, dropped and broke a television. Rude attitude, poor or no English spoken. Certainly no relation to the warm and fuzzy gentlemen featured on thier commericials. Only after series of complaint calls did anyone return to complete installation in my closets, as originally contracted.

Carpet quality is less than promised. Fuzz continued to come up & clog my vacuum for more months than ever experienced before. I paid for extra padding, which was not worth the expense. Hard to see any difference between the standard and more costly.

Hope to discourage others from falling for their line of bull.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Middletown, New York - Empire carpet installed very poor quality carpet

I’ve read your information and I’d like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your concerns with your carpet. Empire’s products come with a manufacturer product warranties. As you mentioned in your post, we do utilize a qualified third-party inspection company when reviewing concerns with our products and installations. I would like to the opportunity to review, your file, the information that was provided in the report and also discuss a mutually agreed resolution. If you’re available, please feel free to send me an email customersupport@empiretoday.com or you can also reach me via phone, 888-588-2315 x4195. Customer Satisfaction is extremely important to us and I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding this matter. Rebekah Clerk – National Customer Service Manager.
Review
#155027 Review #155027 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$3500

Just a little back round on our environment. My wife and I live alone [ with a dog who joined the family about 4 months before the reported problem in a 3000 plus square foot home. Our home is very clean with professional cleaners every week. We have lived in our home for 32 years it has be updated on numerous occasions. W have re-carpeted more times then I care to think about and never had any problems Our air conditions systems (4) are all equipped with hepa filters, we are clean freaks and our combined weight is less than 300 lbs. My wife weighs a 100 lbs and I'm about 170. I work full time. The point is that our home does not get an extraordinary amount of traffic.

I had Empire Carpet install Berber carpet install in two large rooms and in our halls and staircase. After a short period (18 months) of time the carpet showed wear on the edges of our steps (there are two stair cases) [ all the traffic is not on only one stair case] and the loops were pulling out. Some were even under the lip of the stairs.

We called Empire and they sent an "independent" inspector. (the fact that he was a sales person for their largest competitor in my mind did not make him independent). In his report he made general observations of various of the homes mechanical systems and other thing that were for the most part inaccurate. He also did not mention that at all entrances to the home(4) there were multiply industrial mats inside and outside to minimize soil coming into the home. In the winter we actually have runners by the entrance doors over the hardwood floors that collect most of the soil before you even hit the carpeted sections

He determined that the carpet was not cleaned enough and the cleaning would raise the matted pile. The very light colored carpet showed no sign of soiling. We also were not informed that the carpet should be cleaned every year when we purchased it. He also determined that my dog is having an adverse affect on the carpet. Again I was not informed that "pets" could not be in a home when this carpet is used. We also showed him other rooms that have 10 year old Berber carpet that is just as light of color and it shows no loops pulled out and no "matting". He had no comment.

I feel that the carpet is of very inferior quality and the refuse to stand behind. I asked them to revisit the issue and they refused. I was a big fan of Empire as the initial sales and installation process was very pleasant. I actually mentioned it to quit a few of my friend and associates but I now regret that.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Charlotte, North Carolina - Sorry to all and thanks in advance

I have read your comments and recent post. To clarify, Empire Today does not have retail stores and we are a shop-at-home company. It seems as though you may potentially be confusing us with another company that has brick and mortar stores. Empire Today brings samples your home so you can avoid the hassle of driving all over town shopping for area rugs. If I can be of any assistance please contact me directly at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#152027 Review #152027 is a subjective opinion of poster.

My wife and I were just going out to buy a rug from Empire when we ran across this site trying to get an address to the closest store. After reading each complaint, there is no way we're going to Empire.

Thanks to all who took the time to share their experience and warn others of the dangers ahead. I would have to say we were shocked to read the types of wrong doings that were going on and truely sorry that each of you had to suffer with an experience of a truely poor, cheap, and unprofessional company.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Highland Township, Michigan - Will not give money back!!!

As a member of our customer service management team, I would like to speak with you about your recent experience. We apologize for the delay in refunding your deposit and the inconvenience this may have caused you. Since we do not have your contact information, if possible, would you please contact us so we can provide you a resolution, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#151473 Review #151473 is a subjective opinion of poster.
After giving Empire $200. deposit on a order in which the sales guy said I would have 3 days to cancel I cancled in 2 days.

When I called to cancel they said they would apply the $200. back on my charge card. A week went by no $200< I called back and they said they made a error and they would apply my $200. Another week has gone by which I have called back twice and just more run around.

I have contacted my credit card company and they said they will go after Empire for my money back.

Empire is a rip off company. I hope that old guy chokes on my $200
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Bay Shore, New York - Empire's unprofessional sales consultants

As a member of the customer service management team, I would like to talk with you to find out more information about you and your husband’s experience. I apologize that your appointment did not meet your expectations – your description of the situation is not how Empire or our sales representatives are supposed to handle in-home appointments. We would like to talk with you to find out more information and follow back with the sales representative involved. Since we do not have your contact information, would you please contact me so we can work with you to make things right? Please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me directly at 888-588-2315 x 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#151122 Review #151122 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I had an Empire sales consultant come to my home to give me their free in-home, no obligation estimate. The woman showed up late, she pushed me to make a decision on agreeing to sign up for the installation.

While she was figuring out the final estimate, my husband walks in the front door, and I quickly told him the estimate. He said he wanted to think about that estimate. So I said to the sales woman that my husband likes to think things over before he purchases anything. Before my husband walked in the door, I was home alone with my 4 children.

The sales woman says to me with an attitude, " I don't have that kind of a problem because I have a job!" This *** had no idea if I had a job or not. Then she failed to tell me that I had 30 days to sit on the estimate. She tried to talk me into signing up for the installation and said that I had 3 days to cancel. She left me with no quote, told me it costs Empire to send her out for additional visits and that the consultants work on commissions only!

This was the most unprofessional sales consultant I have ever dealt with! I will never deal with this sneaky company again!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Farmington, Michigan - Beware Empire Carpet Inflated Measurements

We apologize that you did not have a positive experience with your in-home estimate. We would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding the concerns you have regarding Empire Today. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we do our best to provide a resolution to customers that experience problems. There are many factors that go into our fully installed price including the product cost, padding, sales, floor preparation, square footage of the area, moving of furniture, etc. We also offer a Low Price Guarantee in which we’ll beat any competitive offer. If a customer finds a better quote and has met the criteria for our Low Price Guarantee Program, we will honor the quote. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. If possible, we would like if you could contact a member of our team to discuss your concerns. Please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#150746 Review #150746 is a subjective opinion of poster.

My wife and I decided to get new carpet in the home that we recently moved in to. We called empire for an estimate and scheduled an appointment for 3-5 pm. They never showed so we called them to see what's going on. They said they are running behind and they could be there around 9pm. I just canceled because I had to work in the morning.

Months later we decide to try again. This time the salesman was on time. He took what seemed to be very fast and inacurate measurements and did not even write all of them down.

When we sat down to discuss pricing, he said we have 1700 sq feet and that it would cost $6000. He then said let me make a phone call and get the price lowered for you. After his phone call he quoted us $4400. For the mid grade carpet. He also tried to talk us out of getting the premium grade carpet.

We decided to get a second opinion from home depot. I told home depot what empire quoted me and they said that I should do my own measuring. I measured and came up with 1250 sq ft!! That's a 450 sq ft difference. After calculating in a Premium carpet, padding and install, home depot came out about the same price. Home depot will also be sending out a company that specializes in measuring and they assured me they will take very accurate measurements.

Also, when I asked the Empire salesmen how many sq feet our staircase was he could not give me a staight answer. He said that you can't measure stairs in sq ft. When I asked home depot about this, she said that thats not true and she would not lie to me because she does not get commission.

The Empire salemen also had a strong odor of alcohol that both me and my wife noticed.