empire carpet customer service service customer installation home house sales installers
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Do not trust them

We apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory. Customer service is a top priority at Empire and we want to talk with you to work toward a resolution. During the In-Home Estimate, our Sales Representatives work with each customer to select the right product to fit their needs. Empire provides a fully installed price estimate during the time of the appointment, and depending on the products selected, the room's square footage, and other items needed for the projects, pricing can vary. We also offer a Low Price Guarantee in which we'll beat any competitive offer on a comparable product and installation. We stand behind our service and products, however, if a customer finds a better quote and has met the criteria for our Low Price Guarantee Program, we will honor the quote. Our customers also have a three-day recession right to cancel their purchase. If the order is cancelled within the recession period, Empire will also refund the deposit. We would really like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your appointment and review the estimate that you were presented. We want to discuss your experience and work toward a resolution. Since we do not have your contact information from your posting, we are not able to locate your order in our system. Please contact a member of our Customer Service Management Team at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195 so we can help you resolve your situation. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#190376 Review #190376 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Empire Today is a total rip off and has slimy business practices! They basically sell you flooring at the highest price they can squeeze out of you.

One of the first things the sales associate asked was how much I was willing to spend on flooring. I slipped and mentioned I received the $8,000 first time home buyer's tax credit. Guess how much our total estimate came out to for laminate and carpet in the whole house? $8,000!

What a coincidence! Originally she said $12,000, but then added on all those "special" little discounts she wasn't allowed to give us. She also called her "boss" to authorize another discount (fakest phone call ever). We were never told the cost per square foot or anything like that, it was whatever they thought we were willing to pay.

The sales associate appeared sincere, but underneath was just sneaky and sleezy. This was the first place I received an estimate and I had no idea how much flooring costs. So like an ***, I was talked into purchasing, thinking this was a normal price (other places later quoted me at about $4,000 less). I came to my senses later that night and called the sales associate the following day to cancel my order.

She said she hadn't even submitted the paperwork yet, since it was on a Sunday. The next day someone from their office calls to ask about my cancellation. Suddenly the floor we wanted was overstocked, and they offered me an "absurd discount." I said no and confirmed my cancellation for a 2nd time. The following day I also mailed my notice of cancellation along with a letter explaining my cancellation.

A week goes by and somebody else calls to confirm my order set for installation in a few days! I was furious! Three times I canceled and three times I said I wanted my down payment back, and yet they were planning on still sending out the installers! They tried to bribe me again with another discount.

Also, I thought the sales associate hadn't even submitted the paperwork when I told her I wanted to cancel. I sure hope I get my $500 down payment back this time, or they're going to court.

I don't understand how they get an A+ on Better Business Bureau when all I've seen is negative complaints. I think it may be because their installers and sales associates are contracted, so any complaints with them goes to the contractors and not Empire Today.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today: Make sure you cancel your instelation at least 3 times!

As a member of Empire’s Customer Service Management Team, I would like to apologize for your recent experience. I would like to find out more information about your experience. There is a three-day cancellation policy on all orders that are paid for with a deposit. If possible, would you be able to contact me at your earliest convenience, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#188068 Review #188068 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I'm in the TAMPA market the sales guy was a sleaze bag named John who used high pressure sales. I was quoted 3,200 for laminate wood floors he scheduled us an instillation date and said "call me to cancel it".

He called a day later to pressure me it to having it done sooner. I rejected. THEN I decided I was fed up an canceled. I called John he said "he took care of everything" I didn't believe the sleaze bag and called corporate a day later.

BIG SURPRISE it wasn't canceled. They then lowed the price to $2,200. I said NO! The next day I get a call asking me to set up an installation time....I CALLED corporate again they said it wasn't canceled.

I canceled again over the phone and got hung up on... I bet there going to be at my door bright and early to put in floors I do not want.

Empire Today blows ***. AND I tried to get the AC rating on the floors guss what no one knew....So I'm guessing their floors are as *** as their customer service.

Empire Today's reply to:

No call/No show-Empire Carpet | Empire Today review from Worcester, Massachusetts

As a member of the Customer Service Team for Empire, I am sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Our in-home appointments are the only way for us to show consumers our products and world-class service. The situation you described is not how we handle our scheduled appointments or customer service. We know family time is important and we take the appointments very seriously. We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you as a mother to two young children. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you so we can follow back and address the situation with the representatives involved. Since we do not have your contact information, if possible, would you please contact us so we can provide you a resolution, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#187730 Review #187730 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We scheduled an in home estimate with Empire Carpet..the lady called the day of the appt and said she's running late & that we could either wait for her or reschedule the appointment.

We have two little ones at home so we rescheduled the appt for 4 days later...the lady was a no show and didn't even bother to call to inform us she won't be coming.

Icing on the cake, when the company called us - no one said a word. No one even bothered to do a follow-up!

Needless to say that we won't be needing their services.

Empire Today's reply to:

Has not refunded deposit | Empire Today review from Denver, Colorado

Ms. Gilbert, Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. As a member of the Empire Customer Service Management Team, I apologize that we were unable to service you with the level of service that you were expecting. It is my understanding that we have discussed and finalized a resolution with you. If you have additional questions, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#186286 Review #186286 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This is the 2nd complaint I have put in on Empire Today. They required me to put down a deposit of $50.00 which the salesman said was refundable if I had to cancel.

Well, I did cancel within the allotted time period and was told my deposit would be mail within 10-15 days after that date. It has been a month since that call. I contacted them again twice after that and was told the check had been mailed the first time and that someone would call me the second time. I have received no check and no one has contacted me.

What a bunch of losers!!!

I will discourage anyone from ever getting involved with this bunch of crooks. I will be filing complaints with the BBB and consumer advocates in our local area to get my refund back.

Empire Today's reply to:

Glad I read the reviews | Empire Today review from Hollywood, Florida

I can assure you that customer satisfaction is extremely important to Empire. We have been in business for over 50 years and have more than one million satisfied customers. The Better Business Bureau has recognized Empire with an A+ rating for our overall quality of services offered. If you are still shopping for carpet or flooring, we would be happy to have someone come to your home and help you select a product to fit your needs. We offer quality, name-brand products that are all backed by installation and manufacturer warranties. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in your decision making process. If you would like to set up an appointment call 800-588-2300 or visit empiretoday.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Rick Boysen, Director of Sales, 847-583-5248,pressrelations@empiretoday.com
Review
#185952 Review #185952 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I am so glad I read these reviews. Now I know not to call Empire for even a quote (which I was going to call today, by the way).

I am so thankful y'all took time to voice your complaints. The actors in the television advertisement must be getting well paid for their services; they look so happy, content and satisfied. However, the commercial is so convincing; sounds like everything would be a piece of cake for unsuspecting consumers. Whew!

Thank you, thank you, thank you. I'll stick with my small town providers. Local providers, local products, local laborers and local customer service.

I am so glad I decided to visit this website. Now I won't be joining the ranks of the disgruntled.

Empire Today's reply to:

Poor Customer Service | Empire Today review from Plainview, New York

Mr. Newmark, as a member of the Customer Service Management Team for Empire, I wanted to let you know that we review each and every concern that is brought to our attention. I apologize that that the experience didn't meet you expectations. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. If possible, I would like if you could contact a member of our team to discuss your concerns so we can provide you a resolution, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4915. There are many factors that determine our fully installed price estimate such as; the products selected, padding, if the products are on special or promotion, square footage of the area, moving of furniture, etc. Empire will honor any price estimate for 30-days in addition, we offer a Low Price Guarantee - we'll beat any competitive offer, guaranteed. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
Review
#184786 Review #184786 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I'll try to keep things short and simple... I had scheduled an installation for carpeting with Empire and they never showed up or bothered calling.

My wife took an entire day off waiting for nothing. When I called to find out what was going on, the rep told me the install date was scheduled for a different date. Sad thing is, I called my sales rep 2 days prior and left him THREE voicemails to make sure someone was coming for the install. Never received a call back so I gave him the benefit of the doubt and alas - his lack of professionalism should have been the first clue.

Never even called to apologize. I filed a formal complaint with a customer service rep and they never called me back to address my issue. I even sent them an email - corporate then forwarded my message to the local branch and guess what, 2 weeks later and still no call.

Is this how you want to be treated after spending $3000 with them? Think about it.

Empire Today's reply to:

Salesman doubled the price | Empire Today review from Newark, New Jersey

Mr. Newmark, as a member of the Customer Service Management Team for Empire, I wanted to let you know that we review each and every concern that is brought to our attention. I apologize that that the experience didn’t meet you expectations. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. If possible, I would like if you could contact a member of our team to discuss your concerns so we can provide you a resolution, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. There are many factors that determine our fully installed price estimate such as; the products selected, padding, if the products are on special or promotion, square footage of the area, moving of furniture, etc. Empire will honor any price estimate for 30-days in addition, we offer a Low Price Guarantee - we'll beat any competitive offer, guaranteed. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
Review
#184552 Review #184552 is a subjective opinion of poster.

On April 16, 2010 I called Empire Carpet to schedule a free in-home estimate. Tilal Osman, Sales Representative came to my home on April 19, 2010 and measured the basement area that we wanted carpeted. I explained that we wouldn't do it for about a month, since were getting our basement waterproofed first. We picked the carpet, and he gave me a quote of $1900. I was ready to sign the contract then, but he said, "why don't you think about it overnight, then call me in a day or two and I'll bring the contract to you." He didn't give me anything in writing. I called the next day, but he didn't return my call. Over the next month, I called a couple of time, but he said that he'll wait to come till a few days we want it installed.

I called him again on May 25th, and set up for him to come on May 27th. Tilal Osman came to my house and asked for the paper quote that he gave me. I explained that he hadn't given me anything in writing. I told him the quote he told me. He said that when he came there was a special going on and the price that he said was only if I signed that night (quite contrary from what he said on April 19th). He went back downstairs to measure again. He came up, and told me that it would be $3200. I explained that this was much higher than what he originally quoted me. He said, "It's so big, there is no way we could do it for that price." I asked him to leave. He kept arguing with me, and wouldn't leave until I threatened to call the police.

Empire Today's reply to:

Horrible Customer Service | Empire Today review from Portland, Oregon

We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you. The situation you described is not how we handle our scheduled appointments or customer service. As a member of the Customer Service Management Team for Empire, I am sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. Since we don’t have any retail stores, our in-home appointments are the only way for us to show consumers our products and world-class service. We know our customers are very busy and we take the appointments very seriously. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you so we can follow back and address the situation with the representatives involved. Since we do not have your contact information, if possible, would you please contact us so we can provide you a resolution, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#183958 Review #183958 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I spent over an hour on the phone with Empire today concerning a missed apointment. 46 of those minutes were spent on hold ..

listening to *** music. I hung up the phone feeling more annoyed and upset then I started. There was NO record of an appointment for an additonal estimate. The appt that they had set for installation was 2 weeks down the road!

No one had answers for me. No one knew how to get someone out there ASAP. No one cared that we had cancelled ALL weekend plans in order to be home for the rep that NEVER showed.

Needless to say ... i canceled the order.

I want a company that stands behind their product and cares about customers ...

Empire didnt do either thing for me today. I received NO answers an NO compensation.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today ~ Im Just Sayin..

I’ve read your comments and recent post. As a member of the Sales Management Team, I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding any concerns you may have regarding our company. We review each and every concern that is brought to our attention, and Empire takes the feedback from its customers very seriously. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we do our best to provide a resolution to customers that experience problems. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. This grade represents the BBB's degree of confidence that the business is operating in a trustworthy manner and making good faith efforts to resolve customer concerns. Empire also works with leading manufacturers and carries a wide assortment of products and styles to meet the needs of our customers’ lifestyles. We work with each customer during their in-home appointment to select the right products to meet their needs. All of our products are backed by manufacturer and installation warranties. If there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or service of the installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution. Empire offers Next-Day Installation on many of its in-stock products. Our professional installers must pass a rigorous standards and skills screening tests to become an Empire Today installer. At any stage of the installation process, we are available to help and answer any questions a customer may have. Please feel free to contact me at pressrelations@empiretoday.com or via phone at 847-583-5248. Rick Boysen, Director of Sales
Review
#183674 Review #183674 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This post is just that a post to show that the company known as Empire Today is a scam! I have had many post and responses from pissed consumers of Empire Today.

So with that being said heres a response from a former sales rep... Im Just Sayin:

"The problem with this company is that they are so dishonest and have shielded themselves from unhappy customers by giving them the runaround. If you try to take them to small claims court, you have to make sure you have the exact name and address of the company you are trying to sue. But Empire Today has so many addresses, it's impossible to know which one is the correct one to use and if you had the wrong one, the case would be thrown out.

There are so many complaints into so many BBB offices all across the country, but they close the cases as if they're settled when the consumer doesn't accept their offer. It's because, like Tom, they offer to replace the product at an additional cost to the consumer, (they want us to give them MORE money for another bad product and bad service) when it should be replaced under a warranty or because of poor installation or quality. So when the customer doesn't accept the offer (since no one wants to throw more good money after bad) the BBB closes the case saying Empire made an offer but the customer didn't accept it. They put bad quality products into your home, don't stand behind their products, don't return calls, don't have good installation teams, don't have good service, don't have next day installation....I don't know how they get away with advertising 'next day' when they never show up the next day, but make people wait 12 hrs.

Attorney generals of the states Empire Today does business in, should look into the fraudulent sales practices of this company.

I don't know when someone will shut them down. Maybe someone needs to notify the media and shine the light on this dishonest company."

Empire Today's reply to:

WOW Another Bad Empire Today Email :S

Empire reviews each and every concern that is brought to our attention, and we take the feedback from our customers very seriously. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we do our best to provide a resolution to customers that experience problems. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. This grade represents the BBB's degree of confidence that the business is operating in a trustworthy manner and making good faith efforts to resolve customer concerns. Empire offers Next-Day Installation on many of its in-stock products. Our professional installers must pass a rigorous standards and skills screening tests to become an Empire Today installer. At any stage of the installation process, we are available to help and answer any questions a customer may have. Empire works with leading manufacturers and carries a wide assortment of products and styles to meet the needs of our customers’ lifestyles. We work with each customer during their in-home appointment to select the right products to meet their needs. All of our products are backed by manufacturer and installation warranties. If there are any issues that arise with the quality of the product or service of the installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution. If there are concerns that are brought to our attention, we sometimes provide an outside certified inspection company in to review the area(s) in question. Once the inspection and results are completed and depending on the outcome of the results, we can determine if it was a service or product related issue. If this is identified, Empire will address and fix the concern. Sometimes, however, issues arise that are not related to our product or installation. If that occurs, we will review the information with the customers and sometimes discuss options for assisting in fixing the problem. As a member of our Sales Management Team, I would like to discuss your concerns with our company. I can be reached at pressrelations@empiretoday.com or via phone at 847-583-5248. Rick Boysen, Director of Sales
Review
#183668 Review #183668 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Hello consumers its Truthaboutempire; I recieved this email yet again from a diferent consumer I believe. The email stated thank you for your help with empire today and letting me know about this company.

The consumer inclosed one of my post form a consumer back in 2006 on this site. Yes 4 going on 5 years of complaints about Empire Todays service.. If you havent takin the time to read my pst please do so before calling Empire Today. [The last paragraph is from a customer of Empire Today back in 2007 I wonder If Empire Today even resolved this issue :S]

"The problem with this company is that they are so dishonest and have shielded themselves from unhappy customers by giving them the runaround.

If you try to take them to small claims court, you have to make sure you have the exact name and address of the company you are trying to sue. But Empire Today has so many addresses, it's impossible to know which one is the correct one to use and if you had the wrong one, the case would be thrown out. There are so many complaints into so many BBB offices all across the country, but they close the cases as if they're settled when the consumer doesn't accept their offer. It's because, like Tom, they offer to replace the product at an additional cost to the consumer, (they want us to give them MORE money for another bad product and bad service) when it should be replaced under a warranty or because of poor installation or quality.

So when the customer doesn't accept the offer (since no one wants to throw more good money after bad) the BBB closes the case saying Empire made an offer but the customer didn't accept it. They put bad quality products into your home, don't stand behind their products, don't return calls, don't have good installation teams, don't have good service, don't have next day installation....I don't know how they get away with advertising 'next day' when they never show up the next day, but make people wait 12 hrs. Attorney generals of the states Empire Today does business in, should look into the fraudulent sales practices of this company. I don't know when someone will shut them down.

Maybe someone needs to notify the media and shine the light on this dishonest company."

"I was making enough noise about my *** carpet that finally "Helen" from Empire Corporate Office contacted me. I remember reading the name "Helen" in several other complaints about Empire. They probably have a room full of "Helens" sitting on their 800 number that say they work for Corporate Office. I did what she said I had to and allowed a third-party (at Empire's choosing) to come and inspect my carpet.

Three weeks later, after my phone calls to Empire, Helen called me back today and read me the report. The inspector supposedly said that the carpet is wearing normally -- I told her that it is not normal for a 15 month old carpet to have dark trails where you walk -- and the inspector had agreed with me while he was here. I told her I knew the dude was an employee of Empire Today -- she says he is not. If he isn't, he must be paid by Empire Today to say one thing to me and put another thing in their reports.

Empire sells such *** that he probably makes a very good living inspecting their lousy products. I am really po'd -- Empire has not heard the last from me."