Filter by rating
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania - Disappointed

Jason, I’m very sorry to hear about the issues you’ve experienced with your product. We want to work with you to make sure you’re satisfied with the service you were provided and the finished results in your home. After reading your account history, it’s my understanding that you’ve recently spoken with a member of our customer service team and that a repair has been scheduled for this week. If you have any further questions or concerns before or after this time, please feel free to email me at or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#229989 Review #229989 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Mar 31, 2011

The floor we had done was put in this jan 2011. So it\'s been a month since we had waited for someone to come and call. No one yet.

Original review posted by user Mar 31, 2011

This is what I have to share with Empire. We had our whole house done with Empire, we did carpet and hard wood floors, spent like $14,000.

A month later my son spray windex on our floor and it warped. Now the guy that installed it said, to clean it with windex. Never got around to using it. Thank God I didn't.

We called Empire and the only thing they could say to us is that it wasn't under warranty. They said they would send someone out to take a look at it and no one ever came. They didn't even called to see what was going on. They got paid so way do they care now.

I was going to do window treatments, but not now, Not after the way we were treated. I will never spend another dime with this company and I will be telling all my friends and family that are looking for carpeting and flooring not to call Empire.

Thanks alot for all your help I see how you treat your customers, very disappointed with this company. We had extra flooring, all they had to do is fix like 3 boards and we would have been ok.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Birdsboro, Pennsylvania - Never use empire carpet

I’m very sorry to hear you’ve been experiencing issues with your product. From your account history, I can see that a member of our team reached out to you today and left a message. We’d like to schedule an outside inspector to come in and examine the problems you’ve described. This way, we can better understand the situation and what the solution may be. We take your concerns very seriously and want you to be satisfied with the finished results in your home. If you’d please follow back with me by email or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195, we’d like to speak with you so we can begin working on a resolution for you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#229892 Review #229892 is a subjective opinion of poster.

So i recently had carpet installed like three weeks ago and my carpet looks like *** all of my transition from room to room have seems, the stairs you can see where they cut the carpet to fit around the steps , and there are little holes in the carpet where they got glue on the carpet and had to cut it out. Not to mention the glue i found on the carpet and had to remove you can have all this for $2600 dollars.

They even came back to fix the seems and you can still see them.

O ya and today i fell in *** ya *** they forgot to cut out for a air vent. this a *** i think i should get my money back or something my lawyer is looking into the paper work he said i should get all my money back if i go to court.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today

Jackie, I truly apologize for the issues you’ve experienced with your installation and product. We want you to be happy about your experience and satisfied with the results. I understand we spoke with you recently to address your concerns and a repair has been scheduled. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to me – we are here to help. My email address is or you can contact me via phone 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#229492 Review #229492 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Empire Today sells shoddy merchandise !! Two years ago, I bought shades, and have had nothing but problems with them.

One large shade had to be repaired four times in the first year after purchase because the chord broke. The second shade needed to be replaced because it did not go up and down properly, the third shade's *** broke off, and the other large shade's cord broke, and it has to be fixed. I was told that these shades had a lifetime of free repairs, and now I am being told that I have to pay $50.00 to have these shades repaired. I will not recommend Empire Today to anyone !

I have neighbors who went to other vendors for shades, and have not had one shade break on them !! Do not go to Empire !!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Stanley, North Carolina - Failure to meet appointments and repairs

Vickie, I truly apologize for the issues you’ve been experiencing with your product and for what happened during your repair appointment. Our installers are qualified and experienced independent contractors, and it is always our goal to provide customers with the best service possible throughout their entire experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and that’s why we would like to work with you to make things right. From your account history, I can see that a member of our local area market has reached out to you to work with you on a resolution. If you could follow back with him, we’d like to ensure you’re satisfied with your product and installation. Or, if you’d like, feel free to contact me at t 888-588-2315 x4195, as I can also help. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#229352 Review #229352 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I contracted with Empire to install 2 rooms of carpet and 3 rooms of vinyl flooring. I paid them at the instant the work began...not when finished!

My first mistake. I learned that the salesman had misrepresented the carpeting as to it's soil resistance and also that ALL installers were employees of Empire and were not subcontracted. That is all a lie.

The carpet is NOT 100% soil resistant but is only top-coated with a soil resister. Empire does not have installers as employers but ALL are sub-contracted out.

I was told that Empire does have a non-compete agreement with the installers. Big deal.

The vinyl installed in my kitchen, dining room and laundry area has been plagued with a series of large bubbles in an area about 6' x 8'. An installer has been here twice to fix it and they are still there. The last time he came he added glue to the bubble and put a cement block on top of it and said "leave it a day or two." He was to have come back the next day.

That was 3 weeks ago and I haven't seen him or heard from the company. I had an appt for a repair today, 3/28 at 1 pm - 3 pm. I waited and finally got a call at 7pm from the man who said he got tied up and just couldn't get there. I was talking to him on a cell phone.

Why didn't he call, I asked. He just giggled and said "well, you know how that goes." I am absolutely angry and will NEVER do business with Empire again.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Getting the Run Around

Mrs. Sandoval, I apologize for the error that was made with processing the charge to your account and for the inconveniences this has caused you. We are aware of your situation and have been working on expediting your credit. If you have any further questions or concerns that we can help you with, feel free to email me at or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#229329 Review #229329 is a subjective opinion of poster.

My husband and I decided to get estimates for carpet (whole house). Steve Patterson, Sales Rep with Empire Today showed up on March 24, 2011 gave an estimate of $3200.

He then asked if we were going to finance. After finding out we were going to pay cash he said he would call his supervisor to see if he could get a discount for paying cash. The price dropped down to $2800 for the whole house. We had told him that we didn't want to have anything set in stone since we had appointments to get more estimates tomorrow (3/25/2011).

He said, that's fine but I would recommend that you fill out this form to be able to keep the price since he had to call his supervisor to get the price lowered. He said that he needed a credit card but along with it so that if we decided to go with them, then we could process it faster. He said several times that the card would not be charged. He also stated that there would be no charges either way until the day of installation.

With that said, we said ok... we want to be able to keep that price so he filled out a form and had us sign. I checked the bank account the following morning and noticed that the full $2874.34 was in pending status. Right away I went on the website to get a phone number and there was only a site for me to put my # to have a rep call me back.

I did that and after 10 minutes of getting no where, I asked to speak to a supervisor. I was put on hold and then I heard the phone pick up and then it was hung up. I called a local # 972-522-6000 and spoke with Megan. She put me on hold and said she was going to speak to the Accounting department.

When she came back she said that she would cancel the order and that the money should never have been taken out without our permission. I did advise her that I had the whole conversation recorded. I have a habit of recording all meetings and anything I might want to go back and listen to. I was given a confirmation number.

Megan also advised me that as soon as Empire Today recvs the money that it would only take about 30 minutes for them to reverse the charge and put the money back into the account, and that they would refuse payment. I decided to call Steve Patterson back after I arrived home. Steve's Cell # is 214-354-0504. He didn't answer the phone so I left him a voicemail.

I had asked him to call me back and that I had cancelled the order since the money was taken out even after being told several times by Steve Patterson that the money would not be taken out until the day the carpet was to be installed. When he called back I also mentioned that we had to cancel our appointment with other carpet companies because we didn't have the money we had set aside for this project. I had no idea when the money would be put back into my account. He apologized for what happened and said that he remembered after he had left that it would take the money out from my bank account.

Which just happens to be the complete opposite from what he said the previous day. Then he had the nerve to tell me that if we decided to go with Empire Today that he would talk to his manager and make sure that we are taken care of. That he would even see about upgrading the carpet and getting a better deal. He must be out of his mind if he thinks we are ever going to use Empire Today.

I would like the money refunded just as fast as they took it out, that's all I ask.

I also wanted to add that I left a few voice mails for Megan @ 972-522-6000 X3638 and her Manager Allan Zachary @ X4199 with no luck. The customer service line (Option 2) says that no reps are available. I called the corporate office @ 847-583-3000 and ended up speaking to Mahogany in Accounts Payable at X3117(Very Helpful... only one that really helped me out).

She transferred me to Maria at X7604. Maria gave me the same information that every other person I had spoken to has. I asked for her manager since the funds were taken without permission and that I didn't feel I should have to wait 10 business days to get the money refunded back into my bank account. Adam is Maria's manager.

He took the information that the bank gave as far as what needing to be on the company letterhead and faxed to my bank. I then called Mahogany back and she gave me the name of the manager over Cash Management Dept and her ext. India Reed @ Ext#5246. I called and left a message for India and it has been over an hour and I still haven't heard anything back.

I called Ms. Reed and left another voice mail and still nothing. I decided to call Allen Zachery back to see if anyone would answer. And to my suprise, he answered.

He said that it was taken care of a few hours back (funny...

that's not what corporate said) anywho...I filed a complaint with BBB and I will get my money back either way. Happy Monday!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in New York, New York - Empire Carpet has no low price guarantee

Jessica, I’m disappointed that we weren’t able to meet your expectations regarding our Low Price Guarantee program, and I apologize if the conditions of the program weren’t clearly explained to you during your appointment. It’s my understanding that a member of our customer service team has reached out to you today and clarified the conditions of our price guarantee. If you have any further questions, please feel free to email me at or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#229038 Review #229038 is a subjective opinion of poster.

On Empire Carpet's website, they claim to have a "Low Price Guarantee" where they guarantee they will "beat" a competitor's written estimate on a similar product and the estimate cannot be for a clearance items and a few other restrictions which don't apply to my situation.

I had the Empire guy at my house a few days ago and had a written quote dated that same day from a big box store.

Empire's estimate was MORE THAN DOUBLE their competitor (for Empire's cheapest carpet). When we showed the estimate to the Empire guy, he called his "boss" and found out the lowest price he could get for us and it was almost double. I asked why Empire claims to have a low price guarantee stated on the website and his only response was that he is not allowed to go lower than what his boss tells him.

The written estimate met all of the requirements as detailed on their website but they do not honor their low price guarantee.

But after reading the comments about the quality of Empire's carpets, I am glad we decided to go with one of their competitors.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in San Francisco, California - Empire didn't show up for appointment

Sandra, after reading your post I was able to look into your account and apologize that there was an error on our part when assigning a Sales Representative to your appointment. I realize we’ve reached out to you and thank you for talking with us today about your experience. We are always trying to build on our customer service and your feedback can only help us to enhance the level of service we provide our customers. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#227950 Review #227950 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Apr 05, 2011

Empire posted a response on March 23rd stating that they\'d \"reached out to me\" however - I never received an email or a phone call regarding their no-show. Seems like they just posted a pat answer to my complaint.

Update by user Mar 21, 2011

This was even more upsetting in that since the appt was for a quote, it was specified that all \"decision makers\" be present as no samples could be left at the residence.

Original review posted by user Mar 21, 2011

Empire was scheduled to come to our house between 1-3 last Saturday. I recieved a confirmation email for the appointment.

When they hadn't showed up by 3pm, I called the 800 number & they contacted the technician. The folks at the 800# confirmed that my appt was set but said the technician didn't get the info. They asked if I wanted to reschedule and I told them no as I was worried this was indicative of their service.

I was really ticked and so was my husband. Too bad because we had wanted to redo 3 bedrooms, a landing and a living room/dining room.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Rancho Cucamonga, California - Empire Carpets - No Integrity, Poor Quality- Will not stand behind the Customer!

Emily: As a member of our National Customer Service Team, I came across your post and was concerned by the description of your product’s performance as well as your experience with our customer service. I was able to look up your account and forwarded your information to the local area market who reached out to you today. It’s my understanding that an inspection has been scheduled for this week. We’ll follow back with you with the results so we can work on a resolution together because we want you to be happy with both your product and installation. If you questions before this time, please feel free to email me at or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#227262 Review #227262 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user May 07, 2011

Thank you to for helping me get the attention of Empire Carpets. I am very glad to report that in fact, they demonstrated integrity and customer service by re-evaluating their original decision and completley replacing my kitchen floor.

I was extremley impressed with their level of customer service as well as their attention to detail as they did the work. Thank You again for your assistance in helping me resolve this issue.

Original review posted by user Mar 17, 2011

You go with a company like Empire because you believe they will stand behind their product and provide a high quality result – bad decision.

We had our kitchen floor replaced with ceramic tile, the tile started to break in the middle of the floor, grout is coming up ALL over the floor in several places, the grout that is there is multi-colored (not one consistent color), the lines between the tile vary in size and are VERY noticeable, the threshold is made of such cheap wood that too has cracked.

Here's the kicker - the floor was install in Dec 2007 – so the floor is BARELY over 2 years old. I called to have them replace the tiles.If you are a dissatisfied customer, they are VERY hard to get a hold of. We had someone out to "inspect" the work – they took ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSIBILITY and informed us we are "past warranty" and the tiles we used are now discontinued.THAT WAS IT. I have had several other professionals out to provide me a quote on work in my kitchen they all told me that Empire is totally responsible and accountable for fixing the problem.

Odd huh?

Instead of taking my money–they told me to go back to the company to fix it. Empire's response was essentially: we do not support our customers, we don't care if you are satisfied, we use poor quality products and do not stand behind our employee's who do a poor job of installing our low quality product in your home, we do not care about quality or customer satisfaction.BUYER BEWARE!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today sold me junk, knew it, admitted it and wont fix it...go elsewhere

Lee, we’re disappointed you weren’t happy with your product; however, we want you to know we do stand by the quality of our products. It’s my understanding we’ve followed back with you to address your concerns and that we’ve been able to reach a resolution together. The local area market will be contacting you soon to schedule an appointment for you to select a new product. If you need anything else before this time, please feel free to send me an email at or call me at 888-588-2315 x4195. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We’re glad we could help. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#226153 Review #226153 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I bought carpet from a hard sell...that was my first mistake.

Good price, I was happy. 6 months later it was flat and lifeless with no springback to the fibers. After A YEAR back and forth an "independent investigator" found it to be consistent with this entry level carpet. If I was told this when I bought I wouldnt have bought it. I was told it was perfect for the room...yadda yaddada. So the expert who comes to the home lies to make a sale that day and Im left screwed. THANKS!

I was told it was what a landlord "throws down" to beautify an apartment to rent and it has no life expectancy...this was told to me from the Empress rep AFTER I had it installed and AFTER all my troubles.

So I bought 1000sgft of PURE JUNK...and they wont DO A THING to help.

Way to stand being your product and to help a customer that you screwed by making the hard sell without letting them know it was ***. Why would I want *** in my new home...and 1000sqft...cmon now. Thanks for screwing me, my wife and new baby.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Saint Charles, Illinois - Empire Carpet, a no-show, wasted my valuable time

We realize you made arrangements for the scheduled time and we never want customers to feel like we don’t think they’re important to us or their time isn’t valuable. I apologize for any trouble your missed sales appointment caused both you and your wife. We’ve looked up your account and there was an error in the scheduling of your appointment time. From what we understand our sales manager in your local area market has reached out to you but has been unable to reach you. We’d like to offer to send another sales representative to your home. You can email me at or contact my via phone 888-588-2315 x4195 and a member of our Customer Service Team will be in contact with you soon
#225545 Review #225545 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I read the negative reviews about Empire on this site, but I had recommendations from family that were happy with a previous purchase. But that had been years ago. I thought I would give them a try...

I called and set up an appointment for most of the flooring in my house. I was told that it is very important to have anyone making the decision present at the appointment and they had an opening for tonight at 7:00. This house is about 1 hour away from where we currently live. Since we will be living in this house, my pregnant wife had to come 1 hour and wait in a house with only a couple hard kitchen table chairs for 2 hours waiting for someone who did not show up.

When we called we were told that they don't know what happened. They had the appointment scheduled, but somehow it was lost in transit and although the time was scheduled and in their computer, noone was scheduled to come out. They offered to give us $60 toward our purchase to compensate us to their error. (When we spoke to a manager this number dropped to $50.)

Let me understand this: You fail to show and waste 8 hours of our time (4 hours each, 2 hours drive time + 2 hours waiting) and you will give us $6.25/ hour if we still purchase a carpet from you?????

After speaking to a manager, and asking them to get someone out there we were called back 20 minutes later telling us if we want to wait a little over an hour more, they could have someone meet with us. Let me remind you that my wife is pregnant and not feeling well. Waiting for them would have meant we would have been home well after midnight.

Our lives may not be important to Empire, but we have very little free time and with a baby coming we need to use it wisely. That said, waiting for Empire was not the wisest thing to do on a Monday evening....

This is unacceptable especially in this economy when companies should be trying to please their customers instead of playing around with them. There are other companies out there!!!!