Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Cicero, Illinois - Empire Carpet has poor business practices.

Cindy, I’ve read your post and am sorry to hear your mother wasn’t satisfied with her installation experience. We were able to look up your mother’s account, and it is my understanding that we’ve been working with her to address her concerns. I understand we recently recompleted the installation on her stairs, and have followed back with her to ensure she was satisfied. If you, or your mother, have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#242482 Review #242482 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$7800

When the Empire Carpet salesman Tony Tampa arrived at my mothers house he proceeded to give her an estimate for her family room and basement. My mother was so impressed with the salesman that she had him give her an estimate for the entire house. He provided her with his cell phone number if she had any questions. She contacted him a day later and said that she was unsure of making a purchase for the whole house, at which point, Tony said don't worry. He made assurances to my mother that it was no issue what so ever that she only get the 2 rooms done.

The 1st day of install when very well, my mother loved the install guys, she even gave them a TV that she had laying around. She was so impressed that she contacted Mr. Tampa the next day and proceeded to order the carpet for the rest of the house, with the stipulation that the same installers would be back to finish the job. Mr. Tampa assured her that the same guys would be back the next day (1st lie coming), however, when the next day came it was 3 different installers. The installers on the 2nd day were not as skilled with installing the carpet. The installers did not put thresholds between the carpet and the linoleum in the bathrooms, they just cut the carpet straight and butted it up to the laminate. They installed the carpet on the stairs crooked, it had a banana shape going up the stairs. They also did a poor job of mating the carpet up to a ceramic tile foyer.

Now the fun starts up, Mr. Tampa became unreachable entirely, he did not respond to any voice mail messages. He didn't answer is phone when calls were attempted from unknown numbers either.

My mother contacted empire customer service and finally was able to register her complaint after roughly 6 hours of phone play. Empire sent one of there carpet specialists to the house at which point he didn't necessarily feel that there was something wrong with the install. After my mother insisted excessively that the install was not acceptable he finally conceded defeat, he said that he would make the recommendations for repair.

Several days later repair men came to the house and reinstalled the stair carpet (crooked again), they put thresholds in finally, and they sent a carpenter to attempt to repair where the carpet butted up to the ceramic tile. The carpenter they sent said that if he did anything it would make it look worse.

Once again, empire customer service was contacted, after another 6 hours spent, my mother was able to get them to schedule another repair visit to fix the stairs as she was fed up with trying to get the ceramic tile issue taken care of.

Finally today the repairs have been made which is now 2 weeks after the initial install.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Lombard, Illinois - Empire, will not honor warranty

Stephanie, I apologize that you’ve not been satisfied with your experience and for the issues you described with your product. We do offer manufacturer warranties and a one year installation warranty on all of our products. When a customer experiences an issue that may be related to the warranty, we work with each and every customer to address their concerns, and there is a process that we follow in order to ensure that we are providing the right solution. I reached out to you and left you a message so we can continue to work on a resolution together. Ultimately, we want you to be happy with the product we’ve installed in your home. If you are able to return my call, we’d like to continue working with you. I can be reached at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#240911 Review #240911 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Jun 15, 2011

Rebekah, Empire kept telling me the floor they installed was appropriate for my kitchen. I contacted the manufacturer of my flooring and guess what?

The manufacturer says the same thing I have been saying: the flooring you installed in my kitchen is NOT appropropriate for my kitchen. I have forwarded their email to the BBB and reopened my complaint.

You say you want to find the right solution, however, several times you denied my request to fix my floor under the warranty, then the only solution you would offer is to put in the same floor. That is not searching for solutions, that is ignoring the customer and finding the cheapest way out for Empire.

Original review posted by user Jun 02, 2011

Worst customer service. Empire boasted about their warranty.

When I tried to use it, it is denied. More than two months later, they finally called, said they "found a box of product" and will fix my floor. Guess the floor was warranty able after all; they were just giving me the run around. Unfortunately, one box is not enough to fix all the separation and fading.

Filed a BBB complaint. Empire said they left me messages that Empire "offers a replacement of the floor with a signed agreement for goodwill and customer service". Does this mean I have to keep my mouth shut about the horrible customer service in order to get my floor fixed under the warranty? Rebecca, I have left you several messages to figure out to what you are referring in your BBB response.

Seems you frequent this site, so check your voice mail for my telephone number and call me back.

I just want my floor fixed under the warranty Empire gave me. Thank you, Stephanie

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today waste of money

Rafael, I apologize for the problems you’ve had with your product. We want you and all of our customers to be satisfied with their home improvements. It’s my understanding that we spoke to you yesterday and that currently we’re working on a resolution with you. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to call me at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send me an email at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#240628 Review #240628 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$3200

Update by user Aug 07, 2011

Iam now very pleased with Empire Today. They have contacted me and my problem has been resolved to my satisfaction. They have made me a happy customer and recent service was great.

Original review posted by user May 31, 2011

Please never purchase anything from this horrible & dishonest company!! We are a young struggling couple that wanted nothing but the best for our floor renovation but instead got garbage.

After taking consultant advice, which promised us "this was best floor that could withstand almost anything" we purchased "scratch-free" flooring. But not even after 24hours installation floor was chipped. After one-month borders started to break and it hasn't even been 1yr since we purchased and we have scratches, dents & chips everywhere. We take EXTREMLY good care of flooring because we own and want it to last but unfortunately even with specific instructions from company itself on how-to care for floors, it has been nothing but a disappointment.

I've never move any furniture around & I even ask my guest to remove shoes and I STILL find new scratches!

After several complaints, they sent an inspector, which "claimed" that we caused damage to floors. The experience with Empire Today has been nothing more but upsetting and waste of my money.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Edison, New Jersey - Stay away from Empire Carpet

I've read your comments and recent post. As a member of the Management Team, I would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding any concerns you may have regarding our company. We review each and every concern that is brought to our attention, and Empire takes the feedback very seriously. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. This grade represents the BBB's degree of confidence that the business is operating in a trustworthy manner and making good faith efforts to resolve customer concerns. Please feel free to contact me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 ext 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#240530 Review #240530 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I am a former employee for Empire. At no cost should you use this company. Use them only if you want product imported from China, installed by day laborers, and you like to be over charged and lied to.

They do not care about customers, and pay the sales reps to leave positive comments on websites like this. All to fool the customer.

Working as a rep is a joke. You have to be an independent contractor and not an employee. You MUST sell the appointment on the first time or they wont give you anymore appointments. Any discrepancies are charged to the rep. Even though they are fake. They have a rating system from A to E for reps. A reps get leads as they are the biggest liars. E reps don't get anything and they expect you to go door to door. So they have to lie to the customers to keep getting work. They have a constant hiring and training plan to cover appointments. Making an appointment with them is condoning this type of behavior and should not be.

Go to your local company as you will be a great deal happier!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today-I will never use them again

Allison, I’m sorry to hear about the issues you’ve experienced with your product and repairs. I understand that we’re sending a manager to review your concerns. However, we’re here to answer any questions or concerns you have before the review and will be following back with you afterwards to see how everything went. Feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#240338 Review #240338 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We had carpet installed over a month a go and we are still working to get the issue resolved. After nine appointments, endless calls to empire today on our part, disputes filed with the better business bureau, and wells fargo, our carpet is still not fixed. The first batch had a defect.

We now just had 1400 square feet of carpet installed again on Monday. This time it is not the same color (not even close) or the same product (appears to be a cheaper carpet when we purchased the best). Not to mention damage done to our furniture and newly replaced baseboards after the first installation.

Our local office gave us a $380 credit for almost $4000 dollars done in work. That is not even a missed day of work for my husband who works on straight commission. Again, he missed nine days (between half and full days missed).

Now we have in another call for this go round of carpet. We also have about 10 seems that are so apparent on this light colored carpet that we did not purchase. My husband and I have both been in customer service for over 15 years and it is apparent with Empire Today the customer does not come first. Sad to say because we used them based on a referral. I also did not find it amusing when the customer service rep laughed when I told him that these appts were affecting our daily life with our 4 year old son who we constantly had to make arrangements for.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Tualatin, Oregon - Won't use this company

I’ve read your post and would like the chance to reach out to you to discuss your concerns with our company. We’re dedicated to customer satisfaction and providing all of our customers with world-class service. I apologize if this wasn’t the impression you received. Since we don’t have your contact information, could you please email it to customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195 so I may have a member of our customer service team follow back with you? Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#239898 Review #239898 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1500

I was just about to call Empire Today for an estimate but I stumbled upon this site with all of these complaints. It is a bit shocking. I can now say I will not be calling them. To have so many complaints, makes me wonder how they are still in business. And to see what people have gone through, what an unnecessary headache.

Everyone should become a member of Prepaid Legal Services. That way you can have an attorney deal with the idiots at Empire and help you get most, if not all of your money back.

Thanks for the warning!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Rancho Santa Margarita, California - Sold and installed inferior quality carpet.

I’m sorry to hear about the issues you’ve experienced with your product. We are dedicated to making sure every customer is satisfied with the product we install in their home, and I understand that we’ve reached out to you recently to continue to work on a resolution together. We do want to work with you to make things right. We stand by our products and if there is an issue related to a defect in the product installed in your home, we are able to work directly with the manufacturer to reach a resolution. Our local area market has reached out to you to continue to work with you. If you are able to please follow back with them so we can help. Or, if you’d prefer to contact me directly I can be reached at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#239034 Review #239034 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This company - Empire - sold and installed inferior quality carpeting and padding and refused to make good on their warranty. After numerous calls to them and inspections by their independent contractors we were told we were at fault for not maintaining the product in a cleaner fashion.

Eventually - soon, I hope, we will replace the carpeting with other flooring from a more reputable firm.

This will come after wasting nearly $3,000.00 on the product they sold and installed. It is blatantly apparent that they are not interested in customer service or satisfaction at any level and instead will go out of their way to prove the customer is always wrong.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Fremont, California - Empire Carpet Financial Company

Mr. and Mrs. Foreman, We’ve read your post and been able to look up your account and reach out to you. It’s my understanding that you’ve spoken with our customer service team and we’re working with you and the financing company to address your concerns. If you have any further questions, you can email me at customer support@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#237018 Review #237018 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Empire Carpet is a scam. I had carpet installed last year @ March 2010.

No interest for 1 yr. I've never received a statement from their finance company (Wells Financial Service) nor did I receive any emails about the loan. I phoned Empire on April 5, 2010 inquiring about a statement and the rep who went by the name "Kalil" stated he would send it out. I never received one.

I phoned again in May, no statement was sent. In Mar of 2011, I've been receiving calls daily to make a payment.

I explained to the reps what happened,and I would be willing to pay only if they start the special over because of their negligence. They are not willing to do so.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today's Customer Service is Awful

Michael, I truly apologize for the inconveniences you were caused due to the delayed installation. I understand that you’ve spoke with the local general manager and we were able to reach a mutually agreed upon resolution. We want you to be satisfied, and if there are any further questions or concerns I may help you with, please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk National Customer Service Manager
Review
#237010 Review #237010 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user May 12, 2011

Since I submitted this complaint, Empire has agreed to remediate the situation. The whole experience was a headache that we wish we didn\'t have to go through. At least they are taking responsibility for it though.

Original review posted by user May 11, 2011

Empire Today Customer Service is awful. We ordered and thought it would be a pleasant experience. We were completely wrong. We did wood floors and a two day project turned into four. The job could have been finished in a day and a half. The first day the installer was there for a total of three hours because empire did not ship enough wood to complete a singe room. The second day the wrong material was ordered. Finally it was installed. We thought our carpet order was going to be ok but the same problem. Not enough material was ordered so the one day project turned into two.

Since the project extended beyond the estimate my wife needed to call off work and we lost wages. Empire did offer compensation but no where near the amount of the lost wages. To make it worse, we were told in the estimate that if we received a lower quote it would be matched with no problems. We received a lower quote and sent it to empire but then we were informed that there are several stipulations that must be met. Meanwhile we were told originally it would be matched no questions asked.

Avoid a headache and avoid empire.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Marshalls Creek, Pennsylvania - Empire Carpet

Mary Ellen, I apologize for the issues you’ve experienced with your installation. I understand that a member of Customer Service Team spoke with you today and that a repair has been scheduled for the coming weeks. Your satisfaction is very important to us and a member of our team will be following back with you after your repair appointment to make sure everything went smoothly for you and that you’re happy with the results. If you have any further questions or concerns before this time, please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#236127 Review #236127 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$5

on april 26 we had entire house carpeted by empire carpets

The young men did not get here until noon.they had already finished one large job and seemed tired before they even started our house. we have issues with seams showing and can feel a ridge where they joined the seams together , all furniture was not put back, by 6:00 they seemed to just want to get done and left some bedroom furniture in the bathroom

closet doors were not adjusted to height of carpet

door guides were not replaced

padding was not what we expected

plaster chipped on wall