Empire Today's reply to:

Bad Customer Service

As a member of our customer service management team, I truly apologize for any damages that occurred during your flooring installation and for the lack of response you have received from customer service. I understand your frustration – it is our goal to have home improvements be as convenient as possible. Please email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me at 888-588-2315 x4195 so I can follow back with you and work with you on a resolution. I look forward to hearing from you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#138406 Review #138406 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Installation

We recentley were suppose to have vinyl flooring installed in the kitchen and two bathrooms. After completley empting out one bathroom and everything in the kitchen except for the stove and fridge, cause the sales guy told us the installers would move it, the installers arrived and told us they would have to come back to do the bathrooms because the wouldn't have time to do it that day.

Anyways in the process of doing my kitchen we were told they have been only doing vinyl installation for two weeks and was quite sure what they were doing, but eventually got the floor down and looked nice. as they were putting the fridge back they put a big tear in the floor, then another one and another one and ended up with seven tears in the floor.

The installer was more pissed that he would lose out on money then anything else and that he would have to come back and do the whole floor over and waist more gas for the trip back, then he blamed us and our fridge saying the wheels on our fridge were not down far enough and that we should think about fixing it. Well anyways I have called four times wanting to speak to a manager and they tell me either they are not in or that they are on a phone call and would get back to me within 24 hours well it has been four days and still NO RESPONSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 comments
#54467

:cry :zzz :sigh :p 8) ;) :grin :) :roll :eek :upset :zzz :? :cry :( :x

#41068

You think 4 days is bad. I've been going at it for 2 months now to get my carpet repaired due to bad installation.

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today's Financing Sucks

I have read you post about your concerns with the terms provided by our financing vendor. Depending on where you live, there are different financing options available. I am happy to review your account and provide information about the financing you were approved for. Please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#138065 Review #138065 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Empire Today installed windows and gutters on my home. Their Financing is an absolute rip off.

Also not one of the workers spoke english well. Communication was very difficult. Maybe ICE should check this company out. Their ad is disceptive and close to false advertising.

No interest charges till whenever is a ploy. They don't tell you up front that if you don't make a payment that you will get a bill for late fees and all kind of stuff. An $8000 bill turned into $10500. Their sales people don't give you the whole story either.

They didn't tell me the interest rate.

I could have got a loan for much less. Don't use this company.

2 comments
#133766

This is for "your an ***', first off it's "you're" ya know... "you are" !

Second I think that Empire has their employees sit and check this site everyday to make RUDE comments to people that feel they have been "wronged" in one way or another by Empire. If you're someone that has never done interest free financing you may not know what you're getting into.

#70094

I just have to comment about how *** you must be about your complaint. First of all, if you did not read the financing agreement that is your fault. A No Interest plan isn't the same as No Interest AND No payments ***.

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Carpets WAY OVER Priced!

We apologize that your sales representative was late for your appointment and that you did not have a positive experience with your in-home estimate. There are many factors that go into our fully installed price including the product cost, padding, sales, floor preparation, square footage of the area, moving of furniture, etc. Although you did not have product installed, I would like the opportunity to follow up with you about your experience and with the sales representative involved. Please email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x5248. Rick Boysen, Director of Sales
ID
#137575 Review #137575 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I set up an appointment with empire carpets via the internet. They were supposed to show up 2 days later between 3-5PM. They were supposed to give me quotes on flooring and window treatments.

The woman showed up approx twenty minutes late. She also did not have the samples with her for the window treatments.

Iexplained what I was looking for and she showed me some samples. I asked what a ball park figure would be for two different samples. She measured my house and proceeded to tell me that I would need 2100 sq feet of flooring. My house measures about 1700 sq feet. I understand you want some overage, but 400sq feet? She then told me the price would be $160 a case for one and $180 a case for the other. That did not include removing the old carpet or moving furniture, etc. that would be extra. I told her that I would have to think this over. She then told me that this price included the 60% off but she could call the office to see if she could get a better deal. I said no, that at those prices, even a better deal was not good enough. She left.

The next day I went to a local (San Diego) flooring store and found the same thing for $38.00 a case!

Do Not Be Fooled!

2 comments
#49814

38 dollars a case installed? That must be some junky stuff. The other price was installed price, you ***

#43116

Was this an installed price? $160 a case, how many cases were needed?

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Rip off

I have read your comments and recent post. I apologize you were not satisfied with your carpet purchase. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we do our best to provide a resolution to customers that experience problems. We offer quality, name-brand products from leading manufacturers and work with each customer to select a product to fit their needs. All of our products are also backed by an installation and manufacturer warranties. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your experience and any concerns you have regarding our company. Please contact me directly at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#135591 Review #135591 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Don't get ripped off by Empire Today, do some online research first and you will see just how bad they are. Very, very poor quality products!! Their policy of installing the very next day isn't really a good thing, it's used to prevent the customer from researching what Empire Today is really about and also shopping around. In my case I requested and paid for premium grade carpet only to have cheap *** installed. After a year of no return calls, transfer to other customer service managers and the over all run around, they offered to sell me more carpet to replace the cheap stuff they installed. Needless to say I wasn't falling for that and giving them one more dime. I filed complaints with both BBB and Florida Dept. of Consumer Services with no results (neither did anything - joke) but it was important to me to warn other consumers. I encourage anyone that has had a bad experience with Empire Today to share it, maybe you can save someone else from getting ripped off.

Eric

Florida

1 comment
#51445

Glad I read your reviews, since I am in the market for carpeting. You definitely steered me away from contacting Empire Today, and I will be looking elsewhere for my needs!

Thanks again for your comments!

Empire Today's reply to:

Poor customer service from the get go

As a member of the Customer Service Management Team, I have read your post and would like the opportunity to follow back with you. We apologize for the problems you experienced with your in-home appointment. We know our customers are very busy and we take the appointments very seriously. Also, I would like to look into your referral gift card. There are certain conditions that need to be met in order to receive the gift card and I would like to review your information. Since we do not have your contact information, would you please contact me directly? Please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me directly at 888-588-2315 x 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#135446 Review #135446 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4500

this is the worst company to deal with trying to get a refereal fe " ha ha" they mean a gift card !!!! do not buy from empire ever!!!

they were 4 hours late and were there until 1:00 am too bad there is no such thing as calling the customer .

i had to call them several times to find out how much longer they would be!!!! tooo bad I work with a retail store in las vegas and the person i refeered works as a boss for a major company here so no more refeerals for empire we removed the sign in our yards right after they put them in the ground!!!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Nothing but a Scam

On behalf of Empire Today, I apologize that we didn't meet the expectations that you were expecting by scheduling an in-home estimate with us. Empire takes the feedback from its customers very seriously. I will ensure that your experience is brought to the attention of our Sales Team. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager. If you would like to speak with me directly, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195.
ID
#135001 Review #135001 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate
Loss
$1600

I contacted Empire Today on August 28th for an estimate on installing some hardwood flooring. The sales rep that showed up was unprofessional, pushy and had a huge attitude.

I wanted hardwoods and he tried his best to talk me into purchasing laminate flooring trying to explain to me that laminate is better than hardwood. When I wouldn't budge on my decision, he proceeded to quote me on my flooring choice. The quote that I received was $800 higher than a local flooring company. The sales rep had the audacity to tell me that I was making a mistake by not purchasing from them and that his price was the best out there.

He proceeded to slam his samples on my existing hardwoods scratching them.

Talk about a company that is full of itself.

Empire Today's reply to:

I'm upset on how Empire Today does business

I have read your post and see we were able to reach a resolution with you. I apologize for your experience with our installation team and the problems with the plumbing. I would like to follow back with you to be sure that everything was corrected during your final installation appointment, but I do not have your information based on your post. We want to ensure that you are satisfied with your product and installation. Please feel free to contact me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk – National Customer Service Manager
ID
#134807 Review #134807 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Installation

On July 6, 2008, I contracted Empire Today to install a bathtub liner as well as a door in our bathroom. On July 12, 2008, two installers came by at our house to do the work. However, because of the rain, they asked us to push back the installation on the following day. They came back the following morning and after spending almost two hours in the bathroom, one of the installer indicated that the bathtub liner could not fit. He also mentioned that he broke the water pipe so we cannot use it until it is fixed. I checked the bathtub liner and its size was the same as the existing bathtub. I am not a carpenter, installer or whatsoever, but I am surprised it took him a while to figure that the bathtub liner will not fit! Anyways, the damage has been done so I have no choice but to calm down and convince myself that everything will be fine.

We asked them to come back on July 19 to fix the water pipe and then the installation of the bathtub liner. We waited the whole day and nobody showed up! We have cancelled our plans for this appointment and nothing happened!

We called the customer service and we were told that a plumber would come at our house on July 26. Thank God, a plumber appeared our door on that day. He opened the faucet to check the leak and the water started to drip at our ceiling. It damaged the electrical wirings at our dining area. Things are getting worst!

To fix the water pipe, he got rid of a portion of the ceiling to replace the broken pipe. He fixed the water pipe but he broke two things: (1) ceiling and (2) electrical wirings.

We called the customer service to file a complaint about this incident. Per customer service representative, the bathtub liner is out of stock and we need to wait for a couple of days. She cordially offered to schedule an appointment to fix the ceiling but we declined. We want to make sure that they install the bathtub liner first before fixing the ceiling to avoid duplication of this incident.

Days, weeks and then a month have passed but we never heard from Empire Today! This is a nightmare!

On September 3, 2008, we called the customer service to make a follow up. Thank God, the bathtub liner is now available. An appointment was made on September 10, 2008 between 9:00-10:00 am EST. It is now 11 am and I am still waiting for the installer. I took a day off from the office just for this appointment. I hope he will show up anytime soon!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire...the jingle of scammers

I’ve read your comments and I’d like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your post. It is the goal of all Empire sales representatives and independent contractors to provide world-class service to each and every customer. If you would like to discuss your concerns with our Director of National Sales, Human Resources Director or National Installations Management Team, please email me and I will be happy to have them follow back with you. Since I’m unable to obtain your contact information based on the details in the post, I would like the opportunity to speak with so you can be placed in contact with the appropriate individual. I can be reached at pressrelations@empiretoday.com or via phone at 847-583-5248. Gina Cielocha, Marketing & Communications Manager
ID
#134631 Review #134631 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Empire carpet,wut should i say ? fraud,scam,any thing bad is empire.imagin you pay up to $2500 for just 80 yrd of carpet,although the carpet wont last more than 2 month ,to look old and bad.all of thier carpet is stock . I am an installer who worked for them,and used some of thier carpet to my house,let me tell you they are very bad,and dont you ever buy from these scammers they are very bad , way bad,the carpet is no good you pay too much money for *** watch out,and be carfull

1 comment
#33497

Like someones is going to believe a former employee,who gives no details about why they suck.It sounds like you were fired and just pissed off.Explain why they suck,I have their 64 oz carpet and love it.I paid $5 a foot and would buy again.That is why I came to this site,I saw it after googling them to set up a appointment for hard wood foor.

Empire Today's reply to:

EMPIRE - ONE DAY???

I’ve read your information and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Based on the information that was provided in the post, I’m unable to pull your information in our system. I would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you regarding your refund and the cancellation of your order, customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. At your convenience, please feel free to contact me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk – National Customer Service Manager
ID
#134552 Review #134552 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$3500

I contracted Empire to install the flooring in my new condo in Fl, I pay on July 17 08, they have been taking 1.5 months to get the permit from the city, they barely answer my phone calls or give me an explanation and now that I want my money back they seem not to be willing to give it back.....

I want to find a lawyer and sue them. I could not rent the apartment in one and a half months because of their delay!!!

They are irresponsible and do not have an idea on how to conduct business.

Empire Today's reply to:

Buyer Beware: Empire Carpet has no ethics

I’ve reviewed your post and would like the opportunity to have a member of our Sales Management Team review your file so we can follow back with your local sales team and the sales representative involved. However, based on your post, I’m not able to pull your contact information. If possible, would you be able to contact Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. She will be able to gather the information so we can further review. Our sales representatives during the appointment will measure the area and provide a fully installed price. Our goal is to find the right products to meet our customer’s needs and budgets. We also offer a low price guarantee if certain conditions are met. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us and we take all concerns seriously and would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns. Once you are able to provide your information to our customer service tea we can then follow back with you. - Marlo Michalek, Vice President of Marketing Communications.
ID
#134085 Review #134085 is a subjective opinion of poster.

On 9-3-08 my wife & I saw an empire commercial and said we shpould call to re-surface our 12'x26' bedroom in IN. A "sales rep" (all sub-contractors - not Empire employees) showed up the next day and gave us a quote of $1175 for that size room, charged by the SF (he offered us a $150 "discount" coupon against the purchase).

It seemed that Wall to wall carpeting for a room that size should cost less than $1035, so and I called around to other installers and they were about 30% less charged by the square yard. I couldn't reconcile the cost for such a small space, and I don't ever remember buying carpet by the square foot, on square yard. When I called EMPIRE (588-2300 - the only number you can find manned at a call center - they say the company is based in Northlake IL, but you won't find a way to contact the headquaters) and asked to speak to a supervisor to determine if I was getting ripped off, the supervisor Rick, told me he couldn't tell me how they charged for their carpet, because that was "up to the sales rep" who he confirmed was not an Empire employee. He flat out said he couldn't help me, and that I should speak to the 'sales rep".

I told Rick the supervisor that I would cancel my order, and tell everyone I know that EMPIRE has no intention of standing behind their products, and they could be considered part of a "bait and switch scheme" where they advertise 60% discounts on television, but their "sales reps" don't have to povide the discount or conform to any company standard.

I cancelled my order, and called my bank to put a stop on the cradit card. IF YOU BUY FROM THESE GUYS - YOU DESERVE WHAT YOU GET !!!

2 comments
#77747

you are so true about empire i had an bath liner installed in 2007 and it was suppose to have a life time warrenty but when i called because the liner was moving athey refuse to do anythingabout it. so do not empirefool with

#77746

you are so true about empire i had an bath liner installed in 2007 and it was suppose to have a life time warrenty but when i called because the liner was moving athey refuse to do anythingabout it. so do not empirefool with

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Sux

I apologize for your missed in-home appointment and for the lack of response you received from customer service. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and I would like for a member of our team to speak with you about your experience. We stand by our products and installation, and we work with customers should a problem arise. If possible, would you be able to contact us 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com with your contact information and we will follow back promptly. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
ID
#133970 Review #133970 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Installation

Stay away from Empire Today. They lure you in with slick commercials and some nice customer service up front, but they *** on the back end.

Don't sign the contract because the moment you do, the service goes to pot. No returned phone calls, estimated dates for measurement and installation aren't met--without even a phone call. They are awful and I will never use them again. I stupidly declined a competing offer from a local guy and now I wish I can gone with him.

Bad, bad, bad. I cannot begin to express what a frustrating experience this has been,.

1 comment
#32675

thank you - i was ready to book an appointment until i red your comment. i think i will shop around at some of my local dealers.

lowes is the same way. you may end up with your furniture in your kitchen for a couple of months before they deliver as promised.

Empire Today's reply to:

Never showed up, never called, never again!

As a member of our customer service management team, I apologize for the missed appointment and that we were not able to serve you better. It is our goal to make installing home improvements as convenient as possible – I understand the frustration you experienced as a result of having to prepare your home for an installation that did not occur. Although you cancelled your order, it is important for us to be able to follow back with the representatives involved. If possible, would you be able to contact me at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com with your contact information and I will follow back promptly. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
ID
#133320 Review #133320 is a subjective opinion of poster.

They promised next day delivery. My wife and I took off from work to get the room ready for new carpet.

Moved the furniture, un-hooked the surround sound stereo, got a friend to help move the TV and other heavy furniture ... and waited, and waited, and waited. At 4 PM we called them and were told "How about tomorrow?". When we told them that was not acceptable they told us the carpet was a special order and it would take 2 weeks.

We canceled.

The price was not really that great .... we shopped around and saved over $200 for the exact same carpet at Home Depot.

Empire Today's reply to:

Rip Off Alert- Empire is no good

I’ve read your information and would like to have you speak with a member of our Customer Service Management Team. However, I cannot locate your information based on your post. If possible, would you be able to send our contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195 to speak with Rebekah Clerk our National Customer Service Manager. She will be able to look up your account information. Gina Cielocha –Senior Marketing and Communications Manager
ID
#133189 Review #133189 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Empire Today Flooring

I too was impressed with the advertisements for Empire carpet and flooring. I finally decided to give it a try and called them for the free in home estimate.

I have to say that the sales man was prompt and courteous. He did measure all my rooms and spend a good amount of time showing me samples of carpet in his mid range. I personally didn't think the carpet felt all that great compared to the carpet I already have, but he assured me that would be different after it was down with the padding. I liked their financing package and agreed to the sale.

I specifically asked him how their prices compared to Home Depot and other companies. He told me that they were the same except that Home depot would charge me to move all my furniture and extras for steps mouldings etc...

Well, after reading the reviews online I decided to cancel the order and think things over a bit more. I called Smart Carpet and Flooring for another in home estimate.

I spent over 3 hours with the salesmen and in the end I was able to not only save over $1000, but included in that price was my Master bedroom which I had to exclude previously due to cost. I am going to receive a carpet with a longer warranty as well.

I guess the moral is. Do your research, haggle a lot, and speak spanish.

Oh yeah, two days after cancelling the job I received a call at 7 am from a spanish speaking installer telling me he was going to be there in 40 minutes. I told him not to come and that I cancelled. He said ok so I hung up. Then he called again and I told him the same.

When I hung up I called cust. service. She told me that my cancellation had not been completed. Then she told me that they would take 800 off the price if I still would consider using them.

Too late honey! So thats the long and the short of it.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Carpets

As a member of our customer service management team, I truly apologize for your missed appointment and the response you received from customer service. We know our customers are very busy and we take our scheduled in-home appointments very seriously. Our in-home appointments are the only way our customers can see our products and gain a better understanding of what we offer. Customer satisfaction is truly important to us and we take concerns from our customers very seriously. I would like to opportunity to speak with you in order to follow back with the sales representative involved. Since I do not have contact information to reach you, please email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me at 888-588-2315 x4195. I forward to hearing from you soon. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#133015 Review #133015 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Empire Today Estimate

Do not believe Empire carpets when they say they take pride in their custmer service. I scheduled a home estimate for carpet and tile a week ago for Empire Carpets. They confirmed twice saying that they were going to be at the appointment.

I rushed home from work and blew off two other flooring companies because I was so impressed with Empire's website and promises. I did this and then they never showed up.

I called them at 5:00, they were suppose to be there from 3-5:00, and they hung up on me the first call. I called back and I finally got an answer. They basically said that there wasn't an available sales rep in my area today, even though my appointment was confirmed twice. All they told me they could do is reschedule my appointment.

Why would I want to do business with a company that I can't trust to be there when they scheduled an appointment? Empire is very unprofessional and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

3 comments
#159744

Thanks everyone! I did use another company, Dixie Flooring.

They were very professional and cheaper. It's been almost two years since they put in the carpet and tile, and I'm very satisfied.

#32327

When it comes to carpet I think you should deal locally or from one of the large chains ie. lowes,HD etc.

It's a major investment and one that's supposed to last years.

I've heard numerous complaints about Empire and would never use them. Shows you the power of advertising.

#30731

Beleive it or not Empire Carpets is NOT the best priced carpet installation company. I would HIGHLY suggest that you search around for another company.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Just say no to Empire Floor

Ms. Hunter, We apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory. Customer service is a top priority at Empire and we want to talk with you to work toward a resolution. All of our products come with manufacturer and installation warranties. If a problem does arise we do our best to work with the customer to resolve the issue. We also offer a Low Price Guarantee in which we'll beat any competitive offer. If a customer finds a better quote and has met the criteria for our Low Price Guarantee Program, we will honor the quote. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your installation and service. As a member of Empire and the Customer Service Team, I truly want to ensure you are satisfied with your products and installation. Since I do not have contact information to reach you, if you are interested in discussing your concerns, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. I do look forward to hearing from you.
ID
#132750 Review #132750 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Customer service is hands down the worst.

They run their commercials a million times a day. They should invest some of that money is a proper staff & better people who install their products. I am still in a monkey & the middle scenerio with them. They installed my floor 3 months ago. They had to come back twice for repairs. I still can't get a call back in regard to the final bill. I would never advise anyone to purchase a floor from Empire!

The inspector said he would credit our account $100.00 for the inconvenience- Give me a break.

Then my husband told them he wanted them to match the price that home depot wuoted us on a similar floor. They agreed, the only problem is now we can't get anyone to return our calls. We even called Mr. Jeefers (manager) in the NJ location & he can't even call back. If this is how they operate I truly don't understand how they are still in business.