Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Poor customer service from the get go

As a member of the Customer Service Management Team, I have read your post and would like the opportunity to follow back with you. We apologize for the problems you experienced with your in-home appointment. We know our customers are very busy and we take the appointments very seriously. Also, I would like to look into your referral gift card. There are certain conditions that need to be met in order to receive the gift card and I would like to review your information. Since we do not have your contact information, would you please contact me directly? Please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me directly at 888-588-2315 x 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#135446 Review #135446 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4500

this is the worst company to deal with trying to get a refereal fe " ha ha" they mean a gift card !!!! do not buy from empire ever!!!

they were 4 hours late and were there until 1:00 am too bad there is no such thing as calling the customer .

i had to call them several times to find out how much longer they would be!!!! tooo bad I work with a retail store in las vegas and the person i refeered works as a boss for a major company here so no more refeerals for empire we removed the sign in our yards right after they put them in the ground!!!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Nothing but a Scam

On behalf of Empire Today, I apologize that we didn't meet the expectations that you were expecting by scheduling an in-home estimate with us. Empire takes the feedback from its customers very seriously. I will ensure that your experience is brought to the attention of our Sales Team. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager. If you would like to speak with me directly, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195.
ID
#135001 Review #135001 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1600

I contacted Empire Today on August 28th for an estimate on installing some hardwood flooring. The sales rep that showed up was unprofessional, pushy and had a huge attitude.

I wanted hardwoods and he tried his best to talk me into purchasing laminate flooring trying to explain to me that laminate is better than hardwood. When I wouldn't budge on my decision, he proceeded to quote me on my flooring choice. The quote that I received was $800 higher than a local flooring company. The sales rep had the audacity to tell me that I was making a mistake by not purchasing from them and that his price was the best out there.

He proceeded to slam his samples on my existing hardwoods scratching them.

Talk about a company that is full of itself.

Empire Today's reply to:

I'm upset on how Empire Today does business

I have read your post and see we were able to reach a resolution with you. I apologize for your experience with our installation team and the problems with the plumbing. I would like to follow back with you to be sure that everything was corrected during your final installation appointment, but I do not have your information based on your post. We want to ensure that you are satisfied with your product and installation. Please feel free to contact me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk – National Customer Service Manager
ID
#134807 Review #134807 is a subjective opinion of poster.

On July 6, 2008, I contracted Empire Today to install a bathtub liner as well as a door in our bathroom. On July 12, 2008, two installers came by at our house to do the work. However, because of the rain, they asked us to push back the installation on the following day. They came back the following morning and after spending almost two hours in the bathroom, one of the installer indicated that the bathtub liner could not fit. He also mentioned that he broke the water pipe so we cannot use it until it is fixed. I checked the bathtub liner and its size was the same as the existing bathtub. I am not a carpenter, installer or whatsoever, but I am surprised it took him a while to figure that the bathtub liner will not fit! Anyways, the damage has been done so I have no choice but to calm down and convince myself that everything will be fine.

We asked them to come back on July 19 to fix the water pipe and then the installation of the bathtub liner. We waited the whole day and nobody showed up! We have cancelled our plans for this appointment and nothing happened!

We called the customer service and we were told that a plumber would come at our house on July 26. Thank God, a plumber appeared our door on that day. He opened the faucet to check the leak and the water started to drip at our ceiling. It damaged the electrical wirings at our dining area. Things are getting worst!

To fix the water pipe, he got rid of a portion of the ceiling to replace the broken pipe. He fixed the water pipe but he broke two things: (1) ceiling and (2) electrical wirings.

We called the customer service to file a complaint about this incident. Per customer service representative, the bathtub liner is out of stock and we need to wait for a couple of days. She cordially offered to schedule an appointment to fix the ceiling but we declined. We want to make sure that they install the bathtub liner first before fixing the ceiling to avoid duplication of this incident.

Days, weeks and then a month have passed but we never heard from Empire Today! This is a nightmare!

On September 3, 2008, we called the customer service to make a follow up. Thank God, the bathtub liner is now available. An appointment was made on September 10, 2008 between 9:00-10:00 am EST. It is now 11 am and I am still waiting for the installer. I took a day off from the office just for this appointment. I hope he will show up anytime soon!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire...the jingle of scammers

I’ve read your comments and I’d like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your post. It is the goal of all Empire sales representatives and independent contractors to provide world-class service to each and every customer. If you would like to discuss your concerns with our Director of National Sales, Human Resources Director or National Installations Management Team, please email me and I will be happy to have them follow back with you. Since I’m unable to obtain your contact information based on the details in the post, I would like the opportunity to speak with so you can be placed in contact with the appropriate individual. I can be reached at pressrelations@empiretoday.com or via phone at 847-583-5248. Gina Cielocha, Marketing & Communications Manager
ID
#134631 Review #134631 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Empire carpet,wut should i say ? fraud,scam,any thing bad is empire.imagin you pay up to $2500 for just 80 yrd of carpet,although the carpet wont last more than 2 month ,to look old and bad.all of thier carpet is stock . I am an installer who worked for them,and used some of thier carpet to my house,let me tell you they are very bad,and dont you ever buy from these scammers they are very bad , way bad,the carpet is no good you pay too much money for *** watch out,and be carfull

1 comment
Anonymous
#33497

Like someones is going to believe a former employee,who gives no details about why they suck.It sounds like you were fired and just pissed off.Explain why they suck,I have their 64 oz carpet and love it.I paid $5 a foot and would buy again.That is why I came to this site,I saw it after googling them to set up a appointment for hard wood foor.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - EMPIRE - ONE DAY???

I’ve read your information and I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Based on the information that was provided in the post, I’m unable to pull your information in our system. I would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you regarding your refund and the cancellation of your order, customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. At your convenience, please feel free to contact me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk – National Customer Service Manager
ID
#134552 Review #134552 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$3500

I contracted Empire to install the flooring in my new condo in Fl, I pay on July 17 08, they have been taking 1.5 months to get the permit from the city, they barely answer my phone calls or give me an explanation and now that I want my money back they seem not to be willing to give it back.....

I want to find a lawyer and sue them. I could not rent the apartment in one and a half months because of their delay!!!

They are irresponsible and do not have an idea on how to conduct business.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Buyer Beware: Empire Carpet has no ethics

I’ve reviewed your post and would like the opportunity to have a member of our Sales Management Team review your file so we can follow back with your local sales team and the sales representative involved. However, based on your post, I’m not able to pull your contact information. If possible, would you be able to contact Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. She will be able to gather the information so we can further review. Our sales representatives during the appointment will measure the area and provide a fully installed price. Our goal is to find the right products to meet our customer’s needs and budgets. We also offer a low price guarantee if certain conditions are met. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us and we take all concerns seriously and would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns. Once you are able to provide your information to our customer service tea we can then follow back with you. - Marlo Michalek, Vice President of Marketing Communications.
ID
#134085 Review #134085 is a subjective opinion of poster.

On 9-3-08 my wife & I saw an empire commercial and said we shpould call to re-surface our 12'x26' bedroom in IN. A "sales rep" (all sub-contractors - not Empire employees) showed up the next day and gave us a quote of $1175 for that size room, charged by the SF (he offered us a $150 "discount" coupon against the purchase).

It seemed that Wall to wall carpeting for a room that size should cost less than $1035, so and I called around to other installers and they were about 30% less charged by the square yard. I couldn't reconcile the cost for such a small space, and I don't ever remember buying carpet by the square foot, on square yard. When I called EMPIRE (588-2300 - the only number you can find manned at a call center - they say the company is based in Northlake IL, but you won't find a way to contact the headquaters) and asked to speak to a supervisor to determine if I was getting ripped off, the supervisor Rick, told me he couldn't tell me how they charged for their carpet, because that was "up to the sales rep" who he confirmed was not an Empire employee. He flat out said he couldn't help me, and that I should speak to the 'sales rep".

I told Rick the supervisor that I would cancel my order, and tell everyone I know that EMPIRE has no intention of standing behind their products, and they could be considered part of a "bait and switch scheme" where they advertise 60% discounts on television, but their "sales reps" don't have to povide the discount or conform to any company standard.

I cancelled my order, and called my bank to put a stop on the cradit card. IF YOU BUY FROM THESE GUYS - YOU DESERVE WHAT YOU GET !!!

2 comments
Anonymous
#77747

you are so true about empire i had an bath liner installed in 2007 and it was suppose to have a life time warrenty but when i called because the liner was moving athey refuse to do anythingabout it. so do not empirefool with

Anonymous
#77746

you are so true about empire i had an bath liner installed in 2007 and it was suppose to have a life time warrenty but when i called because the liner was moving athey refuse to do anythingabout it. so do not empirefool with

View more comments (1)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Sux

I apologize for your missed in-home appointment and for the lack of response you received from customer service. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and I would like for a member of our team to speak with you about your experience. We stand by our products and installation, and we work with customers should a problem arise. If possible, would you be able to contact us 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com with your contact information and we will follow back promptly. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
ID
#133970 Review #133970 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Stay away from Empire Today. They lure you in with slick commercials and some nice customer service up front, but they *** on the back end.

Don't sign the contract because the moment you do, the service goes to pot. No returned phone calls, estimated dates for measurement and installation aren't met--without even a phone call. They are awful and I will never use them again. I stupidly declined a competing offer from a local guy and now I wish I can gone with him.

Bad, bad, bad. I cannot begin to express what a frustrating experience this has been,.

1 comment
Anonymous
#32675

thank you - i was ready to book an appointment until i red your comment. i think i will shop around at some of my local dealers.

lowes is the same way. you may end up with your furniture in your kitchen for a couple of months before they deliver as promised.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Never showed up, never called, never again!

As a member of our customer service management team, I apologize for the missed appointment and that we were not able to serve you better. It is our goal to make installing home improvements as convenient as possible – I understand the frustration you experienced as a result of having to prepare your home for an installation that did not occur. Although you cancelled your order, it is important for us to be able to follow back with the representatives involved. If possible, would you be able to contact me at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com with your contact information and I will follow back promptly. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
ID
#133320 Review #133320 is a subjective opinion of poster.

They promised next day delivery. My wife and I took off from work to get the room ready for new carpet.

Moved the furniture, un-hooked the surround sound stereo, got a friend to help move the TV and other heavy furniture ... and waited, and waited, and waited. At 4 PM we called them and were told "How about tomorrow?". When we told them that was not acceptable they told us the carpet was a special order and it would take 2 weeks.

We canceled.

The price was not really that great .... we shopped around and saved over $200 for the exact same carpet at Home Depot.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Rip Off Alert- Empire is no good

I’ve read your information and would like to have you speak with a member of our Customer Service Management Team. However, I cannot locate your information based on your post. If possible, would you be able to send our contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195 to speak with Rebekah Clerk our National Customer Service Manager. She will be able to look up your account information. Gina Cielocha –Senior Marketing and Communications Manager
ID
#133189 Review #133189 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I too was impressed with the advertisements for Empire carpet and flooring. I finally decided to give it a try and called them for the free in home estimate.

I have to say that the sales man was prompt and courteous. He did measure all my rooms and spend a good amount of time showing me samples of carpet in his mid range. I personally didn't think the carpet felt all that great compared to the carpet I already have, but he assured me that would be different after it was down with the padding. I liked their financing package and agreed to the sale.

I specifically asked him how their prices compared to Home Depot and other companies. He told me that they were the same except that Home depot would charge me to move all my furniture and extras for steps mouldings etc...

Well, after reading the reviews online I decided to cancel the order and think things over a bit more. I called Smart Carpet and Flooring for another in home estimate.

I spent over 3 hours with the salesmen and in the end I was able to not only save over $1000, but included in that price was my Master bedroom which I had to exclude previously due to cost. I am going to receive a carpet with a longer warranty as well.

I guess the moral is. Do your research, haggle a lot, and speak spanish.

Oh yeah, two days after cancelling the job I received a call at 7 am from a spanish speaking installer telling me he was going to be there in 40 minutes. I told him not to come and that I cancelled. He said ok so I hung up. Then he called again and I told him the same.

When I hung up I called cust. service. She told me that my cancellation had not been completed. Then she told me that they would take 800 off the price if I still would consider using them.

Too late honey! So thats the long and the short of it.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpets

As a member of our customer service management team, I truly apologize for your missed appointment and the response you received from customer service. We know our customers are very busy and we take our scheduled in-home appointments very seriously. Our in-home appointments are the only way our customers can see our products and gain a better understanding of what we offer. Customer satisfaction is truly important to us and we take concerns from our customers very seriously. I would like to opportunity to speak with you in order to follow back with the sales representative involved. Since I do not have contact information to reach you, please email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me at 888-588-2315 x4195. I forward to hearing from you soon. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#133015 Review #133015 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Do not believe Empire carpets when they say they take pride in their custmer service. I scheduled a home estimate for carpet and tile a week ago for Empire Carpets. They confirmed twice saying that they were going to be at the appointment.

I rushed home from work and blew off two other flooring companies because I was so impressed with Empire's website and promises. I did this and then they never showed up.

I called them at 5:00, they were suppose to be there from 3-5:00, and they hung up on me the first call. I called back and I finally got an answer. They basically said that there wasn't an available sales rep in my area today, even though my appointment was confirmed twice. All they told me they could do is reschedule my appointment.

Why would I want to do business with a company that I can't trust to be there when they scheduled an appointment? Empire is very unprofessional and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

3 comments
Anonymous
#159744

Thanks everyone! I did use another company, Dixie Flooring.

They were very professional and cheaper. It's been almost two years since they put in the carpet and tile, and I'm very satisfied.

Anonymous
#32327

When it comes to carpet I think you should deal locally or from one of the large chains ie. lowes,HD etc.

It's a major investment and one that's supposed to last years.

I've heard numerous complaints about Empire and would never use them. Shows you the power of advertising.

Anonymous
#30731

Beleive it or not Empire Carpets is NOT the best priced carpet installation company. I would HIGHLY suggest that you search around for another company.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Just say no to Empire Floor

Ms. Hunter, We apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory. Customer service is a top priority at Empire and we want to talk with you to work toward a resolution. All of our products come with manufacturer and installation warranties. If a problem does arise we do our best to work with the customer to resolve the issue. We also offer a Low Price Guarantee in which we'll beat any competitive offer. If a customer finds a better quote and has met the criteria for our Low Price Guarantee Program, we will honor the quote. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your installation and service. As a member of Empire and the Customer Service Team, I truly want to ensure you are satisfied with your products and installation. Since I do not have contact information to reach you, if you are interested in discussing your concerns, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. I do look forward to hearing from you.
ID
#132750 Review #132750 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Customer service is hands down the worst.

They run their commercials a million times a day. They should invest some of that money is a proper staff & better people who install their products. I am still in a monkey & the middle scenerio with them. They installed my floor 3 months ago. They had to come back twice for repairs. I still can't get a call back in regard to the final bill. I would never advise anyone to purchase a floor from Empire!

The inspector said he would credit our account $100.00 for the inconvenience- Give me a break.

Then my husband told them he wanted them to match the price that home depot wuoted us on a similar floor. They agreed, the only problem is now we can't get anyone to return our calls. We even called Mr. Jeefers (manager) in the NJ location & he can't even call back. If this is how they operate I truly don't understand how they are still in business.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Do Not Buy Carpet from Empire

I've read your information that was posted and your concerns with your carpet installation. I was also able to locate you in our system. It appears that we have reached a resolution on your concern. All of our products are installed by professional installers and backed by manufacturer product and installation warranties. If there are problems with the product or installation, we will work with the customer on identifying the concern and assisting in providing a resolution.Please feel free to contact me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195 if you have additional questions or problems. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us and we want to be sure you are happy with your purchase. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#132436 Review #132436 is a subjective opinion of poster.

The installation of my carpet was amateur - the carpet was not flush with the marble floor it met. When the inspector came he said it was fine and there was nothing he could do.

I had to submit photographs to the main office and they finally sent a man out to fix it. But now, nearly a year later, I continue to find fluff in the vacuum cleaner -lots and lots of carpet fluff! Lots of it!! Clearly the carpet itself is of poor quality even though I was sold their "best".

Empire isn't even that cheap. Don't fall for Empire just because they install quickly.

Wait a bit for installation and get a good job and a good carpet. I wish I had.

1 comment
Anonymous
#41077

try not being able to use the brand new vacuum you bought because there are so many loose pieces that create pulls in your carpet. Next time I'll do more homework before I buy something this expensive.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - last minute cancellation

I have read your post from a couple of years ago and apologize for having to reschedule your appointment. As we are continually trying to improve our level of customer service, I would like to follow back with you. I understand your concerns - your time is valuable and it was frustrating to have to plan for another time to meet with our representative. I know some time has past since your post, but if you are able to contact me I would like to learn more about your experience. I can be reached via email at customersupport@empiretoday.com or by phone at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#132434 Review #132434 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Without going into a long-winded story about Empire Today, I will give the basic rundown. I scheduled a time during the day for a technician to measure windows and give an estimate for plantation shutters. At ten minutes before the end of the 2-hour window appointment time that I was given, I was called to say that the company had to cancel and re-schedule my appointment time.

I told them that if I ran a business that way, I would soon be out of business. Needless to say, I did not reschedule another time, and will go with a different company from which to purchase and install the shutters.

I encourage any reader to consider doing the same, and to beware of Empire Today.

1 comment
Anonymous
#33498

Life isn't perfect people do have accidents,emergency's,cars do break down, all sorts of stuff could have happened.I bet your exaggerating a bit too.They called and told me that the saleswoman's first appointment ran over and they would spend as much time as needed at my house when they got there.I think that it's good they do that.Would you want your doctor to rush through brain surgery on you so he could be on time for his next appointment.I signed a contract and will have my house done 2mrw.Yes I paid more but it's worth it to not have to run back and forth to the box store,I tried that route and then they charge me $65 for someone to measure my house.I've had both experiences and would choose Empire Today every time.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire is BBB accredited??

We realize two years time has elapsed since your experience with us and understand the issues you had with in-home appointment. However, we are continually working to improve on our customer service because customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. If you are still interested in reaching out to us, we are willing to follow back with you. Feel free to email me at mmichalek@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 ext. 5560. Marlo Michalek – Vice President of Marketing Communications.
ID
#132139 Review #132139 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I would urge people who are out money to file formal complaints with the Better Business Bureau in hopes that they will reevaluate the accreditation. Over the past several days, we have experienced the same poor service mentioned in the previous postings.

Made an appointment; took day off work; Empire was a no call - no show; had to contact them days later to find out why they are not interested in our business; hung up on several times, mistakenly?; offered $100 off for our inconvenience - maybe if they had called us to apologize; waiting to hear from the "district" manager to call, but not counting on it. Luckily we found this site before proceeding further!

We too have "dodged a bullet". I will be spreading the word about this horribly mismanaged company.

1 comment
Anonymous
#154575

So, I received an email from Pissed Consumer on 6/14/10 stating that Empire Today Customer Service department has an interest in my posting from 8/20/08 (!!) and has asked for my contact information. ARE you kidding?

Almost 2 YEARS and 1516 hits later, they want to “discuss this matter” with me?

Uh, hey Empire, your "customer service" department could not have cared less about our complaint 2 years ago and even hung up on us several times AND the district manager never did contact us as promised. This ship has sailed!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Never showed up for appointment

We realize it has been two years since your experience with us. However, we are continually trying to improve our customer service and truly apologize for the inconvenience we caused you then. If you are still interested in reaching out to us - please feel free to email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call me directly at 888-588-2315 x 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#132019 Review #132019 is a subjective opinion of poster.

my husband and I made an appointment for empire today to come give an estimate for carpet- between 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. We took off from work, and waited for 2 hours.

After 1 hour I called their customer service dept. to ask if they were really coming. I also gave the woman my cell phone number in case they were running late. Since the carpet was for our daughter we were sitting at her house.

No call, no show...

two hours wasted, plus lost wages. Warning, do not use this company, I wish I had read the reviews before I made the appointment.