Rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review: Unhappy with entire experience

Dear Lisa,
Customer care and complete satisfaction is our highest mission, and we accomplish this by providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide.

We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously. We’ll be in contact with you soon to start working with you towards a solution.
Thank you for your patience.

I would never recommend Empire, nor would I ever use again. First, their salesperson assured us the hardwood flooring we selected was very durable and would not scratch, even when we told him we had a large dog.

Well that was a lie. Our flooring already has scratches. Secondly, we have two areas which seemed "soft" to us. The installation supervisor came to inspect and told us they did need to re-do those areas because they were not level and would eventually crack the boards.

After having a *** of a time finally getting installers scheduled, we find someone to come to our house to let the installers in since we both work, and the installers tell us there is nothing wrong with it and the installation supervisor didn't know what he was talking about. So they didn't do the repairs (what a waste of time for the people we asked to come to the house to let them in) When we called supervisor back, he again told us they had to be repaired and they were not installed correctly. SERIOUSLY? We have no idea who to believe.

Supervisor calls us again today trying to schedule different installers to make the repairs. So, once again, we need to have someone take time to come to our house to let these people in and we aren't even a sure at this point if the floors truly need to be fixed. We at a loss for what to do. Who do we believe?

We are hesitant to let them even touch our floors again and worried what they will do to the a structure of our flooring. This company contracts with people who cannot even I agree if the installation was correct or not! Called corporate office trying to get someone a bit higher up to fix this entire mess. We haven't heard back from them yet.

HORRIBLE company! Sales people are misleading, installers can't decide what is the correct way to install floors. To really top it all off, the quarter round they use is not even stained wood. It is a piece of wood with a wood-like sticker on it!

HORRIBLE quality! I would never recommend EMPIRE, especially for hardwood flooring. As of today, I have not heard back from corporate headquarters, only the installation supervisor, whom I am not even sure to trust!

I would actually rate them 0 for sales, -0 for installation, and 0 for quality! A rating of 1 is too good for this company!

Review
#1115313 Review #1115313 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review in Covington, Georgia: Empire not honor warranty

Dear Leslie,

Our customers are our number one priority, and we strive to provide a positive experience from start to finish.

We appreciate you making us aware of this matter, and regret to hear that you feel this way. We’ll be following up with you soon to discuss your concerns and continue working towards a solution.
Thank you for your patience.

-ET Customer Support

DO NOT PURCHASE PET PROOF CARPET FROM EMPIRE TODAY!! Let me share my experience.

On 6/26 this very nice sales lady named Angela Pittman from Empire Today came to my house. She said that the Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet I was purchasing I would be able to clean up myself and it would not leave stains or odors behind. I said are you sure? Yes, don’t worry about our Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet.

I also explained that I would need a transition piece to match the rest of the flooring in the house. On July 7th the installers from Empire Today came to my house. First words out of their mouths, “I am not sure if we have enough of the Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet for this job” This should have been my first sign. They finished, I explained to them that they had the wrong transition piece installed.

Their comment was, “You have to call the office”. I called the Empire Today office and got the run around for about a week. I figured it would just be easier to go to my local Home Depot or Lowes and get the piece myself. I have an elderly dog as well as a young puppy and as you all know poo happens.

I follow the sales ladies from Empire Today instruction and try to clean the Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet myself. Needless to say my stairs still smell like I’m walking through urine. This is beyond disgusting. I call the Empire Today main office.

The Empire Todays main office gave me the song and dance about how they will take care of the issue with the Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet and pass it on to the right person. I should get a call the next day. No call came. Imagine that.

I called Empire Today back, they said we promise someone will call you tomorrow. Someone from Empire Today finally calls, gave me the same song and dance. It’s like Empire Todays customer service is reading from a script. Yesterday I called Empire Today again, supposedly talked to a manager.

He says no one is in at the local Empire Today office to take the call but someone will be calling me. At this point I schedule a sales appointment with Empire Today. It’s was amazing someone from Empire Today was able to come out that same day. My thought was great Empire Today can sell me carpet, but not fix their Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet.

Amanda from Empire Today, the nice sales lady shows up. I explain the issue I am having with Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet to her. She did acknowledge that there was a problem. She calls her manager.

With a look of utter sympathy she says you have to have this professionally cleaned before we can do anything. I said so every time my dogs have an accident on Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet I have to call a professional? She said yes. She apologized that the Angela did not explain that to me when she sold me the Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet, but there was nothing further she could do.

Around 6 that same evening I get a call from Michelle at Empire Today. She apologizes for all the different stories I have received from Empire Today regarding Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet that most certainly there is something that Empire Today can do to help me. She said that all she needed to do was look up the warranty for the Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet. Amazingly enough, she was having computer problems.

She promised to send her information to me via email and I would get a return call from her the next day. I did not get an email or a return call. No surprise there. I gave it one last shot.

I called and spoke to Michael got the same script again. I would never purchase flooring of any kind that only a professional must clean. I guess Empire Today expects me to shell out $125.00 every time my dogs have an accident on their Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet not only that, but to have to wait days and just live with the smell of dog *** for that long. Why does Empire Today bother selling Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet when Empire Today will not stand behind their products?

I don’t feel like I should have to do the labor to fix Empire Todays mess.

All I want is for them to take the Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet out of my house and give a full refund. If they sell Empire Today Pet Friendly Pup Pet Urine Protection Carpet, Empire Today should stand behind the Empire Today products.

Review
#1114810 Review #1114810 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review: Worst Company to hire

Dear Steve,
Our mission is to “Make beautiful new floors easy,” for our nationwide customers, and we’re committed to upholding our reputation and achieve our vision to become America’s first and best choice for installed flooring.

We appreciate you making us aware of this matter, and understand that we’re currently working with you towards a resolution. We’ll continue to follow up until your concerns have been fully addressed.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support

On August 25 Empire sales rep John Reardon came to my house and sold me on a bunch of false promises. I ordered 905 square feet of porcelain tile to be installed throughout my house starting on September 5.

I received a phone call the Wednesday before installation to confirm my appointment and to make sure that I prepare all areas to be tiled. The next Saturday I was called back from Bill saying that they did not have the tile I ordered in stock and would not be able to do the install unless I picked different tile. I specifically said I wanted that tile and I would wait for them to call me when they had the tile in stock. The following Thursday I received a call from Empire to confirm my new appointment.

An appointment that I never made. I asked if they had the tile in stock to which they replied no and I asked how they were going to do the install with no tile. For the next three weeks I was called to confirm an appointment that was never made even though they still did not have my tile in stock. Finally, on October 5 I called Bill and he said they did get my shipment of tile in and they would be able to do the install starting on October 11.

When I spoke to Bill he had no idea that I was supposed to receive baseboards with the install. When the installers showed up they complained that the work order was all messed up and I would have to explain in detail all that was needed. Once shown what needed to be done they broke out their string to check the subfloor for level. They found several spots that were not level and started to complain that this job was going to be bigger than they anticipated.

They called their boss John who then called me and explain everything the installers had previously explained. He added that the job was bigger than they thought and didn’t want to do it because of lack of time. They were looking for an easy job. John then stated that we could go ahead with the install but it was going to be an added 3k for a few bags of concrete and some grinding.

Leveling a subfloor does not cost anywhere near that amount. He threw that price out there so I would refuse. Empire hires subcontractors to do their work. This is no surprise.

But they do not do a fair estimation for the work to be done. John Reardon only measured and gave a 6500 estimate. Once the subcontractor got there the estimate grew by 3k. This is absolutely ridiculous.

After waiting over a month for an install with my entire house packed into my living room I am still without tile and am forced to find another company that can do the job at the quoted price.

I would never recommend Empire for any services past a basic carpet install. It is probably the only thing they are capable of doing because it is “easy work” Steve

Review
#1113604 Review #1113604 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Resolved
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review in Los Angeles, California: Return vist to fix original installation - Resolved

Dear Toni,

Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and we work with each of our customers from start to finish until their concerns are answered.

We regret to hear that you remain unsatisfied, and assure you that we take matters such as these very seriously. We’ll further review your request, and we’ll be in touch with you shortly to continue working on a resolution.

Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Empire Today review - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today review - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today review - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today review - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today review - Return vist to fix original installation
Empire Today review - Return vist to fix original installation

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

I have attached a before and after of one areas that was repaired/fixed by the very unprofessional installation. Looks worse now than before the fix.

I do not want Empire Today back to replace the flooring, I want my bill reduced so I can hire professionals to paint and repair the damage caused by the installation and re-do. Now I have been receiving collection phone calls from Empire Today. This has been a nightmare. I have had several contractors from Empire Today look at the installation, I have repeatably asked that the original contractor not return.

But he returned and reluctantly replaced the shoddy work he did from the beginning. I believe it is the luck of the draw when you hire Empire Today.

If they send a good contractor you get a professional installation. I hope this is resolved soon.

Update by user Jan 25, 2018

So many contractors have been sent to fix this unprofessional installation and it is still an unprofessional installation. I have been in communication with the complaint department but this is still not resolved.

The last offer, which was very generous, wants to send another crew and install another new floor.

I have rejected this offer, I want my balance to be reduced and for them to put on strip of quarter round to cover up a very badly cut vinyl. Now I am being threatened with collections.Where do go from here?

Update by user Jan 22, 2018

Empire Today was responsive, but not quickly and I had to wait for a 4 hour window more than once. One time they did not show up at all.

It has not been completed yet but some repairs have been done by a professional. I am requesting that they balance of my bill be reduced and that one more quarter round be installed to cover up the uneven/shoddy cutting of the vinyl at installation. Empire Today offered to pay for the repair to the baseboard with 3 estimates from licensed painting contractors.

I was not able to find a contractor that would only paint small areas. My problem is that it should have been right the first time.

Original review posted by user Oct 08, 2017

After many emails and photos the original installers returned. I had requested that they not return several times.

I had said from the beginning if they thought the installation was done correctly I did not want them back. But that did not matter. The installers were argumentative and even suggested we call someone else to fix it and bill Empire Today. They reluctantly did the work they were sent out to do.

They removed some of the white caulking and replaced some of the qtr. Leaving white caulking and covering it with clear did not work and mitering should have been done at the corners. So it looks better but it is still unprofessional. They also did not take any responsibility for damage at installation.

Tiles were knocked loose and fell off later and chips in the baseboard were new. They did remove the cement from the walls and the door.

I had vinyl installed and it came in one big roll that was difficult to move around, this is why there was other damage. Here are the photos after it was fixed.

Review
#1112105 Review #1112105 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor workmanship
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review: So Very Unhappy

Dear Karen,
Customer satisfaction is our number priority, and we’re committed to consistently providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide.
We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously. We’ll be in contact with you shortly to discuss your repair options.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support

We got our floors about a month ago and I am so disgusted. I don't normally post too many negative reviews, but we have been getting the runaround with this company for as long as we have had the floors.

We had two segments done. Laminate throughout the house and tile in the bathroom. It took almost a month to get the crew out here to do the tile, but in the end it looks awesome. The problem is with the laminate.

The crew took a four day job and turned it into a 2 1/2 week job. They were so far behind schedule that they slammed the last part of the floor in and now the strip are all rising at the seams. We understand the idea of a floating floor, but the floor is so bad that when you walk on it EVERY step is a horrible squeaking noise and pinches the bottom of your feet. The raised spots are so obvious that people have commented upon entering our house for the first time.

We called Empire and asked for a different person to come out and check it and they sent the guy who did it. Of course he said there was nothing wrong, but it was our fault. We have spoken to so many reps at Empire and they just keep saying someone will call in 24 hours, but no one calls. We spent $12000+ on our new floors and they are terrible and Empire doesn't seem to give a crap.

On the plus side, our salesman, Brandon, was awesome.

He answered all our questions and made us believe we had made the right decision. Too bad Empire doesn't respect or stand behind their sales team.

Review
#1110298 Review #1110298 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Enitre dealing - never again
  • Poor installation
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
get the damn laminate replaced!
Tags
  • floor installation
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review: DO NOT USE THEM! TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Dear Jennifer,
For over 55 years, our focus has been giving our customers an exceptional customer service experience from beginning to end. At our core are the values of respect, integrity, teamwork, “customers first”, and the quality results that our brand commands.

We regret to hear that your initial sales experience did not meet your expectations. We truly apologize for the inconvenience, and we’ll be following up with you shortly to further address your concerns.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Believe the bad reviews. They are terrible.

I am glad I found out before buying anything from them. They didn't show up for the initial appointment and then both customer service people could only offer "no problem" rather than "we apologize for the inconvenience." I can only image the problems with actually working with them. The second one I spoke to actually just hung up on me rather than apologize. I read the bad reviews but thought they can't really be that bad...now, I think they probably are.

Go to Home Depot or anywhere else. Dont use Empire.

The discount is not worth the total lack of customer service. These guys suck!

Review
#1107041 Review #1107041 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Customer service
  • Honesty
Cons
  • Lack of respect
  • Customer service is non existent
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review: Worst experience ever I mean ever

Dear Dewitt,
We strive to leave a positive impression from our sales appointment until post installation, and commit to making beautiful new floors easy for all of our customers.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, and understand that your order was cancelled per your request. Please email us at customersupport@empire-today.com if you wish further assistance.
Thank you.

Called Empire out got a quote got financed they came out and OH MY GOD didn't want to move furniture and told me I have to take apart bed which none of this was explained to me previous, came right past my front door taking pictures of my home without my permission I called their customer service the installers cursed them out in my home and was hollering at them when i don't do that in my home with my wife there said they not doing it and left. Terrible.

tried to call salesman he never called back. A friend of mine said the same thing

Review
#1103095 Review #1103095 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Lack of caring
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Training for employees at all levels
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review in Tulsa, Oklahoma: Unhappy

Dear Dan,
Our mission is to “Make beautiful new floors easy,” for our nationwide customers, and we accomplish our mission by providing our customers with the best quality service nationwide.

We appreciate you making us aware of this matter. We’ll be following up with you soon to discuss your concerns further and start working towards a solution.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Empire Today review - Unhappy
Empire Today review - Unhappy
Empire Today review - Unhappy

Terrible job , some of the mistakes are small and some are just terrible work . They were to send someone out to check work but never did , wouldn't want to use them again.

When I would ask the installer to fix something or the color didn't match , he would just say it did . Installer just showed up one morning and was knocking on my bedroom door , still don't know how he got in to my house , it was early , 7:00 AM Sunday morning , after I had been working all night .

I don't think Empire does the work , I think they sub it all out . All around , just plain terrible doing business with them .

Review
#1101975 Review #1101975 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Work
Reason of review
Bad quality
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review: Ridiculous!!!!

Dear Toby and Hillary Chance,
We are committed to upholding our reputation and achieve our vision to become America’s first and best choice for installed flooring.
Your concerns are important to us, and we’ll continue to follow up with you until a resolution is reached.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

I am only giving Empire Today one star because the poor contractor who has installed our flooring has gotten just as much run-around as I have and the work he has done is good. BUT.

We were supposed to have our floors installed 8/18/17. I am STILL WAITING for this job to be completed and it is because higher up’s (who orders the materials, the sales guy? He certainly ordered the wrong material from the start as far as I can tell!!!) are not competent enough to order the correct material to provide to their contracted installers. I have had the same contractors in my home many times over the last couple of weeks.

They ordered too much of one type of flooring then not enough of another; over and over! My son’s room is still not complete!! They were supposed to finish the installment (just a few feet of quarter round!!) this morning but when they got there they had the wrong color material so they will have to come back AGAIN. This is NOT the installers’ fault as far as I know.

They work for this massive company and are only supposed to install the material provided to them. How can they install the material if it is not ordered appropriately? It is September 5 now and he will have to come back AGAIN to finish! I will NEVER recommend this company.

VERY unprofessional.

The sales guy comes in and makes his sale then it all goes to ***. I am VERY disappointed.

Review
#1096700 Review #1096700 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
ordering - lack of competence
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today review: Unprofessional Installation

Dear Toni,
Providing exceptional customer service is our number one priority, and we strive to make to make beautiful new floors easy for all of our nationwide customers.
Your concerns are important to us, and we’ll be in contact with you soon to learn more and start working towards a resolution.
Thank you for your patience.
-ET Customer Support
Empire Today review - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today review - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today review - Unprofessional Installation
Empire Today review - Unprofessional Installation

Update by user Sep 13, 2017

My update: As of today (9/13/2017) Customer Service has told me that I had agreed to buy my own quarter round and caulking and they will install it. This is not true.

I did not agree, I was only told that they do not not have quarter round or caulking that match the my flooring. I did not even have even a sample of the flooring to buy the quarter round and caulking. I was told that the lifetime warranty would be negated if I bought my own. I was sent a small piece of the vinyl while I was on a month's vacation.

I am not going shopping for this and I expect someone to bring quarter round and caulking that are the same and match the floor and install it professionally. How hard is that? The photos show the unprofessional workmanship and white caulking. It also shows the baseboard damage at all corners.

The damage to my baseboards and door was never addressed. I did not realize that there would be so much damage to my baseboards. It would make better to put new baseboards in than doing a fix up. The glue on the wall and door shows sloppy workmanship.

Unhappy customer that will have to have another company fix the damage. Toni Burke

Original review posted by user Sep 02, 2017

Customer Service has tried to resolve my problem since the installation date. My original concern was the white caulking and quarter round on brown floor.

I thought that caulking would be used in the area of tile in the bathroom, not around every corner. Which is very sloppy. Caulking is too generously used and it is white. I had wood floor installed downstairs and it did not look like this vinyl install.

I am sorry I had this work done without getting other estimates, but I believed that Empire Today would have experience with flooring that would be professional. The salesman said that caulking would be used, he pointed to the tile, and that it would be a thin bead. There is not a thin bead anywhere. The vinyl is installed in one large sheet and cement is used to glue it down.

The cement is on the wall in some places and on the door. The baseboard shows damage or cement in different places. I do not know how this problem can be resolved without more damage to the baseboard and other areas. The tiles in the bathroom came loose and fell of when I leaned against them while the last installer was there.

The tiles were not noticed as we have been out of town. I had listed my complaints before. Mainly I had been addressing the color not the damage. I should have included that also when I first began with the concerns.

I had submitted photos before. I will submit them again. The last email conversation said that they do not have the quarter round and caulking to match my flooring and that I would have to go to the store and buy them myself. Not acceptable.

Also the same poor installers were required to come back out to fix the problems. How could that work.

If they thought they did a good job why would I want them back again? A supervisor came to inspect but did not mention the damage, which he could clearly see.

Review
#1095688 Review #1095688 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Customer service representative
Cons
  • Solutions that did not work for me
  • Damage done at installation
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Tags
  • Poor Installation