Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Lied , Screamed and yelled at us , talked down to us on the phoned

Paul, it’s disappointing to hear of the problems that you have experienced post-installation. We have attempted to come to a resolution with you, but you have not agreed to our offer. We hope that you will reconsider working with us to resolve your concerns. Please contact us if you would like to discuss this further at 888-588-2315x4195 or customersupport@emprietoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#298598 Review #298598 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2000

On 12/5/11 we called Karen to make a complaint about our laminate buckeling . No reply. on 12/7/11 we then called Corp . due to no response talked to Ivan told him we could not get a hold of karen to make a complaint he then tried to call Karen him self , but got no response either , he left a message. He told us we would hear from some one in 1 to 3 days. On 12/10/11 Called back talked to Jamie from corp explained problem and no call back in time frame , she said Karen to handle our problem she also called Karen no answer. On 12/12/11 Called Karen could only leave message. On 12/12/11 Dave called us said Rich would come on the 14th or 15th to take care of problem. Since when do Installers take care of complaits ?

On 12/14/11 Rich came to look at the floor , said the metal strips the carpet people laided down were the problem , they should of never put them over the laminate , it causes floor not to float. He went backed talked to Karen , he suggestion a different type flooring . Karen called that same day said they will replace the floor , that some times this happens when carpeting is replaced and they use metal strips instead of transitions. We told her the metal strips were orginal from install.

On 12/19/11 Rich comes to replace floor with laminate ,all material is in his trailer . He comes in looks at problems with the floor , he starts to pull up carpeting starts to cut up the carpet , so not its shreeding , at metal strip to see how far the strip was nailed down. Wife starts to ask questions , remark from him was you keep asking me a 100 questions , I can either do this or leave. Then he made a statemen he could leveling out slight hump he said was due to metal strips binding up the floor . Then he turns around and says I can put this floor in but in 6 months it could do it again. Wife stated why would you do that if you have to keep coming out thats money out of the companies pocket and time out of our lives again. He then said he did not want to be responsable for it doing it again. He then called Karen , then Karen called us .Karen said she would contact corp about different type flooring lvt flooring . We would hear in 2 days. Rich said they would approve it.

12/27/11 Installer called at 9 am , his name was Tom. Showed up at 1030 am he looked at the floor and all the problems there was took about two hours. The gaps , waves,spongyness , chips, uneven sides, moldings in all rooms , tacks sticking up by all transitions,. This guy took the time to listen to us . When he walked in we ask where he was from , meaning what city or office , he stated Belville , we then in the same sentace asked where Bob was from , since we were not told. Tom said this type of floor was not for this type of job and asked if we considered lvt . We said yes , we were promised that from Karen and Rich , it never happened , he said he would go back and do his best. He never attempted to take up floor. He said he would hopfully be back in 2 hours to show us samples. He gave us his number, we never heard back. Three days later we tried to call him , no answer. Emails were sent to corp again. He also said the different flooring would not give the type of problems the laninate is. Hed also signed a letter we wrote with all the problems and we signed to give to the Belville office.Tom also got hurt while he was here , thats on tape.

12/29/11 Laura called said they were sending indepdent insection company out to check floor asap.

12/30/11 Got call from Inspect souluations . 1/2 12 he came out to inspect. Rich showed up to check it out , he asked of everything that was wrong incuding if they left it here for two days before install , we said no . It was left in truck while install in June in heat. He said he should hear from Empire in one to two weeks . And if we requested a copy of the report we were intitiled to it. We asked Empire told us no. Gave us two different reasons why we could not get the report.

1/9/12 Got a call from Laura she said they could come and install laminate on 1/10/12 . I told her we were suppose to get different type flooring installed that was stated by the belville office. The two installers and he inspector that was here. She said ok to lvt material. She said she would have some one call to set up for sales to come to house. She did said we would have to sign off saying if we have a joist probkem they are not resposable and we would have to get it fixed. We have no joist problem , I have no idea what the report says since they refuse to gve it to us. She said everything will be replaced per her in the home. We called compinies about about the problems on the flooring material .

1/10/12 saleserson came out we picked our flooring , we have never heard anything back , no install date , nothing. Floor is worse , we are still dealing with it. They have done nothing to resolve our floor thus far. But words , lies, blackmail.

We are entiled to the report , we should not have have to wait almost two months , the report we have gotten on our own on a joist problem and their install and material tells us other wise. What its coming down to is bad material , bad install . Read manufacturs install of all material they did not follow that , its buckeling due to all that not a joist problem. Now they have changed their mind and said no joist problem , the indepnat report says bad material and bad install. Now they want us to sign they we will not talk bad about them ever again or we get sued. We cant even talk to our neighbors. And we will get no warranty with the new install. They will not be reliable after install. They will also not take responsablityfor bad install or bad material. They are doing tis to two senior citizens who are disabled . Blackmailing us. We had no problem when they to reinstall the carpet , but now the flooring is a huge issue . Bellville caused the problem , take resposablity. Listen to the tape , take to the wittness . Quit re selling material when you take it out of peoples home , trade commission will love to hear you to that.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - very misleading sales people, installed very poor quality floor

Thanai, it’s our goal for our customers to be completely satisfied with their purchases, so we were disappointed to hear this wasn’t the case. We understand that we’ve spoken to you about your concerns with your product and have suggested a resolution. Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#298459 Review #298459 is a subjective opinion of poster.

After saving for a few years to replace the carpet in my foyer and hallway with engineered wood, I decided to go with Empire and scheduled an appt. in late December 2011. I thought that I was hiring a company with an excellent reputation and that I would be purchasing a high quality floor which would look great and be a good investment. I was given a high-pressure sales pitch by their rep, who told me that to lock in a low rate, I would need to have the floor installed before the end of the year. I agreed to the install after choosing what looked like a good quality floor (and also looked similar to floors I had been pricing at Home Depot and Lowe's - although it was a small piece mounted to a board). The install was scheduled for late December, and when the installers came to my home (several men, not 2 or so like I had expected!) , they showed me 2 boards and asked if this was the product I had asked for. It didn't - it looked like unfinished plywood with a very busy, loud grain pattern. They then took out a few more boards which looked more like what I had requested, saying that the prior two boards were just 'bad' and weren't what my floor would actually look like when installed and that it would look 'great' when it was done. I trusted them, and let them go ahead with the install while I dealt with my dogs and grumpy 11 year old (who was less than thrilled with waiting around all day). There were so many installers, that it was very chaotic and I just tried to get out of the way and let them do their job. They left saw dust piles, cigarette butts on my balcony, and bits of baseboard for me to clean up. We left for vacation 2 days later.

When we returned, I had a chance to better inspect the floor, and was very disappointed in the 'cheap' (for lack of a better word) appearance of the floor. Additionally, the installers had cracked the molding around my closet doors. There appeared to be uneven spacing of the boards, with spaces so big between some that I could put my fingernail into them. Also, the baseboard they had installed (which was supposed to be white) was a strange bluish-white, which didn't match my molding at all (I have now found out that this is not paintable material!).

I found a product info sheet in the partial box of flooring the installers had left behind, and did some research . I found, to my disgust, that this particular floor is the cheapest, lowest-end product made by the manufacturer. I took a piece of the floor to Home Depot to compare with other engineered wood products, and it became glaringly apparent that the Empire floor was of MUCH poorer quality (and just uglier in general) than floors that would have cost me just as much to install if I had chosen Home Depot. The sales people laughed when they saw my sample, saying that they don't carry anything that cheap due to quality issues.

I am disgusted with the floor that I am now stuck with, and have even gotten estimates on what it would cost to tear the *** out (difficult and pricey, now, because they glued the stuff down).

I am sickened by this whole experience. I saved for years for this.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - GREAT PRODUCT/GREAT SEVICE HAMPTON ROADS

Travis, it’s wonderful to hear that your installation went so well. Customer service is our top priority, and we always want to make the home improvement process as easy and convenient as possible. We’re glad that the installers were so helpful and that you’re satisfied with your product. Thank you for the review and enjoy your newly renovated home! Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#298451 Review #298451 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Just had Empire Today install carpeting and I couldn't be more pleased. The installers took their time and installed a great product.

You can see the attention to detail. I had a bid from Home Depot and Empire Today beat that bid and actually did more work that Home Depot would have. Home Depot wouldn't make any repairs to the sub-floor and Emprie Today was more than happy to accomplish this work. The installers had me review their work every step of the install.

They cleaned and vacuumed the work area.

The installer gave me his card and said he would personelly come over if I ever had an issure with the carpet. Thanks.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today

Kris, it’s disappointing that you’ve experienced issues with your product because we want our customers to be satisfied with their entire experience. We understand that we have spoken to you about your concerns and offered to work with you on a resolution. Please contact us if you would like to discuss this matter further. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#298164 Review #298164 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$8000

NEVER EVER EVER buy laminate from this company! The product is inferior!

Have had it three years and the edges are lifting up and the trim is coming away from the walls in places. I already had Pergo in one room that I installed myself and it is practically indestructable. You can use anything to clean it and it has been down longer than the ET product and looks ten times beter. I can never recommend ET to anyone.

It's expensive and so not worth the price. Of course the "warranty" does not cover the problems.

Bad experience overall. Stay away from this company.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - CHEAP CARPET

Janet, thank you for making us aware of the issues you’ve been experiencing with your product post-installation. We want to provide our customers with world-class service, and we understand that we’ve spoken to you and that we’re currently working towards a resolution. If you have any questions during this process, please feel free to contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#297912 Review #297912 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Mar 19, 2012

Empire today sent out a salesman and offered an upgrade for a fee. Since then the new carpet has been installed and I am now satisfied with this carpet.

Original review posted by user Feb 17, 2012

Had carpet installed on 7/27/11. Noticed that where people sit on the floor that the pile is smashed down and will not come back up.

Called Empire and Chuck came out on 1/26/12. He took samples and tried to find dirt but could not since we don't wear shoes in the house or eat in that room. He told me that he would get back to me in two day. When I did not hear from him I called him on 2/1/12.

He stated that there was no manufacturer defect and that he would have someone call me since I was not satisfied with the carpet. He also stated that I had not maintained my carpet by professionally cleaning every six months. Are you kidding me! The carpet was only six months old when he was here.

Spoke to several carpet professionals who told me that doing that would break down the fibers. Called him again on 2/13/12 since no one called me and he then told me that the person that was to call me had twins. Good for him, not so good for me. That day Jeff Weiss called to set up an appointment and he was told I wanted to replace my carpet.

When I explained what had transpired he told me he would have a manager or customer service call me. Today is 2/17/12 and still waiting. The initial salesman assured me that this carpet would wear well and that I would be happy with this carpet. I recently went out to price other carpet and I believe that this carpet is extremely over priced.

I am in real estate and recommend to sellers when they need to replace carpeting. I could not in good conscious ever recommend Empire. It may look nice when it is new but six months after a buyer moves in they would be very upset with my sellers. I priced out carpet at Lowes and Home Depot with higher density and their carpet is less money.

My next step is the BBB and small claims court.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Frustrating, rude, worst customer service ever

Anil, we regret your experience during your repair appointment. We always want to provide our customers with world-class service, so it’s disappointing that this was not the case. We make it a priority to work with our customers if problems arise, and we understand that we have spoken to you about this issue and that your repairs have been completed. If you have any questions please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#296216 Review #296216 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$165

They were to come and restretch our carpet. Firstly they did not come on the day they said they would. The customer service puts you on hold for long periods of time for every question you ask them.

They told me it would take 4 hours to do it and when the installers came they said it would take 1/2 hour to do it. The amount they were charging me for 1/2 hour of work was too much. So I called customer service about it. While I was on the phone with them negotiating the price, the installers left without so much as telling me that they were going to leave. I was about to pay for it (They insist that you pay before the job is done. ) and that the customer service lady wanted to talk to the installer when I realized I could not see them anywhere. Thankfully I had not paid them as yet. When I spoke to the customer service manager about it, she claimed that their employees are "trusted" employees! They obviously don't understand the meaning of the word trust. When the service man leaves your home with the job partially done, I don't call that "trustworthy".

Very bad experience. I am bugged that the manager I spoke to did not even care about the whole thing. She said they had to leave because they were delayed by me and had to go to another job. But guess what - they were delayed because their customer service put them on hold for every little question for long periods of time! She did not apologize for them leaving the house like that. Obviously such bad behavior on the part of customer service reps/managers and installers is standard practice in that company!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpet is Unreliable

It’s disappointing to hear about the inconvenience of your missed sales appointment. We’d like to discuss this issue with you and hope that you’ll reconsider using us for your home improvement needs. We have attempted to contact you via email to resolve your concerns. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we’ll follow back with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#295967 Review #295967 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We scheduled an appointment for the much advertised "free in-home estimate" by Empire Carpet and were given an appt the very next day for between 4 and 6pm. Empire Carpet was supposed to call us just before arriving.

Well, they never showed...and they never called either. My wife was pissed she wasted the time waiting around for them. When we called Empire Carpet again to inquire what happened, they promised to investigate and call us back. Guess what...they never did.

Somehow I am not surprised. All they wanted to do was book another appt, which we had no confidence would ever happen.

This is a very poorly run operation. Heads up.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today

Andrea, while it’s regrettable that you weren’t completely happy with your installation, we understand that we have come to a resolution regarding your concerns and that you’re satisfied. Please contact us should you have any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#295464 Review #295464 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today
Empire Today

Not only did Empire short our carpet an inch, and refuse to fix it correctly, they scratched the brand new kitchen cabinets, and brand new hard wood kitchen floor. and would not compensate for the damages.

the installers were rude, and even argued about where to put the furnature. when I tried to get it fixed I was treated VERY poorly, and instead of compensating us for our shorted carpet, they were going to fix it by coming to our house, ripping it up, and puting a seam down the middle of two rooms!

very very unhappy! I would NEVER recomend Empire to anyone!

Empire Today's reply to:

My terrible experience with Empire Today

Tara, we’re sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your product and installation. We understand that we have attempted to contact you regarding your concerns. Customer service is our top priority, so we want to work with customers if they experience any problems. If you would like to speak to us and work towards a resolution, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#294657 Review #294657 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I bought my new home in November 2009. A lot of the carpeting was original (the house was built in the 80's), so I decided that it was time for some new carpeting. I called Empire because I remembered them from their TV ads, and online they had alot of deals, which fit nice into my budget at the time. I called to set up an appointment and they sent someone over for a 'free home estimate'. Basically, my order at the time was large, a huge sum of money I had saved up for home improvements, and I ordered new carpets for my living room, dining room, 2 bedrooms, 2 staircases, 1 hallway, and a loft. We live in a condominium so it isnt as big a job as it may seem, but nonetheless, it came to about $6,250. The salesman at the time said he was really concerned about jobs this size and would continue to check in to make sure everything went alright after installation. His name was Robert Steinberg, and I never heard from him again after the day he made the 'sale'.

So on to the day of installation. They said it would be a one day job and that they would arrive at about 8am to start. They didn't arrive unil about noon, came with 2-3 installers, 2 of whom were in and out all day, and none of them could answer my questions because they didn't speak english. They continued working on the carpets until well after 1:30am, which was terrible at the time because my daughter was 2 years old. At the end, they rushed through 2 rooms, and did such a horrible job installing that I had to call the next day and complain about almost every room.

They didn't connect the underside of the carpet to the stairs, which remains unfinished to this day. They left metal strips sticking up and instead of sowing the seams in between carpets, they used glue, botched the job, and tried to cover it up with a metal insert. One of the installers broke one of my kithcen tiles and then tried to lie about it until I showed him the piece he had tried to throw away. His plan to fix it was to use carpet glue, it looks horrible and is also like that to this day. The seams are highly visable in almost every room they did. The carpet itself is falling apart. I had a burber installed on one of the staircases, which I'll have to have removed within the next year because it is literally unraveling.

Needless to say I have tried to call the original salesman who had said he was concerned and would check in, he has never returned one call, and customer service was terrible. I have since had another place come in and carpet one of the rooms I hadn't done before, and they told me they have had to recarpet alot of the bad jobs by Empire.

Alot of my friends are doing house remodeling projects, and I don't even have to tell them what I think of Empire, they get their own opinions by looking at the job they did on our house here. I am a busy mother who is on a tight budget and thought I could get a nice quality job at a reasonable price. What I wouldn't give to go back two years, get my $6,250 back, and call someone else to do my carpets.

Empire Today's reply to:

Do not sign on to sell for Empire Today in NY

We apologize if you felt you did not have a positive experience while working as an independent contractor. While we strive to create a positive atmosphere for all our contractors, misunderstandings can occur and we are happy to help address and resolve this issue. We have attempted to reach out to you via email regarding this issue. Please contact Erica Sanchez at 847-583-3007 or email esanchez@empiretoday.com to discuss your concerns further. Thank you.
ID
#294644 Review #294644 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$10

I signed up to selll for Empire Today in Feb 2010. I had a short training course and was "in the field" selling in a couple weeks. Support of the independent contractors selling for them is pitiful.

They assign many leads in NYC. If you work in the City they may promise to pay parking expense but do it only spottily and grudgingly. I submitted 3 months of expenses where I didn't get paid because I didn't supply all the info they wanted. They didn't inform me of the problem and neverf returned the incorrect expense claims so I could resubmit.

I worked very hard, sold a lot of carpet and floors, got paid pitifully little. Eventually (Jan 2011) they deactivated my ID, so I was fired, although I was an "independent agent". I returned the samples and am owed money for them. Still waiting.

Given the small size of apartments in NYC you really cannot make the company goals working there. They fire virtually everyone who works in NYC, particularly Manhattan. I was frequently promised leads in other areas (So I could make the goals and keep the job) but these promises were not kept.

My advice, avoid the headache and stay away from these guys.