Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania - CHEAP CARPET

Had carpet installed on 7/27/11. Noticed that where people sit on the floor that the pile is smashed down and will not come back up. Called Empire and Chuck came out on 1/26/12. He took samples and tried to find dirt but could not since we don't wear shoes in the house or eat in that room. He told me that he would get back to me in two day. When I did not hear from him I called him on 2/1/12. He stated that there was no manufacturer defect and that he would have someone call me since I was not satisfied with the carpet. He also stated that I had not maintained my carpet by professionally cleaning every six months. Are you kidding me! The carpet was only six months old when he was here. Spoke to several carpet professionals who told me that doing that would break down the fibers. Called him again on 2/13/12 since no one called me and he then told me that the person that was to call me had twins. Good for him, not so good for me. That day Jeff Weiss called to set up an appointment and he was told I wanted to replace my carpet. When I explained what had transpired he told me he would have a manager or customer service call me. Today is 2/17/12 and still waiting. The initial salesman assured me that this carpet would wear well and that I would be happy with this carpet. I recently went out to price other carpet and I believe that this carpet is extremely over priced. I am in real estate and recommend to sellers when they need to replace carpeting. I could not in good conscious ever recommend Empire. It may look nice when it is new but six months after a buyer moves in they would be very upset with my sellers. I priced out carpet at Lowes and Home Depot with higher density and their carpet is less money. My next step is the BBB and small claims court.
View full review
Author
Location
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Review #297912 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Frustrating, rude, worst customer service ever

They were to come and restretch our carpet. Firstly they did not come on the day they said they would. The customer service puts you on hold for long periods of time for every question you ask them. They told me it would take 4 hours to do it and when the installers came they said it would take 1/2 hour to do it. The amount they were charging me for 1/2 hour of work was too much. So I called customer service about it. While I was on the phone with them negotiating the price, the installers left without so much as telling me that they were going to leave. I was about to pay for it (They insist that you pay before the job is done. ) and that the customer service lady wanted to talk to the installer when I realized I could not see them anywhere. Thankfully I had not paid them as yet. When I spoke to the customer service manager about it, she claimed that their employees are "trusted" employees! They obviously don't understand the meaning of the word trust. When the service man leaves your home with the job partially done, I don't call that "trustworthy". Very bad experience. I am bugged that the manager I spoke to did not even care about the whole thing. She said they had to leave because they were delayed by me and had to go to another job. But guess what - they were delayed because their customer service put them on hold for every little question for long periods of time! She did not apologize for them leaving the house like that. Obviously such bad behavior on the part of customer service reps/managers and installers is standard practice in that company!!!!
View full review
Author
Location
Simsbury, Connecticut
Review #296216 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in New York, New York - Empire Carpet is Unreliable

We scheduled an appointment for the much advertised "free in-home estimate" by Empire Carpet and were given an appt the very next day for between 4 and 6pm. Empire Carpet was supposed to call us just before arriving. Well, they never showed...and they never called either. My wife was pissed she wasted the time waiting around for them. When we called Empire Carpet again to inquire what happened, they promised to investigate and call us back. Guess what...they never did. Somehow I am not surprised. All they wanted to do was book another appt, which we had no confidence would ever happen. This is a very poorly run operation. Heads up.
View full review
Author
Location
New York, New York
Review #295967 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today
Empire Today
Andrea, while it's regrettable that you weren't completely happy with your installation, we understand that we have come to a resolution regarding your concerns and that you're satisfied. Please contact us should you have any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or...
View full review
Author
Location
Lansing, Michigan
Review #295464 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

My terrible experience with Empire Today

I bought my new home in November 2009. A lot of the carpeting was original (the house was built in the 80's), so I decided that it was time for some new carpeting. I called Empire because I remembered them from their TV ads, and online they had alot of deals, which fit nice into my budget at the time. I called to set up an appointment and they sent someone over for a 'free home estimate'. Basically, my order at the time was large, a huge sum of money I had saved up for home improvements, and I ordered new carpets for my living room, dining room, 2 bedrooms, 2 staircases, 1 hallway, and a loft. We live in a condominium so it isnt as big a job as it may seem, but nonetheless, it came to about $6,250. The salesman at the time said he was really concerned about jobs this size and would continue to check in to make sure everything went alright after installation. His name was Robert Steinberg, and I never heard from him again after the day he made the 'sale'. So on to the day of installation. They said it would be a one day job and that they would arrive at about 8am to start. They didn't arrive unil about noon, came with 2-3 installers, 2 of whom were in and out all day, and none of them could answer my questions because they didn't speak english. They continued working on the carpets until well after 1:30am, which was terrible at the time because my daughter was 2 years old. At the end, they rushed through 2 rooms, and did such a horrible job installing that I had to call the next day and complain about almost every room. They didn't connect the underside of the carpet to the stairs, which remains unfinished to this day. They left metal strips sticking up and instead of sowing the seams in between carpets, they used glue, botched the job, and tried to cover it up with a metal insert. One of the installers broke one of my kithcen tiles and then tried to lie about it until I showed him the piece he had tried to throw away. His plan to fix it was to use carpet glue, it looks horrible and is also like that to this day. The seams are highly visable in almost every room they did. The carpet itself is falling apart. I had a burber installed on one of the staircases, which I'll have to have removed within the next year because it is literally unraveling. Needless to say I have tried to call the original salesman who had said he was concerned and would check in, he has never returned one call, and customer service was terrible. I have since had another place come in and carpet one of the rooms I hadn't done before, and they told me they have had to recarpet alot of the bad jobs by Empire. Alot of my friends are doing house remodeling projects, and I don't even have to tell them what I think of Empire, they get their own opinions by looking at the job they did on our house here. I am a busy mother who is on a tight budget and thought I could get a nice quality job at a reasonable price. What I wouldn't give to go back two years, get my $6,250 back, and call someone else to do my carpets.
View full review
Author
Location
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Review #294657 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

Do not sign on to sell for Empire Today in NY

I signed up to selll for Empire Today in Feb 2010. I had a short training course and was "in the field" selling in a couple weeks. Support of the independent contractors selling for them is pitiful. They assign many leads in NYC. If you work in the City they may promise to pay parking expense but do it only spottily and grudgingly. I submitted 3 months of expenses where I didn't get paid because I didn't supply all the info they wanted. They didn't inform me of the problem and neverf returned the incorrect expense claims so I could resubmit. I worked very hard, sold a lot of carpet and floors, got paid pitifully little. Eventually (Jan 2011) they deactivated my ID, so I was fired, although I was an "independent agent". I returned the samples and am owed money for them. Still waiting. Given the small size of apartments in NYC you really cannot make the company goals working there. They fire virtually everyone who works in NYC, particularly Manhattan. I was frequently promised leads in other areas (So I could make the goals and keep the job) but these promises were not kept. My advice, avoid the headache and stay away from these guys.
View full review
Author
Location
New York, New York
Review #294644 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Fort Lauderdale, Florida - Could NOT have been HAPPIER !

You have to realize this site is for COMPLAINERS! We had NO problems from first phone call until follow-up. Each and every person we dealt with in person, or on the phone, were extremely professional and knowledgeable about their end, of the carpet we had purchased. NICE, too! You don't find that anywhere, these days. They are trained so well and know the answers to ANY question you might throw out there. Polite workers who install. Very smart salesmen. And you WILL get next day service, if that is what you want! I would highly recommend, over and over.
View full review
Author
Location
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Review #294201 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire today

Welll I called empire for a free Estament and when stu the sales man came I fell in love with a sample of floor so we agreed on a price and proceeded to order the floor. That night I went on this sight and saw all the complaints and I really freaked out . So I called stu and was ready to cancelle. First because of the reviews and second because I second guess the floor I picked. Well he was great he took the time and was very patient and came back so I could look at the floor again he eVen brought more of the same floor so I could get a better idea of what it would look like.at that point I decided to go with it well I am so glad I did the installers came when they said they would right on time they were fast and extremely neet they did 1400 feet of flooring in two and a half days and left my house sparkling clean. They moved all my furniture and moved it back in place they were very pleasant and I give them all a 5 star. Karen the installation manager was also involved throughout and made sure all went well. I want to thank you empire you all were great.
View full review
Author
Location
Delray Beach, Florida
Review #293737 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

EMPIRE TODAY IS TERRIBLE!!!!! DO NOT USE

Well as everyone knows who has a television in the DC metro area empire today runs a giant advertising campaign on TV. My wife and I just moved into our very first home. We wanted to put new carpet in the living room because the previous owners did not do a very good job of taking care of it. So we called empire today for a free in home estimate (big mistake). The sales rep showed up and was very nice and showed us all kinds of carpets. We decided to go with Berber carpet and we set a date to have it installed. Everything seemed to be going well with the house and the carpet situation until empire today sent out their crack team of installers. Two gentlemen showed up at my house (while I was at work, it was only my wife) to install our carpet whom spoke very little to no English. They asked my wife for our credit card number and then proceeded to copy it down on carbon copy paper (its 2012 really?) with a quarter. They then installed our carpet and left. After the installation was done my wife inspected it and noticed that their were five extremely visible seams along with some places where they did not pull the carpet tight and it is bubbled up. It was obvious that these gentlemen had no idea how to lay carpet. So we contacted empire to get it replaced and this took us 5 days and 5 phone calls to various people before we were able to talk to the person we needed to. Once we got on the phone with him he attempted to send out the same crew (who did not speak English) to try and fix it. They are coming today to fix it. And after they do not fix it because it can't be fixed I am going to call and get my money back and give them their carpet back. So everyone learn from my mistake and never use empire carpeting.
View full review
Author
Location
Haymarket, Virginia
Review #293586 is a subjective opinion of poster.
0 comments
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Oakdale, New York - EMPIRE CARPET IS A SCAM!!

We bought our berber carpet from Empire Today in Sept 2011. The salesman was very pleasant and only mentioned BIG carpet manufacturers NEVER did he mentioned Phenix. LIAR! The carpet that was installed in our bedrooms and hallway ended up being a "looser" loop that we saw on the sample. The carpet already looks horrible and we are always having constant snags. The installer did not even put in padding in certain areas and I complained to Empire Today. They sent out someone they call a non biased carpet professional to check and make sure there was nothing wrong with installation and such. He fixed the area with missing padding but we later discovered that where the original installer "overdosed" on use of staples, there was little holes where the second installer pulled out the staples to fix the padding. Now, it looks even worse. EVEN, the non biased carpet installer said that the carpet we bought was POOR QUALITY / NOT A GOOD CARPET. AND, the Customer Service Manager basically said all the GENERIC RESPONSES about not a warranty issue or that they would upgrade at a discounted price. I am in Customer Service and this is NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE. This is a rip off and WILL NEVER USE EMPIRE AGAIN! My pain now is that I have to pay for this ROTTEN CARPET. I HATE MY CARPET but I am glad I am not alone. There are others out there that are not happy and getting the same "no help" from Empire.
View full review
Author
Location
Oakdale, New York
Review #293144 is a subjective opinion of poster.