Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Dearborn, Michigan - Mrs. Logan

Evan, we understand that we were in contact with you about these issues several months ago and offered suggestions for resolution. If you would like to discuss these matters again, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#303419 Review #303419 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Over the course of 6 months, we have been trying to resolve issues with Empitre Today. Unfortunaltely, their Regional Customer Service Manager, Laura Woods was unprofessional and tried to bully us on the phone regarding Empire's unfinished work & 2 items they (carpenters) broke in our house.

One was an original folkart piece and the other was glass. We even provided Empire with information to order transition pieces they cracked, all of them, in the process of installing the tile floor. We ended up filing a protest with our credit card company who forwarded the tiemized list of repairs & quotes to Empire for finsihng the work. Laura Woods claims they never received the estimates & it was our fault.

So far we are at a standstill with a small portion of the money we are holding back.

My advise is to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. May be they will lose their AAA+ rating.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Cheap Carpet that Shows Every Footprint

Patricia, it’s regrettable that you aren’t happy with your product. It’s our goal to provide outstanding customer service and work with our customers as much as possible to ensure their satisfaction. We have reviewed your situation, and we will be reaching out to you soon to work towards a resolution. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#301919 Review #301919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4400

Update by user Apr 03, 2012

Customer Service resolved my complaint very quickly and efficiently, and I am very grateful for their help.

Original review posted by user Mar 03, 2012

The 18 x 24 (approx) carpet sample that I spent 30 minutes looking at, was very dense and was exactly what I wanted. When the installers showed up, I was sure they had the wrong carpet. I called Empire and was told to check the tag on the carpet -- it was the same info as the spec sheet. The cable man was here, and said that when he got carpet from the home improvement store, they told him that the carpet would look better once installed over the pad. How I wish I had just told them to leave.

Joe Salta, the salesman, was correct: I never mentioned to him that I didn't want carpet that shows every footprint, every vacuum cleaner wheel mark. I am certain that I picked out a good quality carpet that would not make an empty room look messy, as this carpet does.

Joe Salta called his manager. For T W O T H O U S A N D M O R E D O L L A R S , they can make this mess go away.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in New York, New York - EMPIRE CARPET = unprofessional & disorganized

Erica, it’s disappointing that you were inconvenienced by your missed appointments. Whenever a problem arises, we always want to work with our customers to make things right. We understand that we’ve spoken to you about your concerns and have come to a resolution. If you have any additional questions, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#301435 Review #301435 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$800

AWFUL, AWFUL EXPERIENCE!!!!!

i was given the run-around for a full week trying to get custom window blinds.

first, i scheduled an appt. the empire employee called me 20 mins before the appt window closed to let me know that he was having "car trouble" and would need to reschedule. i rescheduled for 3 days later...no show. no call. I called HIM and he told me that he was somewhere else and wouldn't be able to get to me then rudely told me to call the 1800#. so i did. i actually gave them another chance...sorry i did that.

i spoke to a cust service rep who told me on the phone that someone would be at my home betwn 2-4p the following business day. i got a confirmation email saying that my appt was actually btwn 10-12p. i had JUST hung up the phone with her. how can you mess that up?

wait....gets better. the appt day comes...NO ONE SHOWS UP! i was told by cust service that "they didn't know why" bc it was in the system. and blamed the local office. the following day, i called to find out what happened...the customer service rep apologized and got to me earlier than me expected window. i liked him and even put a deposit down on the blinds. he told me that someone would be at my house the next day to re-measure and place the order.

Next day - no one showed. no call. i actually had two more no-shows, reschedulings etc. after that before i finally threw in the towel. i asked for my money back and proceeded to cancel my order. it was THEN that my doorbell rang. It was the empire employee there to re-measure my window.

can't make this stuff up, folks.

DO NOT USE EMPIRE!!!!!!! there are plenty of other more reputable, professional and reliable companies. I will be using one of them.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today

Patrick, we regret that you were not satisfied with your sales appointment and our pricing. As we are a full service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product cost, installation labor and any other services requested. We understand that we’ve spoken to you about your concerns, and we hope that you’ll reconsider using us for your home improvement needs. Please feel free to contact us with any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#301057 Review #301057 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I saw an ad Buy 1 room and get 2 rooms FREE. So I called for a price as I wanted to have hardwood floor installed in 3 rooms.

The girl said she could not give a price but Empire would send someone right over to give an estimate? I called at 1:00pm and she was going to have someone come between 3 and 5. I should have known right there that something was up. So I said lets do it in the morning, she set it up for between 9 and 11am the next day?

The guy was on time, nice guy Tim. I said first thing that I could get this offer - buy 1 room and get 2 free but he said it's true so I let him do his estimate. Well the number he came up with was $11221.00 for one product and $13860.00 for another product and that was with 67% off retail, WTF! I am a smart shopper and have done this type of work before and I already got priceing from Big Box stores.

This place was about $6000.00 more than them and they were charging for all 3 rooms? So I asked where is the FREE rooms, now I knew I had to pay for the installation on all 3 rooms but come on this is crazy. The sales man said let me call my manager (Frank) he was on the phone and told Frank the number I received from the BB Stores and I heard him say "he's out of his mind" So Tim asked Frank if he would like to talk to me. I was on the phone with Frank and he said the best he could do is $10500.00 for all 3 rooms and when I asked where is the FREE rooms he just said that is the price and that Empire Todsy is not for everyone and it would cost me $15.00sf for the job take it or leave it.

So I did the math and divided the $10500.00 by the 650sf and came up with $16.15sf so I think Frank needs to go back to school! First thing Frank said to me is what kind of warranty would I get from th BB store, and the truth is they both offer the same warranty and it is through the manufactor of the flooring not the BB store or Empire Today. Tim told me that if there is any problem with the product to call him and he would get in touch with the manufactor and set up a service call, the sales man at the BB store told me the same thing. Bottom line people - you never get anything for FREE- they are just a bait and switch scam company!!

This place is only looking to rip people off who are in a pinch or can't afford to buy the flooring outright so the set up a payment plan. STAY AWAY, DON'T DO IT, STAY AWAY, BAD COMPANY!!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Union, New Jersey - Empire Carpet has poor service

Cheryl, we were disappointed to hear about your experience, as it is not in line with our high standards of customer service. We understand that we’ve spoken to you about the status of your refund and that you should be receiving it soon. If you have any questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
Review
#301033 Review #301033 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I get a call yesterday confirming my appt toady. I get a call this morning saying I will be there at 8:30am to install your carpet.

I ask the gentlemen if he could make me his last appt and not the first, as I need to get to work. He told me he would call me right back. After an hour of waiting I call him back only to find out he was not coming that he had no appointment for me. I hit the ceiling, so I called scheduling department who proceeded to tell me that they did not have the carpet I wanted and that they would need to reschedule.

WHAT? After I called my job and told them I would not be able to come in today. How can you call the day before to confirm the appointment if you don't have the carpet? how can you call say u on your way if you don't have the carpet?

So my sales rep calls and tells me oh sorry we don't have the carpet but i can get u another one. So I ask for the same price? He say know.....WHAT? And what about my job I had to call in who's going to confiscate me for that?

So I tell him to cancel my order. he continues to tell me what carpet he's going to give me....Did he not understand the words coming out of my mouth? I said cancel the order. He proceed to talk about another 10 minutes.

At this time I am so frustrated. I WANT TO CANCEL THE ORDER AND GET MY DEPOSIT BACK.

Is it that difficult to understand? Now the wait is on to see how fast I will get my deposit back, hope that department is not as bad as sale, installers, and schedulers.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Germantown, Maryland - DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY

Kimberly, it’s disappointing that you weren’t satisfied with your choice of product. We understand that we have spoken to you about your concerns and that we’ve agreed to a resolution. If you have any questions about this, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#300614 Review #300614 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Google the "VP of Customer Service", DOZENS of complaints! Have a customer sat issue they are not willing to budge on.

Extremely disappointing. I relied on #1sales rep's vision to select the right color flooring. I'm stuck with $7K bill, no one at Empire cares. The "VP of Customer Service" Linked In profile: Sr.

Regional CS Manager. "Regional" is not all encompassing, nor is it a Vice President.

I spoke with the BBB today: I relied on their professional experience to make my decision, I have a reasonable complaint to file with them. I'm doing so now.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania - Don't Trust

Janet, we regret that there was a delay in following up with you regarding your concerns. We understand that we’ve spoken to you and agreed upon a resolution. If you have any questions about this please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#299551 Review #299551 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$625

Posted a complaint on Feb 17. 2012.

(Cheap Carpet) Unbelievable response, they called within three hours on the same day. TOO BAD I HAVEN'T HEARD FROM THEM SINCE. I was told they would call me on the 21st with options. Every time I see their commercial It just irritates me more.

Pay for one room get two free. If you want your carpet to look ten years old in six months, great deal.

Will be filing a complaint with the better business bureau on Monday if something has not been resolved by then. I don't fell I should have to keep calling them.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Manasquan, New Jersey - Empire Carpet has poor service with appointments

Chris, we regret that your sales appointment did not take place as scheduled. We know that your time is valuable and understand your frustration. We appreciate the opportunity to make this situation right, and have spoken to your wife and rescheduled the appointment. Please feel free to contact us with any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#299319 Review #299319 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I had an appointment scheduled for 6-8 PM being told the appointment takes an hour, thus needing to keep open 3 hours. My wife works in the city and took an earlier train to be home for the appointment.

I scheduled work appointments for other nights to keep the time slot open. We have two children and assist with caring for my grandmother, and had to work around their schedules. Empire calls us at 7:30 to CANCEL because they are running behind. No offer to come late or to make up for the inconvenience.

When I called to complain, I was offered to reschedule and be given a $50 credit. How does this make up for my 3-hour committment, and another 3 hours. Plus I called on Empire per my need to get this done soon.

The company should be embarrassed considering it's misadvertisement of Empire TODAY and poor customer service. As an owner of a construction business, I will be referring my customers to a different carpet installation company going forward.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Garden City, Michigan - They lied , wont honor warranty with out a black mail letter

Paul, we regret the issues that you’ve experienced with your product post-installation. We have offered to work with you towards a resolution but have been unable to gain your agreement on our offer. We hope you will reconsider. If you would like to discuss further please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
Review
#298602 Review #298602 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2000

On 12/5/11 we called Karen to make a complaint about our laminate buckeling . No reply. on 12/7/11 we then called Corp . due to no response talked to Ivan tald him we could not get a hold of karen to make a complaint m he then tried to call Karen him self , but got no response either , he left a message. He told us we would hear from some one in 1 to 3 days. On 12/10/11 Called back talked to Jamie from corp explained problem and no call back in time frame , she said Karen to handle our problem she also called Karen no answer. On 12/12/11 Called Karen could only leave message. On 12/12/11 Dave called us said Rich would come on the 14th or 15th to take care of problem.

On 12/14/11 Rich came to look at the floor , said the metal strips the carpet people laided down were the problem , they should of never put them over the laminate , it causes floor not to float. He went backed talked to Karen , he suggestion a different type flooring . Karen called that same day said they will replace the floor , that some times this happens when carpeting is replaced and they use metal strips instead of transitions. We told her the metal strips were orginal from install.

On 12/19/11 Rich comes to replace floor with laminate ,all material is in his trailer . He comes in looks at problems with the floor , he starts to pull up carpeting at metal strip to see how far the strip was nailed down. Wife starts to ask questions , remark from him was you keep asking me a 100 questions , I can either do this or leave. Then he made a statemen he could leveling out slight hump he said was due to metal strips binding up the floor . Then he turns around and says I can put this floor in but in 6 months it could do it again. Wife stated why would you do that if you have to keep coming out thats money out of the companies pocket and time out of our lives again. He then said he did not want to be responsable for it doing it again. He then called Karen , then Karen called us .Karen said she would contact corp about different type flooring lvt flooring . We would hear in 2 days. Rich said they would approve it.

Two days went by went by we heard nothing , we then called her left a message asked why we heard nothing. On 12/21/11 We called Corp talked to Clarissa due to not hearing from Karen . I asked why we dont get call backs like we`re told. She checked into the computer found nothing in there from Karen to corp about different flooring or problem. In the meantime the floor kept getting worse. I got cut from the transtion peice being cracked , i hit my head from the transition being loose , I pinched my finger from the floor coming out from under the molding. ( wife ) That was all in the hallway. ( Husband ) Hurt his foot from seperation of floor in kitchen , toe hurt from sparp edge in foyer . Helen called said she would get on the case with us . I sent in the mean time emails to crop.

12/22/11 I got a call saying a man named Bob would come to look at the problems , never told where he would be coming from . He shows up , he looks around he said he did not see any danger problems , and said right off the bat it was a joist probkem , We had another work crew here that heard it all and seen what all he did abd didnt do. He was rude , didnt want to listen to us , all he did was out a level on floor , and took about 6 pics. He also stated Rich did not say it was metal strips that caused the problems. I was explaing the kitchen problems he walked out and said corp would get a hold of us in a week or so. I sent more emails.

12/23/11 Roger called to say he was sending someone out Tuesday to oull up floor to check out laminate. He also said he looked at 17 pictures.

12/27/11 Installer called at 9 am , his name was Tom. Showed up at 1030 am he looked at the floor and all the problems there was took about two hours. The gaps , waves,spongyness , chips, uneven sides, moldings in all rooms , tacks sticking up by all transitions,. This guy took the time to listen to us . When he walked in we ask where he was from , meaning what city or office , he stated Belville , we then in the same sentace asked where Bob was from , since we were not told. Tom said this type of floor was not for this type of job abd asked if we considered lvt . We said yes , we were promised that from Karen and Rich , it never happened , he said he would go back and do his best. He never attempted to take up floor. He said he would hopfully be back in 2 hours o show us samples. He gave us his number, we never heard back. Three days later we tried to call him , no answer. Emails were sent to corp again. He also said the different flooring would not give the typ of problems the laninate is. Hed also signed a letter we wrote with all the problems and we signed to give to the Belville office.

12/28/11 Called Corp and talked to David , told himj of the problems and wanted to talke to some one hig up in the company . He gave us the Belville office instead and was Roger. Roger started to yell and was rude , accused us us of obstructing their job from finding out what the problem is with the laminate. He also said Tom told him we were not expecting him. Both are not senile yet! He said he would call back cause he was hearing one side and tghen another side . I told him I had a tape recording , so no lies on our part. He then got more irrate over that. He never ccalled back. More emails to corp. Laura Woods then called said they wanted to resloved the problems. I told her both installers said a different flooring is best then a floating floor. She too said it was a joist problem and would call back the nest day. I reminded her we had people look for a joist probkem we dont have one .

12/29/11 Laura called said they were sending indepdent insection company out to check floor asap.

12/30/11 Got call from Inspect souluations . 1/2 12 he came out to inspect. Rich showed up to check it out , he asked of everything that was wrong incuding if they left it here for two days before install , we said no . It was left in truck while install in June in heat. He said he should hear from Empire in one to two weeks . And if we requested a copy of the report we were intitiled to it. We asked Empire told us no. They gave to different excuses.

1/9/12 Got a call from Laura she said they could come and install laminate on 1/10/12 . I told her we were suppose to get different type flooring installed that was stated by the belville office. The two installers and he inspector that was here. She said ok to lvt material. She said she would have some one call to set up for sales to come to house. She did said we would have to sign off saying if we have a joist probkem they are not resposable and we would have to get it fixed. We have no joist problem , I have no idea what the report says since they refuse to gve it to us. She said everything will be replaced per her in the home. We called compinies about about the problems on the flooring material .

1/10/12 saleserson came out we picked our flooring , we have never heard anything back , no install date , nothing. Floor is worse , we are still dealing with it. They have done nothing to resolve our floor thus far. But words , lies, blackmail.

We are entiled to the report , we should not have have to wait almost two months , the report we have gotten on our own on a joist problem and their install and material tells us other wise. What its coming down to is bad material , bad install . Read manufacturs install of all material they did not follow that , its buckeling due to all that not a joist problem. I have to contiue to worry eveyr day on getting hurt one way or another. I refuse to email corp any more. Two months is long enough. A joist will not crwon in one spot , it will do it from one end to the other. This has been nothing but put blame where blame is due on their oart. There is way more to this but typing all is is hard , explations are tough on emails.

I just recieved a second blackmail letter saying we can not talk bad about them ever not even to my neighbors or we ger sued. They will replace the new floor but will not honor a waranty . We have to sign saying we will not sue to to injuries , well there no docotor i went to or hospital so that is null and void. When Tom was here he got hurt , did he have to sign any thing ? I bet not . Thats on tape to. Your indepant report says bad material and bad install . Take resposablity. You never should of put this type of flooring in a mobile home . Never should of left the material in the heat for 6 to 8 hours in June . Look on any site even the makers of the material leave in home for 2 to 3 days before install. And since when does a installer answer a complaint , cause Karen is to lazy ?

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Lied , Screamed and yelled at us , talked down to us on the phoned

Paul, it’s disappointing to hear of the problems that you have experienced post-installation. We have attempted to come to a resolution with you, but you have not agreed to our offer. We hope that you will reconsider working with us to resolve your concerns. Please contact us if you would like to discuss this further at 888-588-2315x4195 or customersupport@emprietoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#298598 Review #298598 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2000

On 12/5/11 we called Karen to make a complaint about our laminate buckeling . No reply. on 12/7/11 we then called Corp . due to no response talked to Ivan told him we could not get a hold of karen to make a complaint he then tried to call Karen him self , but got no response either , he left a message. He told us we would hear from some one in 1 to 3 days. On 12/10/11 Called back talked to Jamie from corp explained problem and no call back in time frame , she said Karen to handle our problem she also called Karen no answer. On 12/12/11 Called Karen could only leave message. On 12/12/11 Dave called us said Rich would come on the 14th or 15th to take care of problem. Since when do Installers take care of complaits ?

On 12/14/11 Rich came to look at the floor , said the metal strips the carpet people laided down were the problem , they should of never put them over the laminate , it causes floor not to float. He went backed talked to Karen , he suggestion a different type flooring . Karen called that same day said they will replace the floor , that some times this happens when carpeting is replaced and they use metal strips instead of transitions. We told her the metal strips were orginal from install.

On 12/19/11 Rich comes to replace floor with laminate ,all material is in his trailer . He comes in looks at problems with the floor , he starts to pull up carpeting starts to cut up the carpet , so not its shreeding , at metal strip to see how far the strip was nailed down. Wife starts to ask questions , remark from him was you keep asking me a 100 questions , I can either do this or leave. Then he made a statemen he could leveling out slight hump he said was due to metal strips binding up the floor . Then he turns around and says I can put this floor in but in 6 months it could do it again. Wife stated why would you do that if you have to keep coming out thats money out of the companies pocket and time out of our lives again. He then said he did not want to be responsable for it doing it again. He then called Karen , then Karen called us .Karen said she would contact corp about different type flooring lvt flooring . We would hear in 2 days. Rich said they would approve it.

12/27/11 Installer called at 9 am , his name was Tom. Showed up at 1030 am he looked at the floor and all the problems there was took about two hours. The gaps , waves,spongyness , chips, uneven sides, moldings in all rooms , tacks sticking up by all transitions,. This guy took the time to listen to us . When he walked in we ask where he was from , meaning what city or office , he stated Belville , we then in the same sentace asked where Bob was from , since we were not told. Tom said this type of floor was not for this type of job and asked if we considered lvt . We said yes , we were promised that from Karen and Rich , it never happened , he said he would go back and do his best. He never attempted to take up floor. He said he would hopfully be back in 2 hours to show us samples. He gave us his number, we never heard back. Three days later we tried to call him , no answer. Emails were sent to corp again. He also said the different flooring would not give the type of problems the laninate is. Hed also signed a letter we wrote with all the problems and we signed to give to the Belville office.Tom also got hurt while he was here , thats on tape.

12/29/11 Laura called said they were sending indepdent insection company out to check floor asap.

12/30/11 Got call from Inspect souluations . 1/2 12 he came out to inspect. Rich showed up to check it out , he asked of everything that was wrong incuding if they left it here for two days before install , we said no . It was left in truck while install in June in heat. He said he should hear from Empire in one to two weeks . And if we requested a copy of the report we were intitiled to it. We asked Empire told us no. Gave us two different reasons why we could not get the report.

1/9/12 Got a call from Laura she said they could come and install laminate on 1/10/12 . I told her we were suppose to get different type flooring installed that was stated by the belville office. The two installers and he inspector that was here. She said ok to lvt material. She said she would have some one call to set up for sales to come to house. She did said we would have to sign off saying if we have a joist probkem they are not resposable and we would have to get it fixed. We have no joist problem , I have no idea what the report says since they refuse to gve it to us. She said everything will be replaced per her in the home. We called compinies about about the problems on the flooring material .

1/10/12 saleserson came out we picked our flooring , we have never heard anything back , no install date , nothing. Floor is worse , we are still dealing with it. They have done nothing to resolve our floor thus far. But words , lies, blackmail.

We are entiled to the report , we should not have have to wait almost two months , the report we have gotten on our own on a joist problem and their install and material tells us other wise. What its coming down to is bad material , bad install . Read manufacturs install of all material they did not follow that , its buckeling due to all that not a joist problem. Now they have changed their mind and said no joist problem , the indepnat report says bad material and bad install. Now they want us to sign they we will not talk bad about them ever again or we get sued. We cant even talk to our neighbors. And we will get no warranty with the new install. They will not be reliable after install. They will also not take responsablityfor bad install or bad material. They are doing tis to two senior citizens who are disabled . Blackmailing us. We had no problem when they to reinstall the carpet , but now the flooring is a huge issue . Bellville caused the problem , take resposablity. Listen to the tape , take to the wittness . Quit re selling material when you take it out of peoples home , trade commission will love to hear you to that.