Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire today wood flooring

We were in the Woodlands Mall and setup an appointment with Empire. Dwayne came by and was very friendly. But ofcourse he was, I had money he wanted. Anyway I had already drawn the plans of my rooms and hallway we wanted covered in tile and wood or either. We were open to advise. And like the other bids, we were advised to stay with one texture since they all touched. OK. And all went quite well until he quoted the price. We were wanting to cover 589 sq. ft. The price he quoted was a little over $11,000.00. Just under $20.00 a sq. ft. And when I asked him how much that was a square foot, Dwayne could not tell me. He said they are the biggest seller in the country of wood floors, but would not sell me the actual square footage we needed. We only sell by the box. Excuse me? We are looking at your samples of flooring you say you have in the warehouse. So nothing special order. And you only sell by the box? And all this flooring is special made just for Empire. Wow, you must sell alot of flooring. Now to the fun part, or should I say the flimflam. When we told him he was WAY to high, a phone call was made to "talk to my supervisor" the price magically dropped to around $6000.00. Still way out of the ball park. After another phone call "to his supervisors, supervisor". Dwayne said I will likely get in trouble for "going over his head". What are we buying, a car or flooring? Now the price had dropped from just over $11,000.00 to $5,000.00. We told Dwayne he coul;d leave and be sure to take all his items with him. Needless to say, Empire Today will NEVER step foot in our home again. And they are the top company on Angie's List? Angie, you better screen your companies.
View full review
Review
#324976 Review #324976 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Chicago, Illinois - Do not use Empire Carpet!!!!!!

About a month ago we had lvt tile installed in our home. Noticed write away it was popping up and was told to give a little while to settle. Well it never did they came on 06/02/2012 stated atleast 35 tiles had to be replaced. The would call monday 06/04/2012 well guess what no call I have been calling and the nasty and rude customer service reps keep saying give us another 1-3 business days! really well we spent $5000.00 and I want my floor fixed stop with the stall tatics and fix the floor!!!!!!!!
View full review
Review
#324121 Review #324121 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Washington, District Of Columbia - Bathtub liner

Had a bathtub liner put in by Empire Today. The so called plumber placed the tub liner and the tub drain instead of screwing the tub drain to the main drain pipe underneath the house he caulked it with lots of caulk around the drain hole. I recently had my washer/kitchen line replaced and the plumbing company discovered that the drain spouts for the toilets and the tub were not connected to the main drain pipe. Upon starting the repair they discovered also that when the tub liner was placed the tub drain was not screwed to the main drain pipe. This shoddy work has caused the water to start leaking when the bathtub was used which in turn the moisture has rotted the floor in both bathrooms. The moisture also caused the foundation to settle and the drain pipes from the bathtub and toilets seperated from the main line. Upon notifying Empire Today of their error they deny responsibility because the work was done over a year ago and the warranty is only for one year. How is it that a company can do shoddy work and not accept the consequences?
View full review
Review
#323679 Review #323679 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

EMPIRE TODAY sold me defective carpeting

I bought brand new carpeting and it almost immediately started to unravel. I have been trying to get it rectified for over 8 months. They sent installers out to look at it twice. They acknowledged that the carpet is defective, took pictures and left saying that I should hear from "the supervisor" but that never happens. I have left numerous messages for Customer Service, but no response. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY - it sounds like a great deal and they do it fast, but what good is that if they do not stand by their product?
View full review
Review
#321556 Review #321556 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today, ***.

We ordered over $3000 of window treatments (Hunter Douglas) in April, through the Empire sales rep servicing central Connecticut named Lori. They arrived in May, and the installer began to install them. As soon as they started going up, we noticed they were very different (wrong model, color, and size) than what we had ordered and asked the installer to take them back. When I contacted Empire Today (5/16) to ask for a refund of my $943 deposit, i was told that a local rep would contact me in 1-3 days. I called again on 5/23, stating that nobody had called. They said a local rep would contact me the next day. I called again on 5/25, and was told that records show that my blinds were installed, so I wouldn't get a refund. When I stated that were very different than what I wanted, and the installer took them back (aside from the two blinds that he left here, now sitting on my floor), I was told the local rep would call me back in the afternoon. I called back in the afternoon when I hadn't received a call by 4:30pm, and I was told the manager was away and I should get a call next Tuesday. This is ridiculous. I'm now out $943, and still have no blinds. I would ask for a replacement, but since the sales rep has no idea what she is doing, how can i possibly get what I actually want?
View full review
Review
#320952 Review #320952 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Washington, District Of Columbia - Empire doesn't care

Satisfaction guaranteed my ***. I have called 4 times, asked to be called back, no one does. What we were promised was not delivered. Our poor installers stayed and completed the work even though we were blatantly lied to by the salesman. based on other info here, seems to be COMMON. I still haven't received any financing info, so I'm sure there are fees there, its been over a month now. All I want is someone who cares and so far no one does. AVOID this company like the plague. Never believe a word that comes out of the salesman's mouth and KNOW that no one in management will do anything about it, because they dont care. Your money is the only thing they care about.
View full review
Review
#318873 Review #318873 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Customer Disservice

We had a sales person Cindy Stamper come to our house and sold us carpet from Empire Today. She was nice and did a professional job. The carpet was installed on 12/3/11. There was a problem with the paperwork on their end which did not affect the installation but became a problem later when we tried to contact the company with a complaint. The installers were so fast that they showed no care for our walls and caused us to repaint. We complained to Empire Today who offered to look at our walls and do a touch up. We opted to just do it ourselves. This must have put us on a "complainers list". Four months of normal use and proper care of the carpet has caused the carpet to look worn out and matted down. We called Empire today and my wife was sarcastically told by Local Customer Service Manager Roger Thorton that carpet is made of plastic and doesn't ware out. His attitude was horrible and unprofessional. We were told that we need to call back to schedule a representative to come take a look. We have called 6 times and always have the same response. We get a helpful customer service rep. who can't locate our lost order by phone number. Then we give her/him our assigned activity number (1-732558958) and they put us on hold for 5-10 minutes. They return and tell us we will receive a call the next day from Roger Thorton . He has NEVER called back. We gave them both our phone numbers and they have our email. We are being ignored with the hopes we just give up. Empire Today has not done what they claim and is a fraud. I don't say this without fact. Their recorded phone records should show all our calls. I will be taking this up with the BBB.
View full review
Review
#316697 Review #316697 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Providence, Rhode Island - Empire Carpet - Lies, Poor Service, Awful

Empire Today - Empire Carpet - Lies, Poor Service, Awful
Empire Today - Empire Carpet - Lies, Poor Service, Awful
We made the mistake using Empire Carpet to replace our carpet in our home, 3 bedrooms and the stairs. The sales man Bob LaChapelle; completely mislead me about the carpet I purchased and the services Empire offers. Bob told me that if we were not satisfied with any aspect of the carpet, they would return the next day and correct it or reinstall the carpet. Bob then showed me carpet examples that were "better" than the carpet that was in my house. I am not an expert on carpet so I believed Bob. The carpet that was installed was lower grade, yet more expensive then the old carpet. The padding was lower grade too. The carpet that was installed had no bounce and I could feel the floorboards under the carpet and there is a line around my entire house where the unpainted baseboard shows. When I called Empire to complain, (I had to make several calls before I was able to talk to someone with authority) I was told that I had to pay for the difference in price of an upgraded carpet and the installation!!! The initial customer service person tried to blame me for their deceptive practices and said I should have known the type of carpet I was selecting! I was outraged and when I finally spoke to someone who agreed to have the carpet reinstalled with a higher-grade carpet and padding for no cost. The sales person EJ who was to come to my house to have me select the carpet, finally called me, after I had to call and complain that no one had called me. He initially was very accommodating and scheduled for Saturday afternoon. The then called Saturday afternoon and said his care died and rescheduled for Tuesday at 7pm, he called Tuesday at 7pm and said he was running late and would be at my house at 9pm! I declined the late appointment and rescheduled for Saturday at 10am. Of course, EJ did not show and did not return my two phone calls to confirm. We are now going to our credit card company and requesting a full refund! This whole experience has been an outrage. Please do not use Empire. Even though they advertise nationally, they did a horrible job and are very deceptive!
View full review
Review
#316660 Review #316660 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Nashville, Tennessee - Empire Lies

We bought carpet from these people 2 years ago. All the promises made about carpet quality and built in protection turn out to be completely false when you call them for service. We were led to believe that the carpet we bought had some built in protection to each strand making it far more stain resistant and long lasting than other brands on the market. As it turns out the carpet has Scotchguard like any other brand that must be replaced every time it is cleaned.They refer you to the manufacturers warranty. They will lie right to your face and do nothing to follow up but direct you to a website. Buy from anyone else.
View full review
Review
#315802 Review #315802 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Incompetent and Ignorant Empire Today

PO # 034FAAH894 - Official ComplaintI signed up a hardwood installation contract with sales person Cary Rizzieri of Empire Today on 12/07/2011 for $10750.00 and paid $200.00 as initial deposit. The Auburn color for room's floor and Honey Tone color for staircase were selected and signed in the contract. The entire job was promised to be completed in 2-3 days. The crew came on 12/21/11 and on 12/23/11 I was advised by installer and Rocky Murray from Empire Today over the phone that staircase hard wood Honey Tone is not available currently, it's out of stock and it would be available in 1-2 weeks. He apologized over the phone for delay and agreed to give credit for $250.00, I agreed and now I owe $10,550. I paid by my discover credit card $5,550.00 and was going to pay remainder of $5,000.00, when entire job was completed.The installer made a big discolor patch on my existing hardwood floor in foyer, and visited my house 8-10 days to fix that patch, eventually he could not fixed that patch and in order to make look better he resurfaced my foyer hardwood and which totally look ugly and I was not happy with it.When I called Empire Today and filed complaint officially on their website, I received a call from a customer service manager, he claimed that it was between customer and installer and Empire Today has no responsibility on this issue.Finally I called and set up installation for staircase hardwood, I spoke with customer service agent on 03/08/11 and confirm the order. The installer Vincent with his crew came on 03/09/12 morning and were going to start installation, when I checked the color of wood, it was totally different color and much lighter shade from Honey Tone. When I asked him, he said he was given Oak Gunstock color by Empire Today. I called again and speak with Rocky Murray same day, instead of being sorry he insisted I signed for Oak Gunstock!! ( which is total lie- I can show in wrting on contract it is Honey Tone).Installer Vincent agreed with me and said it would not look nice with two different shades of color and left my home without installation as he has no idea when the right color Honey Tone would be available.I have a contract which shows clearly the color I selected Honey Tone, I gave two opportunities to Empire Today to fulfill their order, but they failed to do so. I received an email from Rocky Murray on 04/19/12 that I owe $2178.00 to pay for rooms hardwood, I requested him to lower the amount as I need to hire some other company to install hardwood for staircase and that would cost me at least $4000.00. This was the whole job which was suppose to be completed at cost of $10,750.00, now it would cost me more than $11,928.00 ( 200+5550+2178+4000).It will also cost $1,178 extra to get staircase job done from other installer, it will take my additional time to get this job completed.To my disbelief, as per email response on 04/20/2012 from Mr. Rocky Murray satellite manager at Empire Today that he has no knowledge about left over boxes of opened and unopened hardwood boxes left at my house on 12/23/2011, what I am suppose to do with it, is there someone in Empire Today can look into this matter and advise me what's going on, and why I have to pay for the cost of left over stock which has no use for me.I have a very bad experience that no one in Empire Today, cares or look into complaint and follow up on this and investigate the entire matter. I am willing to pay what I owe and someone from Empire Today must come and pick up unopened and open boxes of hardwood sitting in my home. I hope some one knows at Empire Today how to do the job right and meaning of Karma.I am sure I would never hire or recommend anyone to get work done from Empire Today in future.I learned from this experience that how the entire Empire Today's system can be incompetent, ineffective, with lack of internal controls, and poor customer service. Deepak K SahniCary, NC 2751804/26/2012
View full review
Review
#314806 Review #314806 is a subjective opinion of poster.