Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Hackensack, New Jersey - Bait and Switch

John, we’ve read your review, and it’s disappointing that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. We understand that you’ve already gone with another company, but we would still like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and answer any questions you may still have about our all inclusive pricing and price match guarantee. If you’re interested in speaking with us, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#426875 Review #426875 is a subjective opinion of poster.

So me and my wife called empire to get carpets installed in 5 rooms of our house which total 900sq ft during their $50 per room special, they so aggressively advertised.

When the guy came in to give us his quote one of the first questions he asked was how we heard about empire. I was about to say from our parents who also used them, but he cut me off and said "from the TV ads?" He said it with such attitude that i wanted to hear where he was going with this so i just agreed. He then began to tell me that its not actually $50 a room and told me how it works is he gives me two prices one with the full price of the job, and another with the discount applied.

He then said i can choose which price is better and make my choice. I was confused how the special price would not be better than the regular price. He then said after we choose he will call his boss and get me a great deal. I work in sales and already i knew this guy was an *** and this was some kind of tactic that he was trying to use. Either way i let him measure just to see what the prices were.

When he finished measuring my 5 rooms that needed carpet, he pulled out a calculator and began doing some math. He gave me two prices. The first was the regular price of $7000 with install!!! I then was waiting for the huge savings. If its $50 per room i assume five rooms would be $250 plus install, and how much can installation be?! The price he gives me "with the sale" $6000!!! For carpets?! When i asked him if he was crazy he says "wait, ill get you and even better price" So he calls his boss and says "if you sign today we can do the whole thing for $5700" I could not believe it. So i asked why so much and he says "its not really $50 per room"

This was clearly a bait and switch ploy to get in my home and try to sell me. This guy walked into the wrong house, i went to carpets and more and got the whole house done for $2000 with padding and install. What a waste of my time.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Crest Hill, Illinois - Agravated and ignored

Abraham, we always want our customers to be completely satisfied with the work that’s done in their homes. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you regarding the issues that occurred during your installation and have agreed upon a resolution. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#426851 Review #426851 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$8200

Purchased $8200 worth of flooring including hardwood floors and stairs and carpeting and vinyl through out my new home. Took Monday 6/24/13 off to accomodate install scheduled to start at 8am that morning. Installer arrived at 4pm. (Could of gone to work). Then he tells me that one floor is 1/4 inch taller than other and we should add transition instead of removing 1/4 inch because of risk of subfloor damage which would cost additional $3000.00. I asked can u just add 1/4 inch and he said yes but still need transition. So he continued to work.

The next 2 days (tues, wed) he worked till midnight. (Mind you, i have to be up daily at 6am for work.) Wed night at midnight (thurs AM) he is about done laying floor with exception of reinstalling toilet and sink and trim around home. he also says in order to do hardwood stairs i must upgrade to custom stair and pay $2400 more. he has me sign paper and grade him and says *** be back to complete thursday.

Thursday I take wife and she doesnt like 9ft transition (wood to wood) in living room.

1st call to empire. No response. Thursday installer calls to say come open door i need my tools and ill be back to complete your job Friday. 2nd call to empire. No response. Keep in mind toilet and sink still in garage and stairs have been stripped of old carpet and are naked and nasty. Finally, empire calls and says sir in my portal your job is listed as satisfactory and complete.

After i explain that we dont like and toilet is in garage he sends evaluation team on Monday 7/1 and they call back tuesday 7/2 and have agreed to redo floors on Mon 7/8. well todays is Sat 7/6 and I walk into home and have a water leak.

I assume a bad washing maching. I pull washer back and the is leak coming from inside wall. I hire a pro to repair leak and guess what?

The wall in laundry room is shared with living room and 2 nails that where used for baseboards and trim have punctured my water line causing me to spend $750 to fix water leak and drywall ripped open to repair. Talk about a freakn nightmare.

Oh by the way, my stairs are still naked, and my sink and toilet are still in garage. And just incase your wondering yes they have already been paid in full. At date of purchase I was told 1 maybe 2 days tops to complete job here we are going on 2 weeks and still not complete and this is supposed to be a reputable company and they claim to have best installers. Ya OK?

Never again.

Abe

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Hubbardston, Massachusetts - Empire No Show - Wasted My Time

Steven, your experience is not what we expect for our customers, and we regret that you were inconvenienced. It’s our understanding that we’ve been in contact with you and that your sales appointment has been rescheduled. You can also contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Thank you.

Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#425175 Review #425175 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300

I scheduled an appointment with empire to quote new flooring in my home. I had an appointment today, Monday, between 4-6.

I leave work early (losing money)to ensure I am home on time for the representative. I wait until 6:30 before I call customer service. The customer service rep puts me on hold for 15 minutes while he tries to contact the rep that never made it to my home. He comes back to tell me that the rep didn't have the flooring samples and she called her sales manager and told him and assumed that the sales manager would call and cancel my appointment.

The sales manager assumed the rep would cancel my appointment (probably because that's what a good rep would do, not have her boss do her work), so nobody ended up calling me. The customer service offered $50 off. Wow...$50 off of my project which would have been about $20k. I lost more than $50 for leaving work early.

What a waste of time.

Not notifying your clients is bad business.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today lied 3 times about missing appt.

Rene,
We’re disappointed that you were inconvenienced by your missed appointments. Your experience is not at all in line with the level of service we expect for our customers, and we understand your frustration. It’s our understanding that we’ve been in contact with you and scheduled a new appointment. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#421424 Review #421424 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Jun 22, 2013

They told me that the contractor was let go after this incident. I allowed them to send a company employee.

She gave me a good price so I am now waiting for installation. Will follw up when blinds are installed.

Original review posted by user Jun 20, 2013

I scheduled an appointment for a Monday for measuring for blinds and window treatments. They called on the morning of the appointment and cancelled for no reason and said they would come the following day.

The next day they called right before they were scheduled to arrive and said their car broke down. They scheduled for the following day. The next day again they called at the appointed time and they said they got lost and wanted to schedule for the following day. I cancelled!

Do they expect anyone to believe this BS?!!

Who would order anything from such unreliable people! STAY AWAY!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Pine Bush, New York - Never showed up for estimate

James,

we regret that you were inconvenienced by your missed appointment. We understand your frustration, as we know that your time is valuable and never want our customers to be disappointed in our service. We would like the opportunity to make things right for you, and we have been attempting to reach you to discuss the situation. Please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
Review
#417292 Review #417292 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • toll free number
  • estimate appointment

I thought I'd at least give them a shot at giving an estimate for the job I want done. Made appointment and then received several email confirmations and even a follow up phone call.

I told them I would be here waiting for their rep. The rep never showed up, never called, nothing! I called their toll free number, gave them my info and was put on hold for over 10 minutes. Rep back on phone making excuses for their estimator and she talked so much I couldn't even get a word in edgewise.

I had to shout at her to LISTEN to me, but to no avail! Finally I told her to shut the *** and learn how to handle a customer and that I would never consider using Empire. I followed up with an email to some clown who sent me one of the "estimate appointment confirmation" emails and I wrote that I would be writing on Pissed Consumer to warn others.

BEWARE of this bunch! I'm going to find a local installer.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Tucker, Georgia - Empire Carpet scams you

Jan, we regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations. We can assure you that we carry only quality, name-brand products, and we are committed to working with our customers if ever problems occur. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you and have scheduled an inspection so that we can review the issues you’ve been experiencing. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#416796 Review #416796 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$2500

My experience with Empire Carpet started just fine. The representative was pleasant and I felt like she was genuine.

The installation process went smoothly but I questioned the carpet that they brought because it looked much thinner than what I had selected. Only one installer spoke English and he wasn't very fluent. After two months I knew I had been ripped off. My carpet looks ten years old and I don't have pets or children.

I wish I had done more research and I would have read many more reviews like mine. I'm already looking at replacing it...this place is a sham.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Fort Worth, Texas - $99 Scam - Empire is a SCAM

Thank you for making us aware of your concerns, Jennifer.

Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The promotion applies to the product cost only of select styles. We regret that our pricing did not meet your expectations, and we have been attempting to contact you to discuss your concerns. We would be happy to discuss our pricing and answer any other questions you may have. If you're interested in speaking with us, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
Review
#406658 Review #406658 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • Retailing

So, in response to their current ad, I called and scheduled an in home consultation. I had them out previously but the price was too high so, considering the new promotion, I figured it had to be lower right?

So wrong. So, the man comes, states our sq.ft. is about 180 less than the previous salesman that came out from another company a few days prior. (I am comparison shopping).

In any event, Empire, with the promotion was offering a high density 8mm laminate and wanted me to pay near $7000, including the promotion of $99 a room (that is for the laminate product only). I only have 4 rooms, so basically, they were charging $6600 for padding, and edging materials along with installation. Do the math, that puts installation at about $5-5.20/sq.ft. However, when they previously came out about 1 year ago, it was only going to be $2.50 a sq.ft.

When I confronted the sales man about this, his answer was "well it is what it is." Then tried to discredit the saleman who was just here previously (from the other company), who was offering 12mm laminate w/installation for a total of $3800, same high quality, product. I researched both laminates online, the one offered by the other company, was of better quality than the one offered by Empire. I asked the sales associate, when not on promotion what was the price of their 8mm they were trying to sell me. He said around $7.50 a sq.ft and said without the promotion, it would cost around $14,000 to floor my house.

We are talking 880 sq.ft. here people. The other 1300 sq.ft. of my house is in wet areas and already has tile.

This promotion is a scam. Either way, you are paying them the full cost, either in the installation or the product. They were a total waste of time, and they try and tell you they have the best products in the business. While good, they are not the best, and certainly not $14,000 good.

I was disgusted at the prices they were quoting. I had the estimate with me from the other company, they completely discredited it trying to find flaws in how their competitors product would break, not be installed correctly etc. I have done my research on correct installation. The manner in which the install would have been performed with the other company was the professional way, Empire,cutting corners of course.

In any event, I am pissed because, clearly they are okay with taking advantage of people. Also, a side note, last year when Empire came out, I was told the best price they could offer for the same job was $4800, which I could not afford and turned the job down. Two weeks later, Empire called and said, they could reduce the price and do the full job for $3500. (wait, I thought you already gave your bottom line, best price).

Empire, be honest, don't *** people around. This economy sucks and everyone is trying to make a living and still be able to make their houses look nice. If you treat your customers with respect, don't anticipate they are complete *** and offer competitive not obscene prices, you might have more customers come your way. But don't BS around and don't treat me like I am ***.

Laminate, 8mm, I do not care how dense and what kind of finish it has on it is just not $7+ a sq.ft. Come-on, really!They had my previous information, they knew what they were able to offer before so why is it that this time, with this supposed amazing promotion then, is it that the price was double what they told me a year ago. Sorry guys, product costs and labor have not increased that much.Disgusted that I was treated as though I was a ***, and the fact that the sales man could not provide real answers to any of my points of dispute or reason clearly shows that this is a TOTAL SCAM!

If you stand behind your work and product, you should be able to answer these simple questions. DON"T DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY unless you feel like flushing money down the toilet!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Homewood, Illinois - $99 advertisement scam

It’s disappointing that our pricing did not meet your expectations. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The $99 promotion applies to the product costs only of select styles. We also offer a price match guarantee. We would be happy to speak to you about your concerns in more detail and better explain our pricing and current promotion, and we have attempted to reach you via email. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or send your information to customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
Review
#401036 Review #401036 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I contacted Empire because they advertised $99/room for select carpet/laminate/hardwood. Sales person came out on Saturday, April 13, 2013 and gave me a quote for over $12,000 for 4 rooms of that he said was a part of the promotion [the entire townhouse is 1,200 square fee].

The quote for 2 bedrooms; for a combination living room/dining room. I told him that I had received quotes before and that his quote was way out-of-line. He would/did not leave me a copy of the quoted price. I have watched Empire's advertisements for years.

I finally decide to try them and I find out that it is just a bait and switch game. Consumers beware.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Cary, North Carolina - Mislead about moisture resistance of flooring

Donna, we regret that you are not yet satisfied. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we can assure you that we are taking your concerns very seriously. We have left you a message, and we would like to discuss the situation and work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#400330 Review #400330 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1800

Update by user Sep 12, 2013

To date, Empire has done absolutely nothing to resolve my complaint other than to send yet another installer out to assess the problem and bring me a vinyl sample book. They did offer to replace the floor with vinyl solid sheet vinyl for another $1000!!!!

I have not heard one word from anyone at Empire since late April or early May of this year.

Horrible customer service, they don't care one way or another about customers once the job is done and they have their money. I will tell everyone I know how lousy the customer service is--and I work in a home improvement store!

Update by user May 13, 2013

Empire contacted me, sent out another rep to look at the flooring. He agreed that it needed to be replaced and the materials were not installed correctly.

He also brought me a sample book of sheet vinyl to look at as the company wants to replace my floor with sheet vinyl at a cost of an additional $900!! Lucky me, huh? To date I have heard nothing further from Empire after the last installer visit.

I still feel the company lied to me from the beginning. I do not want a sheet vinyl floor regardless of their "deal" for me

Original review posted by user Apr 12, 2013

I purchased laminate to use in a kitchen--one year later it is obvious that moisture has warped some areas of tiles. I was adamant about the product being moisture resistant with the salesman and the installers.

I was assured the installers would seal the floor so it would be moisture resistant. I complained to the company, an installer came to check the floor and now Empire says they will repair the damage and charge me to do so!!!

I was mislead by the salesman so I would buy the product and lied to by the installers about sealing the floor. I will never recommend this company to anyone and will let anyone who asks know how misleading the company is and they will not honour their warranties.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Fort Myers, Florida - Terrible job of installation

Michael,

while we’re disappointed about the issues that occurred during your installation, we understand that we are currently working towards a resolution with you. We take your concerns very seriously; please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or additional issues you would like to discuss. You can reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#392117 Review #392117 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$9125
Tags
  • The Wall

Job #FF01168-2694296

I decided to replace my old tile and carpeting with new tile in my condo. In early November 2012 I signed a contract with Empire to do the job, wanting it completed before the holidays. The salesperson, Mary Karota, told me the job it take three to four days.

The first crew came in two days before Thanksgiving and ripped up the carpet and old tile. This is a very messy job and they failed to close doors to other rooms or closets or cover any furniture. The dust was on everything. When they were jackhammering the old tile from the bathroom, they broke a piece off the bottom front plate of my shower and chipped my toilet. Both of these were installed new less than a year ago. They also chipped paint and scratched my baseboard molding, scuffed walls and put a small hole in my wall.

While they were installing the tile, I noticed there was no sound barrier material like I was shown from other dealers. Since I am on the second floor of a condo complex, sound proofing in mandated by my condo association and was part of my contract. When I questioned them about this, they said they were told by Empire that a mixture of regular thinset and quick drying thinset would exceed my associations requirements. The installers notified the installation manager, Jeff Emanuel, of my concerns. He called me and told me the same thing about the thinset mixture and it was approved by my association. Being ignorant in these things, I believed him and let the crew continue. The "finished" job was terrible. The hight of the tiles were uneven, the grout lines were not uniform, the tile did not abut the molding, in some corners the tile was over an inch away from the wall, etc. After continuous complaining Empire finally sent somebody to inspect the work. I believe it was Jeff Emanuel who I was talking to, said they had other complaints about this crew and would send a foreman from a different crew. He said the job was unable to be repaired without it being ripped out and he would have to start from scratch.

The second crew started the week before Christmas and assured me it would be complete before that. Again there was a big mess. They cut all the tiles inside my condo with a wet saw. Dust all over everything including the walls and cieling. This crew did a better job but it still was very bad. Again the height of the tiles were uneven, grout lines inconsistant, thinset oozing through grout lines and mixing with grout, air bubbles in the grout, chipped tiles. This installer decided to put thresholds between the carpeted rooms and the tiled ones. While installing them, he broke a piece on the end of one, but put it in anyway. They left the Friday before Christmas saying they would be back to fix any problems. Instead of having company for Christmas eve, I wound up spending the entire day washing down walls and trying to clean the dust out of my furniture. They returned at the end of the week to make repairs. They replaced the broken threshold with a different color one that did not match the others, one of which was less than a foot away. They changed out six tiles, one of which was chipped during reinstallation, but they left it in. They only did six because that was what was left over and they did not bring any more and said they would not return. After numerous attempts to reach their foreman, Jimmy, he finally returned my call and said he would come there himself and make any repairs. When he arrived and looked at the job, he told me the floor would have to be torn up again and reinstalled. After two times with Empire screwing up, I am not going to let them do it again.

I contacted Jeff Emanuel tried to work out a solution. Verbally he told me that I would get reimbursed plus paid for damages. After giving him estimates of my damages, he sent installation coordinator Mark Karwoski who took photos and agreed that the floor would have to be replace.

I was then in contact with Crytal Squitiera. I thought things were worked out for an amount for damages. She said it had to be sent to lawyers and insurance for approval duy to the amount.

Now the regional manager, Tim Sherwin, got involved. He said my only two options are to have them do the work again, which I wouldn't trust them to get right this time, and hope the past installers insurance will pay for my damages or take a refund and only $1000.00 for damages. My damages are over $3100.00 to replace the shower piece and toilet (including labor), replace the moldings that were scratched up. Also after three removals and installs, all that dust is in my furniture, carpets, air conditioner and ducts. All these must be cleaned.