Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Nashville, Tennessee - Lied about the Job offer

Hello,
We always strive to provide a positive work environment, and we regret that you did not enjoy your time with us as an independent contractor. Please contact 800-588-2300 and ask to speak to our human resources department to express any further concerns.
Thank you.
Review
#489168 Review #489168 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$5000

Empire today told me i was an independant contractor allowing them to withhold an actual salary , benefits and any responsibility to me saying that in exchange for their leads I would be in business for myself.When I was uable to get e-mails on my phone they asked me to turn in my samples. A per son is an employee or not .

To treat me like an emp-loyee when uin fact I am not was unacceptable. They said I would get 5 leads a day.

I had to pawn my car to keep my rent paid. I would make 200 dollars ina week and spend 100 of it in gas.Do NOT work for them!

Empire Today's reply to:

DON'T ORDER CUSTOM BLINDS FROM EMPIRE TODAY!!!!

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are disappointed in the miscommunication that occurred regarding your order and any inconvenience that occurred as a result. Your order has been cancelled, per your request, and we understand that we have been in contact to advise that your refund will be issued back to your credit card. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com if you have any additional questions or concerns. Thank you.
Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#477979 Review #477979 is a subjective opinion of poster.

BEWARE! Whatever you do, DON'T ORDER CUSTOM BLINDS FROM EMPIRE TODAY!!!!

The service representatives for this outfit are horrendous. The communication is nonexistent and they sold us a product that they don't even make. But it took a month to find that out.

They happily took our money and said it would be a while before our custom blinds were done. But we had no idea how long it would take

It started okay. We were psyched to have a nice rep come to our house quickly after making our initial inquiry. He showed us samples, took measurements and took our third-down deposit. And then warned us that it would be a long time before we saw our blinds - like a month, month and a half. Gulp. Well, okay. We can wait because they're exactly what we want. But that should've been a first clue.

Then quickly the real installer came out and he told us that we should call the factory directly (bypassing our rep) and push them along. That was the second clue.

Then we didn't hear anything for weeks. So I called the rep. Oh! They don't make the type of blinds you want in the material you want. (Third clue) Okay... So we went with our second choice fabric for the same price.

Waited 2 more weeks. Called the factory to check on the status. They hadn't even been started!! There was a note that the rep was supposed to call us because {{{drum roll. please}}} they don't make the blinds we ordered! He was supposed to call us and see if we would change the order - again! - but if I hadn't called them, who knows when I would have heard from them.

So I cancelled the order. And, guess what? It's going to take about 2 weeks to refund my $650 deposit.

All tolled, they had my money for nearly 2 months and I got nothing but frustration in return.

So, if you like poor customer service, super-long turnaround and overpriced products, then, sure, order your custom blinds through Empire Today.

Just have the Tums ready for the heartburn they're gonna cause.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Old Bridge Township, New Jersey - Installed LVT in my kitchen and a good portion of what they quoted me didn't need to be done.

Joel, we regret the delay in processing your credit, and any inconvenience that occurred as a result. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you and advised that the credit has been processed to your financing account. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x3555 or customersupport@empiretoday.com
Thank you.
Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager
Review
#463385 Review #463385 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$700

When the salesman quoted the job he told me they would have to rip up and replace the subfloor and charged me $700.00 for that. When the installers (who by the way were very good but subcontracted) tore up the existing floor they said the subfloor was fine and could be reused.

After the floor was installed I called my salesman who agreed that the $700.00 should and would be refunded to me however a manager would call me with the specifics and the approval. $ weeks later and 6 calls to Customer Service and the salesman and I still haven't heard from a "manager"

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Snohomish, Washington - Non existant customer service

Kimberly, we are disappointed at the issues that occurred during your installation experience. We can assure you that this is not the experience we expect for our customers. We understand that we have previously been in contact with you, and we have been attempting to contact you again via phone. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x3555 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Angelica Snell, Resolution Manager
Review
#458284 Review #458284 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • carpet installer

WOULD NOT recommend Empire.... unless you're into organized chaos!

The salesman was on time and courteous; he didn't have great follow through, but I am not sure if that was him or the office staff.

I scheduled carpet and LVT(vinyl tile) to be installed on 2 separate days with in a few days of each other. I didn't attempt to haggle on the price, was just looking to get the project done. Saturday was to be the LVT install, Monday the carpet. I got a call at 7 on Friday night letting me know that they were going to do the carpet on Saturday instead; (Keep in mind, I LIVE in my home, so was having to pack stuff up and move it)I shifted gears ,cancelled the plumber I had coming and stayed up half the night preparing for install on Saturday. I received a call from the office at 7 Saturday morning informing me that they didn't have the carpet I had selected in stock, did I want to choose another color? NO, I don't want to choose another color, I want the carpet that I ordered! Silly me. So ,re schedule the dog sitter, no carpet on Saturday and it wouldn't be in in time to install on Monday. I had to shift gears again, move everything that I'd already moved twice, in preparation for the LVT on Monday. Exhausting!!

Tony, the LVT installer, was amazing. He was prompt, professional and very, very courteous. He hadn't been told of some water damage that we were dealing with, but after talking to his supervisor, he went to the lumber store, got the underlayment that needed replacement, and made it happen. He was very meticulous about his work and worked until 10:30 at night to get the job done. I did have him come out and go back over a few spots in the grout, again he was great, fixed the problem spots that I'd noticed and rechecked everything himself. If everybody that I have dealt with at Empire took as much pride in their work, it would have been a 5 star experience.

I got a call from scheduling at 7:30 Tuesday morning to let me know my carpet was on the way. This wasn't the day that we had rescheduled for and really, would have been impossible to do since the LVT shouldn't have anything on it (according to the manufacturer) for 72 hours. More phone calls, more confusion, carpet is on for Saturday again.

The carpet installers were on time and helpful. Their paperwork was written up without mentioning the living room carpet; this led to more confusion and stress on my part. They had to measure twice, but did have enough carpet to do the job(with a whoppin' foot and a half left on the roll!); so, I think that the paperwork was written up incorrectly. The carpet looks great, there are a few new dings in the walls and dirty hand prints on the doors, but those things will happen.

After everything, Empire was able to give me a $400 discount. That wasn't even 10% of the job. Insulting.

The icing on the cake was the horrible man who called to conduct a survey regarding my satisfaction with the experience. Really?!? Do they not communicate amongst themselves? And, if they are going to contract someone to conduct these surveys, it would be nice if they had manners!

DO NOT use Empire bears repeating!

After posting the above review on Yelp, I was contacted by Empire and offered an additional $400 discount... if I agreed to post no further reviews of my experience. I probably would have gone along with it, but Amy, the rep I spoke with didn't even care enough to make sure she spelled my name correctly in the release document. I asked that she mailed a revised copy to my home; that never happened. Really?!? Forget it, I'll skip the refund and tell as many people as I can about my horrible experience with Empire Today; If I can save someone else this hassle, it'll be worth it!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Germantown, Tennessee - Horrible quality, horrible service, and satisfaction is clearly not guaranteed

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, Amanda.
We are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and it’s our understanding that we’ve been in contact with you and agreed on a solution. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
Review
#450369 Review #450369 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$5000

I had the option to use another company for the same price and I am beating myself up every day for deciding to go with Empire!

I was promised compete satisfaction when ordering my hardwood floors. I complained from day 1 of installation, and one month later the issue is still unresolved. Apparently my sub floors are not level, but the installer did not mention this nor do anything to correct them. Instead the threw the floors down and left. The supervisor did not even stay once he dropped off the supplies. There are many hollow areas and very obvious dips in each of the rooms and in some cases the furniture moves as you walk past. I have had 3 people come to look at the issue and am told the floors need to come up and be leveled and that I WILL NEED TO PAY THE FEE. Now had this been addressed during the installation, I would have understood the additional cost. But one month later, I am still living with poor quality floors and a mess of a house (knowing the floors might be taken up again) and I am expected to pay full cost.

I also was never shown a sample of the quarter round molding - which I hate! I am told Empire does not offer anything else, so take it or leave it. Anyone can notice that it does not match the rest of the molding in my house. Someone should have brought this up during installation.

To top it off, the actual installer called me yesterday. In very broken English he told me the floors should have been leveled and glued down (not floating), but that the "company" doesn't allow them to do that. Apparently Empire cares more about taking money than quality. Horrible quality, horrible service, and satisfaction is clearly not guaranteed.

My only suggestion would be for Empire to step up and correct the issue by leveling the sub floor and gluing down the boards at no cost. The estimate I received from the company I should have gone with included this. Why, oh why didn't I go with them?

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Changed price after agreement.

Thank you for bringing your pricing concerns to our attention. It’s our understanding that we’ve been in contact with you and that you are now satisfied. Please do not hesitate to ccontact us if you have any additional questions or concerns. You can reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#447087 Review #447087 is a subjective opinion of poster.

At first I wanted to have 6 windows replaced and have a sliding glass door installed. I decided to Have one window and the sliding glass door done now for a specific price, and would have the other windows done later.

A man came out to measure, bought some window panels, all was well. Then the salesman called today saying that he would need another $400 to do the work in addition to the quoted price! Not good! Says he made a mistake.

Doesn't feel right and will cancel. The salesman said his supervisor may not be in on Monday..today is Saturday...but I will call anyway.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Misleading Ad led to Average Pricing

Joe, thank you for making us aware of your concerns. It’s our understanding that we’ve been in contact with you to better explain our all inclusive pricing and the current promotion. We look forward to completing your installation. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#442409 Review #442409 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • 60 off
  • Buy1 Get2 Room Free

TO: Rebekah Clerk

National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today

I called Empire Today because of the Buy1/Get2 Rooms Free or 60% Off ad that I saw on TV. I want to install hardwood flooring in our new house. After speaking with the representative and deliberating on the pricing, I find myself mystified about the TV ads. I am actively looking for better pricing. If I find it, I will cancel my contract.

Allow me to summarize what I discovered about the pricing. It seems a lot like a bait-and-switch operation, but in a legal way. The price for the product is exceptionally high; uncompetitively high. Any of the offered sales appear to be based upon that high price. By offering the sale, the resulting price is around that of any other product and installation (ex. those offered by Home Depot, Lowes, etc.).

In my case, I ordered Brazilian Cherry hardwood flooring for about 1,000 square feet. Originally, my price would be over $20,000 with installation. After negotiation, my price is only slightly better than Lowes (within $100), with all thing included like installation, moulding, etc.

I'm told by the representative that Empire's product quality is infinitely better than Lowes (Bruce) and he can go no lower in price. In my old house, we never had problems with the Bruce flooring in over 10 years.

As a side note, I cannot conceive how a company or a salesperson would allow someone purchase 1,000 square feet of hardwood flooring with installation for over $20,000.

So, why am I unhappy? Simply, its a matter of principle. I did not call to get an average price. I called because there was a sale. My representative would not tell me the cost of the material or installation per square foot. He just gave a price. Its really hard to compare without such information. I had to figure it all out as best as I could.

I certainly do not begrudge a company trying to make a profit. I'm happy to pay the fair price. But, I called for a sale based on a fair price. I did not get that.

From the TV ads, I expected the company to come in with reasonable pricing and a good sale. What I got was nothing more than an average deal. I would like to see the company do better on the pricing. My representative has told me he can do nothing less than the price he has offered.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Hesperia, California - EmpireToday Customer Service is non-existent

Robert, we regret the confusion that with your order and any inconvenience that occurred as a result. We understand that we've been in contact with you and that you've chosen to cancel your order. If you'd like to speak with us further or have any additional questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.

Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#431954 Review #431954 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We ordered a wood floor on June 27th and the installers showed up today to install it after driving 90 minutes to get to our home and they weren't prepared to do the install. The incompetent Sales people that came to our home didnt bother to tell us or tell the installation dept that our floor needed to be laid on plywood.

This would raise the entry into our bedroom two inches. No *** way! The installer couldn't get Empire on the phone so I called and got several different *** on the phone and after listening to their hold music three different times, the bastards hung up on me. I since cancelled the entire job and have purchased a new floor at Lowes.

There is no freaking way that this pathetic Company could have a good BBB rating. I will spray their name all over Social Media. I tried to buy Empiretodaysucks.com from GoDaddy but another disgruntled Customer has already bought it. I build websites so I will think of another website to alert people to steer clear of EmpireToday.com.

Maybe EmpireNever.com?? Has a nice ring to it.

Kyle, we can assure you that we are taking this matter very seriously. We have spoken with you about this situation, and we will continue to keep in contact with you. If you have additional questions or concerns, you can reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or...
View full review
Review
#431464 Review #431464 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • Installation
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Hackensack, New Jersey - Bait and Switch

John, we’ve read your review, and it’s disappointing that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. We understand that you’ve already gone with another company, but we would still like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and answer any questions you may still have about our all inclusive pricing and price match guarantee. If you’re interested in speaking with us, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#426875 Review #426875 is a subjective opinion of poster.

So me and my wife called empire to get carpets installed in 5 rooms of our house which total 900sq ft during their $50 per room special, they so aggressively advertised.

When the guy came in to give us his quote one of the first questions he asked was how we heard about empire. I was about to say from our parents who also used them, but he cut me off and said "from the TV ads?" He said it with such attitude that i wanted to hear where he was going with this so i just agreed. He then began to tell me that its not actually $50 a room and told me how it works is he gives me two prices one with the full price of the job, and another with the discount applied.

He then said i can choose which price is better and make my choice. I was confused how the special price would not be better than the regular price. He then said after we choose he will call his boss and get me a great deal. I work in sales and already i knew this guy was an *** and this was some kind of tactic that he was trying to use. Either way i let him measure just to see what the prices were.

When he finished measuring my 5 rooms that needed carpet, he pulled out a calculator and began doing some math. He gave me two prices. The first was the regular price of $7000 with install!!! I then was waiting for the huge savings. If its $50 per room i assume five rooms would be $250 plus install, and how much can installation be?! The price he gives me "with the sale" $6000!!! For carpets?! When i asked him if he was crazy he says "wait, ill get you and even better price" So he calls his boss and says "if you sign today we can do the whole thing for $5700" I could not believe it. So i asked why so much and he says "its not really $50 per room"

This was clearly a bait and switch ploy to get in my home and try to sell me. This guy walked into the wrong house, i went to carpets and more and got the whole house done for $2000 with padding and install. What a waste of my time.