Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - False Advertisement

Lois, we apologize for any miscommunication regarding our promotion. It’s our understanding that we’ve been able to come to a resolution with you that you’re satisfied. If there is anything else we can do for you in the future, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#278216 Review #278216 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$4200

Update by user Jan 02, 2012

I Have to say their customer service is great, that being said I am still waiting for the installers to come and replace the molding between my livingroom & hall, they came out to my home & said they had to order it and they would be back the following week, that was over two weeks ago.

Original review posted by user Nov 30, 2011

I called Empire for a quote to get two rooms hardwood laminent & my hall & stairs carpeted. I was quoted a price and when my husband asked the salesperson if they still offered a promotion she stated "no that ended" When I saw the commercial two days later I called empire & customer service said to pay for the installation that day & I would get credited back. They said they would have a manager call me back within three days. After calling back several times (4) I finally spoke to Scott & he said the product I ordered wasn't offered at 60% off, (it's the same product in the commercial). He said he would get back to me, it's been over two weeks and several messages and no response. I guess I will have to dispute it with my credit card.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpet does shoddy work

Maureen, we apologize for the issues you’ve experienced with your renovated basement. It’s always our goal for each and every customer to be satisfied with the end results in their home and it’s disappointing to hear that this isn’t the case. We are dedicated to working with any customer experiencing concerns and understand that we did speak with you and are working towards a resolution. If you have any further questions or concerns throughout this resolution process, please don’t hesitate to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#276895 Review #276895 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I had Empire Today (Empire Carpet) install a new Berber carpet in my finished basement. They came 3 hours late to the install and worked until 8:30 at night.

I was not at home my my wife was busy with the kids when they finished. When I got home and inspected the job I found visible seams running the 24 foot length of my carpet another seam was visible accross the entrance and top of the stairs was not capped so it will easily pull up. In addition, my newly sheetrocked and painted walls had two holes in it from their knee kicker.

Customer Service is useless and does not call you back.

they do not care once they have you money. They do poor work and do not stand behind it - DO NOT USE THEM.

Empire Today's reply to:

Avoid Empire Today like the plague

Susan, we’re truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your installation. It’s our understanding that we’ve been able to come to a resolution with you and that you’re happy with the outcome. If there is anything else we can do for you now or in the future, please don’t hesitate to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#275874 Review #275874 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Salesman advised all furniture would be moved by installers and job completed in a day. The job involved 7 offices and reception area.

Made arrangements to have installers arrive at 7.30 am to ensure the job completed in one day. Two men arrived at 9:00 a.m. shocked to see they had to move furniture (even though it was in contract). Spent two hours trying to get more workers then another two hours going to pick up one more worker.

Needless to say, job not completed as promised. Customer service clearly could not have cared less. Jason Fowler, the installation coordinator, refused to take our calls and was unresponsive. To top it off, having arrived late and balked at moving furniture they demand full payment before they start work so you have no recourse.

They do this on purpose, obviously because otherwise no one would ever pay as they do not honor the terms of their contract. Totally frustrating experience - never again - be warned. Boils down to the fact that the salesmen sell you a bill of goods, make all kinds of promises but there is no communication between the salesman and the installation people.

Avoid this firm at all costs. Pay twice the price if you have to, but go anywhere else than Empire Today, they truly have absolutely no problem making promises they can't keep and then could care less if you complain.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Upset about the carpet

Sonya, we’re truly sorry for the issues you’ve had with your product. We always want our customers to be happy with how everything looks in their home and we’d like the opportunity to speak with you further so we may try to find a solution for you. It’s our understanding that we’ve attempted to reach out to you recently. If you could, please call us back at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#275812 Review #275812 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1900

I recently had carpet installed in my home aprox. 3 mths ago.

My mother in law warned me not to go with empire today because her carpet looks horrible after 1 yr. I decided to go ahead & go with them. What a mistake. My 2 yr old had a huge cut on the back of his foot from the tac nails sticking out of the carpet.

My carpet looks terrible after only 3 mths. Nothing has been spilled everyone *** there shoes before coming into my home. ITs matted all over not just in "high traffic" area's. We were sopose 2 get a 20yr warrantie..I called to asak them why there product was doing this so fast & she told me that it was normal???

She then explained to me that I have to pay out of my pocket for a professional carpet cleaner to come in * clean the carpet before they can do anything. but from the pictures I sent to her it looks "normal". Not only am I shocked that this is how they treat there customers. Im upset that I didnt listen to my mother in law & go with someone else.

The carpet looks terrible. VERY DISAPPOINTING

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Bait and Switch on advertised financing

George and Cindy, we apologize the financing terms haven’t met your expectations. All financing is done through an outside financing company. At the time of your appointment, an application was completed and signed that discloses all of the financing terms. It’s our understanding we’ve contacted you to help explain the financing terms. If you have any other questions, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#275169 Review #275169 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Empire today lies! We were told by the salesperson that the promotion going on at the time of our purchase was no intrest no payments for 18 months.

They sold our contract to Wells Fargo and guess what??!!! We have to make payments or else pay intrest! Our salesperson was in a hurry to have us sign our paperwork so she described what we were signing and unfortunatly we did not read it until the bill came. We were m oving into the home at the time of her visit (she missed the first appointment) so things were quite hectic and we just wnated to get the floors done.

Don't buy into their promotions!! You can do just as well if not better with a local reputable company

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Cheats thier employees!!

We’ve read your post and we’d be happy to address your concerns with our company more directly. Please contact our Human Resources department so that we may discuss further. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#274964 Review #274964 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I was one of the lead sales people for Empire out of thier Norwalk location. They stopped payment on my paycheck and I could not do anything about it since they had me sign a contract prior to my be hired stating I would agree to use an independant arbortrator in Chicago if ever thier were any pay issues.

The cost of doing this and the amout of $ they owed me (Approx $2500) it did not make sence to go to Chicago from California.

They also are a rip-off company that over charges thier customers for the same exact item you can buy elsewhere for at least 1/2 the cost you end up paying them. Please Beware!!!

1 comment
Anonymous
#382645

You were a lead salesman for "a rip-off company that over charges thier customers for the same exact item you can buy elsewhere for at least 1/2 the cost you end up paying them." OK.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Responded that they were trying to resolve issues.

Empire Today, LLC (“Empire”) regrets any inconvenience to Ms. Kattenhorn and has, accordingly, attempted in good faith to fully resolve Ms. Kattenhorn’s concerns; however, Ms. Kattenhorn has rejected several of our offers to resolve her concerns, and we continue to wait for Ms. Kattenhorn to provide certain information required to resolve this matter. Nonetheless, Empire remains willing to amicably resolve this matter with Ms. Katthenhorn.
ID
#274165 Review #274165 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I am dismayed that Empire Today has so many complaints on this site, yet they keep saying they are sorry and working on resolving the issues. I have complied with all their requests, yet nothing has been resolved.

My attorney has contacted their attorney, and they still will not agree to do what is the right thing to do. I also have contacted the California State Contractors Licensing Board (CSLB) and the bonding company that insures Empire Today here in California. Investigations are being conducted, and a field representative from CSLB will be coming to my home to see the "result" Empire Today caused. Ms.

Woods' idea of making things right was to try and pressure me into allowing them to come back into my home and install yet another floor, and then offered a stipend of a couple hundred dollars for all the inconveniences they caused. No mention of taking responsibility for the damages they caused or making restitution for them. Now there are attorneys involved, and still nothing has been resolved. Empire Today needs to really examine their policies and who they hire to represent the company.

So far, just lip service as to their desire to resolve the issues. Will keep you posted.

Empire Today's reply to:

Conplaint against Empire Today sibstandard shower stall installation

Yolande, although it has been a few years since your installation, we do apologize for the problems you’ve had with your bathroom. It’s our understanding that we’re agreed on a resolution. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#272807 Review #272807 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$5

Complaint about Empire Today

Following a leak into my downstairs neighbors' unit, it was determined (by 2 plumbers) that the shower they installed 4 and a half years ago was installed very poorly, and the shower pan was sinking around the drain, breaking the seal and thus causing the leak. The pan needs to be re-installed, or another pan installed.

My insurance company talked to them. I put in a service request on 10/26/11, and was told someone would contact me within 1-3 business days. Noone did. I called again on Oct. 31, and the earliest day a plumber would come, their employee said, was Friday, Nov. 3. The appointment was made for 2 PM.

Today, Nov. 3, their plumber called before 8 am to tell me the person who was supposed to come "had a family emergency" and could only come Sat., nov. 4 in the morning. I refused; I received another call again a few minutes later, just before 8 AM, and was told that someone was on his way and would arrive at 9 am... 20 mins later, their plumber called again, saying the #5 Freeway was very slow, and he would be late. When I told him he messed up my day, he told me I "messed up his day too". 1) How professional is that? 2) It is now 10:20 AM, and noone has showed up. Somehow, I very much doubt that I will see today a plumber from Empire Today.

It is obvious that Empire Today is are failing to fulfill their responsibilities, that the shower stall was not installed according to professional standards, and that I incurred a major prejudice, through their fault. My shower has been non-operational for several weeks.

Empire Today seems incapable of sending me a COMPETENT PERSON, WHO COMES AT THE STATED TIME, so that my shower pan can be replaced properly and professionally. I will need to have the work done by a licensed plumber of my choice and have them pay the bill. Since I have the feeling that I would have difficulty recovering that money, I am filing a complaint with the BBB, and/or filing a legal procedure against Empire Today; I will also request that their license be revoked. I will not only claim financial damages, but personal and emotional prejudice. All the more since I already had a leak problem right after they installed the shower in May 2007.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Never showed up or called

Patti, we truly apologize for your missed appointment. We understand your time is valuable and are disappointed to hear that this happened as this isn’t in line with our normal standard of service. We’ve attempted to reach out to you recently to address the situation and to see if you’d reconsider giving us another chance. If you’d be willing to speak with us, please call us back at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#272592 Review #272592 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I called Sunday, 10/30/11 after seeing an advertisement on TV for Empire Today. I was greeted very professionally by an operator and was able to get a next day appointment for an estimate for my home. I was given a window between 1pm and 3pm. This was great since I had the day off for Halloween. I had my phone with me at all times and was doing yard work in the front to be sure not to miss them.

At 3:05pm I called because no one ever showed. I was greeted again very pleasantly and placed on hold while they investigated what was going on. I was told their was an emergency and the person wasn't able to complete her appointments. Now, don't get me wrong, I understand that stuff happens but since they employ a service to schedule their calls can they not have them call the folks who are waiting for them to let them know!?!?!

I wanted to voice my dissatisfaction with the company and requested a call back from a manager. I gave all my information and it's been 3 days now - no call back.

I am actually pleased that this happened before I committed myself to have any services provided by them and moved furniture around or took time off of work, etc. I don't expect a callback from them and I will notify the BBB since what sealed the deal for my initial call was that they advertised an A+ rating with them...

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire

Mr. and Mrs. Bhati, we’re sorry you’ve experienced problems with your product. It’s our understanding that we’ve attempted to resolve this issue with you. We’d still like to help you with your repairs and if you’d reconsider, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#272322 Review #272322 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I got new carpet from empire they are a scam an hour after they left we found a black spot on the carpet and they said they are not going to come fix it and they think we did it when it was them cause we cant mess something up in a hour. They did it not us and they wont come fix it when they told us it under warranty and now they lying saying only installation is warranty and it stain proof carpet. Never go to empire huge scam it cheap but huge scam horrible coustomer service never i say never ever go to empire

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Repairing Wood Floors

Cornelia,

it’s our understanding that we were in contact with you about this issue a few years ago and that everything was completed to your satisfaction. We are committed to providing our customers with world-class service and working with them until they are completely satisfied, so please do not hesitate to contact us with any additional concerns. You can reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.
Rebekah Clerk,
National Customer Service Manager
ID
#272281 Review #272281 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$150

I am very displeased with Empire Today. First of all, the installers were sent out twice with incorrect material to complete the job. Secondly, the installers didn't speak english at all. If you are sending people to a clients home, always make sure that they are able to communicate with the clients. This is very important.

Also, as a company that's been in business for this long, you should definitely except personal checks. People don't necessarily walk around with money orders, cashiers checks or other forms of payment. FYI - Please don't ask customers to pay for a job which haven't been completed. Very unprofessional.

I've been a client with Empire Today since 2006 and this will be last time using them.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire did not honor 10 year warranty.

Charles, we’re very sorry for the issues you’ve had with your product. We’d like the chance to address your concerns regarding these issues and those concerning your warranty. Although we do offer a manufacturer and one year installation warranty on all of our products, certain conditions do apply. If you’d be willing to speak with us, please call us back at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. We’d like to work with you towards a resolution that you’d be satisfied with. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#271602 Review #271602 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Empire installed berber carpet in 2 rooms. After 6 mos it started to show wear,had someone come out and said nothing wrong , although it obviously showed wear near the entrance and under desk area.

Last time I vacuumed it pulled a long row of yarn out of the carpet leaving a deep ridge near the entrance of the master bath,.Very disgusted with the warranty of their product. Would not recommend to anyone , they are the worst company we have ever dealt with.

Their advertisements are totally misleading and their customer service sucks! We are very much dissatisfied customer !!!!.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Carpet - Hit Mail Box and Ran!

Larissa, we truly apologize for what happened to your mailbox. As a company we are dedicated to integrity and ethical business practices and the situation you’ve described is not in line with how we expect our customers to be treated. It’s our understanding that we did speak with you yesterday to offer our apologies and address your concerns and that we are currently working with you on a resolution. If you have any other questions or concerns before this time, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#270654 Review #270654 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I am very disappointed with Empire. The Rep came to our home 2 weeks ago for a consultation. As she left she backed up into our mail box. She called me an hour later to let us know. She said she would 'send out a handyman' the following week. My husband was furious and of course had to fix the mail box himself. We spend about $50 on material plus my husbands' time.

I called corporate and they informed me that we would receive reimbursement for the damages. I tried to contact the District Manager 'Jeremy' and Jeanette the 'office manager' at the Greenville office was rather rude when I explained our situation and why I needed to speak with the manager. She promised that she would pass on my information and that 'Jeremy' the manager would call me back and ensure a reimbursement.

I have not received 1 call or email to resolve this, much less a reimbursement check!!!

Empire carpet is shameful!

#1 they are very 'backwards' in their quoting and pricing (everything is down by paper and pen (cavemen style) .... you ever hear of supplying your reps with a lap top and even using a simple template formula in an Excel file????? So that they don't have to take up an entire evening of peoples time?!

#2 Not resolving a customer complaint and issue like a 'hit mail box' is just horrible business practice.

#3 I put down a deposit of $200 to hold the pricing should other vendors come in competitively - but after this incident I cancelled my order the next day, Friday and OH MY OH MY they gave me the 'run around' to get my refund. Then by Monday I had not recieved a cancellation email confirmation so I called in and just as I called I received an email Confirming installation!!! I was furious and the rep on the line advised that 'someone' by some strange name had called in and re-activated the order.

REALLY!!!?????

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Will not back warranty

Chi, we’re sorry to hear about the issues you’ve experienced with your product. We want our customers to be satisfied and are dedicated to addressing any customer concern. It’s our understanding that we did speak with you yesterday and that an independent inspection has been scheduled. If you have any other questions or concerns before this time, please feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Team.
ID
#270390 Review #270390 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$6000

I had Empire installed carper in my house alittle over 3 years ago. I was told about the warranty BUT never thought i would have to use it.

We are now having worn spots, black spots, threads coming thru the carpet, and raveling in different spots. When i called Empire to discuss the problems they took 10 day to send someone out to look at these problems and then 4 more days to tell me basically they would not be doing anything. Just to continue having my carpets cleaned professional.

The inspector that came out only took about 10 pictures and did not take any notes. The blamed SHAW Carpets but when i called SHAW they had never heard of my case.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today- WARNING! - Do not use!

Andrea, please accept our apologies for your experience and for the lack of follow you received about your installation. The situation you’ve relayed in your review is not in line with how we expect our customers to be treated. It’s always our goal to make the home improvement process and easy and convenient one for our customers and we’re disappointed that this may not have been the case. It’s our understanding that we did speak with you last Friday and unfortunately you’ve decided to cancel your order. We’re sorry to hear this but hope you’d reconsider using our services in the future, we’d like the opportunity to better show you our commitment to providing each and every customer with world-class service. If you have any questions or concerns or are willing to give us another chance, please always feel free to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you, Rebekah C.
ID
#269570 Review #269570 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Save yourself the aggravation and move on! We contacted Empire and the salesman "David B." gave us a quote on a 64 sq ft. bathroom tile floor. He took some measurements and handed us a quote for $1884.00. When we asked him to break down the price he said he couldn't do that. He suggested changing the pattern from diamond to square, and then he reduced the price by half!!! How do you remove 2 boxes of product and get 50% off??

The house is 10 years old and the subfloor and cement board are very solid. The sub-contrator installers showed up the next day, and started chipping at the tile. He assessed the job and told us he was only getting $300 for this job and was not worth it!!!

After partly destroying our floor he cancelled on the spot, saying it couldn't be done without damage to the toilet and subfloor. We disagreed, had a contract to do the floor, and called customer service. With no help the installer left.

We called our salesman David for some advice and help us navigate through customer service, he said quote " I am just the salesman" and said he would call us right back. This is 2 days later and he never even attempted to call.

After losing a full day at work for the installation and countless calls to automated customer service lines, a regional manager agreed to come out and look at the job "first thing tomorrow morning" to see if it could be done. We had to call to find "Orlando" at his office and finally just cancelled the job.

This company has no ethics and will leave you feeling very frustrated. I am happy we cancelled the job and saved ourselves any further problems.