Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Not paying for additional work

Andrew, we apologize if you feel you are not having a positive experience working as an independent contractor. While we strive to create a positive atmosphere for all our contractors, misunderstandings can occur and we are happy to help address and resolve your concerns. We understand that we are currently working with you to resolve your concerns. Thank you.
#291795 Review #291795 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I have been with empire for about 5 to 5&1/2 years now,I have been so proud to work for them, they ran a very honest and fair business looking out for their customers and their contractors with integrity,always offering a high quality product making my job go smoothly.they were handing out the jobs in a fair manner dividing the work evenly by financial amounts at the end of the month....this was done by Gina Halwix.a great install manager in las Vegas .then that location closed and I was able to change markets to Orlando fl. Another great install manager ...Mike Perry...

Then mike left and we got Deon, a nice guy and then a new general manager Don Kitchens...another great guy. We received great respect as installers, and professionals. Within months Don and Deon were gone and I found that some of the work I done was not processed for payment correctly.it all goes down hill from here.....we received Brian as a general manager. And Maggie as a install manager.

I gave my invoices back to Gina in Orlando who processes them for payment ,she told me about 2 months later that she has not got anywhere with them because she has been busy, so I took them back and talked to Maggie ,my install manager, I requested arbitration per my contract and she said no, let me have them, I got them back the next day, I asked for arbitration and a copy of my contract, she said she would have to find out how to get me a copy.that was about 2 months or so ago, no contract...then I talked to Brian the general manager and he said bring them to him.when I did he passed them to Nate the regional install manager who immediately passed one back to Maggie and the rest to Alfonso customer support ....on and on I still haven't been paid so I started calling empire in Chicago , and left many messages for Erica Sanchez I believe is her name in human resource...meanwhile there is still more unpaid charges happening.I finally get a call from Erica and she said she will contact me in 24 to 48 hours to let me know about the new and old unpaid invoices. Her time is up today at 2:45 eastern time.... I'm sure I will have to call her repeatedly to get a reply this time, the newest problem is that I did a large vinyl job where the salesperson sold vinyl in a large area of the home. One area was a closed in lanai that had bad concrete with ceramic tile that was breaking and was very uneven.

I called Maggie with no answer so I called Alfonso and explained it to him he got Maggie on the phone and I explained it to her and told her I would need about 1200.00 to correct the floor by removing the bad tiles and pouring self leveler and then patching with skim coat to prepare the floor.this was about 9 am...the customer called the sales person and she agreed to come and look to see what could be done.keeping in touch with Maggie I told her the sales person couldn't be there till 1 or 2 and I would wait for her before starting the job. I called Maggie to let her know the sales person arrived and was pricing other products and that money would be an issue following the sale.I was approved for the 1200.00 for the work because she couldn't afford any other floor. Maggie put it in the system and I collected the money as extra to contract.

When I turned in the bill I was told I couldn't have any of the money even though I agreed to only ask for 900 to leave empire with some.I was told that all this money for extra labor was only for empire and I'm entitled to none of it.just the original labor.....I requested arbitration to Erica Sanchez and explained that not paying me for 34 hours labor was not an option and I would lean the property if this is not addressed... Look for part 2 of this complaint titled part 2

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Emprie Today Carpeting ....Don't use them

Michelle, we’re sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your product. We understand that we were in contact with you about this issue last year and that you decided to keep your current product. As there was no installation or product warranty defect, we were unable to file a warranty claim on your behalf. However, as previously offered, Empire is still willing to replace your carpet at a discounted rate. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com, so that we can work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
#291048 Review #291048 is a subjective opinion of poster.

My name is Michelle and I had Empire Today put carpet into my home in February 2010. The quality of the carpet was horrible and within one year was already showing significant wear and traffic patterns.

I complained to Empire Today and they sent out someone they call a non biased carpet professional to check and make sure there was nothing wrong with installation and such. Of Course as you can imagine the so called report came back that there was nothing wrong. I am writing this for two reasons. 1.

My in-laws also had Empire Today install carpet and they had a horrible experience as well and were not happy at all. 2. We have recently been told by another professional installer that the carpet is the lowest quality carpet on the market and that the pad....which we paid extra for a higher quality pad, was very low quality as well. I am very disappointed in their service as Empire does not seem to care for their clients at all and I have spent the last two years with horrible carpet and have made it clear that anyone who comes to my home that Emprie Today is responsible for the fine example of crunchy, matted down, bald in some spots, carpet.

I would not even put their carpet in my dog house and I would recommend NEVER to use them under any circumstances.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Charged $150.00 for services not received

John, we apologize for the inconvenience during your installation and the confusion regarding your refund. It’s disappointing that you had trouble contacting customer service. We understand that you have received the refund, and we will be reaching out to you to discuss this further. If you have additional questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#290589 Review #290589 is a subjective opinion of poster.

When getting estimates for my carpeting to be installed, we knew our pool table would have to be moved. We agreed to a fee of $150.00 to have additional people brought in to do this.

They never brought extra people in and instead asked me to help them move the pool table. When I told the installers we paid $150.00 extra to have this done and I was going to complain about it they were fearful because they said the company would take it out on them. Customer Service unresponsive, product quality not that good.

Employees fearful of any complaints. I will never do business with them again and recommend that you DON'T do any business with them at all.

Empire Today's reply to:


We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. It’s always our goal to provide our customers with world-class service throughout the entire home improvement process, so we’re thrilled to know that this was the case. Enjoy your newly renovated home! Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#289445 Review #289445 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We recently had new carpet installed, and from the get go, we had absolutely NO problems with any part of the customer service, installation, product, etc. The original salesperson (Clay Glover) was delightful, super informative and knowledgeable.

From that point on, the entire company was a grand experience. On time, experts at the installation, polite, returned phone calls, careful with our furniture, extremely helpful with setting up our appointments, just virtually every phase was like in the old days when you could depend on people !! We nave NOTHING but praise for this company, their people, and the product turned out even better than we actually expected.

Got a good deal, too ! :-)

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Wasted Hard Earned Money!!

Benita, we’re very sorry to hear about the problems you’ve been experiencing with your product post-installation. It’s always our goal for our customers to be satisfied with their entire experience, and we’re disappointed that this is not the case. We’d like to work on a resolution with you, so a member of our customer service team will be reaching out to you soon to discuss this further. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#289282 Review #289282 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today - Wasted Hard Earned Money!!

We bought laminated flooring for two rooms and a hallway from Empire about two years ago and we started having problems with it right away. The salesman told us that the flooring is very durable.

We noticed that the flooring is buckling, lifting and scratches in different spots in different rooms. Empire sent an Install Coordinator, an empire employee, out to inspect the problem areas earlier this month (Jan 12). Last week we received a call from a Consumer Service Rep and she stated that the Install Coordinator report said the buckling and lifting is a "Site Issue" and that Empire will not take responsibility for any of the damage areas. We received another call from the Consumer Service Rep again and she said that Empire would only fix the damage areas for only $450.00.

So my issues are basically we have flooring that we can't walk on it and put furniture on it.

I thought that Empire uses a 3rd party to inspect problems with flooring but the lady who came out was an Empire employee with Empire business card.

Empire Today's reply to:

Horrible Customer Service from Empire Today

Lindsay, it’s disappointing to hear about the issues you’ve experienced with your product post-installation. We can assure you that we provide only quality, name-brand products, and we are committed to addressing any concerns that our customers have. We will have someone from our customer service team reach out to you soon to discuss this issue.
#287137 Review #287137 is a subjective opinion of poster.

We have carpet that was installed by Empire Today about 3 years ago. My first complaint is that they ruined the kitchen floor--which they weren't supposed to even touch!

When they took off the divider between the kitchen and living room, they managed to somehow make the linoleum shrink! Secondly, they told us our carpet was stain resistant. They were WRONG! We've got so many spots that have not come up even with professional cleaning.

My husband and I have called several times and been given the run-around.

I want my carpet replaced! It shouldn't look this bad after only 3 years.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Got my house raided by 8 cops for drugs they brought to my home

This matter is currently in litigation. As such, Empire Today, LLC’s practice and policy is that it will not comment on ongoing litigation, other than to state that Empire Today vigorously denies any allegations of wrongdoing and believes that all allegations of wrongdoing against Empire Today have no merit.
#286048 Review #286048 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I hired empire to install vinyl floor and carpet in my home the first day one crew did not want to work and the second crew started the carpet which look good at first my home is very dark at night it told a different story deficts in carpet show with lights on carpet with rips in it and not going all the way to the wall. Then second day came the crew was here an hour removing old tile and left to get a roller and when they return my house was surrond by cops 8 of them and they found cocaine and marijuana on them and then the cops allow them to come in my home by theirselves and they kick a big hole in my new chandlier light stole myapple ipod and my sunglasses my extention cord and the company sent some one out to talk and assure me the rest of the job would go good and they since the people that did the carpet and they did not want to do the vinyl they had already told me and then when i let them know about deflicts in carpet they had even more attitude they chisel tile up next to all of my new furniture ruining all of it they used my tea pitcher for mixing their mud and ruin that they left my furniture out in the rain along with my desk and bathroom dooor they ruin my front door with in 1 week i had holes all in the vinyl and holes in the deflicted carpet so i had no good floor all my brand furniture was destroyed my 5 year old furniture was left out in the rain and now ruin and they broke my refrigator if it could break they broke i have never had such a bad experience like this before i am still paying to repair and fix things that they mess up like holes in my wall broke outlets my doors and window sills my desk left in the rain is got chunks of wood out of it so please beware before hiring Empire flooring to do your floors it will cost you more than money i now have police coming down my street and slowing down atleast 3 times a day I have been pull over twice and search like a crimnal after they where here and got busted with drugs i do not have piece of mind in my own home everyday i wondered what esle they stole or what i will find destroyed i have cleaned for 10 months and unable to get stains out they left all the dust that they cause because they did not cover everything up i look over any contractor with a fine comb before letting them in to do the work they ruin my pool deck by pouring there chemicals on my deck and turning it green tile chips where all in the pool and ruin the vacuum all exterior doors where gauge or bent out of shape i could go on i have over 500 pics of all the things that where wrong if interested in seeing some feel free to email at shadow1transport@live.com

Dolores K

Do not let them get away with it. Contact the BBB, the bonding company for Empire, and the state contractors licensing board, and maybe an attorney. The media does not hurt either.


clearly someone trying to get something for free,. and someone trying to get you to click on that link at the end to be hacked


This has got to be the best review I have read in a long time. How could this much happen to one person?

This whole paragraph is just one sentence with no punctuation! I am still going to call Empire.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - REALLY?!

We can assure you that we’ve had many satisfied customers that have experienced our world-class service. If you have questions about our services or products, please don’t hesitate to email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Thank you.
#284723 Review #284723 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I joined this site so I could read all the reviews on Empire Today.

We are in the process of getting carpet for two rooms and are looking for a company with a good product and GREAT customer service. Not to make light of others' suffering, but I really can't believe that this company is still doing business with this many unhappy customers. I'd pay more for the same (and may lesser) quality product for GREAT customer service. REALLY, I would. I really don't understand how so many companies think that squeezing a little more out of each sale can't make them that much richer. If I treated people like this I'd rot from the inside out.

Thank you everyone who posted their experience with Empire Today here. Although you have suffered it has not been in vain. I hope all of you find some satisfaction knowing that your experience has turned me away from having ANYTHING to do with Empire Today.

Bless you all!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire Flooring: They just haven't made good on many of their promises and it keeps getting worse.

Sheri, we truly apologize for the inconvenience with the problems you may have experienced with your washer. As a company, we strive for complete customer satisfaction and want each and every customer to experience our world-class service. It’s our understanding that we have reached out to you and your washer has been repaired by your manufacturer. Someone from the local market will be following up with you shortly to further address your concerns. If you have questions before then, please email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195. Thank you.
#284481 Review #284481 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I recently had Empire Flooring install tile in my entry way and carpet in my bedroom, and it has not been a pleasant experience to say the least. The first thing to go wrong was the sales person's "promises" around when and how long it would take to install the tile.

When I called customer service, they were extremely rude, but the installation manager, Terry Conrad, in all fairness did what he could to make up for the inconvenience and delays. The carpet installers left a huge mess in my bedroom and bathroom, and the tile installer did not replace the quarter round along the baseboards of my entry way. I called the installation manager, and although he said he would get right on it...it is almost three weeks later...and nothing. Then, I tried to use my brand new (less than 6 month old) front load washer (after the tile installer had moved it out and back in to the utility room...and the spin cycle no longer worked on the machine.

Mind you, it was working just fine until after the install!! Once again, I called Empire and they said they could not send someone out until after Christmas. I do understand working around the holidays, but then yesterday, I was called and told that they were just sending the tile installer back out to my house and there was no way he could have "broken" the washer by just moving it!! First...I spoke with Frigedaire (the maker of the washer) and they said "oh, yes you can"; and second...DO NOT SEND OUT A TILE INSTALLER, WHO KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT WASHERS TO FIX MY WASHER!!

He is the one who broke it in the first place!! Having to go through the holidays with a house full of people and no washer was painful Empire! This was my first experience with you and may possibly be my last.

In the spring I will be replacing the flooring in my entire upstairs (removing carpet for hardwood)...and I do not know yet who I will use for the services...by I am almost positive it will not be EMPIRE.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empre Today - Awful Carpet Install and Terrible Customer Service

Mary Lynn, we’re sorry to hear about the issues you’ve experienced with your product post-installation and the lack of follow up you’ve received. Customer service is extremely important to us and we always want to address any concerns that our customers may have. Someone from our customer service team will be reaching out to you soon to work on a resolution. If you have any additional questions please feel free to contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#284176 Review #284176 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Jan 21, 2012

I have been working very hard with Empire to resolve my issue. They agreed that the original install was \"botched\" and promised to send an experienced team and re-install the carpet. Stephanie in the corporate office was very responsive. But now, I sit waiting for the re-install which was promised for this morning and it is now 1pm! They just can\'t seem to get it right.

I must also mention that I put wood laminate (using ET) in my kitchen 3 years ago and it is beginning to buckle. Mentioned that to the sales guy (he saw it and agreed) and he said they would give me a discount on the carpet. Didn\'t happen.

I work hard and want to use my money wisely. I don\'t feel I made a good selection with Empire. I feel the quality of their products and customer service (except Stephanie) severely below industry standards. I am also unhappy with the install of the window treatments I paid for (remote controlled) which are uneven and have long wires hanging down when in the up position.

I would really appreciate it if an senior person in ET\'s corporate office could resolve all of my issues.

I am still

Original review posted by user Dec 27, 2011

I am unhappy with the carpet installation but more upset at the lack of customer service at this company. The rep at ext 4711 left me hanging over Christmas - have not heard from her for over 2 weeks after they sent someone to take pictures and promised it would all be made right.

They say the have a AAA rating but this is not my experience.

I also bought window treatments but asked for that install to be delayed until the carpet issue was resolved.

They ignored my request and sent the guy anyway!

I am now looking at getting a lawyer and/or filing a Consumer Affairs complaint. Not the way I wanted to spend the holidays.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today will not negotiate

We understand a resolution has been agreed upon and a proposed agreement has recently been sent to your attorney. We hope it resolves your concerns. Please have your attorney contact us with any additional questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#283015 Review #283015 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Feb 16, 2012

Finally, I am so happy to report Empire Today has refunded the money we paid them, and we have hired a new company. We could not be more pleased with our new beautiful floor that was installed correctly the first time. Thank you for allowing us to report our happy ending.

Update by user Jan 11, 2012

1/11/12...still waiting for Empire Today to fulfill their agreement...20 days and counting. Would love to report a happy ending. Keep your fingers crossed for us.

Original review posted by user Dec 21, 2011

The attorney for Empire Today, Mr. Crane, made an offer to resolve this nightmare.

My attorney contacted me, and it seemed to be fair and a long time coming. I told her to send over our acceptance, with the stipulation that I would not release them from any complaints (to their bonding company or the State Contractors Licensing Board) until I had the check in my hand.

That was over 2 weeks, ago, and we are now waiting them to accept the offer they submitted...

I do not understand why they continue to cause us such stress, other than it is a power play.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Warranty is a joke!

Charles, we’re sorry to hear that you’re experiencing issues with your product post-installation. We always make it a priority to address any concerns that our customers may have, and we understand that we’re currently in contact with you to work on a resolution. If you have any questions during this process, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#282874 Review #282874 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Had a new bath refitted and installed with their liner about 6yrs ago. It had a LIFETIME warranty.

The floor of the tub is starting to peel up and water is getting in between their liner and the tub. It looks like water us getting in where te tub meets the wall. Common sense says he adhesive is faulty and caulking insufficient or broken down. This is clearly a defect in workmanship or product.

I contacts them and had someone look at it. They want over 1000.00 to redo the entire thing! I paid 3000 for it!

This is simply unacceptable and I am left with a tub with a leaky lifetime warranty liner. Steer clear!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today = GTFO of my house!

Jason, we’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your sales appointment. Your experience is not in line with our normal standards, as we always want to provide our customers with a positive experience. We’d like to discuss this issue with you further. A member of our sales team will be reaching out to you soon. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
#282587 Review #282587 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Dec 19, 2011

The sales rep wasn\'t clear with their numbers. I was not happy with we get a discount if we do the 72 hours versus if we wanted to do it two weeks from now.

Original review posted by user Dec 19, 2011

Had Empire sales rep stop by today. We where shown the 60% off and the not on sale carpet. Well the 60% off was only .06 cents cheaper than the normal price carpet. Which the normal price carpet was higher quality. We called the sale rep on it and we couldn't receive a clear straight answer.

Then the sales rep called "office" to get the best price on the carpet that wasn't on sale. They dropped the price almost 45%. Then we asked about the 60% off carpet and they dropped it to the same price range as the other carpet. My wife and I ask how is that possible. How can the carpet that's not on sale be 3500.00 and the carpet that suppose to be 60% off be 3200.00. From that point on the sale rep attitude completely changed. The sales rep became rude and snooty.. and other few choice words that I would get this post removed.

With the sales rep calling back to the office, I felt I was buying a used car. The sales rep number were never the same and where all over the place.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Empire- Lousy service- lousy carpet

Wade, we’re sorry to hear about the issues you’ve been experiencing. We always want our customers to be satisfied with their entire experience and we’re disappointed when this is not the case. Customer service is our top priority and we make it a point to address any concerns that our customers may have. We’d like to speak to you more about this issue. Someone from our customer service team will be reaching out to you shortly to being working on a resolution. Please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com if you have any questions. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
#280924 Review #280924 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Purchased new carpet for my bedroom in October. My wife passed away in August so it was time for a change.

Called Empire, had a salesman come out, told him EXACTLY what I wanted and when- said no problem. One piece for the bedroom and a 10 x 14 with the edge bounded for my living room (have a large wood floor area). Told that it would take them approximately 1 week to bind the edge- said no problem- bring both pieces at the same time and we will be good to go. Paid 1/2 that day, waited the week- install was to be on Saturday morning- it happened late in the afternoon- BUT all they could do was the bedroom- BECAUSE the salesman did not KNOW that the carpet for my living room was to be cut from the roll that was brought!

I had already waited one week for the carpet- based on the salesman, now I had to wait an additional week for the 10 x 14 for my living room- did I mention I moved ALL my furniture prior to their arrival- the night before! Well living room carpet finally arrives a week later- it is a 12 x 14 without the no slip pad - I get the cheap stuff that had to be taped together.

The carpet has 3 lumps in it- that do not come out even after being down for over a month. Empire sucks plain and simple- I still have 2 more rooms to do- but not by Empire.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today has rude Customer Service

Laura, we apologize if you’ve had any difficulties contacting customer service. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and addressing any concerns our customers may have. We understand that we are currently in contact with you to resolve this issue and that an inspection is scheduled for this week. Please contact us with any additional questions you may have by email at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call us at 88-588-2315 x4195. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager.
#278790 Review #278790 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I am tired of talking to people from India and the Phillipines. They are rude and when I ask them to stop speaking and listen to me, they said stop interupting their 'pre-programmed' schpeel.

I have had to listen to it 3 times trying to get someone to come look at my carpet. What happened to hiring US citizens to do these jobs. All our jobs are being outsourced and even worst, we get non-citizens working the US jobs before US citizens. I have seen so many illegals working as well.

It is very sad for the US and it's citizens.

It has been 10 months since they put in the carpet. I called 3 days after installation and said it was 'shedding'. They said it was common with this carpet and it will stop in a few months.

Well it has been more than a few months and it is still 'shedding' and my runner looks horrible. The places that look bad are with the most traffic.