Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Beachwood, New Jersey

Buyer Beware don't Buy from Empire Today! Six months ago I purchased my first home 1 month before I was due to give birth to my first child and wanted everything done before my baby arrived. I purchased 1,200 SF of Laminate Flooring from "Empire Today" to the total of $14,000 for my new home. (I'm still trying to figure out where the 1/2 price discount was applied, at $11.66 / sf. Wow!) My sales representative Terry in the NJ area swore to me that their laminate flooring was high quality and is treated with a protective coating to make it resistant to scratches. Terry also made the claim, "Its so durable you could take a screw driver to floor and it will not scratch". Being pregnant at the time, I knew I needed something very durable to hold up kids and baby toys. Well 6 months later there are scratches everywhere. I was very careful to install felt pads under all of my furniture so it wouldn't  scratch the floor. The reality is any thing that rests on the floor even a plastic baby walker will scratch the floor. I cant even keep a plastic kitchen trash can on the floor because it scratched the floor. At this point I'm afraid to get a family dog because the flooring is such LOW quality that the dogs nails will scratch the floor. After having a service rep from Empire come and inspect my flooring, Empire said there was nothing wrong with the floor and there was nothing they would do to resolve the issue. I'm so furious "Empire Today" will not stand behind their product and is refusing to do nothing for me. Please avoid Empire Today Flooring, don't get ripped off by this company. There is NO customer support from this Company what so ever. If I had done my research I would have realized after reading all of the customer complaints on the Web Empire Today is not a company I should have done business with. Here is a sampling, just to pick a few. http://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/empire-today.html http://mythreecents.com/reviews/empire-today http://www.ripoffreport.com/r/Empire-Today/nationwide/Empire-Today-Empire-Laminate-Flooring-Estimate-Internet-Nationwide-1066930 I hope this helps the next person looking for flooring. Do not purchase from Empire Today, tomorrow or ever!
View full review
Review
#732048 Review #732048 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Carpeting Review from Washington, District Of Columbia

They brought the right carpet for one room,brought the wrong for the other and hall. told id get a call back to install within 24 hrs. no call back. mind you the bill was paid in full,because they wouldn't do the install if cod wasn't paid first. ive called many times to get no help and they dont care what so ever. so Im going to speak with my attorney today. people don't pay that kind of money to be blown off. Stay away from emire today!
View full review
Review
#731929 Review #731929 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Staff Review from The Villages, Florida

Get rid of Sandra zaldivar she is a liar and coniver
View full review
Review
#727994 Review #727994 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Ongoing Grout and Compensation Issue with Empire Today

October 29, 2015 At approximately 2:00 pm today, Mr. Tim Sherwin, regional manager, telephoned. His phone number is 1-770-267-0343. Mr. Sherwin called to tell me exactly what Xavier told me when we last spoke on October 26, 2015. He explained that the grout color (Santa Fe) was ordered this past Monday and that it was coming from Atlanta. He then informed that he would be hard pressed to give me a $1,000.00 compensation. I tried pleading my case with him. Explaining that this has been going on since August, that I had to take my house apart five times in anticipation for the job to be done properly, to no avail. He kept interrupting me saying “Ma’am, ma’am, I’m not trying to fight with you, I just called to tell you about the grout.” I tried explaining to him why I feel that a $1,000.00 in compensation is not a lot to ask for considering everything that has happened since August, the stress, the phone calls, the letter writing, I’ve had to take my home apart as I mentioned above, I’ve been stood up. I’ve had my time infringed upon for no reason; see notes of October 13, 2015 above. Again, he was saying “Ma’am, ma’am, I’m trying to be respectful and not fight with you.” I said that I, too, am being respectful and am not fighting with you. I am explaining why I am requesting $1,000.00 in compensation. He said that they would not get $1,000.00 off the grout manufacturer’s price. I said that that was not the issue. Again, I tried explaining why I am justified in requesting $1,000.00 in compensation. He said that he had to speak to someone higher up and he will let me know. He again reiterated about the grout and I just hung up. He did, however, mention a couple of times during the conversation that he does not think it will happen. I deserve the compensation. This has been going on since August. The floors still have not been fixed properly. I did not like Mr. Sherwin's tone on the phone today.
View full review
Review
#725716 Review #725716 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • floor installation
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Indianapolis, Indiana - False Advertisement and Warranty Replacement

In a word.... HORRIBLE! In 2013 I decided to have new floors put in at my house. So I went to Empire Today to get an idea. Well their sales person impressed me and I decided to get the floors through them. Before signing anything I asked some due diligence type questions like if the warranty on the floor would transfer when I sold the place. I was told "YES", so I went forward. When it finally came time to install some 3rd party contractor showed up. That was the initial shock since there was never any mention of that. The floor gets installed and I start checking places and find that there are a few issues. I point them out to the installers and they start saying that there is nothing they can do and it will always be a "soft spot" or that it will go away once more floor is down. They finish the upstairs and I check again.... nope still there! I question it again and they begrudgingly pull up the floor and stick some kind of styrofoam underneath then claim it is good. Ok let's fast forward to this year. It is decided that the house is being sold and I am getting documents in line for the realtor. I call empire and to confirm details about the warranty and to get a claim in since the floor has PEELED UP (BTW this is their Dynasty Engineered Hardwood Flooring). I am told that their warranty is not "to the house" and could not be transferred. This was the huge selling point for me when I got the floor. Upset already I move forward with warranty claim since that needs to get resolved. I start the claim process over 2 months ago. Wait 2-3 weeks for an Empire Inspector to come out. Then 2-3 weeks for the results of that which they state "Looks like a Product Issue". 1-2 weeks later I get a call out of the blue from a 3rd party inspection. He was told that an inspection was needed by Empire Today before anything else could be completed. So 2 more weeks go by before he can come out. (On a side note he was the nicest man and probably the only person I spoke to about this that I actually respected.) I am told it will be another 2-3 weeks before I hear back about the inspection results. Get the call about the inspection results and I am told that nothing will be done in regards to the warranty since there is water damage to the floors and it is a site issue. I understand this by the doors and such. HOWEVER, in the middle of our living room!?! Especially since we take our shoes off at the doors! After talking with the representative more I am told that they can replace the floor "Special and Reduced Price". WHY!?! So that I can have another sub-par contractor come out and replace the floors. Then pay them more money! NOT HAPPENING! Frankly put, this company is a joke. They don't take responsibility for the promises their sales representatives make, contract out work with no oversight or quality control, and then give the run around when trying to have a peeling floor replaced. Stay far away from them! I wouldn't even give them 0 stars if that was an option.
View full review
Review
#722451 Review #722451 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • Installation
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire today -REAL UNHAPPY CUSTOMER

REAL UNHAPPY CUSTOMER.Smiling salesman says "how much do you want to pay?" No sale price. Making calls to supervisor like a used car salesman. Wanted cash at install when contract did not say that. Put manufactured flooring on wet floor, which is why I wanted carpet replaced. promised twice to repair after defect showed with in days of install. first time forgot glue, second time did not have correct wood flooring color on truck. Had to deal with home office in Chicago. Then Chicago home office wanted me to sign a *** order to repair. Floor looks awful still. worst experience ever. run...
View full review
Review
#712527 Review #712527 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Palm Coast, Florida - Terrible Customer Service - No satisfaction

I had Empire Today install tiles in three rooms of my home. They had to come back because the tile looked hazy and dirty. The grout color does not look like what I picked out. After they left, the tiles did not look as hazy and dirty but nothing was done about the grout. I complained and they were supposed to send someone out to re-grout on 9/29/15 (my birthday). I waited all day and no one came or even bothered to call. I have been calling Xavier, the person supposedly handling this, since then and have had no return phone call from him. I've reported Empire Today to Ms. Pam Bondi, the BBB, Consumer Action and the FTC. I have also written a letter to the Chief Executive Officer and sent it by regular mail as well as e-mail. To date, have had no response from him. What awful practices for a nationwide company. I guess I will be going to the TV news stations next.
View full review
Review
#710826 Review #710826 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from New York, New York

Today 9/24/15 the installers from empire came out again, once again the work could not be completed. My journey started with empire in July still three visits later still no flooring. This is absolutely the worst company I have ever had the chance to work or not work with. I would never recommend this company to anyone.
View full review
Review
#705183 Review #705183 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Poor customer service nad inferior product

We moved into a new house about a year ago, the house had brand new carpet, but we prefer hard floors. No more than six months ago we had Empire come out and give us a quote as they had done our floors in our old house. We decided on hard wood and had it installed the next day. A few weeks ago a TV tray left a small scratch that was deep enough to not be the same color as the flooring. I was surprised that the TV tray scratched the floor. Then a week ago, while closing the reclining part of the couch a very large gouge was left on the floor. We called about it and were told that "everything scratches" "even diamonds scratch" and they were not going to warranty the floor! We paid $8,000 less than six months ago and they are telling us it is not covered? That decision solidifies my efforts to not only never use this company again, but tell everyone and anyone I know to choose a much more reputable company that values their customers and more importantly believes in their product enough to recognize this particular floor is inferior! The last time we purcahsed a floor for our old house, they left us with some planks incase we needed them, this time they did not. I have a 3200 sq ft house, they only did the first floor, I will call someone else for the second floor.
View full review
Review
#702012 Review #702012 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Tags
  • Flooring Installation
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Wood Flooring Review from Gloucester City, New Jersey

Sales person came to our home and offered only 4 colors and types of wood flooring. We felt pressured to make quick decision. Said he would not come back and needed a contract signed that night. We finally went with a neighborhood business who had hundreds of choices and gave us much lower quote.
View full review
Review
#699649 Review #699649 is a subjective opinion of poster.