Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Littleton, Colorado - Just another customer with a bad experience

Dear Abbas,
We never want our customers to feel this way, and would like to apologize for your initial experience. We understand that we have spoken to you in regards to your concerns. If you continue to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#819972 Review #819972 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • 2nd installation crew
Cons
  • Sales person tactics
  • Order processing
  • Poor follow up
Reason of review
Poor customer service, problem with delivery, and order processing issue
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Where to begin? My experience with Empire Flooring was far from acceptable to say the least!

To start, we had a salesman come to our house to measure and give us an estimate;

Sales pitch: I regretfully must admit that I bought-in; hook, line, and sinker. Alex really talked up the product very well and made us feel like we were getting a great deal. He also said that Smartstrand and Anso R2x are the same product. He said Smartstrand is the new name for it (found out later they are two totally different companies). I knew I was dealing with a salesman but, I did my research on costs and I thought the “ease” of the purchase and the all-inclusive (tear out, installation, & disposal) was a good deal. We agreed to a price and decided to finance through their company. However; once we began to sign paperwork, the Alex told us that he needed the down payment...which we never discussed. He said it was because they needed at least 10% of the purchase paid for installation purposes. I was caught off guard and questioned this, but I conceded because it went towards my purchase after all.

Installation (1st attempt): The installation workers showed up with a carpet that had a different style name than what was on our paperwork, although, the pattern was similar to what we ordered with the salesman. Because of the discrepancy, my wife informed the installer that she didn't think it was the right carpet because the name of the style was different than what was on our contract. He questioned her judgment and asked her if she knew what she purchased. She didn't argue back but requested he get what was stated on the contract. The installer made a call and said he had to go back to the warehouse to pick up the carpet listed on our paperwork. He also asked for her to clean out the garage so they could have room to work. He said he would call us with an update in regards to when he would be back. We didn't receive a call for the rest of the day.

Contact with salesman (Alex) and Empire: I called to express my frustrations about the installers not calling us back or following up with us to determine when they would be back. The customer service rep said he contacted the installers who said they left a message for us (no such message exists) and that they would be back the next morning. He also said a manager would call us back (ref #1-2134372591). That did not happen. I explained to the customer service rep that I wished I had looked at the many horrible reviews before making this big purchase. He acknowledged that there were a lot of bad reviews but stated that they "always try to make it right" (turned out to be a lie).

I then called Alex and he explained that there was a "glitch" in the computer system and that name on my contract was wrong. They did bring out the right carpet (the patterns were very similar), but he understood the confusion. While talking to me, he disregarded the input error of the order and focused on the installer's bad attitude. He said he couldn’t guarantee anything but that he was sure his manager would compensate us for our troubles and would send a new crew over the following day with the carpet we initially agreed upon.

Installation (2nd day): The new team of installers arrived on this day and stated they needed "Cash On Delivery" before they could start. Seriously? We had to make more phone calls and straightened that out as it was already financed. I have to say, this installation crew was friendly; however, after getting to almost 2/3 of the project completed, they said that not enough carpet was ordered! We had to make more calls and apparently there's a separation in sales and installation because they both appeared to want to blame each other. The installers had to install what they had, leave the job, and travel across town to pick up the carpet. Due to the lateness in the afternoon, we agreed for them to comeback the following morning to complete the install.

Installation (3rd day):

Installers arrived, finished the install, and left. Later that afternoon, I finally got a return phone call from a manager. She didn’t appear to initially recall the conversation we had the prior day about the shortage of carpet, but later said they sent out carpet without measuring because the cutting equipment was down. So apparently they were just sending out whatever and figuring it out later. She didn’t at all seem too concerned with our overall experience, and only said she would “talk” to all parties involved and was “sorry” for the experience. I asked about being compensated for the time we had lost due to rescheduling appointments and waiting for the completion of the project. She said she would bring it up to the other managers and would call me back on Monday (Never received that call). Huh, guess they aren’t too concerned about making it right.

Overall: I didn't feel valued as a customer. The salesman seemed to want to sell, the installers seemed to want to install, and we just wanted new carpet. We did our part in picking out the carpet and financing our purchase. The rest should have worked itself out...well, that's how it was presented to us at least. I'm one of those easy to please customers and I don't like to complain as long as I get halfway decent service. I would have to say Empire was far below my expectations and it's amazing to me that they continue to function with such dysfunctional internal communication and below average customer service. Still waiting for the manager's return phone call to happen...shows how important I am :( I would love to update my review by saying they "made it right", but I don't have much faith in that happening. I and anybody I know will not be using this company in the future. Save yourself the stress and use Lowe’s or Home Depot if you want to save money. Unless you want to take your chances with a company that states they will make it right instead of getting it right (and they can’t even deliver on that promise). Sorry Empire. You get a thumbs down…way down.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Chino Hills, California - Mistake made my sales rep, 42 days of waiting for a service or phone call

Dear Customer, Our goal is for our customers to have a great experience from start to finish - and we're sorry that didn't happen. Please send us your account information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so we can further assist you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
Review
#819503 Review #819503 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service poor
  • No followup
  • Mistake by rep

On 2/15/16 we submitted an order for shutter. We submitted $250 and completely financed the order.

On 2/20/16 measurements were taken and notified that blinds were ordered instead of shutters. We have called 6 times (3/6/16, 3/8/16, 3/12/16, 3/15/16, 3/26/16, 3/28/16) and received no call backs and no one seems to know what is happening to our order. The sales rep was called each time, along with the sales department, as well as the escalation department, as well as other managers in the local office, Ms. Lopez, and Shaunna Chambers.

We have given our deposit as well as affect our credit and nothing is being done. I have already contacted the BBB with a complaint about the company and expect the product installed according to the stipulations processed on 2/15/16 and 2/20/16. We have waited 42 days and have not received word on anything about our purchased product. If nothing happens at this point, a lawyers will be assigned.

Update: Sales Rep was contacted, Kevin Gardner, and he has known about the situation for 2 weeks.

Said he didn't want to call us knowing it would be a difficult conversation.

He said also that he dropped the ball and found out from management 2 weeks ago that they were not going to fulfill the order due to his mistake, which he was suppose to call us about. We need answers!!

Dear Mr. Dooley, Your concerns are important to us and we regret that your experience was not a positive one. We realize that time has passed since your posting, but we would like to ensure that your concerns have not gone unanswered. If you continue to have questions...
View full review
Review
#819103 Review #819103 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Painesville, Ohio - Total clusterf---!!!!

Dear Charles,
We've read your review, and we're disappointed at the issues that occurred with your installation. If your concerns remain unanswered we'd like to help make things right for you. Please contact us customersupport@empiretoday.com with your questions.
Thank you.
Review
#818549 Review #818549 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Way the installation went and the end product
  • Lack of integrity
Reason of review
Poor customer service and delivery issue
Loss
$800
Preferred solution
Price reduction

March 14 Had salesman, Mike, from Empire Today arrive and measure a bedroom that we wanted laminate flooring installed. He measured and we ordered the flooring and matching baseboards, oak colored. Had the job set for Sat.the 19th.Sat the install crew arrived, two Hispanics who could not speak English. They put the flooring down up to the old brown baseboards and then started to put quarterround up to the old baseboard. We stopped them and told them they were to replace the baseboard with new, matching boards. They shook their heads, picked up and left.The salesman then got us in touch with the installation coordinator, Tom. He advised that there had been a mistake on the order and that the install crew would return on Tues. the 22nd. with the baseboard.

Tuesday arrived and the crew never showed up, no phone calls. We called Mike and then Tom who advised us that they were waiting for a particular strip for the closet sliding doors. They ordered the strip and Tom advised they would be out on Thursday the 25th. On Thursday we waited all morning and no show. We contacted Tom again and he advised that he had wrote down Thu. the 25th and in reality the 25th was Friday. He advised the crew would be here FridayFriday arrived and one installer from the original crew arrived to install the baseboard. He brought in a white plastic baseboard. We told him that we had ordered the matching oak baseboard. He became frustrated and left. Got ahold of Mike and Tom again. Told them of the white baseboard and was told by Tom that the white was the only baseboard that empire had. I questioned his truthfulness and his competency. Tom told me to "take it or leave it". I told both Tom and Mike I was contacting my attorney. A short while later the saleman Mike called and said that they had a deal for me. They were going to reimburse my account a whopping $120.00 and If I went to the Home Depot and bought the baseboard myself they would have an installer out on Monday the 28th. I did just that and bought matching baseboard.Monday,3/28, A different installer arrived and looked at the baseboard I had bought from Lowes. He advised that it was junk and wanted me to return the baseboard for a heavier unstained wood, stain the wood myself and then they would return and put it down. This installed also advised me that he knew for sure that empire had the proper baseboard and wondered why they would not send it out. He called Tom and was told that the oak colored baseboard and been discontinued. By this time I was so frustrated and pissed off that I told him to put the base that I had bought down I wanted to be done with this terrible company. I will definitely tell all my friends, family and all on my social media to never deal with Empire Today

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in South Easton, Massachusetts - Poor response to floor problem

Dear Maureen, We've read your review, and regret that your product was not meeting your expectations. This is not what we expect for our customers, and we would like to follow up with you and make things right. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can reach out to you. Thank you.
Review
#813453 Review #813453 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Communication methods
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$4500
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I had a wood laminate floor installed ~ 10 months ago. There are gaps in the floor; edges are peeling up.

Called Empire: chose the option for existing customers.waited 25 min on hold on my half hour lunch break. They made an appointment to come out- never showed up.Called them again: chose the option to become a new customer: my call was answered in 2 minutes! I was transferred to existing customer line-waited again. I was told they would call me the day they were coming to my house.

Never got a phone call. I demanded to speak to a manager: you guessed it. Waited again for 20+ minutes.

Someone finally came out to the house. They repaired one area.

Guess what_ I have more areas that need repair. I am SO SORRY I had them install my floor.

I have to call them again and I dread waiting on hold to get poor service.

My advice is not to get a floor from them. It is less than a year old and it pains me to look at it

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Fayetteville, North Carolina

Dear Sam,
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this situation, if you continue to have concerns please reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#813227 Review #813227 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I had a morning appointment that the saleswoman approved because we had three rooms scheduled for completion, same day. When they called, they said they wouldnt be here until 4-6 pm.

Then, they sent a team of one man to install and his wife, George was with him. He doesn't speak English so, she introduces herself as him...Then, they said they didn't have enough carpet to finish, they blamed it on the saleswoman. The wife is walking around my house all over my white rug in her shoes and she asks to use my bathroom...had she looked professional it might not have struck me in a way -but she was rude and I didn't see a reason why she was snooping around the rooms in my house that werent in need of the carpet. She was loud and trying to speak over Her husband- I also speak Spanish and didn't need her to interpret and she wasn't working -so I didn't see the need for her to be in my house and not drive herself to a gas station to use the restroom.

She had no interest in doing the job and was happy that I cancelled. We were doing smaller bedrooms and they were going to have 4 separate pieces of carpet in my master bedroom. That was never discussed nor did they complete any rooms.

I had three small children, their entire rooms in my living room and a wasted Saturday. Now, waiting to cancel my contract due to their poor service.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Lafayette Township, New Jersey - Thoroughly Disgusted

Dear Mary,
Your satisfaction is important to us, and we understand that we've addressed your concerns. For future questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#811794 Review #811794 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Horrible customer service
  • Way the installation went and the end product
  • Sales person tactics
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Tags
  • Buy1 Get2 Room Free

We are dealing with very similar issue. I wish I had been there when the sales (***) man arrived.

My son explained that he called about the half off on floor and installation promotion. Wanted to pay no more than $2.00 sq/ft for laminate ( figured he would get a $4.00 sq/ft product due to the promotion. While he should have paid more attention to the final number he was preoccupied with his infant son and his dog and the *** man kept telling him about the great floor he was giving him and that he would "take care if him" - he took care of him alright - nothing but a scammer. Luckily the installation was completely *** so my son contacted me after trying to get someone to help help at Empire.

Did I mention that the contract was written up without any price break down on Wednesday and first thing Thursday morning guys came to install. If anyone ever feels the need to use these liars insist on getting a complete break down of costs and compare against the same flooring at other reputable flooring companies. Don't make make the mistake of allowing them to rush you through and push low grade laminates on you - especially not at pricing for solid wood fully finished thick flooring! We are hoping to get the two small rooms of flooring removed but though promised a call back by yesterday have not yet received a call today and it is now 3:50.

They close at 5. Bottom line - there are much better places to purchase flooring.

Use your local flooring people - people that have a good reputation in your area. Not this scam outfit!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Cocoa Beach, Florida - Carpet repair after install

Hi Kim, we regret that you were inconvenienced by a missed appointment, and assure you that this is not the level of service we expect for our customers. If your concerns remain unanswered please contact us via customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#811718 Review #811718 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Were quick to install
Cons
  • Person handling complaint will call in 1-3 days
  • How our work order was not handled well
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$200

we had the carpet installed march 2015. we do not live here full time.

October we noticed it was buckling up at seem between living and bedroom. we called the end of jan when we were here again to make sure it was repaired before warrenty. they could not do it in that time frame because its over an hour from Orlando and would schedule it next time were here. called end of feb.

and made an appt. for march 11. got a message from deana lewis that day to change to Monday the 14th, we said yes. never came or called.

deana lewis said wed. afternoon for sure! never called or came. the 16th.

left many messages to her, she never calls back to make yet another appt. we needed it done before we leave on the 20th. very unorganized repair organization.

its now the 17th. kim Weiss 570-594-1508

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Saint Petersburg, Florida - Empire horrible

Hi Jennifer, we never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we regret that you felt pressured during your sales appointment. This is not the level of service we expect for our customers, and we understand that we've spoken with you about your experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com if you would like to discuss this further. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager
Review
#810223 Review #810223 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Sales person tactics
Reason of review
Pricing issue

I made an appointment, asked if there was a minimum cost..told nope..I was going to carpet one very small bedroom as a test before hiring them, as I was unsure as of all I had read negative. Long story short, they get here tell me 650 dollar minimum..really, show me in writing where that is?

I told them I had already asked customer service that..he said no, it was his manager will not allow jobs for less..Slimy used car salesmen tactics..He could show me nothing..I threw both of them out slammed the door. Home depot is installing carpet

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today in Hoboken, New Jersey - Pricing scam

Dear Mary,
Your satisfaction is important to us, and we understand that we've addressed your concerns regarding your postings. For future questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#809544 Review #809544 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Half price sale is a scam
  • Misleading
  • Horrible customer service
Reason of review
Quality - Pricing Scam
Loss
$4027
Preferred solution
Full refund

My son had Empire come in to provide an estimate for flooring for our townhouse based on the 50% off on flooring & installation promotion currently running. He told the salesman he needed to pay no more than $200 sq ft which should have been fine - would have allowed him to get a floor normally priced at $4.00 Sq/FT now for only $2.00 Sq/Ft. The installation which runs $2.00 Sq/Ft at all other reputable flooring places would also be 50% off and now $1.00 Sq/FT.

What happened was anything but - while my son should have calculated the math, he was busy with his infant son while the man was there and the salesman told him he was providing flooring at that price and that he would "take care of him" etc.

What was he charged for 443 Sq/FT of low end laminate??? - $4027.48 - about $9.10 Sq/FT.

The installation occurred the very next day and was not properly done -that is when my son contacted me about this and realized the rip off. The salesman said that if the subfloor needed fixing that would be at an additional cost. Josh said ok. The installers arrived - one did not speak English at all and the other only slightly so there was very little dialogue - nothing about the subfloor. The laminate was installed and in places in squeaks and is like a trampoline. The quarter round is not the white glass requested on listed on the paperwork and they installed the quarter round over the heating vents. Additionally this laminate is of extremely poor quality. The salesman said the laminate is great with spills, pet accidents etc in response to my son's question about this (he has a pitbull & an infant son) the few rods that the installer did say was that any spills had to be wiped up immediately or the laminate will separate. This is not at all what we were told we were sold. We have made about 9 calls so far to various people. Christian from he Hackensack store installation dept came out Friday and thought the floor was good and kept telling us that they don't do anything with subfloors. Does Empire just install floors over bad subfloors? We are not in the flooring business - how do we know what is ok and what is not.

At this point we just want this flooring taken out and a full refund issued so we can purchase good flooring elsewhere - a reputable flooring company that is honest. I am now on hold over 10 minutes again for the 12?13? time between my calls and my son's calls. I am so done with Empire !!!!