Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Yonkers, New York

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We would like to know more about the issues that occurred with your installation and help make things right, but unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.
ID
#781297 Review #781297 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

This is the worst company ever! Do not use!

They should be put out of business!

They did nothing they said they would!

Didn't have enough carpet and not even the right carpet. Put stop on the cheek so I would sill have my $5000.00 the SOB'S turn it over to collection.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Whitehall, Pennsylvania

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We would like to know more about the situation and help make things right for you, but unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.
ID
#775351 Review #775351 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

Never brought the wall base. Now told they don't have the size, 4 inches, in a wall base.

Never brought transition. Have dip in floor. Told about it midninstallation there is a dip in floor.

Asked installer if it will be an issue, he said no. Our floor moves when one walks on it.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Ephrata, Pennsylvania

Dear Christy,
We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and understand that we have completed a carpet re-stretch for you. For future concerns regarding your installation please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#774245 Review #774245 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality
Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Ephrata, Pennsylvania

Had carpet installed 6/2014. First showed up with wrong carpet.

Then damaged a door (did get a discount for the door). Carpet wrinkled so they came back out to fix it. Now 1.5 years later it's wrinkled again. Said its out of warranty.

Talked to manager and they waived the fee. The contract worker who came to do it was great. There was SO much excess carpet. The pad in the walk in closet was never changed during the original install.

He said the other 2 rooms need to be done because there is excess carpet. Said they would do it free of charge but will do nothing about the laziness in not replacing the pad during the install.

Their customer service is horrible. Don't act like you're doing me a favor when it should have been done correctly in the first place.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1097965

We've read your review, and we would like to know more about your concerns with the installation. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you and ensure that all your concerns get addressed. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Review from Cleveland, Ohio

Dear Belinda,
We appreciate you making us aware of your concerns and understand that we have spoken to you in regards to this matter. For future concerns regarding your experience please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#773381 Review #773381 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Had a rep come to our home, the 50% off sales products were horrible , and the rep recommended the next level of carpet , we had it installed in 2 bedrooms, and the hallway, and floor of the closets, we were told the excess carpet belonged to us, but the workers took every tiny piece of that carpet , while we we dealing with a bear in our yard, we called , but never got any redults , $4500 , and can't patch a 1x1 section if we needed to , we will NEVER direct anyone to this company ,,,,no way

1 comment
Kennidy
#1097281

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We would like to know more about the situation and help make things right for you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Bolingbrook, Illinois

Dear Brian,
Thank you for your post. We are happy to hear that your experience had a positive turn around, and that your concerns were answered at a timely manner.
Thanks for sharing!
ID
#772766 Review #772766 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Epic Empire Carpet Install Fail

Salesman came out ontime, the only thing that happened ontime.

After putting down a cash deposit, install appointment was made for Jan14 PM (after 12). A message was left on voice mail, saying the install crew was on way and would be there around 9.30am. I called and said that wouldn't work. As I explained to the salesman at time of sale, I can not be here before 12. The office said they couldn't change the time but could cancel the install and reschedule for another date. I asked how its possible to contact the installer to cancel but you can't to change the install time to what i requested. They put me on hold and came back saying they reached the installers and they will arive after 12. Awesome one hurdle accomplished, just wish i knew the drama that was to unfold a few hours later.

Installers showed about 12. Said there scheduler talked to me before hand and that I said AM install was ok, that was a lie. The installers questioned it because paperwork clearly stated a PM install. They showed me the carpet in van to be installed, before removing it. The carpet was not even close to what was chosen with the salesman at time of purchase. They said they would go back to warehouse and return. I was fine with that, explained that it wasnt a problem, as long as you come back today, anytime i dont really care, as long as it's today. They said no problem, then by 6pm never came back. Called salesman (which is a stretch referring to him in that manner). I requested order to be canceled. Salesman said he would knock money off order an said he would request they do the install on Jan15 by 9.30am. I finally agreed and said if they are not here by 10am, I can't wait and will not be here had to go to work. The installers didn't show. I left and called the salesman, explained that i had to leave. He informed me that i should cancel the order then. He said its not in his purview. Last i checked from the beginning to the end of a sale is in the complete purview of a true salesman. My son was home, so i figured id let things roll and see if they show up later, they did. Just as i was going to leave work to come home and wait, my son calls to inform me the installers are here. Great wonderful, well no not really, because apparently they brought the EXACT wrong carpet as the day before.

Called office and said they need to check the salesman board against their inventory because something is truely wrong. Who sends out the wrong carpet twice in concecutive days, Empire does that's who. After a few calls and having to wait. Epire claims the salesman sample board was incorrect and that I would have to schedule another get together the following week. I explained that I didn't understand why someone couldn't come to me today or even i could meet someone where ever they wanted. I had 2 rooms of stuff packed into 2 other rooms and the hand rail on 2nd floor removed, ahead of the imstall. I needed the carpet installed, i had expected it to have been installed. I did everything i could, Empire did everything to not install it.

I canceled the order and requested my money to be returned. They attempted to offer a further reduction in price, that i did not accept. It's not about money at this point, it's about getting product, it's about service, it's about wanting to deal with people who believe their purview goes beyond holding your hand out and accepting cash, before your run away and hide.

I would not recommend Empire for anything, unless it's nothing you are looking for. They have an endless supply of that.

3 comments
Fleming
#1100577

From my experience Empire does actually read these reviews. Your experience may be different, like anything it really depends on who you are communicating with at Empire.

The 1st people were a nitemare. The 2nd set, from the sales rep to customer service, is what you would expect from a company wanting you to be there customer.

Empire sent a different Rep to our home on 1/19, who was night and day better then the 1st Rep. Another type carpet/color was chosen. A schedule was set for 1/22 for the install.

The installers arrived exactly in the time frame quoted, the carpet was exactly what was ordered. They did a great job installing. The stairs and hallway offered up some challenges to their install and they handled it well.

The experience the 2nd time around dealing with Empire, the efficiency and quality of the install, the completed look to the room was excellent. I have a couple other rooms that will need new carpet in the future and will be working with Empire for those rooms also.

I would think after the way things turned out, the 1st time was a fluke and the second would be more representative of what to expect.

Best advice I can give is, if a rep comes out and you feel the setting is going more in the direction, it's about them and not about you. Stop it and ask them to leave. Call empire and ask for someone else to come out. Empire can and does do a good job for the price/quality/service they offer.

You have to be working with the ones you are comfortable with from the start.

I had cancelled the order and they still reached out to me after reading my original post. I gave another chance and working with different people from Empire and am glad I did.

Kennidy
#1096719

Hi Brian, we understand your frustration at the delays in the installation, and we never want our customers to be inconvenienced. We want to make things right for you, and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation.

You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.

Thank you.

Anonymous
#1096813
@Kennidy

Is "contacting you shortly" something you actually do or is it just an automated response? I haven't herd anything from anyone yet.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Left out in the cold by Empire Today

Dear Robin,
We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and sincerely regret to hear that your experience was not a successful one. We want to ensure that your concerns did not go unanswered, if you continue to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#768776 Review #768776 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Time it is taking to get this job done
  • Craftsmanship
  • Dishonest pricing
Reason of review
see review, that says it all!
Left out in the cold by Empire Today
Left out in the cold by Empire Today
Left out in the cold by Empire Today
Left out in the cold by Empire Today

Update by user Feb 11, 2016

The employee handed me a form to sign that the work was completed and I did not provide my signature but wrote several notes. Then the worker handed me a blank form of the same form I wrote on.

What???? I have no record of my original form...this is Empire Today's method of poor methods and customer service.

Original review posted by user Jan 12, 2016

Update Jan 12, 2016: Sean the salesman has yet to this day ever call me back (POS). On Jan 11th, I spoke with JT (customer service) and told her not to send out the same crew since they did a bad job and left my front yard dirty with saw dust and pieces of wood flooring.

She spoke with the installation manager and they said they would send a different crew out on Jan 12th. On the morning of Jan 12th, I receive a call from the same crew! OMG! I told them not to come out and I called JT back.

The installation manager John Judge wanted to talk to me and he wanted me to take a third day off from work so he could find another crew! Ridiculous! He did not want to spend extra money to gather up a new crew. This just goes to show you how they do not care about their customers.

No problem making a client lose wages from being out of work for 3 days due to their unprofessionalism, terrible customer service and complete lack of respect. If you have any intelligence whatsoever and have read this, I will only have to say that you are an *** if you use Empire Today.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I sat down with Empire Today's salesman, Sean D. Owen and decided to go with their 50/50/50 deal for installation of laminate floors in my master bedroom and office. After researching several other local companies, I believe this 50/50/50 deal is a scam.

My fault for not searching prior to going with this awful company. They were still more expensive than other quotes. With that said, the company arrived on a cold January 2016 day. Two of the three Mexican workers did not speak English.

Therefore, it made it difficult to communicate at the onset. They kept leaving my front door open after asking them to close the door multiple times. In addition, the electric saw was just outside the front door and was extremely loud. After the work was nearly done, the English speaking worker came to me and said they did not have enough boards.

I was flabbergasted. I immediately called Sean and he said, "I have some personal contacts and I will call you back." It has been several days and no one from Empire Today not even Sean has called me! Not one! Not even the salesman.

This shows how much they DO NOT care about their customers and how they only care about getting their money. Today, I receive an automated appointment via email and that I am scheduled for completion this Saturday! I won't be here and it is a "noreply" email! Now, for their work.

The quarter round work was awful. One section of quarter round came to a "point??!!" The transition boards were awful. There were gaps and overcuts. Here is what they did.

They filled the transition board gaps with white caulk! Unbelievable! They left my bedroom door dirty with their black gloves and dirty hands. It was awful.

Never ever use Empire Today due to their salesman's lack of professionalism and their workers lack of English speaking workers and more importantly, the extremely poor craftsmanship. It just goes to show that companies like this boast about they have been in business for so many years and great customer service - NOT! NEVER AGAIN Empire Today!

And, all of my facebook family and friends will know! I will use the power of social media!

3 comments
Anonymous
#1236973

Be wary of doing business with this customer.

Anonymous
#1094119

Empire today are crooks liars, thieves run run they sale low quality products for astronomical prices they work on a 45% profit margin run run

Kennidy
#1093129

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We can assure you that this is not the installation experience with expect for our customers.

We understand your frustration, and we want to make things right for you.

We will be following up with you soon, and you can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

View more comments (2)
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Carpeting Review from Coatesville, Pennsylvania

Dear Julia,
We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. It is our understanding that we have completed a carpet replacement. If you continue to have questions regarding your product please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#765993 Review #765993 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

We had water damage in our home 2 years ago and had a new carpet places by empire. Where our carpet meets the floor in the hallway has come apart two times which empire has come and fixed.

The problem is they are cutting it shorter and shorter each time. It has happened again and I want the whole carpet replaced. With what insurance paid, the whole carpet is *** and looks old.

There is not a lot of traffic in the area which the carpet was placed. Very unhappy!

1 comment
Kennidy
#1091089

We've read your review, and we regret that you are still experiencing issues. We would like to know more about the situation and work towards a resolution with you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact info to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you.

Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Woodbury, New Jersey

Dear Sanjay,
Your satisfaction is important to us, and understand that we have addressed your concerns. For future questions and inquires please contact us customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#764107 Review #764107 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

Bait and switch experts!!

Beware of sales scam. They installed a lower grade carpet pad but charged price for heavier duty in sales order. After numerous attempts to resolve through customer support I finally had to dispute via my credit card, which resulted in a favorable outcome for me once their investigations were completed. NOW EMPIRE WANTS TO COLLECT FROM ME EVEN AFTER THE CREDIT CARD COMPANY TELLS ME THEY HAVE NO BASIS TO HARASS ME AFTER THEY RULED IN MY FAVOUR.

They need a consumer class action to put them in their place and end such bait and switch tactics once and for all!!

1 comment
Kennidy
#1089278

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about this issue, and we will be following up with you again shortly to discuss the situation.

You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Appointment Review from Camden, Ohio

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We realize that your time is valuable, and we regret that you were inconvenienced by missed appointments. We would like to help make things right for you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#763003 Review #763003 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I had 4 appointments with empire carpet and the day they were supposed to come they called and cancelled. This happened 4 times needless to say not a happy camper

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Installation Review from Mountain View, California

Dear Natalie,
We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your experience. We understand that time has elapsed since your last posting, and want to ensure that your concerns did not go unanswered. Please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com with any remaining questions.
Thank you.
ID
#754862 Review #754862 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

I have called Empire twice to request my left over carpet be returned to me. I asked the salesman who sold me their service and he said it would.

First call told me they eould call back abd i never had a phone call back. Today THE MOST RUDE MANAGER TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO PAY $95.00 FOR A PIECE OF CARPET. SHE STATED THERE IS NEVER CARPET LEFT OVER. THEY HAD TO CUT AROUND AN AREA WHERE I KNOW THERE WAS CARPET LEFT OVER.

I WAS TOLD I COULF GET IT. I even said when they are in this area, not to make a special trip. She told me I wasnt getting any carpet back and i explained a wholr had been burnt and needed to be repaired , for my home is on the market. ALL I WANTED WAS 2 FEET.

95 DOLLARS. I was a manager for years and would.never treat a customer that just had an installation 1month ago like she did. I am so angry. I informed her.i was going to the.better business bureau and their Facebook page and destroy them.

Thats how.angry this woman got me. I was pleasant until she becsme nadty. I live in Western ,Ma. I asked to speak to her supervisor, and she said i am the manager therr is no one above me.

Which.i knew to be an outright lie. I will call again, but not the number i was given. I sm sick over this.

We are consumers. Wuthout our business there WOULD NOT BE AN EMPIRE CARPET.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review from Akron, Ohio

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We would like to know more about your experience and help make things right for you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#754806 Review #754806 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

Had an installation today. The guys were on time and they even made it around the time that was good for me.

Brought th carpet but was not what i felt when the guy came to my house to show us. It was flat and thin. The carpet i felt was thick and plush. Then they rolled it out and i could tell right off the bat it wasnt right.

They measured again and they were 6 feet short! Told them to pack it up and get it out of here.

Wasnt paying for something that i did not order. Pissed me off!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Flooring Review from Flushing, Michigan

Dear Customer,
We’ve read your review, and we’re disappointed in the issues that occurred during your installation. We would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience and ensure that all your concerns get addressed. However, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can locate your account and follow up with you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support
ID
#751698 Review #751698 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Empire Today - Flooring Review from Flushing, Michigan
Empire Today - Flooring Review from Flushing, Michigan

We had a rep come out 3 weeks before thanksgiving. Sold us laminate flooring and booked an appoinment for us.

We were having a large job done. Ripping up old carpet and tile in a foyer, hall, kitchen and breakfast area. This was supposed to be a 2500 job. That following week, one guy (not a crew) came out, was here 1p minutes and said "i cant do this.

You need to have your tile tested for asbestos." I had taken the day off for this to get started. So i shipped off 2 samples to a area lab to be analized. After 100 dollars and another week it came back negative. So, on we go.

Took another day off for the floor to be laid and a crew arrived to start ripping up the floor. At one point, the installer tells us, "we cant lay laminate floor on this, its not flat enough." So again, they pack up and leave and have to wait for a tile salesman to arrive. So we wait, and wait, and wait....9:30 pm he shows up. We are offered a selection of tiles (mainly luxury tiles).

Let me tell you this, this is not cheap. So, with a new subfloor needed, grout, tear up....blah blah blah. Our 2500 job went up to $5400. Cha ching!

Apparently they saw deperate suckers on our face. Of course, they cant do this before Thanksgiving. Soooo, our floor was tore up when family came over. Fast forward to the following Thursday.

Old tile, subflooring coming up, tile going down. (Hubby took that day off). Friday i took off and the grout was supposed to go down. The grout i picked out was aweful so they said we'll call and have someone deliver more.

I asked what time will it be, because i had plans for my birthday with my kids. They said, couple hours maybe. That was 1:00 pm. At 6:30 pm, still no show and i had to cancel my plans.

At this point im so frustrated with this company im in tears. 7:10, the guy shows up, 2 minutes to drop the buckets, forgot to leave the metal strips for between the rooms. So, next day, guys call, say they have to pick up these strips and theyd be out. This is Saturday.

End of day...still not finished. Sunday...they dont work. Finally monday, one guy returns to finish the round molding. Packs up early and leaves.

Unbeknownst to me, he left molding undone, and forgot a strip behind my refridge. They dida good job laying it other then that. However, it seemed like they were on the phone all the time. They turned on their own music, which id been ok with if they would have asked.

I wasnnt feeling well and fighting a cold. Since that time, they have not contacted us to see how things went or followed up.

Will NOT use them again. Not because im not satisfied with the tile, but because of the ridiculous hassel we had to go through.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1079595

We’ve read your review, and we’re disappointed in the issues that occurred during your installation. We would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience and ensure that all your concerns get addressed.

However, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can locate your account and follow up with you.

Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Terrible service

Dear Paul,
Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We regret any miscommunication or confusion that occurred throughout your experience. If you continue to have questions or concerns, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#751191 Review #751191 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
poor service and incompetency

Agreed to install hardwood floors in a bedroom. Told i would get 50% off the price due to a sale.

Workers how up and give a time estimate of 5 hours. They end up taking 16 hours for a small bedroom, multiple days to finish the job. Installers seemed pretty incompetent. Did an alright job but it was not perfect for the time it took for them to get it done.

After the job is done i get a call from Empire saying my 50% off does not apply to my order. I had to call back and forth between the sales rep and empire customer service for a whole week before i got that resolved.

Empire manager didn't want to share the breakdown of their pricing at first but later it was sorted out and i did get the 50%. Avoid this company if you can.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1079024

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We regret any miscommunication or confusion that occurred regarding the pricing.

We would like to follow up with you to ensure that everything has been resolved with the pricing and learn more about your installation concerns. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here.

Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you.

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Cancelled literally at the last minute

Dear LaShanda,
Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. We understand that we have addressed your concerns. If you continue to have questions, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
ID
#747572 Review #747572 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • No show
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$178

I took the day off (no pay)on a Tuesday for the carpet installation for which I received 3 confirmations for. Their arrival time was to be between the hours of 8a-9a.

So 8:30 rolls around then 8:45 and in my head I'm thinking it would be typical for them to show up when they HAD to be here. My husband calls me at 8:58a and tells me that they called to cancel and wanted to reschedule for Thursday. First of all why do you think that people sit at home eating bon bons all day and it is ok for you to just change my days. I have checked the reviews and apparently it is common practice for them to cancel on customers like this.

I called to speak to the manager but got a woman named Wendy. She goes on to say that the installer was sick. Were all of them sick? Was 1 person going to install 1800sq ft?

No excuse- then she went on to say that the reps overbook appts sometimes...IS THAT MY PROBLEM???

sounds like some unprofessionalism to me. Now I have lost money and time do to your lack of customer service.

I wanted my install before Christmas and now that is up in the air. They pride themselves on being in business since 1959, obviously there business savvy is stuck in that era.

1 comment
Kennidy
#1076250

We understand your frustration that the installation was not completed as scheduled, and we would like to help make things right for you. Please send your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you.

Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - NO SHOW

We regret that you were inconvenienced by your missed appointment. We can assure you that this is not the level of service we expect for our customers, and we would like to help make things right for you. Please send your contact information to us at customersupport@empiretoday.com so that we can follow up with you. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager
ID
#747541 Review #747541 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

- I cancelled my office for initial appt 5-7 pm.

- "personal emergency" call 3:45 pm.

- Sounds like my experience was not uncommon practice for this company.

- I pass.

as as as as as as as sa as as as as as sa as sa as sa as sa a sa sa sa sa a sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa sa 80