empire carpet customer service service customer installation home house sales installers
Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today Flooring Installation Review

Dear Charlotte,

We regret that your experience had a rocky start, but understand that we have since completed the installation to your satisfaction. If you continue to have concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#965665 Review #965665 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Order processing issue

Sales rep stated that,company would move china cabinet and put back. Did not realize he did not write in contract as we did not see contract.

Upon flooring contractors coming on 4 different days and saying they could not move cabinet and did not do the job of new hardwood floors. Called many times and got run around, no one to talk to but telepone girl. They refuse to give you a manager to talk to, just unaceptabe service. To date we have no new floor, no one will call.

Fed up with the entire company. They have charged me for floor and not done work and not been truthful.

Empire Today's reply to:

Refusing to fix my carpet because they say warranty has expired! | Empire Today review from Nashville, Tennessee

Dear Ruth
Your concerns are important to us, and we are saddened to hear that your experience was not an excellent one. We would like to follow up with you to discuss further, but unfortunately are unable to locate your customer account with the information provided. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, so we can assist you further.
Thank you.
Review
#965321 Review #965321 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$1200
Preferred solution
I need carpet fixed or replaced
Tags
  • The Wall

I've called empire three times already asking to speak to a supervisor and no one returns my calls. I had my living carpet installed in January 2015 and months ago I started noticing the seam where they cut the carpet is showing and it's right in the Middle of my living room.

It is also bubbling up and my vacuum keeps getting stuck on it. I told the. Their contractor did a terrible job and I want it fixed especially since I purchased a higher grade carpet. I was told that there is nothing they can do.

Empire does not value their long time customers!!! I've used them before years ago and I can't believe they are treating me this way.

I will never recommend them to anyone!! Beware of empire and their customer service sucks!!!!!!

Empire Today's reply to:

Unsatisfactory Customer Service | Empire Today review from Tampa, Florida

Dear Marty,
We understand that this was a frustrating situation for you, and show that we have since reached an agreement. If you continue to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#962631 Review #962631 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$10900
Preferred solution
Full refund

We contacted Empire on Thursday, October 27th, the same day we had evicted a tenant from our rental property. Needless to say the carpet in the house was beyond disgusting.

I had to work so my wife met with the salesman, Chris. We had had to move in by November 1st. My wife was under extreme stress and Chris reassured that he would take care of the situation. My wife explained to Chris that we wanted real wood flooring to increase the homes value so we could sell it in a year or two.

My wife was skeptical because the estimate did not break down the separate cost of materials, labor, etc., but Chris told her if the contract was not signed that day the project could not start until the following week. We decided to go with the contract because we had to move in the following week. The project cost was $10,900. The install was scheduled to begin on Friday, October 28th.

The install was complete and the floors looked very nice. However, the next day we noticed movement in the boards throughout the house, the stairs have hundreds of nail holes, and some of the stair boards are not level. The Empire install coordinator, Joe Bell, came out to check out these issues. Joe told my wife that the movement in the boards was due to the type of wood that was used, and there was no way to repair it.

My wife asked Joe what kind of wood was used and Joe told her it was a wood veneer, which has a very thin wood surface and that the rest of the board is a composite material. Joe explained that the veneer wood is not 100% hardwood but is used in Florida because of the high humidity. Therefore this type of wood will put us at a disadvantage when reselling the home and does not add value. Joe called the next day and told us the General Manager agreed to replace the floor but we would have to pay the difference in the cost of the wood and installation.

We had already spent more than we budgeted for and asked for a refund. Joe said he could not make this type of decision and he would talk with the General Manager of the Tampa office, Scott Heath, and call us back that afternoon. The next day was Friday and since we had not received a call back we contacted Joe. Joe told us that Scott was out of town until Monday.

After several phone calls, I finally spoke with Scott Monday evening. Scott said that Empire had done what they were contracted to do and would not terminate the contract. I asked him for contact information to the corporate customer service manager and Scott told me he would talk with Tim Sherwin, the Regional Manager, and have him call us. The next day, after waiting for a call I finally called Empire back and was eventually connected with Tim.

Tim said he had not called because he was waiting for all the details on the installation from the inspection. I explained to Tim that we were misled regarding the type of flooring used and wanted our money refunded. After some discussion back and forth, Tim became irritated and basically told me they had done what they were contracted to do, and the bottom line was he would not refund our money or terminate the contract. We asked how he could make a decision without the information from the inspection, he told us there was nothing else to discuss and gave me his phone number for our attorney.

We are going forward with legal action to since we were misled about the wood, there was no detail in the contract about the costs, and Empire did not comply with the contract regarding the type of installation, which should have been adhesive, not floating. I encourage any other dissatisfied customers to contact me to join me in legal action against Empire.

Empire Today's reply to:

Terrible experience with Empire Today

Dear Jessica,

We have read your review and are saddened to hear that this was your experience. Our records show that you have agreed to cancel your order with us. For future inquiries please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#958963 Review #958963 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • 2 installers
Cons
  • Extremely unprofessional
  • Phone calls were not returned
  • Text messages were not returned
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Tags
  • Terrible Customer Service

I called Empire for a free estimate.....A representative came to my home on 11-17-2016 and gave me an estimate. I was very pleased with the price and the new wood laminate floor that I had chosen.

I scheduled the installation to be done today, 11-21-2016. The representative, David, and I went over payment options and I decided to finance. My Daughter and I discussed the possibility of financing earlier in the day and she wanted to finance in her name if we went that direction, to build her credit. However, she was at work when David was here to get her information for the credit check.

So, David asked that she text him her information no later than 11-18-2016, he would run her credit then and we would go from there. The next day my Daughter called him because she was uncomfortable texting her information and SS number. There was no answer so she left a voicemail asking that he call back as soon as possible. After waiting most of the day for a return phone call from David, she texted him the information that he needed because It was getting late and she had to go back to work.

We were told that if he didn't have that information on the 18th that I would lose that estimate and I would not be able to have the floor installed before Thanksgiving. I have family coming to stay with us for Thanksgiving, so it was very important to us to have the installation complete as there is only a sub-floor in our livingroom at this time. And this is why my Daughter went ahead and texted all of her information even though it made her uncomfortable. She never received a text, phone call, or voicemail that night or the following day.

I called him twice over the weekend and never received a call back. I texted him......still no response. I had no idea if we were getting the floor or not. Monday morning, two men came to install the floor.

We were so happy, and excited! We started moving the furniture out of the living room and the two gentlemen started to bring to floor in. Then, one of the gentlemen stopped bringing the floor in to get me to sign some paperwork, as I was signing he asked for the entire balance to be paid up front. My heart sank and I told him that it was to be financed.

There were no notes in his paperwork stating that, so he called his supervisor who also stated that there was nothing indicating that I, nor my Daughter was planning on financing the floor. At this point the tears started and I couldn't stop them to save me life. One of the gentlemen made a phone call to a representative and handed me his phone. I told him everything that happened leading up to this point, I'm not sure how much he actually understood because I just couldn't control my crying.

He tries to call David but there was no answer. He calls his supervisor who tries to call David, still no answer. He then tells me that someone will be calling to try and resolve this. The two men leave but promise to come back today if it is resolved.

I waited for two hrs......no one called. So, I call the 800 number and speak to someone....she tries to call David and as usual no answer. She then tells me that a supervisor will be calling me. That was two hours ago.

It has now been four hours since they left and I have given up all hope. I'll be calling my family to call off our plans for Thanksgiving. I can't have them over when I don't have a floor in the living room. It's ugly and I'm embarrassed by it.

It's been years since Ive seen some of my family, I just can't have them over with my home looking like this. I'm hurt, I'm disappointed, I'm mad, and I'm frustrated. I've heard good things about this company but my experience has absolutely been terrible and at this point, I don't even want them to install the floor, they have lost my trust.

I will not be recommending this company to anyone and will tell anyone who asks what my experience was. I have never dealt with a company so unprofessional that they would rather leave a client in tears and in limbo rather than return a phone call.

Empire Today's reply to:

Worst experience ever! | Empire Today review from Saint Louis, Missouri

Dear Dave,
We are saddened that you feel this way and assure you that we will investigate this matter further.
Thank you.
Review
#958382 Review #958382 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Other issue
Loss
$1

BEWARE.. very high pressure sales tactics and the salesman bad mouthed the competition the entire time..

The price quoted was over double the quotes rec'd already. The salesman insisted that Home Depot sold only inferior products after I told him they had carpeted the entire upstairs previously. I asked the salesman to leave and he would not.

After asking him to leave 3 times I had to threaten to call the police.

NEVER AGAIN! This company is a scam and a total rip off.

Finally after picking up my phone and telling him "i'm calling the police" did he get up and leave.. what a joke!

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Carpet Installation Review

Dear Sheralyn,
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will continue to follow up with you until a solution is reached.
Thank you.
Review
#956887 Review #956887 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

Carpet installer punched *** in my tile. Tile is no longer available.

Empire informed me they were going to remove tile from the foyer area and replace the that tile in my kitchenette area where the carpet installer damaged the other tile or they would replace the tile only in the area of damage. Problem is this would cause mix/match tile..

Empire Today's reply to:

Dissatisfied customer/ Empire has know consideration for their customer | Empire Today review from West Sacramento, California

Dear Darlene,
We are disappointed to hear that your most recent experience has not been a positive one. We will be following up with you soon to learn more.
Thank you for your patience.
Review
#955831 Review #955831 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Canceled appt 3 times at the last minute
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

11/15/16

We seen the add for the 50% 50% deal guarantee installation before Thanksgiving. I had a sales rep come to my home it was either Wednesday or Tuesday of last week.

We set a date for carpet to be installed in my living room and hallway for 11/116/16 I couldn't stress enough to him I needed this to be done for sure on this date'" I was guaranteed it would be with no problems." He told me I needed to make sure everything was moved out of the area for when they came. So I had to pay for my furniture to be moved into other areas of my home because my husband and I were unable to move it ourselves . I'm on chemo twice a day because of a chronic illness. We also have other furniture being delivered on the 11/17/16 that we had purchased so everything would line up accordingly with the installation of the carpet.

We have family flying in from Boston for Thanksgiving. Between last week till now Ive been having phone calls comping in from Empire to confirm the scheduled appointment , at 2;00pm today 11/15/16 I received a phone call from Empire telling me that they have to reschedule they won't be able to install the carpet until the 11/29/16. Now I'm stressed out which is the worst thing for me being on chemo with my illness, because they called me late afternoon the day before the carpet was to be installed I explained to them I needed this to be done as promised , I have my kitchen and dinning area filled with furniture from the movers I had to pay to move my furniture out of the area for them to install the carpet, I have my other furniture being delivered and there wasn't enough time giving to me to cancel and with them also I have no place to set up for Thanksgiving now because of my furniture having to be put into the kitchen and dinning area. After explaining all this to Empire they didn't even care , I demanded to speak with a supervisor to get this issue resolved ..I was informed he was on another line the supervisor name was Paul in head of the installation Dept, he would call me as soon as he got off the phone." I never received a call back from him." I then called the 800# spoke with a supervisor rep she said she was going to talk with another supervisor and promised to call me back by 4;00pm thats when she leaves' "I never received a call back.

By this time I'm really stressed, upset , now with being on chemo I became sick.

I was gurenteed from Empire I would have no problems with this being done on the 11/16/16 your add guarantees installation before Thanksgiving, .This issue needs to be resolved ASAP or I will take further action on this issue . My contact info is Darlene LaVerde 916-2480481

Empire Today's reply to:

Empire Today - Customer Care Review

We have read your review and are saddened to hear that this was your experience. Our records show that you have agreed to cancel your order with us. For future inquiries please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Review
#955744 Review #955744 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Order processing issue

I had an appointment for Saturday November 12th between 1-3pm. Secretary called at 2:58 to say rep would be an hour late. Needless to say he was a no show.

Customer service called me on Monday, November 14th to offer a $250 discount on flooring of my choice and set a new appointment for Tuesday, November 15th between 7-9pm. This discount was offered because of the "no show".

I called Empire at 8:30pm on Tuesday November 15th for status of rep. I was told Dan spoke to me at 2pm today and confirmed my cancellation. NOT TRUE!! I NEVER spoke with ANYONE.

I asked to speak with the manager. I was cold transferred (twice). After explaining the issue several times I was transferred to Paul. Paul's exact words: "I apologize for the confusion. When can we get you rescheduled?" CONFUSION? Don't confuse confusion with a bold faced lie!!!!!!!!!

I'm so disgusted with this company I could scream! Not to mention I took off work early for the first appointment since I work 1:30 away from home. In addition to no missed calls or voicemail from anyone from Empire on the 2nd missed appointment.

The ONLY thing Paul (manager) was interested in was rescheduling another appointment. Totally dismissing the lack of customer service by his reps.

My issue: at first Paul said I cancelled my appointment for Tuesday. Then he changed it to say the rep called, left a voicemail saying he couldn't make today's appointment. Which is it?

Lies. Lies. Lies.

Truly disgusted with Empire!

Empire Today's reply to:

Don't keep warranties, try to blame install issues on consumer because they no longer carry the carpet to "fix" the issues | Empire Today review from Kent, Washington

Dear Julie,
We regret the events that occurred throughout your experience and understand that we have spoken to you in regards to your concerns. We will continue to investigate further.
Thank you for your patience.
Review
#953456 Review #953456 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Several years ago we had laminate flooring put down in our modular home. Empire did it and everything was great.

We later had a water leak from our kitchen which caused damage, insurance covered it and we had the floor replaced with Empire as we had such a great first experience. Several years down the road (last year) we contacted Empire because we had some issues with buckling of the floor. After an inspection it was determined that one of our dogs was having bladder issues and we ended up having to put him down. With the inspection, it was deemed that the flooring was not covered under warranty due to the pet damage, although they could give us a "discount" on new flooring if we decided to go with Empire again.

The sales lady came out and after going through all of the options we decided to go with carpet, as we hope to build in the near future and didn't want to over spend when we may not have it that long. 5 months ago we had it installed with the promise that this is a high traffic carpet, that would not falter. We even had extra water resistant padding put in to keep a buffer from the sub floor since we aren't on a foundation. We were told that we would not have any issues.

The day of the install we did not pay as close attention as we should have as while I was taking our 2 dogs to my mother-in-laws house I was t-boned and my car was totaled as well as having to go to the hospital for myself and one of my dogs. Well, 5 months later we can see how bad the install was as the seam is showing in the middle of our living room and the carpet lifted (while I was vacuuming) from around our fireplace. I called Empire, they called me back 2 days later to try to schedule the repair team to come out the next week. After speaking with the associate for a few minutes and letting her know that the install team came and picked up the remnants the day after install she put me on hold.

The carpet that was installed 5 months earlier they no longer carried and did not have any more of. I told her that I didn't think it could be stretched far enough to reach the fireplace as it immediately started to fray after it came up. At that point she put me on hold and came back stating that they needed to have an inspector come out and see if it was repairable. I met the inspector yesterday, he said he was checking PH levels when he poured water onto the carpet.

I didn't question him when he pulled several different test strips out of his kit until he found the "right" one. He did that in both areas of the rug where it was lifting and where it was separating.

Today I get a phone call from Empire stating that they will not be fixing the carpet. That the carpet had issues due to "pet damage" and urine.

First of all the dog that had issues prior to this installation is no longer with us, both of the dogs we have now our outdoor dogs with the exception of at night. 2nd not only do they not have accidents, but we cover the carpet with puppy *** pads to ensure there are no issues. Before there was mention of no remnants to fix the carpet with they were calling to schedule repairs, after the mention of no remnants they changed their tune. We didn't have to continue with them for new carpet, but we chose to, due to our pleasant previous experiences.

That is NOT the case at this point. I asked to have this escalated to a supervisor, and was told that I would get the same response from them by Amy @ the local office. I told her that was fine, I wanted to have a record of elevation. If we need to, we will fight this tooth and nail, as we will not pay for a product that we are not satisfied with.

Very disappointed at this time.

Empire Today's reply to:

Customer | Empire Today review from Colorado Springs, Colorado

Dear Lori,
We understand that we have addressed your concerns, and firmly stand by our final resolution. If you continue to have questions please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com.
Thank you.
Review
#952071 Review #952071 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Price reduction

I ordered a certain tile from the sample board. I had the date set for Oct.

20 2016, Ialso called on Monday before it was to be done on Thursday, to confirm. I was told by the salesman, that yes they would be there, come Thursday, NO Call, No show, I had to then set it for the next week. They came out with a completely different color I ordered off the sample...It was almost white. I ordered a tan/beige tone.

I was even told by the installers, that yes that tile was not even on that sample board. Then I had to reschedule again for the next week. Now, out 3 weeks. Then they came out with another tile completely different, a little darker but, still considered white.

So, then I talked to Jake, I guess he's the head guy from Denver, at least he said he was , and told him I want the darkest color they had on the sample board. Mind you, I don't even know why they bring out a sample board, because you are not going to get what you want. They are now doing my project, a month later, after all this, I just told them to bring me the darkest color they had.

I would not recommend them, as they also did a huge job at our Son's, and they showed up around 5 p.m.

and were there until 2 a.m. in the morning and our Son had to go to work that day.

They get third party installers and this is the reason that this company is so screwed up.